Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

septic tank registration

• 06-09-2012 12:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭

lads i see the 5 euro thing goes to 50 euro by the end of this month. has anyone registered their tank?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

lads i see the 5 euro thing goes to 50 euro by the end of this month. has anyone registered their tank?
    i got the form, didnt read it or anything yet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Did anyone pay the household charge yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Yea household charge paid.
    You can also do the septic tank registration online, I plan to but haven't yet. www.protectourwater.ie/

My worry is what the household or property tax will be next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

reilig wrote: »

i did ya..kinda sorry i bothered though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 315 ✭✭Black Smoke

Paid up long ago. Paying the septic tank befor the €5 deadline.
    There is no other option, as Revenue will begin collecting through PAYE if you happen to be employed. Why be a hero, when those guys put you in their sights:eek:

Usual story in this country of ours, the working / middle classes will pay. The cute hoors, on the dole will get away. The mega rich, will pay the least compared to their income and capacity to pay.
    That's it in my opinion.

Usual story in this country of ours, the working / middle classes will pay. The cute hoors, on the dole will get away. The mega rich, will pay the least compared to their income and capacity to pay.
    That's it in my opinion.

I'm with ya. Sure they even tried to cut the home help for people with disabilities. I know an office with 14 HSE workers in it. Their work was transferred to another office in May 2011. To this day, the 14 workers clock in, sit at their desks and do SFA every day of the week. This is because of a union agreement.

Its always the working class who pays!!

I'm with ya. Sure they even tried to cut the home help for people with disabilities. I know an office with 14 HSE workers in it. Their work was transferred to another office in May 2011. To this day, the 14 workers clock in, sit at their desks and do SFA every day of the week. This is because of a union agreement.

To be brutally honest about it, it would be a shame if the TROIKA were ever to leave, because without their input, awkward questions, and "encouragement", in mean down right instruction, to change there will never be proper restructuring of the cost and efficiancy of running this country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭towzer2010

If that office is in Manorhamilton then I've heard of it. If not there is more than one office lake that. Makes you wonder how many times its replicated around the country.

I was talking to someone who will be working on the household charge and they said the ownership register is all over the place and if you are an appartment owner in the bigger cities there is almost no records at all.

Not paying is just saving up a huge headache for yourself down the road.

Now the thing that peeves me is the houses in unfinished estates being exempted. I have no street lights,footpaths, greens, and provide my own sewrage and water yet I'm not exempted. I paid a "development Levi" to use the public road during construction (even though every vehicle in the gate had paid motor tax to use the road) and stamp duty on my site.
    Still I'll pay up. I don't have a problem with a progressive tax system provided its evenly applied, no exemptions, everyone with a wage coming into the house should pay something or no one has to pay!

towzer2010 wrote: »
    If that office is in Manorhamilton

No its not, but it goes to show that what I'm saying doesn't just happen in one place!

I plan to pay the household tax, but my payment is deliberately being delayed under protest. When I built my house, I paid €5000 in development fees. I paid it, that's my house. Over the last few years, I see reports from the Council which show that many of the large developers never paid the development fees that they owed in the years 2000 - 2008. The councils never followed them for it either -they even granted them further planning permissions for estates without the payment being made. They are owed €millions from these guys that they will not now recover because they are in NAMA. The time to collect these development levies was before the building was allowed to start.

Instead, we are all expected to pay the council €100 to make up for this failure to collect. Next year we will have to pay a bigger tax. It goes back to the working classes having to pay for it all again!!

think dept of ag still have staff in Ennis or at least they used to have, office officailly closed now couple of years :rolleyes:

They should all be put out pulling ragwort:cool:

whatever about that but its makes you wonder why they (dept) would close an office they fully own and leave staff there and then rent an office building in limerick..
    maybe i wrong now and the office has fully closed down at this stage..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Realistic_joe

To be brutally honest about it, it would be a shame if the TROIKA were ever to leave, because without their input, awkward questions, and "encouragement", in mean down right instruction, to change there will never be proper restructuring of the cost and efficiancy of running this country.

I'd have to agree regarding TROIKA. The main reason our public sector is so inefficient is because the people managing them are too concerned about stepping on the wrong toes which might affect their political aspirations. There's too many favours and friends in the system. We need an outside body with no affiliations to come in and clean up the mess. They mightn't get it all right but they'll do a better job than the cronies and lick arses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Western Pomise

Registered for property tax...if its set up properly in next few years it will be a progressive equitable tax,quick ?....do all tanks have to be registered?...even brand new ones?....only built new house couple of years ago.

Yes. You see this has nothing to do with septic tanks old or new, or indeed the environment for that matter. It's just a method to collect more money. Simple.
    What sickened me altogether was the nice glossy flyer they sent out, preaching sheet about the environment and pictures no flowers, and clear water etc ........................ fukcs sake. If they just said we need a few bob to pay the bondholders, I'd have thrown in a few more euros, just for the hell of it:eek:

what happens if you register, you are one of the ones thats inspected and they say..sorry your old septic tank wont do..can they order you to replace the old one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭iverjohnston

The question to ask is this, Why is it required to pay any money to register the septic tank? The County Council know of its existance in 90% if cases, because they approved its construction. You do not recieve a licence nor registration disk/plate for your tank. The Council already employ and pay the staff to carry out whatever duties are assigned to each staff member, so why is a payment required?
    I am sending in the registration without any payment.
    Mack in Cavan

what happens if you register, you are one of the ones thats inspected and they say..sorry your old septic tank wont do..can they order you to replace the old one?

In a nutshell yes they can and in many cases will make you upgrade:o
    Inspections will be on the basis of a so called risk assesment basis.
    If you are within a certain distance of a stream, river, or other water source, then you are priority one for inspection. By extension, I guess they will be even more strict on the performance of your tank also. I'm only 50 meters from a good sized stream, so I'm expecting to be on the first cut inspection list:confused: The registration charge is the least of my worries to be honest. I'd say, they will make me upgrade to one of those vastly over rated bio systems. They are no better or only marginally better than the old simple tanks. At least that is what I hear from one or two people who have them installed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭supersean1999

iv not paid any , nor i wont, cant imagine the house being taken off me, just put the income tax on the higher earners and less of the stealth tax, we live in one expensive whore of a country as it is, besides giving bloody 5e to tell the council that i dont crap in a bucket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭theaceofspies

iv not paid any , nor i wont, cant imagine the house being taken off me, just put the income tax on the higher earners and less of the stealth tax, we live in one expensive whore of a country as it is, besides giving bloody 5e to tell the council that i dont crap in a bucket
    It's time for the Irish to grow some balls or scrotum. If/when they darken my door I'll tell them they will find their pot of gold under the Croke Park Agreement. "Don't be worrying about a fiver for my pisspot lads" or words to that effect will greet them before they exit swiftly out the gate on their way.
    Ireland in 2012 is like a drunken version of Alice in Wonderland; "Shure tis only a fiver!". Me thinks many future "Simpsons" material can be made in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 The hawlk

when everybody gets to pick and chose which laws to obey and which taxes to pay lets see what kind of country we will have then

its €5 , the price of a pint, fair enough if you dont want to pay it but if by paying €5 it can help get us out of this mess i would skip on 1 pint :cool:

whelan1 wrote: »
    its €5 , the price of a pint, fair enough if you dont want to pay it but if by paying €5 it can help get us out of this mess i would skip on 1 pint :cool:

its not the 5 euro that bothers me but I think its the feeling that when you register for these things you are effectively saying ok ive given all my details now feel free to pin every new charge that ye can think of onto me as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

I didnt pay the household tax yet. WH CO Co owe me money best of 33 months and Danny the manager wount pay up the remainer of it. so until he pays up im technically in credit :D. Arrogant Leitrim tosser he is

Im going to pay the e5 :). Then im going to hitch the slurry tanker up twice a year, empty the septic tank at home which will then be reclassified as a holding tank and take the contents to the wh co co sewage works. Let them deal with it :P

its not the 5 euro that bothers me but I think its the feeling that when you register for these things you are effectively saying ok ive given all my details now feel free to pin every new charge that ye can think of onto me as well

I appreciate that lots of people see it that way...
    However it is a fact that the tax/revenue system needs overhauling and these wider taxes are part of that..

It does however need to be followed up to ensure equity is acheived..
    Artists, Equine, Multinationals all need to be examined to see if they are really pulling their weight regarding revenue, my own personal opinion is that they aren't but that's often been proven to be far from factual..

The self employed also need examining, having recently worked for two small companies, 5 employees. There is no doubt but that the self employed often wrangle their way out of paying their fair share... Many have, with the help of their accountants, worked out nice little loop-holes where they skim off cash from the business unseen from the revenue.. Now I know the irish notion of "fair play, he screwed the tax man" is common. But it needs to be remembered that the tax man is collecting on ALL our behalfs and when someone dodges paying, everyone else foots the bill.
    One chap boasted that he skimmed €75K out of his business, along with a hansome salary, all in one year..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

I plan to pay the household tax, but my payment is deliberately being delayed under protest. When I built my house, I paid €5000 in development fees. I paid it, that's my house. Over the last few years, I see reports from the Council which show that many of the large developers never paid the development fees that they owed in the years 2000 - 2008. The councils never followed them for it either -they even granted them further planning permissions for estates without the payment being made. They are owed €millions from these guys that they will not now recover because they are in NAMA. The time to collect these development levies was before the building was allowed to start.

Instead, we are all expected to pay the council €100 to make up for this failure to collect. Next year we will have to pay a bigger tax. It goes back to the working classes having to pay for it all again!!
    bbam wrote: »
    I paid a "development Levi" to use the public road during construction (even though every vehicle in the gate had paid motor tax to use the road) and stamp duty on my site.

I was annoyed too with this development levy that I paid (About 5k same as yerself Reilg)
    I tried talking to my county council about it, to see what levies were outstanding, and what they were doing about it - they said
    "We do not have figures on houses built vs. contributions paid. Contribution accounts are maintained which show the overall collection levels."
    So they don't know, so wont be doing much about it I guess :mad: :mad: :mad:

I feel the same Vander :(

Anyways - I have paid both my household tax and the septic fiver...

I have no problem with people objecting to paying it - but I think a lot of people have jumped on the objection bandwagon.
    I have spoken to a few people, who have told me "they object to it, and arent paying" I say thats great, and ask how have they rasied their objection - they say nothing... I ask have they written to their local TD, have they informed the council of their stance, have they gone to rallies to protest, or been involved in protests... No, the majority have done nothing - to me, that's not objecting, that's just not paying... very different in my view...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

We will all have to make our septic tanks redundant and go back to sh1tting by the ditch :) If they say you are still polluting say no I am not I am just giving the flies their supper :) recycle ;)

the septic fiver...
    :D:D:D
    childish, but it made me smile

Where's Christy Moore when we need him. There's a massive hit in a Christy ditty, on septic tanks and the like:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Sam Kade wrote: »
    We will all have to make our septic tanks redundant and go back to sh1tting by the ditch :) If they say you are still polluting say no I am not I am just giving the flies their supper :) recycle ;)

****ting by the ditch would be illegal during the closed period 15 oct to 15 jan, or maybe it would be considered a FYM type and you could work away till the 1st of Nov. Jasus crapping by the side of the ditch during nov and dec is not the most pleasant experience anyway.

An interesting take on it is if you say its only a storage tank. of course then you have to give it to the council to treat (sorry them pump it into the nearest river)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

I have not paid either when the present showe came into power thew promised to reform the Public service and get rid of the Seanead.They also promised no more money to bondholders. They are going to reneage on all of these promises, give them money is the same as throwing it into the septic tank.

The truth is that two foolish promises are leaving us in this predicament of additional taxes.

Firstly the Croke Park agreement should have been revisited. Someone in government should have had the balls to take it on. Yes there will be strikes but I think most of us would support the government if it were taken on.
    Secondly PAYE. We should have returned to the 3 tier system from the past and re-examined the bands with the super high earners in the high bracket thus paying their way.

Then moderate charges could be levied on homes tanks and water.

The unions protecting the CP agreement should be ashamed to see the old and voulenerable being attacked with cuts because they have protected the interests of their unions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭coolabula

Do private houses with septic tanks need to register? Or is it just farms?
    I havent heard anything about this and have received no letters or info from anyone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭iverjohnston

Yes, private houses with a septic tank , whether a farm house or not, are expected to register.
    I like the idea of declaring the septic tank a "holding" tank, or cess tank. Anyone know the legal position on turning up at the council treatment plant with your tankerfull? Are they bound to accept it? They do, afterall, accept all sewage from urban householders without charge!
    Whats the odds that the Gardai would take a very sudden interest in the road going condition of the dozens of tractors suddenly attending! The main treatment plant in Cavan town is just up the hill from the Cathedral, past the estate where Brendan Smith TD and various bishops etc live.
    Would also be handy in February when the cattle tanks are brimmimg, and you cannot spread on the land yet:D
    Mack in Cavan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Anyone know the legal position on turning up at the council treatment plant with your tankerfull? Are they bound to accept it?

They will accept it but will charge you a huge few per ton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 483 ✭✭pms7

I agree with you. I don't think they have done enough. Our own politicans will never fix things.

some one needs to come in and review everything , this country is a total joke as per usual needy suffer, had one of the kids at out of hours doc today, out of 6 people there i was the only fool paying, the rest had medical/gp cards:(:( now whether their visits where necessary or not is another thing ... fairly often when i have to bring one of the kids to the doc its the same patients you see- those who dont have to pay:cool: so like the fool that i am i had to pay €60 there and €30 in chemist for medication....if a person on a medical card has more than a set number of gp visits per year there should be a review... one of the times the gp actually said to me theres nothing wrong with half of the people in the waiting room:confused: kids under 12 should have free medical care

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

whelan1 wrote: »
    some one needs to come in and review everything , this country is a total joke as per usual needy suffer, had one of the kids at out of hours doc today, out of 6 people there i was the only fool paying, the rest had medical/gp cards:(:( now whether their visits where necessary or not is another thing ... fairly often when i have to bring one of the kids to the doc its the same patients you see- those who dont have to pay:cool: so like the fool that i am i had to pay €60 there and €30 in chemist for medication....if a person on a medical card has more than a set number of gp visits per year there should be a review... one of the times the gp actually said to me theres nothing wrong with half of the people in the waiting room:confused: kids under 12 should have free medical care

Reminds me a bit of a story that used be told around home about two oul wans who used to meet and chat nearly every day at the dispensary. One didn't turn up for near a week and when she eventually turned up, one says to the other " I missed you there at the Dr for a few days.....Where were ya?" "I couldn't come....I was sick" says the other!:)