Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gettin to of neighbours

• 08-09-2012 2:17am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,203 ✭✭✭

Not sure if this is right section

To start off we have new neighbours for past month and half and there is a girl Rentin it I'm assuming she's claimin single parent and rent allowance( she looks bout 18) and she has other teens coming to the house every weekend and has loud music and just all round making noise
    I know they're just kids but tonight took the biscuit
    We hadn't seen anyone in the house since last Sunday and the owner of the house asked me on thursday if I seen them and I said not since Sunday as I seen the girl with black bags leaving the house
    So I assumed she moved out and so did the owner as she said they don't answer the phone ( rent is due)
    So tonight came home from work and the lights were on and noise the usual and I'm thinkin they broke in because they still had the house key
    But shouting and screaming in the house and then in the front garden a fight happened and one lad had a big blade and we called the Garda 40 mins after 3 phone calls the Garda came and arrested one lad and they all left
    Then hour later bout 20 of them comes back and makes more noise on the road and I hear window smash next door wasn't mine thank god
    Il be ringin land lord tomoro bout it and if they are livin there again can I get a petition signed by other residents to get them out of the house
    I'm worried for my house and the cars in front and one day il end up havin enough and do somethin il regret or end up gettin hurt myself
    Sorry for long post but everyone in me house is worried now

Excuse the title I'm using my phone and dictionary put wrong word
    It should be gettin rid of neighbours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

Unfortunately your only real option is to move.

Nothing else will make any real difference, unless your get very lucky and the scum next door won't put up a fight if their LL evicts them. If they do, expect it to take upwards of a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,203 ✭✭✭dodderangler

I've lived here since I was born ( well only moved back in few months ago after issues with the gf )
    My parents definately are not going to move
    Surely there is something that can be done
    I know I'm not the only one on the road with issues with them
    2 weeks ago they're front window was smashed in after another house party
    Now I've seen scumbags in me life but these are proper scum and the smell of weed coming from the house is fcukin disgusting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Squ

I've lived here since I was born ( well only moved back in few months ago after issues with the gf )
    My parents definately are not going to move
    Surely there is something that can be done
    I know I'm not the only one on the road with issues with them
    2 weeks ago they're front window was smashed in after another house party
    Now I've seen scumbags in me life but these are proper scum and the smell of weed coming from the house is fcukin disgusting
    Dont go near them.. All you can do is keep ringing the cops and ll

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,760 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Tell the landlord he shoud evict them for serious anti social behaviour; it's (theoretically) a 7 day notice procedure. (let us know if he's successful, I suspect most aren't.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭odds_on

Pkiernan wrote: »
    Unfortunately your only real option is to move.

Nothing else will make any real difference, unless your get very lucky and the scum next door won't put up a fight if their LL evicts them. If they do, expect it to take upwards of a year.

You can make a claim with the Private Residential Tenancies Board against the landlord who is responsible for his tenants behaviour. He can, under the Residential Tenancies Act 2004 evict the tenants within 7 days in serious cases where there is serious anti-social behaviour.

Anti-social behaviour is defined in the RTA 2004 as
    ‘‘behave in a way that is anti-social’’ means—
    (a) engage in behaviour that constitutes the commission of an offence, being an offence the commission of which is reasonably likely to affect directly the well-being or welfare of others,
    (b) engage in behaviour that causes or could cause fear, danger, injury, damage or loss to any person living, working or otherwise lawfully in the dwelling concerned or its vicinity and, without prejudice to the generality of the foregoing, includes violence, intimidation, coercion, harassment or obstruction of, or threats to, any such person, or
    (c) engage, persistently, in behaviour that prevents or interferes with the peaceful occupation—
    (i) by any other person residing in the dwelling concerned, of that dwelling,
    (ii) by any person residing in any other dwelling contained in the property containing the dwelling concerned, of that other dwelling, or
    (iii) by any person residing in a dwelling (‘‘neighbourhood dwelling’’) in the vicinity of the dwelling or the property containing the dwelling concerned, of that neighbourhood dwelling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭ynotonavillus

odds_on wrote: »
    He can, under the Residential Tenancies Act 2004 evict the tenants within 7 days in serious cases where there is serious anti-social behaviour.

If the landlord is not getting rent, chances are that he will be glad of the opportunity of a quick eviction process.

I would ring him every time that there is commotion, to allow him the chance to witness this first hand.

This would be especially the case if it were late at night or in the early hours of the morning, it is after all in his best interest. If he becomes unresponsive then off to your solicitor for an action for nuisance or the like.

The quicker you act the easier it will be in the long run, the last thing you want is some of the scumbags buddies moving in near by.

But keep a cool head and be careful... Deal with the Landlord and the Guards, avoid confrontation with them directly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭Procrastastudy

+1 on the PRTB. They will take ages but when this starts hitting the LL in the pocket he'll do something about it. Make a formal complaint to the guards and keep at it. They''l do their best to fob you off but make sure you keep them updated.

It might be worth getting on to the local council as well. They may or may not be able to do anything but again its all about making a massive nuisance of yourself, in the right way, to the land lord. If you see the LL be polite but firm. He's probably in a mire himself - the damage they'll do will be very expensive for him to fix. Just remind, politely, that if he doesn't do something soon you will have no option but to go the the PRTB.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭odds_on

+1 on the PRTB. They will take ages but when this starts hitting the LL in the pocket he'll do something about it. Make a formal complaint to the guards and keep at it. They''l do their best to fob you off but make sure you keep them updated.

It might be worth getting on to the local council as well. They may or may not be able to do anything but again its all about making a massive nuisance of yourself, in the right way, to the land lord. If you see the LL be polite but firm. He's probably in a mire himself - the damage they'll do will be very expensive for him to fix. Just remind, politely, that if he doesn't do something soon you will have no option but to go the the PRTB.
    Any verbal communication you have with anybody about the situation should be followed up by a dated letter ("with reference to our conversation of today ..........") to that person, department or what ever. This provides evidence for your actions and worry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Strawberry Fields

The guards can use criminal justice act 2006 to deal with anti social behaviour. I would be expecting them to follow up complaints by using this act. Basically The tenants get a warning if they break the warning can be taken to court. More info here http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/justice/law_enforcement/anti_social_behaviour_by_adults.html