Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

More Power Needed..

• 09-09-2012 2:07am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭

Im currently driving a Ford Fiesta 1.25 Zetec, good car, grand on petrol and gets me from A to B. The only problem is the amount of time getting from A to B :rolleyes:

My daily commute is up the M50 and the lil Fiesta just aint cutting. I usually drive in the fastlane but have noticed lately that I'm getting flashed quite a lot, and im putting this down to the lack of power in the Fiesta.

So I suppose what I'm trying to get at here is should a do a mod or two to the Fiesta to keep the flashing at bay in the fastlane or should I buy a more powerfull engine :confused:

Note: Don't like to speed, 100kmph is more than enough thanks. Limit not a traget and all that :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭kkhornet

Kevvv wrote: »
    Im currently driving a Ford Fiesta 1.25 Zetec, good car, grand on petrol and gets me from A to B. The only problem is the amount of time getting from A to B :rolleyes:

My daily commute is up the M50 and the lil Fiesta just aint cutting. I usually drive in the fastlane but have noticed lately that I'm getting flashed quite a lot, and im putting this down to the lack of power in the Fiesta.

So I suppose what I'm trying to get at here is should a do a mod or two to the Fiesta to keep the flashing at bay in the fastlane or should I buy a more powerfull engine :confused:

Note: Don't like to speed, 100kmph is more than enough thanks. Limit not a traget and all that :cool:

1) There is no fastlane on the M50, it is an overtaking lane.
    2) If your driving in the overtaking lane and not actually overtaking anybody, then move the f##k over.
    3) Obeying this simple rule should stop you been flashed as you wont be holding up traffic that wants to overtake you thus solving your problem and keeping money in your pocket as you won't need to change the car.
    4) That is all:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Jhcx

The M50 is the motorway. It's 120. people like 120 and more. if your only doing 100 keep to the left. unless you meet someone slower than you.

TBF ive been to limerick and passed out traffic doing 120 in an atoz 1liter. im fairly sure your festi is well able to achieve its speed.... better than an atoz

You have your 3 lanes
    Slow, Fast , Faster (or so i gather):pac:
    Site0Camera74.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭MadMardegan

Jhcx wrote: »
    The M50 is the motorway. It's 120. people like 120 and more. if your only doing 100 keep to the left. unless you meet someone slower than you.

TBF ive been to limerick and passed out traffic doing 120 in an atoz 1liter. im fairly sure your festi is well able to achieve its speed.... better than an atoz

You have your 3 lanes
    Site0Camera74.jpg

The M50 has a 100kmh speed limit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,529 ✭✭✭TJJP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Jhcx

Ahh my bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Jhcx wrote: »

You have your 3 lanes
    You gather wrong. You have a driving lane and two overtaking lanes. Just like on a 2 lane motorway you have a driving and an overtaking lane

If the fiesta can't comfortably hit and stay at 100 then there's something wrong with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭Shane Fitz

OSI wrote: »
    Christ I hope this is another wind up.
    ^^^ agreed, it's too frickin early on a Sunday for trolling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭Indricotherium

Could it be your driving style?

I know a learner driver who reckoned his fiesta had no power for overtaking as he said "even when I put it in fifth".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

If the fiesta can't comfortably hit and stay at 100 then there's something wrong with it.

whilst hating to feed a suspected Troll (not you Guy...), I'd have to agree here. A 1.25 Fiesta is easily capable of much more than 100 km/h. They are nippy and comfortable, even on a long journey.

drive in the driving lane OP....or get back under your bridge...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

misc-jackie-chan.svg

My old festy was capable of 120kmh and was comfortable at it.

Might I suggest a supercharged M3 or an Evo instead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

and a 120kmh limit also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭bop1977

You gather wrong. You have a driving lane and two overtaking lanes. Just like on a 2 lane motorway you have a driving and an overtaking lane

That should be 2 driving lanes and one overtaking lane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

So just to clarify, you want a faster car to do the same speed you're already doing, which will somehow make your commute faster?

misc-jackie-chan.svg

The problem is you're in the wrong lane, and people want to get by you. Keep left unless overtaking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭Tony D

Upgrade to a slightly more modern version of your own with higher bhp. Not really worth doing an engine conversion unless you are doing it yourself. If you are capable of that you probably would not be on here asking these q's I suppose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

There is as usual, a silly lack of educaton when it comes to motorways, can a mod make a sticky called Motorways explained. I was in work and everyone thought the middle lane was a driving lane, the left land was a slow lane and the rightmost over taking lane was the fast lane. No wonder we have so many problems with motorways.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,858 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

Cryogen will sell you his "Supercharged BMW GTR engine"....:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

bop1977 wrote: »

That should be 2 driving lanes and one overtaking lane.
    Oh good god.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭keithsfleet

This has gone a bit off topic...
    OP was looking for advice on his car and pretty much every post is about how to use the m fiddy.
    OP you won't gain any huge improvements in modifying the small engine with cheap mods like exhaust or air intake. An incredibly cheap fix to your predicament is strip all the rubbish out of your car. Weight loss will have more of an affect than modifying. Spare wheel/tools, parcel shelf, boot liner, noise deadening. Never filling your fuel tank past half way etc etc.

This has gone a bit off topic...
    OP was looking for advice on his car and pretty much every post is about how to use the m fiddy.

Not really..

The OP hadn't a clue what he was talking about regards his car, and has been told why he's getting flashed on the motorway - because he's using it wrong. If anything I'd say it's been resolved, not gone off topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭AugustusMinimus

This has to be a wind up.

He wants a more powerful car to do his commute faster yet doesn't want to drive faster.

May I suggest folding space ? Worked well for James Spader in Stargate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

The OP is talking sh!te. Faster car not to get flashed in the overtaking lane, which he hogs at 100kph. OP, you'll get flashed if you're driving a ferrari at 100kph in the overtaking lane. Keep left if you want to snail along....and if you insist on calling it "the fast lane", you might consider hitting the target.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,514 ✭✭✭TheChizler

A faster car would get to whatever speed he feels comfortable driving at faster, so would save time that way. I'm in the same boat, don't like going faster than 100 in my Feshty (I do when on the motorway though!) cause it feels like the engine's gonna burst out of the bonnet with the vibration. Asked the dealer about it and they said that was normal :eek:.

TheChizler wrote: »
    A faster car would get to whatever speed he feels comfortable driving at faster, so would save time that way. I'm in the same boat, don't like going faster than 100 in my Feshty (I do when on the motorway though!) cause it feels like the engine's gonna burst out of the bonnet with the vibration. Asked the dealer about it and they said that was normal :eek:.

The OP only mentions the motorway and flashing. There is no mention of getting to 100kph faster. On the motorway, the OP might save a few seconds getting to 100kph in a more powerful vehicle, but the speed is then consistent at 100kph and no time will be saved.

Feeling that the engine will burst from the bonnet and it actually happening are two different things. A fiesta is more than capable of doing and maintaining 100kph for long distances. It could be argued that they are more suitable than many performance cars for doing just that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

dgt wrote: »

apart from taking forever to open what that supposed to prove? M50 is 120kph from Dundrum south to M11, about 20% of it's lenght

goz83 wrote: »
    The OP only mentions the motorway and flashing. There is no mention of getting to 100kph faster. On the motorway, the OP might save a few seconds getting to 100kph in a more powerful vehicle, but the speed is then consistent at 100kph and no time will be saved.

Feeling that the engine will burst from the bonnet and it actually happening are two different things. A fiesta is more than capable of doing and maintaining 100kph for long distances. It could be argued that they are more suitable than many performance cars for doing just that.

And he mentions that it's slow and I'm suggesting more power would help complete journeys faster, without going over the limit like other posters were saying/

I know the engine's not going to actually burst from the bonnet, doesn't make me 100% comfortable doing what feels like straining it though. Driving since 2008 and only been on a motorway four times, never had a chance to get used to the noise.

And he mentions that it's slow and I'm suggesting more power would help complete journeys faster, without going over the limit like other posters were saying/

Jesus christ where do people get educated these days.

If it takes 20 minutes to do your commute at 100km/h, it'll take the same time in a fiesta, a prius, a 599 GTO or a Zonda R. The car is the most irrelevant part of the equation - all that matters is the distance, and how fast you can get from A-B. Which in this case, is limited by the speed limit to 100km/h.

So you have two options, drive over the limit, or move closer. These are the only things that will change how long it takes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭AugustusMinimus

If it takes 20 minutes to do your commute at 100km/h, it'll take the same time in a fiesta, a prius, a 599 GTO or a Zonda R. The car is the most irrelevant part of the equation - all that matters is the distance, and how fast you can get from A-B. Which in this case, is limited by the speed limit to 100km/h.

So you have two options, drive over the limit, or move closer. These are the only things that will change how long it takes.

I think The Chizler may be the biggest pedant on Boards.ie by suggesting the OP will be able to accelerate faster to 100kph, hold his speed at 100kph and by having a better car, may also be able to decelerate slightly faster, thereby saving 2 to 3 seconds on his journey.

This is one fairly ludicrous thread. The OP obviously doesn't understand the Rules of the Road and has seemingly no understanding about the laws of linear motion.

I think the OP has already got what he wants. A few of us wound up. Perhaps locking this thread would prevent it from ever being brought up to the front page. And if I see the OP on the M50, flashing is the best treatment he will receive. I'll be pushing the red button to release oil and tacks when I do over/undertake him. Want to get from A-B faster? Drive the limit (if conditions are safe) or buy a feckin helicopter.

goz83 wrote: »
    And if I see the OP on the M50, flashing is the best treatment he will receive.

Times like this I wish I were still in my van with the 100w plasma xenon yellows, for serious blinding lighting power :pac::pac::pac:

In jest, of course...

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

So to clarify, if I want to drive on the M50, I should stay at 100kmh in the very fast lane, even in the 120Kmh zone? But what if I want to come off at the next exit? Do I stay in the fast lane for as long as possible then drive across? Im confused :confused:

What college would tell me that greater acceleration wouldn't result in a reduced journey time? It's also valid when overtaking. I've been stuck behind trucks for ages on single carriageways cause I didn't have the power to overtake quickly, granted with a full load.

I never said it would save much time. But a few seconds less journey time does equate to a faster journey, just pointing that out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

According to manufacturers spec, your fiesta can do 170km/h and accelerates 0-100km/h in 12.2 seconds.
    That's very average for most cars in Ireland. I don't think your car is your problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭blastman

This whole thread is giving me cancer....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

... My daily commute is up the M50 and the lil Fiesta just aint cutting. I usually drive in the fastlane but have noticed lately that I'm getting flashed quite a lot, and im putting this down to the lack of power in the Fiesta. ...
    Maybe you and your companions on the M50 could do with familiarising yourselves with the ROTR.

1. There is no fastlane on the M50 (there is no fastlane on any roadway in Ireland)

2 If a vehicle approaches you from behind on a multi-lane carriageway such as the M50, you indicate and move to the left, unless of course you are in Lane 1.

3. Flashing headlights, sounding the horn, tailgating or other intimidatory moves towards a driver / vehicle in front on the road are illegal.

I drove on the M50 last week-end and its a lunatic asylum / Wacky Races / DeathRace 2000 combination with at least half of the cars showing L-plates.

mathepac wrote: »
    3. Flashing headlights, sounding the horn, tailgating or other intimidatory moves towards a driver / vehicle in front on the road are illegal.

I.

flashing the lights and blowing the horn to warn the unwary of your approach are however totally what they are there for..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

I bet the OP is sitting back in his chair pissing himself at what he's created here. It's the same story in the zoo as the inets. 'Please do not feed the trolls and or animals. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Theboinkmaster

Hal1 wrote: »
    I bet the OP is sitting back in his chair pissing himself at what he's created here. It's the same story in the zoo as the inets. 'Please do not feed the trolls and or animals. :)

Exactly - the OP is obviously winding you up, no better place to dangle some bait as the motors forum :D

Thread should have been locked after the first reply, nothing else to say on the matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

corktina wrote: »
    flashing the lights and blowing the horn to warn the unwary of your approach are however totally what they are there for..

While studying for CPC questions I remember there was one about flashing lights, and correct answer was that flasing is only allowed to make other driver aware of your presence.
    This would suit doing a quick flash when behind a lane hogger.

However I looked once up in regulations, and couldn't find it written anywhere.
    Also many of those CPC questions and answers are wrong anyway.
    But hopefully this one isn't.

CiniO wrote: »
    While studying for CPC questions I remember there was one about flashing lights, and correct answer was that flasing is only allowed to make other driver aware of your presence.
    This would suit doing a quick flash when behind a lane hogger.

However I looked once up in regulations, and couldn't find it written anywhere.
    Also many of those CPC questions and answers are wrong anyway.
    But hopefully this one isn't.

thats what I said.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

corktina wrote: »
    Like they are totally so not. So like show me in like the ROTR where this is like specified, you know.

mathepac wrote: »
    Like they are totally so not. So like show me in like the ROTR where this is like specified, you know.

what are they for then?
    You do know the Rules of the Road are only advisory and not the Law dontcher?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

Between this and the supercharged BM thread, am I the only one thinking that there is some ex member(or current for that matter) signed in with a different user name posting things that they know will set off boards members?:rolleyes: