Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DPS not covering Omega 3 products

• 03-09-2012 9:54am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭

Hi All,
    I've plenty of medical complaints as many of you know - PA, Dibetes 2, etc, and have an LTI Card but still have to pay DPS of €132 p.m. because of Enbrel etc. I've also been on Omacor (Omega 3) for about 4 years as it supposedly helps the joints.

Anyway, at the Pharmacist on Saturday and he tells me Omega 3 products have all been dropped from DPS as part of the HSE cutbacks with immediate affect - they cost about €20 for a box of 28. There were other items mentioned as well, but can't remember what they were.

This is a total disgrace, I can't afford to buy them, and without them I can end up with severe joint pain and a return to anti-inflammatories, which are on the DPS - it just doesn't make sense.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

I get Omega oils through my LTI book,had a letter from consultant to give to the local office,took a bit of hassle but got it eventually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,245 ✭✭✭psycho-hope

I get Omega oils through my LTI book,had a letter from consultant to give to the local office,took a bit of hassle but got it eventually.

they have cut all omega products and a few others like glucosamine from all the schemes as of last friday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,143 ✭✭✭locum-motion

Not any more, you won't, I'm afraid.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

really?Blast.

they have cut all omega products and a few others like glucosamine from all the schemes as of last friday
    Do you know what the others are?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,245 ✭✭✭psycho-hope

Do you know what the others are?

off the top of my head omega3 etc, glucosomine and i heard today gluten free products not sure if there are others, they are the main ones that we would supply on the schemes, im sure some of the pharmacists that post on boards would be able to give the full list

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 tictac88

off the top of my head omega3 etc, glucosomine and i heard today gluten free products not sure if there are others, they are the main ones that we would supply on the schemes, im sure some of the pharmacists that post on boards would be able to give the full list

Omega 3 trigylcerides (Omacor), glucosamine (Dona, Glucosamine PharmaNord, etc), orlistat (Xenical - hasn't been available for months anyway) and all gluten-free foods will no longer be covered on any of the community drugs schemes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,434 ✭✭✭fepper

whats would be the best alternative to omacar 1000mg than paying over 20€ for 28 aaps at chemist! Maybe online ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 tictac88

fepper wrote: »
    whats would be the best alternative to omacar 1000mg than paying over 20€ for 28 aaps at chemist! Maybe online ?

Sona do an Omega 3 capsule with DHA and EPA, the ingredients in Omacor. You would need to take two or three capsules a day to get the same dose as one Omacor capsule. However, it would still work out cheaper than buying Omacor and you don't need a prescription. Glucosamine is also available OTC, again at varying strengths.

It's important to ask your pharmacist if you intend on starting these supplements for the first time as they may interact with other medication, such as warfarin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭beeno67

Go to aldi. Buy them there save a fortune. Ignore the ads from pharmaceutical companies saying their stuff is better

Better yet, eat oily fish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,495 ✭✭✭apache

unfortunately because of troika things are being cut back on social welfare benefits but you got to understand many workers are being penalised left right and centre - its only right that they concentrate on social welfare benefits as a last resort. it has to be done - the irish government has made it more lucrative to go on benefits than to work. unfortunate for the people to rely on this but for the cost of e20 for a box of 28 does not skim the surface for those who are losing hundreds in their wage packet. lets take things into perspective.
    i have seen both sides of this. out of work 3 months now and have a long term illness. my drugs cost way more than the threshold than the e132 per household in the one month. and you are complaining about e20? i've heard it all now! i'd rather not pay my taxes and if this was the least of my worries i'd be happy out. get a grip people - as i have said this is a new thing to me being on long term illness but i'm not much better off working 70hrs a week. it makes me not want to go back to work when i see everything i am entitled to. its a bad situation which needs to be rectified.
    i only recently discovered i was eligable for a drugs payment card - apparently every household in ireland is! so paying e300 a month on drugs and by using this card i don't have to pay over e132? great! and yous are complaining about e20!

i assume you are getting all the other drugs free on the medical card or reaching the threshold on the drugs payment scheme card? this really annoys me - people expecting a free ride! and sure why not? this government has lavished too much on those on social welfare. i am probably doing better off since i stopped working - ridiculous!

i've just applied for a medical card. haven't a clue how long that takes to process. seems you are entitled to everything if you don't work.

the omacar is for the da who is a pensioner and i was just asking about getting good value out there,btw im working and have to pay all my taxes and local chemist is charging him €26.65 for 28 caps so shopping around for better value as he finds omacar great

oh righto fepper. i was just replying to the initial op. i expect to be shot down but i really have seen both sides of the story and it does leave a bitter taste in my mouth.
    does the da not qualify for a medical card? how long does the 28 caps do him?

ur rite ,lots of people laugh when you say ur working ,all about to change from now on hopefully,on medical card alrite t.g takes 1 omacor 1000 mg a day so it wont break the bank!

cheers fepper. i know personally i felt like a fool with a huge mortgage working long long hours. aaah lets settle back and see what happens being unemployed for a whle :D
    its been great so far! shame shame on the irish government!
    this can't go on. i'm as well off on dole or disability.
    but unfortunately i am in no position to go back to work - i am thriving to do so but not allowed. sooooo yeah the disability benefit rules!
    ridiculous - too much making me not care about going back to work. that is wrong on so many levels. so working a 70hr wk and having a e1000 mortgage it all disappears when i go on disability benefit? thankfully i am one of those who want to back to work!

apache wrote: »

i assume you are getting all the other drugs free on the medical card or reaching the threshold on the drugs payment scheme card? this really annoys me - people expecting a free ride! and sure why not? this government has lavished too much on those on social welfare. i am probably doing better off since i stopped working - ridiculous!

i've just applied for a medical card. haven't a clue how long that takes to process. seems you are entitled to everything if you don't work.

I pay for anything not to do with my MS. My main MS drug is actually covered through my VHI.Because I continue to work, I am not entitled to a medical card. There are days I cry with pain getting out of the bed and hauling myself into work,but I will continue to do so as long as I can.
    I pay all my own gp visits and my own consultant visits. (Over €1,000 alone last year as my treatment makes me more prone to infections and invariably I have to get antibiotics-that I pay for myself because my immune system is weak.)I don't expect and I don't get a free ride and find your post downright insulting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭RUCKING FETARD

and having a e1000 mortgage it all disappears when i go on disability benefit?
    Where does it go???

I pay for anything not to do with my MS. My main MS drug is actually covered through my VHI.Because I continue to work, I am not entitled to a medical card. There are days I cry with pain getting out of the bed and hauling myself into work,but I will continue to do so as long as I can.
    I pay all my own gp visits and my own consultant visits. (Over €1,000 alone last year as my treatment makes me more prone to infections and invariably I have to get antibiotics-that I pay for myself because my immune system is weak.)I don't expect and I don't get a free ride and find your post downright insulting
    I am sorry you find it insulting but i too have gone through all that while working. so far my health bills have come to e1000. and if you add the operation thats another 10 grand. At least you can still work. If you are as bad as you say you are you like me would be deemed a health risk and not allowed to work. Have you applied for a medical card? Just because you are working does not mean you are not eligible for one.
    but for the sake of e20 i find it a bit rich people complaining. God forbid they have to shell out a poxy e20!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

the irish government has made it more lucrative to go on benefits than to work. unfortunate for the people to rely on this but for the cost of e20 for a box of 28 does not skim the surface for those who are losing hundreds in their wage packet.
    ur rite ,lots of people laugh when you say ur working ,all about to change from now on hopefully,on medical card alrite t.g takes 1 omacor 1000 mg a day so it wont break the bank!
    cheers fepper. i know personally i felt like a fool with a huge mortgage working long long hours. aaah lets settle back and see what happens being unemployed for a whle :D its been great so far! shame shame on the irish government!
    this can't go on. i'm as well off on dole or disability.
    but for the sake of e20 i find it a bit rich people complaining. God forbid they have to shell out a poxy e20!

I too find your post extremly insulting. Its also arrogant, hypocritical, presumptuous and self-rightous. I'm shocked not more have called you on it. You can't know other peoples circumstances and situations. 'A poxy 20euro'! Eh, seriously? The vast majority of people who are getting social welfare, struggle day to day to make ends meet, you're money is budgeted & you just hope and pray that you have enough to keep going, every euro is accounted for. You're obviously lucky that 20euro is a dismissive amount to you.

You think your better than people on benefits because you have worked hard in your life, paid loads of taxes, so now that YOU'RE in the position where you need to be on benefits, you're saying you're having a great time & its such an easy ride, you would choose not to get back to work if that was even an option - In a rounabout way, the people you're giving out about in your own post, is people with attitudes like yourself! Just because you're recently in that position does not mean your any different.

The majority of people getting welfare, have worked long and hard, but have found themselves with no choice, there are no jobs or they have an illness like yourself. Nothing about receiving a handout makes for an easy life, there's something very unhuman about not being able to provide for yourself.

And the people who always have and always will, work the system for whatever they can get, never work, never plan to etc. I don't feel angry at those people, i feel pity, they've no concept of having a better life for themselves and the way the system is, has allowed and created the welfare lifers. Who sets out to want that to be their life? Yes the system is a complete shambles and needs to change, but it needs to be practical - cutting essential medications is not the right way to go about it. Targeting the vulnerable is just wrong.

I'm just really sick of the anger and resentment and blame so rightously fired at 'all welfare recipients'. As if they're all having a great time, getting loads for free, taking it easy & sitting back and laughing at all those working - It seems every working person thinks this, I know a lot of people on the dole, and the reality of it is very different to the picture you have in mind.

bravo wrote: »
    Hi All,
    I've plenty of medical complaints as many of you know - PA, Dibetes 2, etc, and have an LTI Card but still have to pay DPS of €132 p.m. because of Enbrel etc. I've also been on Omacor (Omega 3) for about 4 years as it supposedly helps the joints.

Anyway, at the Pharmacist on Saturday and he tells me Omega 3 products have all been dropped from DPS as part of the HSE cutbacks with immediate affect - they cost about €20 for a box of 28. There were other items mentioned as well, but can't remember what they were.

This is a total disgrace, I can't afford to buy them, and without them I can end up with severe joint pain and a return to anti-inflammatories, which are on the DPS - it just doesn't make sense.

And to the OP. I'm really sorry to hear of your situation, its a complete disgrace that a medication you need to stay well and prevent your illness from deteriorating is being cut. I hope you can find a cheaper alternative, or manage to pay for it somehow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

ok folks, let's cut out the arguing about the welfare system. thanks.

Pharmacy this morning said LTI remains unchanged.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

DPS has changed. LTI has not (yet). There is a difference. Glutten free foods, glucosamine and other products are no longer covered (these are not LTI products- they would have been dispensed under DPS schemes). Insulin, anti-inflamatories etc are covered under LTI and DPS schemes. There are different schemes at play here- the rules for some have changed (and whats covered) whereas others have not.

Actually, now that I think about it, your pharmacist is probably right.

Items that are considered by the HSE to be "Reimbursible under the Community Drugs Schemes" are assigned a 5-digit code by the PCRS (the relevent section of the HSE).

What was done last week was that the 5-digit codes associated with these products were removed. Therefore, a pharmacy submitting a claim for reimbursement for them under the GMS (Medical Card) or DPS will have their claim rejected.

The LTI is somewhat different. The LTI covers everything that a doctor says their patient needs for treating their LTI illness, provided that the HSE doctor agrees. This applies even if the product doesn't have a 5 digit code.

So, what will probably happen is this: Next month, your pharmacy will be notified that their claim for reimbursement for your Omega oils has been rejected. Your pharmacist will then telephone the PCRS and remind them of the facts in the paragraph above this one. Then the PCRS will pay the pharmacy the following month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Who decided to remove Omocor from DPS. Those on them need them, so we now have to pay 150 euro a month, and probably more after December too muvh for a pensioner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭echo beach

So, what will probably happen is this: Next month, your pharmacy will be notified that their claim for reimbursement for your Omega oils has been rejected. Your pharmacist will then telephone the PCRS and remind them of the facts in the paragraph above this one. Then the PCRS will pay the pharmacy the following month.

I wouldn't be so sure. As usual they haven't thought it through but it would seem that someone from on-high has decided these products don't have 'sufficient therapeutic value', despite the fact that a government agency, the IMB, has licensed them as medicines for the treatment for these conditions.
    Withdrawing LTI approvals is a seperate process to cancelling the GMS numbers and I'd say it will depend on how many people are involved. If it is only a handful they may not bother but if big numbers, and so significant money, is involved it will happen fairly sharpish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭bravo

Just got off the phone with the HSE info line and they are insisting that Omega 3 products and Omacor in my particular case have been taken off all schemes in the pharmacy "community contract" including LTI.

Thanks for all the positive and neutral comments to my initial post. As one poster refers to "a fuss over €20 a month" it is in fact a lot more than that. My prescribed dose is 6 x 1000 mgs daily LTI - six boxes a month - €120 a month at least, on top off €132 dps, plus doctors, plus consultants - and I'm sure I won't get any tax relief on the omacor bills when I pay for them privately. So this move will cost me at least and additional €1440 p.a. if I decide to continue taking them - if I don't then I'll become another public patient unneccessarily in hospital a few times a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭palmcut

Actually, now that I think about it, your pharmacist is probably right.

Items that are considered by the HSE to be "Reimbursible under the Community Drugs Schemes" are assigned a 5-digit code by the PCRS (the relevent section of the HSE).

What was done last week was that the 5-digit codes associated with these products were removed. Therefore, a pharmacy submitting a claim for reimbursement for them under the GMS (Medical Card) or DPS will have their claim rejected.

The LTI is somewhat different. The LTI covers everything that a doctor says their patient needs for treating their LTI illness, provided that the HSE doctor agrees. This applies even if the product doesn't have a 5 digit code.

The impression I have is that Orlistat, Glucosamine, Gluten free foods and Omega 3 triglycerides will not be reimbursed by the state under any scheme to pharmacists from the 1/9/2012. The letter from a Mr. Paddy Burke of the PCRS states; "The HSE will not reimburse for any prescription for this range of products under the primary care schemes with immediate effect until further notice."

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭rp

bravo wrote: »
    Just got off the phone with the HSE info line and they are insisting that Omega 3 products and Omacor in my particular case have been taken off all schemes in the pharmacy "community contract" including LTI.
    I just got told the same by the pharmacy about Omacor: when I researched it, it seems that this follows the NHS in the UK, who state the reason as being lack of evidence of its effectiveness.
    New evidence from the OMEGA study reveals Omacor to be no more effective than placebo post-MI when used within the context of current best-practice. Omacor is RED-RED and should not be used for secondary prevention after myocardial infarction. All existing prescribing should be reviewed and stopped (see page 9).
    (see here)
    Also, I read that the GlaxoSmithKline patent on Omacor expires this month, so generic versions should be available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 young at heart

in answer to apache remarks, I have worked all my life and paid for my medications but now following 2 heart attacks I can no longer work, so I have a medical card, I take 2 omacor daily which would cost me about 50euro a month, hard to pay that when I income is only 188euro a week and 110 of that goes on my mortgage. So sorry to contradict you but not all of us on social welfare think we're better off not working, I for one would give anything to be able to work and support myself. Its very degrading constantly hearing peoples attitudes about people preferring to be on social welfare

i was being sarcastic a bit in my last post. i am in the same situation but have to pay more . i was very frustrated about what is happening with me. my life has changed drastically in the past few months. it was unfair of me to say that and i apologise. i never said all on social welfare are better off. the majority of people on this long term illness forum are genuine and because this is new to me and has knocked me i have found this LTI forum very useful, helpful and informative. my post belonged to somewhere else but definitely not here where most people are genuine so i am sorry if i offended anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,989 ✭✭✭spookwoman

Mum OAP on state pension just went into pharmacy and had to hand over €40 for omacor. She's on it for high cholesterol and has had reactions to other drugs

spookwoman wrote: »
    Mum OAP on state pension just went into pharmacy and had to hand over €40 for omacor. She's on it for high cholesterol and has had reactions to other drugs

The problem however is the cost of fish oils (which omacor is, it is nothing more than that) is about 1cent a day. She needs to talk to her doctor ASAP and demand to know why the doctor thinks she should be on omacor rather than Aldi/Lidl/Tesco fish oils or to be even safer just eat oily fish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,989 ✭✭✭spookwoman

beeno67 wrote: »
    The problem however is the cost of fish oils (which omacor is, it is nothing more than that) is about 1cent a day. She needs to talk to her doctor ASAP and demand to know why the doctor thinks she should be on omacor rather than Aldi/Lidl/Tesco fish oils or to be even safer just eat oily fish.
    She's going back to him about it. She nearly had heart failure when she heard the cost.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭rp

I think what you are paying for is that it is pharma grade fish oil: the cheaper ones (and natural fish) can often contain mercury - ok now and then, but long term, ingesting mercury every day, causes a lot of bad stuff, like brain damage.
    That said, 1 euro a capsule is a rip-off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭RUCKING FETARD

i was being sarcastic a bit in my last post. i am in the same situation but have to pay more . i was very frustrated about what is happening with me. my life has changed drastically in the past few months. it was unfair of me to say that and i apologise. i never said all on social welfare are better off. the majority of people on this long term illness forum are genuine and because this is new to me and has knocked me i have found this LTI forum very useful, helpful and informative. my post belonged to somewhere else but definitely not here where most people are genuine so i am sorry if i offended anyone.
    You still never said where your mortgage disappeared to?
    This one!!!!

933337_M.jpg

The liquid one. Has loads of independent reviews (look it up) backing up it's purity and low pcbs, mercury and all that levels. They changed the top of the bottle in the last few months and made a c*nt of getting it out without it getting around the rim of it is the only complaint I could put on it.

rp wrote: »
    I think what you are paying for is that it is pharma grade fish oil: the cheaper ones (and natural fish) can often contain mercury - ok now and then, but long term, ingesting mercury every day, causes a lot of bad stuff, like brain damage.
    That said, 1 euro a capsule is a rip-off.
    From the American Heart Association:
    it is important to appreciate that there are many species of fish that are rich sources of omega-3 fatty acids that are low in methylmercury6 and that fish oil supplements are methylmercury-free.

And

Five of the most commonly eaten fish or shellfish that are low in mercury are shrimp, canned light tuna, salmon, pollock, and catfish. Avoid eating shark, swordfish, king Mackerel, or tilefish because they contain high levels of mercury.

In Ireland, the most commonly eaten oily fish are probably Tuna, salmon and pollock. I should add sardines here as well. Also low in mercury

thanks for that, I'll look them up,

Thanks apache, I guess we're all just worried about what will happen if we stop taking omacor because we can't afford it.

are morEPA omega 3 1000mg capsules as good as omacar caps as there is no prescripton needed and not as expensive as omacar? Thanks

Sorry, haven't visited the forum for a couple of weeks:
    Turns out that (as others have said) my initial reaction was correct,and my 'ot second thoughts' post was incorrect.
    The Government will no longer reimburse pharmacies for these products on any state schemes.

Just found out yesterday that Social Welfare may cover the deleted Gluten free products. The advice from my local health office is to contact the local Social welfare office.

spookwoman wrote: »

An exact copy of Omacor is available over the counter in some pharmacies for
    €17.50.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭Equality

How much extra does social welfare pay to someone who passes the means test and is on a gluten free diet?

Equality wrote: »
    How much extra does social welfare pay to someone who passes the means test and is on a gluten free diet?

It seems to be at the discretion of the local official involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭kangaroo

are morEPA omega 3 1000mg capsules as good as omacar caps as there is no prescripton needed and not as expensive as omacar? Thanks
    I take a similar product (high EPA, no DHA) and have surprisingly good cholesterol levels (3.9 and 3.8 in tests I have had) despite being very overweight. I reckon there's a good chance it's the EPA/fish oils, but I do take some other supplements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 seadal

I know this thread is over a year old but I might be able to help some posters. I'm taking Omacor for a number of years now and buy them (or ask a family member or friend to get them for me ) in the Canary Islands. They come in boxes of 100 capsules at a cost of €39.00. This would be the equivalent of €11.00 for a 28 capsule box. They are genuine Omacor and not a generic.
    Hope this helps.

thats a good price seadal pity its so far away! i get it in local chemist for three boxes of omacar i pay 50 euro which works out at 16.70 each