Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Taxing car with no nct

• 04-09-2012 12:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭

My car was off the road for a few months, the NCT expired last month. I want to get 3 months tax for it before I make a booking for the test. Can I do it? I have a RF100A form in front of me, they ask for the NCT number and the expiry date... :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,340 ✭✭✭Please Kill Me

I bought a car a year ago with no NCT, I've been taxing it for 3 months at a time since, using the RF100 form and nothing said about the NCT. You'll be grand.

I didnt nct my car for 3 years once and had no probs taxing it,
    No probs with the cops either!

urbanledge wrote: »
    I didnt nct my car for 3 years once and had no probs taxing it,
    No probs with the cops either!

Likewise. I've been stopped at numerous checkpoints and once they see the tax and insurance is up to date and we all have our belts on, they let me on my way. Apparently they're trying to change it though. They want to be able to issue a fine and points for no NCT. Although I vaguely remember seeing a thread in here recently about something like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 Tommytwotimes

Taxed and insured and you are good to go, legally. But if you do have an accident and there is no NCT then this could render your insurance null and void.

Donno about this one,

I removed the nct disk and and always told the copper I was booked in for next month or I had it in last week and waiting for a retest!

I did it in the end and sold it on.

Donno about this one,

I removed the nct disk and and always told the copper I was booked in for next month or I had it in last week and waiting for a retest!

I did it in the end and sold it on.

The issue won't be with the Gardai, as they are not going to do too much about no NCT if you say it is booked in next month, they will see it as a waste of their time to write it up.
    The issue will be with your insurer, if you have an accident, they may not pay out if you claim against your policy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭AndyTheDude

That's great news, I'll get her taxed tomorrow so. Thanks for the replies. That leads me onto another question about the test, but that's for another thread.

That leads me onto another question about the test, but that's for another thread.

Go on....go mad. Ask it now!! LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭AndyTheDude

Go on....go mad. Ask it now!! LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

The issue won't be with the Gardai, as they are not going to do too much about no NCT if you say it is booked in next month, they will see it as a waste of their time to write it up.
    The issue will be with your insurer, if you have an accident, they may not pay out if you claim against your policy.

Unless its a precondition of your policy, having no nct has no bearing on an accident. The insurance company would have to prove the car unroadworthy.

However having failed an nct, depending on the reason, is a different ball game.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Driving without an NCT is a penalty points offence.
    Five penalty points if you are caught.

Stheno wrote: »

Five??? Bit of an overkill is it not?? So I can do 90mph in a 30 zone and get 2 points, or have a car that "failed" an NCT because the gimp doing the test was having a bad day and failed me for having a sports bag in my boot and get 5 points!!?? Bit Irish isn't it? Oh hang on....LOL

pred racer wrote: »
    Unless its a precondition of your policy, having no nct has no bearing on an accident. The insurance company would have to prove the car unroadworthy.

However having failed an nct, depending on the reason, is a different ball game.

That is a question which is asked if you are taking out/switching insurers at the point of sale, if renewing the situation is different but as it is something that has been asked for a while now, it would be relevant most policies these days. Forewarned is forearmed and all that..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

it'll not........incorrect

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

Five??? Bit of an overkill is it not?? So I can do 90mph in a 30 zone and get 2 points, or have a car that "failed" an NCT because the gimp doing the test was having a bad day and failed me for having a sports bag in my boot and get 5 points!!?? Bit Irish isn't it? Oh hang on....LOL

yeah 5 points...and up to €1500 fine...and they can take the car off you....makes you think doesnt it! (hopefully)

corktina wrote: »
    yeah 5 points...and up to €1500 fine...and they can take the car off you....makes you think doesnt it! (hopefully)

I just think it's a bit extreme, that's all.

Think so? I don't

sure people drove around for 60+ years without ncts,no big deal
    if you drive down the wrong side of a motorway you only get 6

sure people drove around for 60+ years without ncts,no big deal
    if you drive down the wrong side of a motorway you only get 6

penalty for that is often death ....

people used to smoke in pubs, people used to send children down mines and up chimneys,, because something used to happen doesnt make it OK to do today. I want to know the car coming the other way is somewhere safe, if there was no NCT some people (many people) would never check out their cars .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,072 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Likewise. I've been stopped at numerous checkpoints and once they see the tax and insurance is up to date and we all have our belts on, they let me on my way. Apparently they're trying to change it though. They want to be able to issue a fine and points for no NCT. Although I vaguely remember seeing a thread in here recently about something like that.
    Stheno wrote: »
    You have to be prosecuted and found guilty. Five points (there was talk recently of reducing this) and up to €1500 fine on conviction.

Not your ornery onager

Think so? I don't

Yeah I do!! 2 points for doing double the speed limit and 5 for an out of date NCT?? Good luck lads, you can take the car, I'll get another one!! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

So I can do 90mph in a 30 zone and get 2 points,

You'd get a bit more than 2 points for that, probably a day in court while you're at it.

OK, fair enough. :o Bit of an exaggeration on my part. I'll change it to 60mph in a 30mph. I reckon that's just the standard points and a fine. Having said that, the last points I got was for doing 146kph in a 80kph. The Garda was sound about it in fairness (bike cop).

Sorry for taking the thread off track...