Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My 6 month old Springer

• 06-09-2012 11:02am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭

Well lads, new to this site and said i would upload a few pictures of my promising Springer.

Odie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

Brazzill wrote: »
    Well lads, new to this site and said i would upload a few pictures of my promising Springer.

Odie

Nice one and welcome on board, nice gamey looking dog, best of luck, is that a Beretta you are carrying?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭Brazzill

Sound lad, no thats my friends Yildiz i have a Harrington and Richardson Semi-Auto

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭snipe02

welcome nice looking dog best of luck with em hope to hear more from ye

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭charlie10

i personally know brassil and that bitch is a cracker

sound boys heres a quick video of her fetching

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭dev110

Lovely bitch! She is coming on very well.

thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Looking great. I was half expecting her to come out with a rabbit in her mouth. 7 weeks to the start of the season, she'll be ready with time to spare.

syklops wrote: »
    Looking great. I was half expecting her to come out with a rabbit in her mouth. 7 weeks to the start of the season, she'll be ready with time to spare.

I'm gona buy another older bitch for this season coming and work on Odie also. Get her trained up goodo for next season. Thanks for the comments boys.

IMG_1258_zps4245e9c8.jpg

IMG_1259_zps1af3f8bf.jpg

IMG_1261_zps78bd4eb7.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 greengrasscork

Very different markings on her never seen before but a fine looking strong bitch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

Very different markings on her never seen before but a fine looking strong bitch

I swear buy heavy marked spaniels !

Op can you tell me is that bitch of your registered and would there be another breeding of a litter the same as her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 greengrasscork

I have 5 springers 3 of which are 17months and other 2 are 10yr and 5yr and they are all marked differently one very white and others varying but they are all performing excellent. I can't say the heavier marked one is better than the whiter one or vice versa.I think it all goes down to the time and effort put in to the traing of the dogs that creates the end product.

i heard brazzil say that the las was gonna breed again actually

The lad i got Odie off said if there was enough interest he would breed them again as he has the both parents, but i'm not sure i think he getting her neutered as she has had 2 litters already. buts knows of a lad with pups, which are from her first litter, a male. Odie is from her 2nd litter. As far as i know they are ready to go.

I have 5 springers 3 of which are 17months and other 2 are 10yr and 5yr and they are all marked differently one very white and others varying but they are all performing excellent. I can't say the heavier marked one is better than the whiter one or vice versa.I think it all goes down to the time and effort put in to the traing of the dogs that creates the end product.
    a good dog has not a bad colour brazzil she is a well marked strong looking bitch i love the brown leg on er

snipe02 wrote: »
    a good dog has not a bad colour brazzil she is a well marked strong looking bitch i love the brown leg on er

i prefer a dog with solid head and white body just a preference but she is a good bitch to go with a good nose:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

The lad i got Odie off said if there was enough interest he would breed them again as he has the both parents, but i'm not sure i think he getting her neutered as she has had 2 litters already. buts knows of a lad with pups, which are from her first litter, a male. Odie is from her 2nd litter. As far as i know they are ready to go.

I'd be interested in a bitch if she was marked similar to yours , it would breed well with my dog

Are they kc registered

charlie10 wrote: »
    i prefer a dog with solid head and white body just a preference but she is a good bitch to go with a good nose:)
    i also like a good bit of skull on a dog but genuinely have no preference for colour but that bitch has georgous markings, how is your pup getting on charlie

good he is a ball of fire and really bold which i like to see i have high hopes for him anyway must post a pic ,he is small compared to his litter mates but thats what i wanted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭fiestaman

charlie10 wrote: »
    good he is a ball of fire and really bold which i like to see i have high hopes for him anyway must post a pic ,he is small compared to his litter mates but thats what i wanted

"Ball of fire & Really bold" sounds just like my lad. you like to see that, i do too but im scared sh*tless of him, if he gets on scent he isnt coming back just goes hell for leather. My lad is 8mts now. have you any tips on how you'll keep him close when hes hotted up on scent. I suppose rabbit pen training would be the answer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭fiestaman

Odie

Lovely springer thanks for posting. is she staying close to you all the time when she gets scent or will she hot up and go deaf to the whistle or "come back" call?

fiestaman wrote: »

Odie

Lovely springer thanks for posting. is she staying close to you all the time when she gets scent or will she hot up and go deaf to the whistle or "come back" call?

Ya she stays in shooting range, and if she ever goes too far I blow the whistle and straight back or single her into cover. One day I didn't bring my shotgun yesterday she ran a few rabbits perfectly for me. She's doing good now, trying abit of steady work the last couple of weeks only 5 mins a day.

u need to inforce the recall really ,raise the tone of ur voice when going away from u then happy tone when they are on the way back i never had that problem yet but the young cocker seems to pull away on scent but i dont want to harness him just yet

Odie working well at 9months, snipe had left the building but she was quatering well trying to find him again.

how come i wasnt invited :o:o:o:o

Well lads all the pre season work paid off, i have shot 2 pheasants over her already, delighted i am. Both pheasant found and retrieved. Def to the whistle on scent but gona leave her the season before whistle training her as she is doing exactly what i want anddoing it well for a 11 months. Here some photos

Pheasant 1

B038EA36-9D6C-4471-81D9-F333E43FF728-5056-000003BAE390EB46.jpg

9F6C4A0B-5D9C-4326-B58B-0E87D24A711D-5056-000003BAECF4270F.jpg

13AD8488-DB82-4ED2-8B56-7BC1CD385029-5056-000003BADBD169BA.jpg

EB24F9E3-9CC4-49B4-BDDC-CFE78B277574-5056-000003BB0FF50080.jpg

Pheasant 2

C2B3743C-E431-4A56-91D9-E2E9ABA11C13-5056-000003BABF7449BA.jpg

D0F09DFD-8178-474B-8C54-1D26259112C7-5056-000003BAB4FF23A8-1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

well done fair play