Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How many bikes do you own

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭sav1980

I have 2 as well - a KTM Strada 3000 road bike and my trusty old Trek7.2 Hybrid for popping to the shops or for cycling alongside my 7 year old son. The temptation to leave him for dust would be too much on a road bike;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

Six and an old frame. I could do with a better CX bike and a CF MTB though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

went from 4 down to 2 sold my road bike last week.
    i now have a do it all bike and a full on Thorn expedition touring bike.;)
    i'm buying no more bikes thats it fineto.:(:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,573 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

you could start reading this
    Boards User's Bikes (Fleets) - No general discussion
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=72755581

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,418 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

four but i want to get a tt bike and a cf road bike oh and a hack for around town and i wouldnt mind a bmx either :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Carbon Road Bike, Full Sus MTB, and a Fixie.

Not as many as I'd like, but bar winning the lotto or robbing beasty's gaff things aren't looking up in that regard....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 940 ✭✭✭monkeyslayer

Four. Two carbon roadbikes, a hardtail mtb and a 15 year old indestructible trek MTB for the city. One of the first three has to go though. There's a fifth, but i don't speak about it anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭Diego Murphy

billyhead wrote: »
    I have 2 at the mo. One full carbon road bike for fair weather cycling., 1 touring bike which is a peice of junk for getting around locally and have ordered the below winter bike for winter training and the odd commute

http://www.ribblecycles.co.uk/sed/road-track-bike/ribble-7005-audax-winter-training-sram-equipped?part=SERIBB7005WINTERSRAM&sub=conf_SERC

What about yourselves?

Have a Planet X Nanolight. Seriously considering getting one of the Ribble bikes that you've just ordered because I want to preserve the components on the planet x. Let me know what it's like when you get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,795 ✭✭✭C3PO

Six - all get used regularly .... well maybe except the BMX which I really should sell!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,176 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Have a Planet X Nanolight. Seriously considering getting one of the Ribble bikes that you've just ordered because I want to preserve the components on the planet x. Let me know what it's like when you get it.

Will do. Its the same reason I am getting the Rible. I don't want to use the carbon bike during the winter. However if its anything like last winter where the weather was alright the Ribble might see less action then anticipated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭triggermortis

I have 3 at the moment. A full suspension Giant VT2 MTB, a Boardman team comp road bike and a Cube Aerial for commuting and the odd spin in Switzerland.
    Looking to upgrade the Boardman soon but can't finally decide what to get...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭Sarz91

I currently have 3 road bikes: 1994 Diamondback Interval complete with downtube shifters, winter/training bike, Focus Variado and a Ribble Sportive, its the older one not the new one full carbon.

Just read a few of the comments above and Ribble are actually giving away one of there Audax bikes. The answer to the question is BLUE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

Not enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Popoutman

One: 2009 Giant ReignX1, almost stock except for differing springs to better suit my weight.
    Two: Trek Madone 4.5 full-carbon with a few upgraded bits such as ksyrium elite wheels, ultegra brakes.
    Three: A no-brand rigid singlespeed commuter bike for heading into the University. Needs mudguards ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭macnab

2 carbon road bikes,
    1 BSO Mountain bike,
    1 Fold up bike,
    Do my 4 motorbikes count??

Four, but I might look for a replacement for my commuter at some point (back in proper use next week)!

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

N-1

where N=the number of bikes I Need (and increases by 1 with every bike I buy)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Seweryn

Beasty wrote: »
    N-1

Very same here with a minor difference...

Bicycles owned = W-1

Where W is the number of bikes I Want :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,917 ✭✭✭✭GT_TDI_150

Seweryn wrote: »
    Beasty wrote: »
    N-1

Very same here with a minor difference...

Bicycles owned = W-1

Where W is the number of bikes I Want :).

Im on bicycles owned = D - 1
    Where D is the number of bike owned would result in Divorse

So im stuck on 1 :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭insinkerator

I have two. Canyon Roadlite 7.0 and an old steel framed peugeot that I'll be using for commuting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Two motor, 5 push and one unicycle.

A Suzuki GSXR-750
    Honda Bross 400

Cannondale M2000 Retro XT Components (For sale or PX for fixiy),
    Cannondale Killer 900 Retro. XTR & XT (Rebuilding).
    Litespeed road bike Shimano 105.
    Peugeot Hack bike. (Found in a skip)
    Carlton Continental 10 speed (Had it since I was a teenager)

Unicycle I put together in Collage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

Unicycle I put together in Collage.

Better not let that one get wet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 JayConlon91

sorry to open up this again people im just lookin to find out if any of you have owned or used a specialized hardrock?? i just payed for one today its the hardrock sport disc break and put road wheels on it and everything :) just wondering if i purchased a good bike..thanks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,058 ✭✭✭AltAccount

Depends how much you paid and what condition it's in.

Unless it's new...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

3 bikes at the minute...

1. Road bike: BMC StreetRacer SR01 105
    2. TT Bike: Pedal Force TT02 Ultegra
    3. Commuter: On-One Pompino SS

I think if I picked up an ultegra equipped carbon road bike and a decent CX bike I'd be a happy camper. A MTB would be nice, but I reckon any trails I'd trust myself on could be tackled with a CX bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭2011abc

Whats the Nanolight like?(Frame only weight?)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,766 Mod ✭✭✭✭mossym

sorry to open up this again people im just lookin to find out if any of you have owned or used a specialized hardrock?? i just payed for one today its the hardrock sport disc break and put road wheels on it and everything :) just wondering if i purchased a good bike..thanks :)

i have the next model up, a rockhopper, for a few years now, and it's been rock solid. specialized make decent bikes, as long as it's not totally beat up i'm sure it'll be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 JayConlon91

Thanks mossy m..ye iv read a bit and they seem to be a good brand of bicycle :) im nt goin mountain biking or anything so itl stay in good nick..put the road wheels on it because im not a competitive cyclist so il be only cycling as a hobby and didn wanna spend the big money on a race bike yano :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭foxer3640

Have 5 at the mo. The mountain bikes dont get used as much as they used to but cant bring myself to sell them.

foes 2:1 dhs mono downhill mtb.
    giant reignx trail bike
    ridley orion training bike
    cervelo rs for racing
    an old canadian hardtail mtb that i started on years ago.

Dont even want to think how much cash this cycling lark has set me back through the years :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

I'm a beginner really, so one decent road bike (giant defy 3) and a very basic commuter (giant escape 3). Likely that I'll get something nicer around march or April, possibly full carbon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭Konkers

My first Frame, Lapierre s-tech 200 upgraded with a tiagra group set and hope hoops
    Secondhand diamondback for chiles at and running to town and shops

Becoming 3
    A carbon Rose with mavic ksyrium elites and ultegra group set due to be delivered in earlyfeb (next week..."...:pac:)

• Site Banned Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭jayteecork

None.