Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

manor village

• 07-09-2012 4:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6

hello just wondering is it possible to bring a non resident friend over for the night? if you have to pay how much? thanks:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 jimbob92345

hello just wondering is it possible to bring a non resident friend over for the night? if you have to pay how much? thanks:)

You tell them at reception and they take the name , when i lived there it was 5 euro. But if ur just bringing a friend for the night and not going out say nothing and just bring em in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭Media999

Paying to bring someone into an apartment that you pay rent on :)

What a joke!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 jimbob92345

Oh well there in for a lot of fun ! inspections and getting fines , unreal hassle from security guards that work there. Dont be hoping to get back the majority of your deposit either !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 how ye goin1323

thanks lads, @media999 yupp its crazy u pay 87euro a week and u can't even bring a friend over for the night , its really stupid u caan have noisy partys in ur apartment but u can't bring a friend over! and its not like they manor have to put in an extra bed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

There are two security guys in manor, Robert and Garvan. They're both fairly sound so if you go down and have a chat with them it'll make your life at Manor much easier.

Wait till the reception staff leave, and go down to the Security lads. Explain that you want a friend to stay over. They'll take your name, room number, and name of your friend. They won't charge you either. Don't do it through reception or you'll have to pay and you'll only be allowed a guest once a month. Don't ask them on the actual day you want the guest to stay. Ask the day before, and remind them on the actual day.

I lived there last year and my sister came to stay once a week, never once booked them in with reception.

Getting on the good side of the Security lads will take a lot of hassle out of things. I know a few people who got on the wrong side of them and it made things very difficult to them, they were reported to reception staff, weren't allowed parties and guests were out of the question.

Good luck :)

House share in a decent area all the way. Time of your life and way cheaper.

Unless you want to live a complete introvert lifestyle stay away from Manor village.

385 a month rent in manor village. :eek::eek:

4 rooms. Fantastic house. opposite college. 750 euro

40 odd euro a week. :cool:

People in Manor Village are actually insane. Should be renamed Manor Asylum :D

edit - Also avoid WaterfordLettings like the plague. They keep rents artificially high for students by encouraging landlords to all ask for 75 per room a week. Complete and utter price fixing. Glad they took on a pile of templars hall houses this year and got stuck with no tenants. People obviously kopped on to them and refused to pay.

These are the clowns who park their jeep opposite the college for free advertising. Desperately trying to flog all the over priced houses. They take on houses that no one else will go near. Houses that have been burgled etc.. [templars hall] and try flog them to gullible students who arent from here. Avoid at all costs.

sound out @white roses, well coming home late with a random bird from a night out looks out of the question soo , well everythings paid for now but shor always next year and get meseff in a house!!

Another thing we did last year was make friends with people on the ground floor, handy enough to sneak people in their window if they'll let you. They might have installed security cameras since last year but as far as I know, there are none around that area :)

cool stuff, and are they people watching the security cameras all day? and can people from other rooms in the village go "legally" go into ur own room? , this really dosnt sound worth the 85 per week haha only that its really near church str.

There aren't people watching them all day but the place is recorded all day, there are even cameras in the lifts! They're only mainly watched by night, particularly Monday and Wednesday nights.

Having other residents stay over is no problem, they don't mind that at all.

Also bear in mind that if you live in the part of Block A that doesn't face the courtyard, your facing a Nursing Home, and they're always ringing the guards over the Manor parties.

During Freshers/Rag Week/ WIT Christmas Day, there's no chance of getting anyone in, no matter what time of day, even just for an hour. I know someone who got thrown out last year for sneaking people in Christmas Day. Manor is like a ghost town during big student events cause security is so strict.

alri thanks for the info :) i havnt even moved in yet so im got a bit p*ssed off when i seen all the negatives comments about it on this haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 Majaakay

MANOR IS THE BEST CRAIC EVER!!!!!

Its the best place for parties,making friends etc
    and its near town!!!!

brill if your in college st :)

however i got €144 back from my deposit.....
    gave me stupid reasons , had to paint the room, clean the curtains etc
    So that is crap !!!!
    It is a bit of a rip-off!!!!!
    I would still highly recommend it for 1st years though !!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 tryde

wow, wish I came across this thread earlier, should I make pictures or something so they can't rip off the deposit if everything's the same when I'm moving out? Guess it'll be alright till May, but wouldn't fancy losing that 400 euro. =/

I mean, the biggest issue is that my father hates being ripped off, so he might even go as far as filling a lawsuit against them if they try ripping deposit for no reason, would rather avoid it. ><

ps. a question while I'm at it, what about having guests over during the day? Do they have problems with that as well?

Place must be left in the same condition it was rented to you in.

If your walls and curtains are destroyed theres no way in hell youll have a leg to stand on with any lawsuit about deposits. The same goes for any rented accommodation.

If your living with a group of teens dont expect your deposit back. However i would be asking for an itemised bill of exactly what your being charged for. They could pull a scam and charge you all for the same things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 tryde

Media999 wrote: »
    Place must be left in the same condition it was rented to you in.

If your walls and curtains are destroyed theres no way in hell youll have a leg to stand on with any lawsuit about deposits. The same goes for any rented accommodation.

If your living with a group of teens dont expect your deposit back. However i would be asking for an itemised bill of exactly what your being charged for. They could pull a scam and charge you all for the same things.

The other flat-mates seem quite decent, so hopefully they'll not make much mess(I'll try to stop 'em from it at least.

I'm as anti-party/mess as a person can be, so I'll be probably leave the flat in better condition than it currently is(lol), what I'm afraid of is the management being used to stealing deposit, even if there's no grounds for it. All the flats I lived in before, I got deposit back so yeah.

Did anybody actually get the full deposit back? Or they'll always come back with excuses?

And the last question still stands, is it alright to bring guests over during the day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,007 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

tryde wrote: »
    The other flat-mates seem quite decent, so hopefully they'll not make much mess(I'll try to stop 'em from it at least.

I'm as anti-party/mess as a person can be, so I'll be probably leave the flat in better condition than it currently is(lol), what I'm afraid of is the management being used to stealing deposit, even if there's no grounds for it. All the flats I lived in before, I got deposit back so yeah.

Did anybody actually get the full deposit back? Or they'll always come back with excuses?

And the last question still stands, is it alright to bring guests over during the day?

Yes, that is fine.

Bringing guests in during the day is fine.

I don't know anyone personally that got their full deposit back, the least I heard anyone losing of it was about €100.

It might be strict but as others have said it really is great craic, I had a fantastic year there. :)

I would recommend you take pictures of the apartment asap, get them printed and get a member of reception to sign and date them. Sometimes if there is something already wrong with the apartment when you move in they'll try to charge you for it when you move out, so be careful!

Double post :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 617 ✭✭✭pa4

I lived there in first year and the social side of it was some craic. I'd only reccomend it for first years, the house partys are good and its a good way to make friends too. As said before the staff are c*nts and will fine you for the smallest of things no matter how clean your house is. i got about €100 of my deposit back and was fined for damages that already existed before i even moved in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭littlelulu

sounds like prison!!!! :D