Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your Dream Bike

• 08-09-2012 7:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,917 ✭✭✭✭

Ok, im not cycling long ( just about a year)and probably havent seen 1/2 the bike some here have, i dont read cucling mags so have no exposure to bike adds.

But just like every one else (i assume) i would love a specific bike, not because of spec, cost or colour, just that warm feeling when you see one ...

DE34085E-64E8-48DF-B86F-01D4E984E7AF-48761-00005E5690455785-1.jpg

http://www.boardmanbikes.com/road/air98.html

So, whats yours? It doesnt have to cost 10k, just what bike would put a smile on your face??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Seweryn

GT_TDI_150 wrote: »
    So, whats yours? It doesnt have to cost 10k, just what bike would put a smile on your face??
    This one would be just fine :):

1304676753257-nwogg644enl2-670-75.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭Fender76

This...

img_0904_2_600.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,418 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

+1 on the supersix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,578 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

always fancied a merckx bike

eddy-merckx-2012-emx-5-carbon-frameset_productImages_10176-1-16758_800_800_False.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭mitosis

My 1981 Carlton Pro-Am 12. I still miss it.

4586985917_eddfc1ab14.jpg

• Site Banned Posts: 957 ✭✭✭leeomurchu

Seweryn wrote: »
    This one would be just fine :):

1304676753257-nwogg644enl2-670-75.jpg

Nice :cool: How much :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭on_the_nickel

Will offer 3 kids and a Ford Focus for this
    Main.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Seweryn

leeomurchu wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,525 ✭✭✭kilns

I live in Switzerland and every day pass my LBS and drool over this

TDF10_BMC_Impec.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭Plastik

At the moment I wouldn't mind either a Ridley Noah Fast or Look 695 Mondrian.

NIK6642-633x421.jpg
    1080.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Wouldn't say no to one of these is someone offered me one :)

aeroad-cf-9-ete.JPG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

Dutch woman's bicycle, hub gears, hub dynamo, GPS fitted, fuhgeddabahtit lock and cable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

Bianchi Oltre.

Drool.
    2011-bianchi-oltre-high-end-road-bike.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

TCR_Advanced_SL_0_ISP.jpg

OR

oltre-black.jpg

(Sorry bad2dabone, has to be a black oltre!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,418 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

leeomurchu wrote: »

pocket change sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭tawfeeredux

I'd swap the wheels around on these two & bin the BMC.
    kilns wrote: »
    TDF10_BMC_Impec.jpg
    bad2dabone wrote: »
    2011-bianchi-oltre-high-end-road-bike.jpg

But, money no object, it'd be the Supersix or the Pegoretti Duende:

5442935830_f53129495a.jpg

• Site Banned Posts: 957 ✭✭✭leeomurchu

Jebus Mary and the Carpenter that'd be cheap at twice the price :eek:

I'll stick with this one :D

pennyfarthingy.jpg

I'd have to start work on the mutton chops though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,223 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Are those Lightweight tubs on a touring/commuter bike?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

Something like this...

33bpp1x.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Bob Jackson world tour with some lovely Reynolds tubing. Nom

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

Lumen wrote: »
    Are those Lightweight tubs on a touring/commuter bike?

i reckon so but this guy has some reputation when it comes to building bikes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Colmustard

RenovoWoodenBike.jpg

7_14_2008_renovo1.jpg

I think these are gorgeous, wooden bikes with the same performance and strenght as their metal cousins. Also made with "sustainable" environmental friendly materials and because the frame is wooden it give a much more comfortable ride. The prices are reasonable to.

I want one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,013 ✭✭✭Ole Rodrigo

Moots Vamoots

4740430146_8d4ec968d4.jpg

The other Look 695..

1277822650866_54fhjk3ymhxn_798_75_600.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭happytramp

photo_02.jpg

Ideally I'd like a 74 but I suppose I'll settle for this early 80's one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

On a recent trip to Edinburgh I came across the Movistar Dogma with EPS.
    Gorgeous in real life but £10k
    page0002%25287%2529.jpg
    I also loved my Eddy Merckx Team Issue 7 11 bike
    CCF25022008_00004.jpg
    loved the feel of it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Colmustard

bcmf wrote: »
    On a recent trip to Edinburgh I came across the Movistar Dogma with EPS.
    Gorgeous in real life but £10k

loved the feel of it

A thing of beauty alright.

I also like ogling at the 5000 to 10000 bikes in the shops that stock them, they are things of beauty and then when you feel the weight, they are also things of amazement to.

Something in me thinks it would be a sin to pay so much for a bike for just general use or even amateur competition.

I have the same feelings towards luxury cars, even if I won the lotto I would never pay more then 30grand for a car.

There must be Calvinist blood in me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Hungrycol

I want one of these too but I'd go for the Di2 version:
    220145.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭rab!dmonkey

This is my dream commuter.s780_WHAT_THE_Santa_Cruz_V10_Fat_Bike.jpg?1346253540

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭djfattony2000

sb66_overview_profile_high.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭sav1980

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

I also want one of these. My god, I would WRECK that ****.
    C59-Italia-NERO-e1308726615965.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

This is just becoming another post images of beauty thread, I don't know what I'd buy, someone put 10k in my hand and lets find out....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,223 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

I'd probably go for something metal with fully integrated EPS like this Firefly (which has Di2).

http://fireflybicycles.com/1138

...but with a nice paintjob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭dave_o_brien

Lumen wrote: »
    I'd probably go for something metal with fully integrated EPS like this Firefly (which has Di2).

http://fireflybicycles.com/1138

...but with a nice paintjob.

No paint for me, thanks. Lovely looking frame.