Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does it get any easier?

• 09-09-2012 12:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭

Newbie to the world of road-cycling, just back from a 35km round-trip from Rush to Balbriggan and my body is in bits.

Had a similar experience yesterday after a 20km spin around Lusk and Skerries.

Will better dieting, nutrition, repetition make things more bearable over the coming weeks and months or is this part and parcel of getting into cycling?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭gotthebug

Stick with it I'm bout 3 months in it def gets easier u will be doin 60 70 km in no time

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Cycling doesn't get easier, you only go faster - Greg LeMond

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭Pedalare Pedalare!

gotthebug wrote: »
    Stick with it I'm bout 3 months in it def gets easier u will be doin 60 70 km in no time

Thanks, ah there's no question that I'll be sticking with it - for all the suffering, it's a beautiful thing when you feel yourself in full rhythm.

More fun than I've ever had with any other sport.
    Cycling doesn't get easier, you only go faster - Greg LeMond

That quote's a keeper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

Newbie to the world of road-cycling, just back from a 35km round-trip from Rush to Balbriggan and my body is in bits.

Had a similar experience yesterday after a 20km spin around Lusk and Skerries.

Will better dieting, nutrition, repetition make things more bearable over the coming weeks and months or is this part and parcel of getting into cycling?
    ah we all go through this one time or another but yeah theres loads of tricks you can do to make life on the bike a lot easier;)
    are you comfy on the bike ?
    have you eaten a good brekkie.
    did you bring food with you on your cycle like
    banana /fruit cake./raisins.all good energy food little and often is the trick there dont wait until yor hungry,
    same goes with water take two bidons (bottles) one water one energy dring and drink the energy dring on your return journey..

do not push big gears the trick here is if your struggling pushing a gear well your in the wrong gear its that simple.
    are wearing the proper cloths
    padded shorts/ good base layer/cycling jersey.
    all designed to wick away sweat leave you fresh ;)
    if your fecked during the spin stop smell the roses eat something and then battle on.
    when you get home couple eggs into the pot boiled between two sliced of brown bread shower relax.
    oh yeah when your going out dont be thinking i'll do 20 miles today go out for time hour out hour back and always make sur you have a tail wind on your return journey.
    hope all that helps remember enjoy your cycling you will get better faster in a couple months if you do things right.
    cheers.
    FSL;)

@FSL:

Brilliant post. Some really useful nuggets in there.

Food and drink on the bike is something I can definitely put to use. At the moment, I'm riding with nothing on me so that's the first thing I'll be looking to change.

Just getting the hang of gear changes and chainrings at this stage and that's making a noticeable difference since the start.

In terms of gear, I'm a bit behind on that but I'll be investing in the near future (in need of a comfy set of gloves, my hands are wrecked from the bumpy roads).

Seems like the little things will add up so that's encouraging. Onwards and upwards!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭macnab

I would suggest you dont cycle 2 days in a row when starting out. Do Day On/Day Off cycles, rest periods are very important. Dont cycle on an injury. Start out easy and increase journey distances slowly. A book I am reading at the moment suggests that the first 2 years are very important for base fitness, after that you work on power and indurance etc while maintaining base fitness.
    Some more things to think about.
    1. Eat before each ride, poridge is hard to beat.
    2. Stretch before and after cycling.
    3. Warm up properly, at least 10 minutes on the bike.
    4. Hydrate properly, at least 500ml per hour.
    5. Pack a Twix or/and a bananna for energy top ups.
    6. Enjoy the ride, they dont all have to be sufferfests.
    7. Dont ignore your body, if it hurts then dont do it.
    8. Eat or drink some protein as soon as you get off the bike.
    9. Allow your body a rest period, fatigue will reduce fitness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

http://www.sub5century.org/news/the-40-immutable-rules-of-cycling/

Rule no. 40 applies here.
    "Training is like fighting a gorilla.
    You don't stop, when YOU''RE tired.
    You stop, when the gorilla is tired."

macnab wrote: »
    2. Stretch before and after cycling.
    3. Warm up properly, at least 10 minutes on the bike.

Thanks, some great points I'd have overlooked. What'd be a good warm-up/stretch routine for most cyclists?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭alexanderomahon

yes it gets easier.
    Is your 20k the rush, lusk skerries loop? The hills can be a bit tough if not cycled before and not used to gears. An easier route is over to Ballyboughal and back about 30k and pretty flat.
    Just build it up and if you are too sore don't forget to give your body a days rest between rides. Can do this by doing a nice easy ride or just stay off the bike for a day.

yes it gets easier.
    Is your 20k the rush, lusk skerries loop? The hills can be a bit tough if not cycled before and not used to gears. An easier route is over to Ballyboughal and back about 30k and pretty flat.
    Just build it up and if you are too sore don't forget to give your body a days rest between rides. Can do this by doing a nice easy ride or just stay off the bike for a day.

It is indeed yeah. The hills are a struggle at the moment (I thought Rush-Skerries via Loughshinny Hill would be tough - but those hills on the way back are much worse).

I must give the Ballyboughal one a go - I think a good flat ride is on the cards for me next time so that might be the one to try. Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭lochdara

started back into cycling 6 weeks ago and use an mtb until my new hybrid comes. first cycle 22km http://app.strava.com/rides/16847199
    At 4km my heart nearly fell out of my mouth. Uphill and head wind. I stopped and contemplated going home but took a drink and rested for a few minutes and continued. Tried a 12% gradient hill and same thing happened.

Week 2 i took 32k cycle on with no problem. I had a good brekkie and my own glucose drink i make up on every cycle. http://app.strava.com/rides/17640309

Week 3 pushed it to 40k and week 4 done 46 with a friend and found this a nice trip because i didnt realise the time as we were chatting.

Week 5 barely manag ed 40k. Didnt eat the same for brekkie and rested rather than eating when i got home. It was even sore to breath for a few days so i pulled something on the hills climbs
    http://app.strava.com/rides/20441883

On Friday i got a 50km in and it was grand. Porridge and honey brekkie with bananna and away i went. not a bad time for me either. I made one change to the bike. I inflated my tyres for the max written on the side which was 10psi more than any other week an it made a difference or i was a bit fitter.

stick with it.
    Im only out once a week. It takes me the rest of the day to recover
    http://app.strava.com/rides/21135640

so a good breakfast, plenty of fluid and dont bust urself on them hills is my soultion

Currently fundraising for Irish Motor Neurone Disease Association

In Memory of my fab Wife www.sinsin.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,416 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

Thanks, some great points I'd have overlooked. What'd be a good warm-up/stretch routine for most cyclists?

i personally wouldnt bother warming up before a cycle, just spin a low gear for 10 minutes at the start to warm up and then your sorted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭lochdara

i personally wouldnt bother warming up before a cycle, just spin a low gear for 10 minutes at the start to warm up and then your sorted

i myself have been really surprised that the only thing that hurt after my spin was my bum. Oh and week 5 cycle but that was my own doing by over doing it on a hill.. But i dont warm but instead build up my speed as i go.

I normally take a multivitamin drink daily and before i hit the road. Does anyone know if that makes any difference to a cycle if you take one b4 leaving. . I used to take berocca but i switched to Aldis own energise and havent been sick this year.

Currently fundraising for Irish Motor Neurone Disease Association

In Memory of my fab Wife www.sinsin.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

It is indeed yeah. The hills are a struggle at the moment (I thought Rush-Skerries via Loughshinny Hill would be tough - but those hills on the way back are much worse).

I must give the Ballyboughal one a go - I think a good flat ride is on the cards for me next time so that might be the one to try. Thanks!

Eh if you don't mind me saying this but stay away from hill's, at least for now there will be loads of time to tackle any hills in the next couple months when your legs get used to pushing pedals..
    theres also a trick in getting over hills without feeling you want to saw the bloody bike in half if ever you make it to the top .
    it's all down to peddling eating drinking and having your head in the right place;)
    so build up your time on the bike and come home fresh.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

They aren't hills - just drags;)

However you are doing yourself any favours doing it that way round - starting at Lusk then heading to Rush is downhill typically with a tailwind. Coming back there is a drag out of Skerries, generally into a headwind. Because you're heading out towards the coast you're doing the hardest bit last. Try doing it the other way round or cutting out Skerries by taking the turn at Loughshinney. Alternatively, as already suggested head inland to start with to get the benefit of the tailwind coming back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,174 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Why not just cycle to Swords from Rush and back. A total trip of approx 28-30km. Mostly flat and not too taxing on the body. Only a few gradients such as past Blakes cross and obviously the short one before Rush/Lusk train station and the road between Lusk and Blakes cross. Shouldn't be a problem to you starting out. You just need to build up the miles, fitness (strength in the legs). You get the rewards if you put in the effort and it won't be long before your up to at least 50-60km spins

Beasty wrote: »
    They aren't hills - just drags;)

However you are doing yourself any favours doing it that way round - starting at Lusk then heading to Rush is downhill typically with a tailwind. Coming back there is a drag out of Skerries, generally into a headwind. Because you're heading out towards the coast you're doing the hardest bit last. Try doing it the other way round or cutting out Skerries by taking the turn at Loughshinney. Alternatively, as already suggested head inland to start with to get the benefit of the tailwind coming back

So go Lusk->Rush->Skerries->Lusk->Rush?
    Eh if you don't mind me saying this but stay away from hill's, at least for now there will be loads of time to tackle any hills in the next couple months when your legs get used to pushing pedals..
    theres also a trick in getting over hills without feeling you want to saw the bloody bike in half if ever you make it to the top .
    it's all down to peddling eating drinking and having your head in the right place;)
    so build up your time on the bike and come home fresh.

Yeah, from the advice in this thread so far I think I'll be keeping things relatively flat for the time being. We'll see how it goes. Natural progression and all that :p

billyhead wrote: »
    Why not just cycle to Swords from Rush and back. A total trip of approx 28-30km. Mostly flat and not too taxing on the body. Only a few gradients such as past Blakes cross and obviously the short one before Rush/Lusk train station and the road between Lusk and Blakes cross. Shouldn't be a problem to you starting out. You just need to build up the miles, fitness (strength in the legs). You get the rewards if you put in the effort and it won't be long before your up to at least 50-60km spins

Yep, Swords->Rush and the Ballyboughal spin are my next two targets I think!

Appreciating all of the advice. Yiz are a grand bunch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,174 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Yep, Swords->Rush and the Ballyboughal spin are my next two targets I think!

Appreciating all of the advice. Yiz are a grand bunch!

Best of luck with it. Just try and get the miles into the legs. Commuting to work each day is a good way of building them up. May also be worthwhile if you really start to enjoy cycling to join Swords CC. Membership for next year will be open to newcomers in the next couple of months and cycling with other beginners in a group will help with motivation and make it more enjoyable. I was a member years ago but used to train on my own but intend to join next season and train more with the club. Hopefully I will see you at registration:D

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

No I meant take the left at Loughshinney and head to the Skerries/Lusk road, which avoids the drags into and out of Skerries (although there is a smaller one along that road), then take a left back to Lusk - that's mainly downhill (although into the prevailing wind)

billyhead wrote: »
    Best of luck with it. Just try and get the miles into the legs. Commuting to work each day is a good way of building them up. May also be worthwhile if you really start to enjoy cycling to join Swords CC. Membership for next year will be open to newcomers in the next couple of months and cycling with other beginners in a group will help with motivation and make it more enjoyable. I was a member years ago but used to train on my own but intend to join next season and train more with the club. Hopefully I will see you at registration:D

May very well do that! I've seen a few clubs out and about and felt a tinge of jealousy. Might go and take the plunge.
    No I meant take the left at Loughshinney and head to the Skerries/Lusk road, which avoids the drags into and out of Skerries (although there is a smaller one along that road), then take a left back to Lusk - that's mainly downhill (although into the prevailing wind)

Ah, I see. I've done that a couple of times and it's definitely more comfortable alright. At least now I know why!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,365 ✭✭✭Lusk Doyle

Yes. Beasty means go left at the old yacht pub and up past baldongan to the skerries road and left there back to lusk.