Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Agressive neighbour giving me abuse

• 01-09-2012 4:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

I'm living in a one bed apartment by myself for the past three years.
    Area is nice, the other neighbours are fine, never a problem.

About 7 months ago a couple moved in and you'd call me a snob for judging someone on their accents but they are extremly rough

I don't complain over skipping and dropping weights on a wooden floor, if they want to exercise so be it.
    I don't complain over coming in late from pubs, everyone does that, no harm

My door is on steps outside and they are above me but their door beside me. Sort of a duplex.

The guy is ridiculously agressive, coming back from the pubs last night he let a roar through my door, I don't know what he said but his friend was around today and they were laughing about what he did to "yer man". That's me

Sitting around today doing not much and he's upstairs roaring through the walls "get up ya bastard".
    I am up, just my curtains are drawn as I'm watching a film on the computer and there is glare.
    And then I get jumping on my ceiling a few times. It's a bit random, the odd time I'd nearly jump off my couch with fright

Works nights and slams the door, if I'm up and hear him coming I tense up. Yes you need to bang out doors with Yale locks but this is ridiculous.
    When he gets up around 2pm or so after night shift and I'm on a day off he's shouting wanker and all sorts of abuse through the walls at me.

I've never talked to him face to face, he's never talked to me but I'm hated

How did it start? Don't know for sure, around February I let a roar back to shut the feck up and got several minutes of shouting back.
    What's that saying, never argue as they'll drag you to their level and beat you with experience, is that it?

I've never said a word since, not in months
    Herself even passed my door once and said yer man doesn't say anything and shouted "shutup you" through my door.

Found a burgler in my flat a while back, I shouted as you would do, kicked the guy out but the upstairs neighbour must have reckoned I was shouting at them.
    Sitting around watching TV and he'll shouting up there, saying what I said.
    Sorry if I woke you up, was nothing to do with you..........

Maybe you'd call me timid but I'm just a quiet person, easy going, want no hassle. I've never had a bad word with any of my other neighbours. There is zero noise or music or hassle ever from my flat.

Now I'm second guessing myself, I watch TV through headphones. If I want to leave the bin out I'm watching is he around.
    I used to go for a run out in my shorts and T-shirt, now I second guess and I'm going to meet him on my way back.

No way to live, am working but I don't have the money for a deposit and rent for somewhere else at the minute.

Anything I can do or has anyone else come across this?
    Maybe I'm just letting of steam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭Little Miss Lady

Firstly, are the couple renting the apartment upstairs themselves?
    If they are, see can you get contact details of the landlord.
    You should have a word with your management company about the noise and the stress it's causing you and see what their advice would be.
    I would also ask the guards for advice too.
    Also, get a notebook and start writing down times and dates of incidents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭Toast4532

Any chance you could get some sound recording equipment in your apartment and leave it to record 24/7 (if possible), at least that way you would have some evidence should you need to involve the guards, management company etc.

Maybe also set up a CCTV camera outside your house (if you can) and leave it recording, again, it'd be some evidence to use against them should you need to.

Get a notebook and start recording dates, time, incidents etc. Record EVERYTHING.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Mighty_Mouse

The only answer here is to get the landlord involved.

If it were me I would save every bean for a deposit & scram.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭cruais

You say you have laptop aye? ;)
    Go out and get some sound cancelling headphones and those big bass speakers you could get them for around 15 quid in an electronic shop, go home, hook it up to the laptop.. Find the loudest soundboard you can find.. Set the speakers up high, facing the roof. Wait patiently untill 4:05am, put your headphones in and............. Blast the f*ckers into next week... It's a bit of banter, he might see you're a good laugh for doing it and stop terrorising you :)

Or come around and beat the living day lights outta him!

Op I think you should get onto the landlord asap and explain. If you have any neighbours who are friends of yours, maybe they could call the landlord to complain about the noise and hopefully you can get enough complaints to evict them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,830 ✭✭✭✭Taltos

Rayne Wooney - warned for giving advice that breaches our charter. Advice has to be constructive and as noted by the next poster this advice could well escalate to serious violence.

If you have not already done so please read our charter, PI/RI takes all breaches very seriously.

Taltos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

Id agree with the poster who said to get the landlord involved ; particularly as you have doors side-by-side.
    But if that's "all" that happened to trigger the ****** off, I'd be a bit concerned about how he might react if he knew you'd complained to his landlord :(

Your neighbour sounds like a real bully.
    But the problem with bullies is that they pretend it's all an accident or " you"; that's typically how they con people in authority. And you can bet your LL dosnt want the hassle.

I wonder if it's triggered by him being drunk ; the door slamming/shouting.etc.

I don't know if you can just view the Private Tenants Residencies Boards landlird list or not; but if not a solution might be to pretend to be interested in renting an appartment at < your neighbours address> and check to see if the landlord is registered. If he is you might be able to get his address/contact details & make a complaint. You could say that you are complaining about noise, & shouting through Walls but not identify where you are exactly. Then your scumbag neighbour might think it is a complaint from someone nearby who has also been affected. Might help. You could tell the LL that you are concerned that the harassment will worsen if he knows you've made a complaint & that then you will have to get the gaurds involved. He won't like that . But the gaurds will do Nothing.

I've never dealt directly with the PTRB so I would be looking to see what their remit is before starting & whether they " cover" the issue you have; when you read the little print of many government watchdog agencies; they often have disclaimed their responsibilities by stating that x or Y are not within their remit. I'd check this before starting; you might have to address it through your landlord instead. Are they registered?

Im sorry to hear about the sh¥te you have to put up with. No-one should have to live theiir life in fear.
    Try & stand tall & ignore him when you meet. & have a look at that.

How long is your/his lease for? Maybe he will move on ? Maybe his landlord won't want the hassle & might not renew when he starts getting complaints.
    Maybe that's a strategy ; if they 're there 7 months & the average lease is a year you could start a campaign of complaining to their landlords ; registered letters, weekly or fortnightly; you can vet that after a few months if that hassle the landlord won't want to renew. After all ; everyone wants a quiet life. Harassment, intimidation, shouting, dropping weights on floors ( he will be horrified if he has good floors to hear that!!), Dior slamming after hours, shouting & roaring through Walls, & the wife involved too ... If you're there 3 years with a clean sheet it will stand to you.
    No-one should have to live with all that or put up with that kind of sh|t.

Do you have the support of any neighbour?

I know management companies are totally useless but it could be worth writing a letter asking them to write to him ( & not mention your address/location) .. Noise; antisocial behaviour etc. Some apartments have " house-rules" pinned up - or in the lease. This might give you some extra clout to complain...

V sorry for your situation :(

Sounds like it won't go away & they are a right pair of ****'s. If they've come that ling in life behaving that way im sure yih are right sbout them. Rhey've probably been behaving like that all their lives & being moved on year after year. But the landlird wont do anything unless he knows & its a hassle for him.
    You will have to take courage & address it :( .. Like the burgular ; what a nightmare.

Maybe start this week with finding their landlord. Don't be fobbed off by him saying you have to " work it out"; harassment, intimidation & noise; that's HIS responsibility.

Courage!
    Good luck!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 746 ✭✭✭Starokan

Call your landlord immediately , ask to meet with him outside of the house, explain the situation. Ask that you are left out of the conversation he is going to have with them (He can do so easily, all he has to do is say he was in the building and heard them acting up).

He can warn them, if anything continues you can inform him and he can give them notice. Believe me he wont want them in there upsetting his other tenants.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 967 ✭✭✭HeyThereDeliah

You should not have to put up with this abuse it's harassment. Go to your local Garda station and ask for advice they should have a community Garda who will be able to offer you advice.
    Speak to your landlord as well he might know who owns the other flat.