Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SON Dynamo Hub.

• 08-09-2012 5:17pm
    Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,085 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Any recommendations as to a good "wheel man" to fit one to a front wheel?
    Heard "Mikes Bikes" in Dunlaoighre had a decent wheel builder............

Dave Mc. in JD's ?

Anyone got one fitted (or any dynamo) and are happy with the result?

Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

I think holyboy (bee cycles) put together a dynamo hub for someone on boards.ie. Can't remember who though :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

i got a price from Wheelsmith .co.uk supposed to be brilliant at building wheels well so i'm told £119 i send them the hub they build it with what ever rim and spokes i choose.;)
    btw the headlight you want is the (IQ cyo r) and yes the sun is the dogs as far as dynmo hubs go .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭DualFrontDiscs

Ben in Kinetics is where I sourced my SON hub and he built my wheels. V. happy.

Would recommend Bee Cycles for wheel building in general. Now have a bomb proof rear wheel on my Christiania.

SON rocks. B+M IQ all the way.

DFD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭LastGasp

I got mine supplied and wheel built by SJS Cycles and they did a good job. 18 months later, the only time I had to tweak spokes was after I drove over a speed ramp with the bike on back rack, and family in the car, and whacked the front wheel on the ramp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 926 ✭✭✭G rock

I know it isn't the same, but I'm getting my shimano n80 built into a wheel by holyboy, after getting the wheels for my mercian built by him.

Highly recommended!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,231 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

I'm going Supernova for my new winter bike project. The seat post mount rear light looks da sex, and the hub is very light.

Also, Holyboy has built some difficult wheels for me no problem, including several Shimano dyno ones

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,085 Mod ✭✭✭✭Planet X

Lumen wrote: »
    I'm going Supernova for my new winter bike project. The seat post mount rear light looks da sex, and the hub is very light.

Extremely expensive no?
    Saw their lights and they have "Cracking Bods" alright.

Prob. is that I don't need a new wheel, don't want to end up with two fronts (wouldn't mind mind).
    Just if I was to buy a SON from Starbike and get someone to slap it on. Want someone who can build wheels well I reckon.

Planet X wrote: »
    Extremely expensive no?
    Saw their lights and they have "Cracking Bods" alright.

Ah, I haven't added it up yet. I have B&M at the moment and they're fine tbh, although getting my head around the various models took ages.

I know what I want in that respect, 36h. 26" wheel. Bolt on disc etc,

http://www.starbike.com/p/SON-28-disc-1940-en#16578

The light can come .....whenever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,014 ✭✭✭Mefistofelino

Lumen wrote: »

I've been running with a similar set-up for about a year now -this is my tuppence worth:

1) The Supernova front hub is actually made by "Shutter Precision" in Taiwan. Its available from number of sources at far less than Supernova charge. I think I paid about €110 for mine, delivered from the Continent. Ison Distribution in the UK now carry it at £90

2) The hub is indeed very light, but that has been achieved by making the hub body quite narrow. IIRC, the spoke flanges are only about 50mm apart. This means that the bracing angle on the wheel isn't great. I haven't measured it objectively but at normal spoke tensions, the rim seems to deflect more for a given side-load. Having said that, I haven't had any issues with it.

3) Supernova offer two headlamps - the E3 Pro and the E3 Triple. The Triple is their "MTB" offering as it supposedly puts out light levels beyond those permitted by the German regs. Not being in Germany, thats what I got. It certanly has a high output but just throws the light everywhere Even when aimed downwards, there is still sufficient light loss to light up the big green route signs on the overhead gantries from 100+ metres away. I think the E3 Pro is more usable on the road.. the SON Edelux may be even better. I haven't seen how the new E3 Pro 2 performs.

4) The rear LED light looks brill but is a waste of time, to be honest. Three relatively ordinary LEDs - no lens / collimator / reflector. Rear battery-powered LEDs offer far better bang for your euro. If you must have a rear dynamo powered LED lamp, the Busch und Muller mudguard-mounted lamps look a better option.

5) The headlights come in two mounting options - a fixed bracket that can be mounted along the brake bolt or a rubber-band clamp for the bars. Given the cost of the headlight, the rubber-band / clamp option allows you disconnect the light and take it away. The drawback is that in use, the lamp sits high above the bars. Nothing wrong as such with it but it just looks awkward.

SONdelux 36 hole Disc.....

DSCN0135_zps8a733352.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Oooooooooooh shiney! now for a beasty headlamp to go with it

Oh yeah. The Luxos U is on the cards. Built in USB.

http://www.bike24.com/1.php?content=8;navigation=1;menu=1000,5,66;product=38271

SONdelux and a Busch & Muller Luxos U. 90 bleedin' Lux and a USB port to boot.

DSCN0183_zps0af0c07e.jpg

DSCN0186_zps9e8abaab.jpg

DSCN0185_zps664d7ee0.jpg
    DSCN0187_zpsf20b0794.jpg

Beam shot from internet,
    luxos-u-full1_zps9c9cd69e.jpeg
    http://www.bumm.de/produkte/dynamo-scheinwerfer/lumotec-iq2-luxos.html

been itching to buy that light but no one has tesred it as yet on dark country roads (well at least on another forum i'm on ;))
    so did you give it a rattle yet, i know that photo is from peter white .
    so overall do you fine the the new headlight and charger all thats its made out to be.
    looks fantastic thanks for posting.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 926 ✭✭✭G rock

Lovely set up planet x, best of the best.

Will be interested in hearing how you get on with it, some reports of it have been disappointing, especially in the wet.

wishing you the best with it, if you get on well with it, it might just push me in the luxos direction as an upgrade!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,386 ✭✭✭lennymc

ill be looking at a set up simliar to that for winter commuting. I do have an ebay light thats quite bright, but would rather a dynamo hub that i dont need to charge.

G rock wrote: »
    Lovely set up planet x, best of the best.

Will be interested in hearing how you get on with it, some reports of it have been disappointing, especially in the wet.

wishing you the best with it, if you get on well with it, it might just push me in the luxos direction as an upgrade!
    yes one of the lads on thorn forum had problems with it in the rain think he solved it by drying out the unit and plastic bag over the charger he hasn't tried out the headlight as yet.
    i bough a front dynamo wheel from bikediscount shimano dynamo hub excellent wheel does exactly what its supposed to do and no drag on the hub when turned on .but i need to upgrade my bush n muller headlight, its good but more a yellow light compaired to the cateye battery light.

(As stated on the Busch & Muller included instruction leaflet)

".............During rain, the USB socket cannot be used and the rubber cap has to remain closed (Ed. rubber cap on actual light housing, you can see it just below and behind Luxos name on above pic.)......alternatively, the socket (USB) may be protected against moisture e.g.by sheathing it in plastic...."

Rain obviously is not going to affect dynamo light.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

Sorry to drag up an old thread, but do you remember what you used to mount light to handlebars?
    Have 31mm bars so was curious is there an easily found bracket available for mounting?

SJS should have every permutation of mounting arms etc. Got my handlebar mount off them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

Thanks for that. Found one for oversized bars eventually, most are for standard.

Will try on caliper bolt until then.

Nice set up, I went for a cheaper option, a 60 lux b+m light with a shimano 80 hub

Enjoy it.
    I found myself going to work last month much earlier in the morning to catch the darkness. Dynamos are a blast!

Looking expensive for a front for my Audax bike, about €367 from Starbike.
    Without the build cost and p & p.
    Any pointers???
    Cheers.

And..... I want a SON! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭The Ging and I

Cheaper to buy wheel built with a SON from Germany.

Starbike is a German site I was on no?
    Couldn't locate their complete builds on the site though.

I got my wheel by logging onto ebay.de
    I look for mavic open pro in radsport, this then gives you all combinations of hubs they will build up for you.
    Guess entering the SON will have the reverse effect.
    Got mine 6 years ago so I have forgotten who supplied it. Its done 2 PBPs and everything in between and the rim is starting to show its age.
    Hub is 100%

I got my wheel by logging onto ebay.de
    I look for mavic open pro in radsport, this then gives you all combinations of hubs they will build up for you.
    Guess entering the SON will have the reverse effect.
    Got mine 6 years ago so I have forgotten who supplied it. Its done 2 PBPs and everything in between and the rim is starting to show its age.
    Hub is 100%

That looks like a deal alright.
    Got to get home to a computer and try and get a translation or contact Radsport but seems the way to go.
    Many thanks for that.

Planet X, Radsport is the German for bicycles in German.
    ebay.de - Radsport -look for SON/etc

Planet X, Radsport is the German for bicycles in German.
    ebay.de - Radsport -look for SON/etc

Yeah......I looked them up on eBay as you advised and basically saw what I wanted.
    Just want to get on my computer and check it more.

Just some advise please.
    Currently getting a quote from Starbike and Bike 24 for a SON28 Mavic A719 32h. 700c.
    Got a reply asking what spokes?
    Sapim double butted xray or something?
    I'm under 75kg.

The guy in Starbike is suggesting DT Competition.
    Seems to be an allround strong type of spoke from what Google says.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭OleRodrigo

Am currently facing the same options but with a different supplier.

I don't think there's much of a difference. Getting the right amount of spokes for the weight they will support, and having them laced properly ( especially if the drivetrain is 11 speed ) will have a bigger impact on performance, IMO.

Mostly for the saucy double entendre, I'll be going with double butted/ brass nipples. :pac:

I'm just getting a front.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭OleRodrigo

Ah right...not much to worry about so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

The guy in Starbike is suggesting DT Competition.
    Seems to be an allround strong type of spoke from what Google says.

I used DT competition on my build. Same 32h rim and a Son 20 hub. 12000k on it in a year and it's very happy...

I'll probably knock out 1200k. a year.
    Be grand so...... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,111 ✭✭✭✭ted1

I've this one under the Christmas tree.

http://www.rosebikes.com/article/road-front-wheel-28700-c-mavic-cxp-prodh-3n80/aid:716428

The 3n80 seems to get great reviews.

I'll put up a video and review once o get to use it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭The tax man

cdaly_ wrote: »
    I used DT competition on my build. Same 32h rim and a Son 20 hub. 12000k on it in a year and it's very happy...

Ditto. DT Competition spokes on my dynamo wheel. No issues so far.

Just waiting for the German lad to get back to me with a quote.
    I told him to go with them Schnell Schnell!!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,884 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

ted1 wrote: »
    I've this one under the Christmas tree.

http://www.rosebikes.com/article/road-front-wheel-28700-c-mavic-cxp-prodh-3n80/aid:716428

The 3n80 seems to get great reviews.

I'll put up a video and review once o get to use it.

Thats the one I had, great wheel.