Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Taxing car

• 08-09-2012 8:39am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28

I'm picking up my new car today...... For those of you that were following my previous tread, i bought the passat that i was offered from a dealer.

My question is relating to taxing the car. I badly need the car for work next week but I am worried about driving the car without having it taxed as the tax ran out last may. Also while i will be insured, I won't have an insurance disc to display till that gets posted out to me.

I know I have to wait for the log book to come back before I can go to the local tax office to tax the car.

So what happens if I drive the car for the week, untaxed, and get stopped by the guards. Are they lenient towards people who have just bought their cars or will I get fined or whats the usual story?

The garage said they will give me some letter showing that I just bought the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,330 ✭✭✭readytosnap

happened to me before got stoppped at a checkpoint the day after buying and no tax disc at all in the window or insurance, i showed the guard the receipt and he was happy enough with that, worse that can happen is that they ask you to produce within ten days, no doubt you will have all the documentation by then so no problem, but that wont stop stop some eagle eyed traffic warden issuing you with a ticket for non display so watch where you park in the meantime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

worse that can happen is that they ask you to produce within ten days
    This is not the worst that can happen, just fyi OP - but it's the most probable scenario.
    If a Gardai stops you with tax out since May 2011 he might take the car from you there and then (even if you just bought it).

biko wrote: »
    This is not the worst that can happen, just fyi OP.
    If a Gardai stops you with tax out since May 2011 he might take the car from you there and then (even if you just bought it).

Not if he can prove he has only just purchased the vehicle.

There is no way he can be held liable for the non taxing of a vehicle he didn't own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭liammur

This is not the worst that can happen, just fyi OP - but it's the most probable scenario.

He can't do that. It's impossible for someone to tax their car the day they buy their car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭daingeanrob

the last car i bought from a dealer a few months back the dealer was able to change the car into my name online (dealers can only do this) so there was no posting of the log book back to shannon, this sped up the process and i had the new log book 3 days later.

i think that if you were stopped and had only bought the car you would be alright, it'd be a bad act for a guard to do someone for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

liammur wrote: »
    He can't do that. It's impossible for someone to tax their car the day they buy their car.
    OP is picking car up today but wants to drive it untaxed next week while waiting for log book so he can tax it.

That's fine, he has a few weeks to sort it out. It's impossible to tax it the day you get it. Just make sure you have it insured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 marcl

liammur wrote: »
    That's fine, he has a few weeks to sort it out. It's impossible to tax it the day you get it. Just make sure you have it insured.

Thanks guys, I think i'm going to have to chance driving it for the week so hopefully I won't come across a guard, and if I do hopefully they will let me off

The car is insured, but I have no confirmation of being insured as I haven't received the disc yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Can you get a reciept or an email confirmation or something like that of the insurance? Basically something that you can print out and carry with you until the disc arrives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

You'll be fine. I picked up a car on a Wednesday morning and was pulled over on the following Saturday by an unmarked Garda car as I showed up for having no tax. I had no proof of insurance either but the Gard accepted the receipt from the garage and my story that I was just waiting for the documents to come so I could sort the rest out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,888 ✭✭✭nanook

Firstly congrats on the car.

One thing that has not been discussed is parking. I am not sure where you will be parking during the day but avoid on street paid parking.

Traffic wardens issue tickets for no tax displayed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 amcm27

Hi there, I had the same problem. I bought a car the last day of August and the tax was out since the start of August. I had the insurance sorted and changed over to the new car, drove it home, and then contacted the motor tax office by email. They said that if I got stopped by a guard, I would be able to explain my situation and that I could drive it while waiting for my name to be put on the log book. I then printed off this email and kept it in my car, in case I was stopped by a guard so I could show him I had permission from the motor tax office. I have now received the new log book - I'm going to the garda station today to get them to stamp it and say that it was off the road for the month of August and that I did not receive the log book until September. Then I won't be charged tax for August and I won't be charged the late penalty payment. I hope this helps!

nanook wrote: »
    Firstly congrats on the car.

One thing that has not been discussed is parking. I am not sure where you will be parking during the day but avoid on street paid parking.

Traffic wardens issue tickets for no tax displayed.

Think i may of mentioned that in my first post ;)

dar83 wrote: »
    You'll be fine. I picked up a car on a Wednesday morning and was pulled over on the following Saturday by an unmarked Garda car as I showed up for having no tax. I had no proof of insurance either but the Gard accepted the receipt from the garage and my story that I was just waiting for the documents to come so I could sort the rest out.

Did he catch you via a computer scanner in the car ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 marcl

I must have bad karma lads

Picked up the car at 3pm, just got pulled by guards ten minutes ago on the way home from the garage.

Lucky they were sound and let me off when i told them I just bought it

But seriously like, I don't even have the car an hour and i've been pulled already