Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

NFL Tipster Competition 2012

• 31-08-2012 7:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭

The fourth year of the boards.ie NFL Tipster Competition begins Wednesday 5th September when the Cowboys visit the Superbowl Champion Giants.

For New Players;

I have set up a boards.ie league on CBS Sportsline.
    The way it works is that you choose who you think will win each game every week scoring a point for each correct pick. Rather than getting involved in point spreads and/or confidence points I've kept it to the basic win/lose selection.
    The only extra is that you need to pick the total points of the MNF game as a weekly tie-break decider.

The deadline for submitting picks is 1 hour before the start of the day's first game.

Further options have been added this year so I have changed the deadline setting to give the maximum time allowed for players to make picks.

Games will lock five minutes before the scheduled start of each specific game.

Please note - all pool member's selections will be displayed in the 'View All' picks section only for games that have locked. Games that are not selected will be counted as an incorrect pick and members will receive no score for that game.

There is no limit to the amount of people who can enter the league, so the more the merrier as they say.

You will need a CBS Sportsline a/c to join. I'm sure alot of you will have one already from fantasy leagues there & also on NFL.com (I'm pretty sure the same a/c works on both sites).

The link to the league is;
    http://boardies.football.cbssports.com/e

Password is boardies

Cheers

For returning players;
    Use either the link in the email from CBS or the same way as for new players.

General
    There is a facility for email reminders this under the Options then Alerts tabs.

Best of luck to all.

PS. A belated shout out to last years winner DC who scored 176 correct picks & won the competition by 1 point from the 2010 champ PT. DC also won the 1st competition in 2009. L.McN was joint 3rd this year, a one place drop from his 2nd overall finish in 2010.
    Great picking lads. Fantastic consistency & if I decide to have a few bets on games this season I'll be sending tip requests your direction.

Final Standings;
    D.C 177
    P.T 176
    L.McN 175
    A.O'N 175

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

These are always great craic

Very competitive too

Let's see your knowledge :cool:

I've done two seasons and never got beyond mid table :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭Lionbacker

Signed up for a second go at this .
    Was right at the front in contention last year when I missed a week & finished mid-table.

Great fun though. Hope to be able continue to predict games as well as I did last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,317 ✭✭✭HigginsJ

Looks good fun. Just signed up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

Must learn to get more than 3 or 4 right in week 1 like I did last year - spent the whole year chasing after that but still was good craic all the same :o

Signed back up there anyways :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭Icepickle

Season starts tonight guys so your pick for Packers V Giants needs to be in at least 5 mins before kickoff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭davetherave

MikeMac doing well for himself. The only one who picked Dallas over the Giants.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭Icepickle

A reminder to all players that every week until week 16 there is a game on Thursday nights. Remember to make a pick.

Bump

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

Completely forgot about this :( Will try to play catch up for the rest of the season but all the same

Leading after 6 weeks :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭mickmc7

And the winner is......me! Needed 14/16 in the final gameweek to finally overtake the leader. Close run thing! Enjoyable competition.