Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Am I over pricing my Audi A4?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

ghogie91 wrote: »
    http://cars.donedeal.co.uk/for-sale/cars/3772421

Any thoughts?

I cannot shift it, and want to buy a diesel?

Yes your ad is pretty awful to be blunt.

You need to wash it properly and i mean wash it inside and out. Then take newer pictures of it both inside and out.

secondly you need to itemise the cars features and indicate service history owners etc.

and finally NEVER say in an ad 'you want to move up in years to some thing newer' as it makes the buyer think they are buying an old piece of junk that someone doesnt want anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,594 ✭✭✭tossy

Dreadful Ad.

Pictures are terrible,i can't get a good look at any panels to check for dents etc.

No interior pics

Text is poor and to be blunt no one cares why you are selling it :D

Buy a new NCT holder too :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Use proper grammar.
    Drop your reasons for selling.
    Nobody cares that you'll buy another Audi.
    Take proper photos, including the interior.
    Detail the spec.
    Make sure your first photo is of the car, not the NCT disc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Rasmus

Yeah, give the car a wash, amazing what it can do for a sale. Make it seem like a good deal too - just put 'reduced to sell' rather than the long story about why you want to move it.. it's not ebay! : ) If you want to say something, mention one of the things that is great about this car.
    Also, as mentioned, you need a bit more detail or at least say that service records are available upon request. You are probably going to want to tax it now, even if it is for a month. I personally would find it off-putting to buy a car that was not taxed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭flanzer

Personally, I hate pictures of tax disks and NCT disks in an ad. Mentioning it is sufficient

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Rasmus wrote: »
    You are probably going to want to tax it now, even if it is for a month.

You can't tax for a month.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

On first impressions it's a poor ad

Give us more pics

It's as easy to upload 10 pics as it is to upload 5

Lose the part about why you are selling, nobody cares

Give us more specs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Rasmus

smash wrote: »
    You can't tax for a month.

Yep I just remembered that, 3 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭ghogie91

Ok Will do, have to update it so.

Car has been cleaned since, was a dull day!

I broke the laptop and had to take those photos with an iPhone and use the mobile upload.

Standby for updated ad for opinions :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

Personally myself I would not bother with the price drop or reason for selling,makes me think loads of people looked at it and did not like it for some reason and only take pictures when its dry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

This is a good template for an ad:

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3571681

Boardies car aswell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 866 ✭✭✭renofan

1st why is it on donedeal.co.uk and not .ie? I've had a look through .ie and its not coming up.....maybe thats part of the reason. But get rid of the paragraph with the reason for selling and take more photos and include the interior and put more info up on the car, history etc.

renofan wrote: »
    1st why is it on donedeal.co.uk and not .ie? I've had a look through .ie and its not coming up.....maybe thats part of the reason. But get rid of the paragraph with the reason for selling and take more photos and include the interior and put more info up on the car, history etc.

Its on the .ie one just I am here in a company that servers are based in UK so everything we access here is the UK version

• Closed Accounts Posts: 866 ✭✭✭renofan

Its on the .ie one just I am here in a company that servers are based in UK so everything we access here is the UK version

Hmmmm don't know why I couldn't find it first time, probably scanning too quickly!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

Apart from the AD and all the bluster about it.........basically no one wants 1.6 petrol A4's ......... period.

It like a guy trying to trade in a 07 passat petrol with me the other day......I declined to take his car, and he was confused why?

Answer - poor mpg, petrol now €1.70 a litre and diesel cars are all in vogue right now.

If you want it gone drop the asking by a grand.

MidlandsM wrote: »
    Apart from the AD and all the bluster about it.........basically no one wants 1.6 petrol A4's ......... period.

It like a guy trying to trade in a 07 passat petrol with me the other day......I declined to take his car, and he was confused why?

Answer - poor mpg, petrol now €1.70 a litre and diesel cars are all in vogue right now.

You hit the nail on the head there alright!!

RoverJames wrote: »
    If you want it gone drop the asking by a grand.

Yeah its looking like that, I have one opportunity left before that and I have a garage that is willing to trade it for a 03 TDI Golf, I know a year or two ago this wouldnt have been a great swap but wit hthe way things are gone now I should take hand and all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

Set the price to €3950 and tell people you're accepting near offers. If you could get a bit over €3500, you'd be doing extremely well.

1.6 Audi A4s are in pretty low demand, possibly even lower than the 3.0 (As that will always appeal to a certain part of the market). The engine is underpowered, uneconomical and 1.6 A4s generally have the most basic spec available.

and will probably sell,

sure, 20 days on........

few people want petrol yokes...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭RED PASSION

MidlandsM wrote: »
    sure, 20 days on........

few people want petrol yokes...

yes but even in good times high performance petrol was never easy to sell, will the op have to take a big hit on the asking price of his 1.6 audi to sell it.

probably ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

In reality it's worth about €2,500. It's an underpowered petrol Audi with a pathetic engine. Update the ad, and I'd still say drop the price by €1500.

RoverJames wrote: »
    I'm sure he was asking a grand more initially.

500 more initally, had the whole idea of overprice to knock off, in reality im lookin gfor 4000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭FrontDoor

There is a market for this type of car.

Lots of people want something like this for pottering around and doing 5-6k a year. 80 quid of petrol would do them 6 weeks and 1.6 is just grand for their purposes. Big boot, nice interior, safe, etc.

The trouble with this particular car is it has a good few miles up and looks like it has had a hard life.

If it was sitting on a nice driveway, nice and clean, with 70k and a well written ad, I'd imagine it would shift easily enough. Not for that price though.

FrontDoor wrote: »

Lots of people want something like this for pottering around and doing 5-6k a year. 80 quid of petrol would do them 6 weeks and 1.6 is just grand for their purposes. Big boot,

there's no big boot in an a4!:D

...but i get what yer saying fella:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Tea 1000 wrote: »
    In reality it's worth about €2,500. It's an underpowered petrol Audi with a pathetic engine. Update the ad, and I'd still say drop the price by €1500.

Does anyone else agree? If the car checked out, Id be happy enough paying €2500 for her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭Media999

This is a good template for an ad:

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3571681

Boardies car aswell.

Ha

When i seen the 5th picture i was like

Why is this chap taking a picture of his front door?

Clean car.

Exaggerate much?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 279 ✭✭Pa Dee

http://cars.donedeal.co.uk/for-sale/cars/3772421

Any thoughts?

I cannot shift it, and want to buy a diesel?
    Jesus wept ! What a rubbish ad ! Have you any sense at all to copy other ones ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

Media999 wrote: »
    Exaggerate much?
    Nope, speak the truth often though! You?
    8 year old petrol A4 with an 8 valve engine that was old even then which is very gruff and not powerful and has 95k miles on it is in reality worth around €2,500.
    You can get 04 diesels for around 4-5 bracket, and diesels are in demand, rightly or wrongly.
    So no, I don't exaggerate much!! :p

Nope, speak the truth often though! You?
    8 year old petrol A4 with an 8 valve engine that was old even then which is very gruff and not powerful and has 95k miles on it is in reality worth around €2,500.
    You can get 04 diesels for around 4-5 bracket, and diesels are in demand, rightly or wrongly.
    So no, I don't exaggerate much!! :p

What has the price of diesels got to do with it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

What has the price of diesels got to do with it?

Why in God's name would you pay the same price for a car that is less powerful, less economical and often of a lower spec?

big difference between 2.5 and 5k so its not the same price.

Diesel doesnt suit everyone. Doesnt mean all petrols should be flogged off for half nothing.

So youre saying an 04 audi a4 is only worth 2.5k.

65 on carzone now and lowest is 4k so why dont you ask all them why your right and every one of them are wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭Light Switch

Okay to be very blunt,

First off the Title,
    '2004 Audi A4 for sale *Price Drop*
    We know it's for sale so no need to state it and this *Price Drop* is bollocks as to me it means you overpriced the car/No-one wanted originally, And now reduced that price slightly and re-listed it to try sell it.
    Something like '2004 Audi A4 1.6' is a lot clearer and to the point.

Second of all,
    The pictures... Well there crap.
    Wash the car and clean the alloys and give it a hoover etc..
    Clear pictures NOT taken in the rain,
    Use something with a nice background (Don't drive into a river though :rolleyes: ) and the car looking it's best as the main pic to really make it stand out, Say a frontal/side view of the car taken against castle ruins/sea front etc...

Then take proper pics of the car for the remaining 9 photos,
    Side profile x2
    Front/Rear x2
    Interior x2
    Close up of alloy/tyres x1
    Under the bonnet x1
    Boot interior x1

Photo of NCT is a waste of space.

Onto the main text of the ad, (I'v done this as an example so you may need to change/edit details)
    2004 Audi A4,
    1.6 Petrol (102BHP)
    95K Miles
    NCT 6/14
    Tax 9/13
    Service History/Last service/Invoices?

Blue Metallic,
    Black Interior,
    Remote Central Locking,
    Alarm,
    Electric Windows,
    CD Player,
    15'' Audi Alloys with decent tyres all round.

Very good condition, No major dents/scratches.
    Interior is clean, No fag/burns or rips in the upholstery.

Please call/text Garry on 087-1234567

ETA: When you sell the car, I expect a brown envelope. ;):p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

There are badge snobs that will give close to your asking price and will do feck all miles, just want the Audi in the yard. Drop it to 3950 and see how things go.

I personally don't give a toss about pics in ads (pictures are very deceptive, I've bought many cars with no pics in the ad or few words. Seeing is believing, I'll view the car if I'm interested) but most people take 1st impressions to heart. So a few decent snaps of the interior and a pic of the engine will be a huge help. Use pics of a clean car too!!!

big difference between 2.5 and 5k so its not the same price.

Diesel doesnt suit everyone. Doesnt mean all petrols should be flogged off for half nothing.

So youre saying an 04 audi a4 is only worth 2.5k.

65 on carzone now and lowest is 4k so why dont you ask all them why your right and every one of them are wrong.

You're saying that another poster is exaggerating about it being worth 2.5k. I wouldn't pay 4k - that's diesel a4 money. It simply is not worth that. And do you really believe the prices on carzone are representative of actual selling prices? Have a look on done deal to get a better idea.

At the end of the day it's a very basic a4 with the worst engine. Nobody is going to pay top dollar for it, and to have a hope of selling it the car needs to be priced accordingly.

Your missing my point. Why would a petrol go for 2.5 yet a diesel demands 4? Because you would prefer a diesel? because a diesel suits you?

I wouldnt go near an 04 diesel a4 again. been there done that, got tired of sounding like i was driving a tractor.

Petrol all the way. 1.6 a4 is far smoother than the 1.9tdi and far more comfortable to drive in a city.

If you dont do the mileage the economy is irrelevant so why would it cut nearly 50% off the value?

And why is done deal a gauge of the market but not carzone?

edit - Point im trying to make is that petrol suits some people so they would pay better rather than constantly compare them to diesels as some kind of superior car.

You say the diesel has higher spec. I owned both. They where both exactly the same interior and the whole lot. Diesel for me was a worse car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

FrontDoor wrote: »

This market is a lot smaller than it was a few years ago though. Everybody wants diesels, very few want petrols. Everybody wants small cars, very few want biggish cars

I tend to buy large older petrol cars these days, but only if the price is right very, very low. I very much doubt The OP will get anywhere near €4k for it, but maybe he and a delusional Audi badge snob will meet :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,403 ✭✭✭kincaid

Car is probably worth as about 2800 to be honest,
    drawback is hard on fuel and seriously underpowered as pretty heavy car.
    Not that many people are looking for them now as petrol prices have went above that of diesel and I find people would rather give the extra Money and get a tdi as better to drive and more torque and would hold their value better.

I know they are asking high prices on carzone for the petrols but there is a huge difference between asking and actually getting...

but best of luck in selling it anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭Light Switch

Carzone tends to be dealers, And nearly all cars are a tad overpriced on there.
    Look at Pumas, Cheapest is €900 but the next cheapest one to that is at €1700!

Nobody really wants a 1.6 petrol as a daily,
    It's either a small petrol like a Fiesta as a runabout or a family car such as an A4 in Diesel.

It's the way people think, Diesel is cheaper... Better MPG so they'll pay more.

Add in the fact A4 Diesels are madly overpriced anyway due to the demand from young lads wanting to felt spec them.

Your missing my point. Why would a petrol go for 2.5 yet a diesel demands 4? Because you would prefer a diesel? because a diesel suits you?

It's not any one person that dictates the value - the market as a whole does that. The petrol, rightly or wrongly, is less attractive to potential purchasers. And compared to the 1.6 the diesel is a more rounded car. If it was the 1.8t or any of the 6 cylinder models I would agree with the petrol option being the best but not the 1.6. I have had this engine unfortunatley in the past and it was dreadful on fuel but reliable enough on the whole.