Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

duck shooting lough lene

• 06-09-2012 8:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7

Hi Lads and Lassies.
    Can someone tell me if anyone can shoot ducks on lough lene.
    I do a good bit of rough shooting and alot of fishing and fish lene quite a bit. I do a tiny bit of duck shooting but is not from a boat. I see duck on lene and was wondering if anyone can shoot them or is there a club. Don't want to step on any toes or cause agro over a duck :eek: so wanted to check it out first before I try something new...
    No idea either how to shoot lake ducks. Do you sit and wait or cruze around..

Thks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭dermot218

hi i live beside lough lene i shoot ducks off the shores andi am a member of the local gun club a lot of the local lads feed bays around the lake from both gun clubs in the area so you would be better to check first but as long as you get permission from the land owners and have a foreshore licence you shouldnt have any bother .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 bsdirect

Thanks Dermot,
    I will have to sort out a fore shore licence first. Never even heard of it so that will tell ye how much duck shooting I do. Can you without out getting into trouble tell me the name of the gunclubs so I can maybe contact them for next year. Thanks again for your reply

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 bsdirect

Sorry another quick one. Lene is not listed under the list of lakes on the foreshore licence. Also what make me think it is not state run is you do not need a state fishery licence to fish it like sheelin or owel. Are ye sure I need a foreshore licence?

Thanks again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭Dalken

bsdirect wrote: »
    Sorry another quick one. Lene is not listed under the list of lakes on the foreshore licence. Also what make me think it is not state run is you do not need a state fishery licence to fish it like sheelin or owel. Are ye sure I need a foreshore licence?

Thanks again.

Bang away you'll be grand!! I wouldn't be too worried about Rangers up round Lough Lene, but I wud clear it with land owners or local GC first, they're wild men in that part of Westmeath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

According to this link on NPWS website lough lene is not state controlled and therefore you wouldn't need a foreshore license. Clear it with landowners and local gun clubs though obviously.

On a more general note remember this rule in the charter. Don't tell someone to bang away if there is a chance it means breaking the law.

Vegeta wrote: »
    According to this link on NPWS website lough lene is not state controlled and therefore you wouldn't need a foreshore license. Clear it with landowners and local gun clubs though obviously.

On a more general note remember this rule in the charter. Don't tell someone to bang away if there is a chance it means breaking the law.

If the lake is not on the list, if it's not a SPA like parts of Lough Ree and he can get permission from land owners and is not crossing local gun clubs is he not free to bang away?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Dalken wrote: »
    If the lake is not on the list, if it's not a SPA like parts of Lough Ree and he can get permission from land owners and is not crossing local gun clubs is he not free to bang away?

Yup, but telling him to bang away with confirming those things is not on, which is the point I made. If you wish to discuss that point further send me a PM.

i know that lough lene is not a state lake but i have been approached by a ranger at the slip way down to the lake which is a public right of way and as vegeta said you should always get permission form local land owners and gun clubs both clubs in that area release ducks in the general area and would not take to kindly in lads banging away

dermot218 wrote: »
    i know that lough lene is not a state lake but i have been approached by a ranger at the slip way down to the lake which is a public right of way and as vegeta said you should always get permission form local land owners and gun clubs both clubs in that area release ducks in the general area and would not take to kindly in lads banging away

That's interesting, what did the Ranger approach you about, had yourself and Yogi Bear been out snatching picnic baskets?

public slip way into lake and public car park beside it so had to produce gun licence and foreshore licence

I dont know Lough Lene to well, I used to fish it years ago before they put the rainbow trout in, never really thought about trying it for a shot, did a man drown on it a few years back while out shooting or was that Kinale?

it lene yeah drowned when shooting ducks think the boat turned over .rip .its still fishing fairly good plenty of brown trout in and the shores are shot by lads frm both local gun clubs not too many head out on boats now apart from the opening day kinale is also a good spot for ducks

RIP. Have to say that Lene is a wee gem of a lake, crystal waters(at least they were) took some lovely trout off it over the years just dont get the time to travel that far anymore. Your lucky to have it so close to you.
    I've shot Kinale often, best mixed bag of Duck I ever got was from Kinale; once in a morning around Christmas long past we bagged Mallard, Teal, Widgeon, Pochard, Tufty and Shovelor all before 11 bells out on the lake. Magic Shooting, don't think I've shot a drake Shovelor since on a lake and if I'm honest I hope I never do again, they're a beautiful bird too nice to shoot.