Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Moderate NAT Type

• 04-09-2012 11:43am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9

Hey, i recently got a new modem from eircom the ZyXEL t1 modem as on my other netopia router i snapped one of the wireless antennas. I've been having nothing but problems with this new router and on Call of Duty i can't find a game because of my NAT type is there a way i can set it to open? or even if anybody can suggest a new modem that will be compatible with my eircom line that is also good for gaming, as i play xbox wireless also if anybody has a spare netopia silver router i would more than happily buy it from them. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,325 ✭✭✭iLikeWaffles

Try using wired and set the xbox settings to manual. Just copy the automatic settings on paper and put them in manually. If that doesn't work turn router off for 30 secs and set he settings to manual again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 EFoley1991

Try using wired and set the xbox settings to manual. Just copy the automatic settings on paper and put them in manually. If that doesn't work turn router off for 30 secs and set he settings to manual again.

I've tried all this still to no avail, the eircom technician told me im just basically unlucky :(

said my best bet is to buy a new modem, he was even telling me about ones on sale in my area on adverts.ie :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,325 ✭✭✭iLikeWaffles

wow really great tech. Be better off switching to upc eircom are shite!!

can't get UPC where i'm currently living so pretty much stuck with these cowboys. Was thinking about switching to that UTV broadband but found out what hey where saying was a bunch of bull

• Closed Accounts Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Logical_Bear

open up a browser on a pc.type 192.168.1.254 and hit enter.

broadband1 is the password.Then goto settings menu on the left and select security and turn the firewall off.Got open nat on mine doing that,didnt need to open ports or any of that.

the wireless is sh1te on those modems and you can get a decent modem for 50€ or there abouts.

edit:also if its the wireless g modem go into wireless(agaihn on the LHS) and select wireless and change re-aunthenication timer to 9999 and save

open up a browser on a pc.type 192.168.1.254 and hit enter.

broadband1 is the password.Then goto settings menu on the left and select security and turn the firewall off.Got open nat on mine doing that,didnt need to open ports or any of that.

the wireless is sh1te on those modems and you can get a decent modem for 50€ or there abouts.

edit:also if its the wireless g modem go into wireless(agaihn on the LHS) and select wireless and change re-aunthenication timer to 9999 and save

thanks, i think i'll just buy a new modem, any suggestions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Logical_Bear

I had a netgear which was great which I got for about 50 euro from elara.ie but cant find it on that site.Might be out of production.

try looking at wireless routers on komplett.ie.Most of them will have user reviews so you cant go wrong when buying.

hopefully some other boardsie wil recommend a specific one for ye.

Another plus side was when i had the netgear the ping got good bit lower and the wireless streaming from the pc to the ps3 suffered no lag at all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Before ya buy a new router try going into xbox settings and testing your connection. I'm with Vodafone but whenever my nat type changes to moderate or strict this works. Think it worked for a few the others lads here as well although I don't think eithe were eircom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,765 ✭✭✭DaveNoCheese

I have one of them netopia routers for sale, check my adverts to see if it's the one you want.