Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Burning car rolls down the road in Ashbourne [Video]

• 30-08-2012 12:46pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭

This happened yesterday in Ashbourne

Fair play to the firemen for trying to stop it! But was it a stupid thing to do?

A parked car went on fire, then seconds after the fire brigade arrived the handbrake finally went, and it rolls down the road nearly hitting a Garda car and the bus I was on. Fair play to the firemen running in front of it to stop it, I could feel the heat from inside the bus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

I just want to say to the 'eye witness', rotate your bloody phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭enviro

Mini explosion @49 secs, lucky the fireman's head wasn't still there.

Lol at the lad in the hoodie that lobs something underneath the wheel and legs it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

And that is why you put your car in gear when you stop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

dgt wrote: »

And don't set it on fire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

...and why this can't happen in an automatic...... :D

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭fletch

galwaytt wrote: »
    ...and why this can't happen in an automatic...... :D
    I can leave my car in N when I am parked?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,352 ✭✭✭alias no.9

fletch wrote: »
    I can leave my car in N when I am parked?

Can you take the keys out when its like that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

It was very considerate and upstanding of the Focus to not hit the Garda car. Fair play!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭fletch

alias no.9 wrote: »
    Can you take the keys out when its like that?
    Hmmm pretty sure I can (its dsg rather than traditional auto) but will check this evening to be 100%

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

Hmmm pretty sure I can (its dsg rather than traditional auto) but will check this evening to be 100%
    Set it on fire, then try it!

Oh, and film it please

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

Tallon wrote: »
    Set it on fire, then try it!

Oh, and film it please

But rotate your phone first please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

On mine (Passat DSG) it has to be in Park before they keys will come out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

Jesus those firemen went above and beyond....they are defiantly not being paid enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭Solair

I just want to say to the 'eye witness', rotate your bloody phone.

This video explains all about the horrors of VVS (Vertical Video Syndrome)

But, wow - well beyond the call of duty.

Not sure why they didn't just let the car roll into a safe place though. Bit too risky trying to push it IMO.

Look at that torque. Given the constant speed even after the fireman tried to stop it rolling, looks to me like the car was driven by its starter motor. I read from somewhere about a house fire that occurred when a car parked outside caught fire and drove itself through the door.

So don't park your car in gear. Fellow SAAB drivers, I'm especially talking to you (would have been interesting to see the car rolling up the hill in reverse).

samih wrote: »
    Look at that torque. Given the constant speed even after the fireman tried to stop it rolling, looks to me like the car was driven by its starter motor. I read from somewhere about a house fire that occurred when a car parked outside caught fire and drove itself through the door.

So don't park your car in gear. Fellow SAAB drivers, I'm especially talking to you (would have been interesting to see the car rolling up the hill in reverse).

I can't tell if you're being serious or not...

But it was on a hill...

I can't tell if you're being serious or not...

But it was on a hill...

Serious, I'm afraid. Speed of the car looks pretty much bang on for a starter and 1st gear.

Im sorry but no. The car was rolling down a quite steep hill. A lot of mass + a hill means that there was no way the fireman was going to be able to stop it.

The fireman does stop it for a sec, but it was obviously too hot, and you can see his feet slipping on the wet ground :(

Im sorry but no. The car was rolling down a quite steep hill. A lot of mass + a hill means that there was no way the fireman was going to be able to stop it.

Well, I am sorry too. The contant speed of the Focus thoughout the video looks like a starter and 1st gear to me. And this is without considering the sliding fireman that didn't make any difference in the progress of the vehicle.

The fireman does stop it for a sec, but it was obviously too hot, and you can see his feet slipping on the wet ground :(

Are we watching the same clip here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

CCBF97A3-B89E-4D5D-9365-AD5857D72BDD-657-0000003F0B09F4E8.jpg

Hill + gravity = car rolling

Are we watching the same clip here?
    You tell me, I posted the correct one!

At 20 seconds he briefly stops the car until his feet start to slide... being on a hill and all

You tell me, I posted the correct one!

At 20 seconds he briefly stops the car until his feet start to slide... being on a hill and all

It a fair hill alright. Anyway, looking at the middle line in the road the car appears to be making steady progress until the point it moves front of the bus where it cannot be seen. My opinion stands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

You all wrong....the vtech kicked in....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,858 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

I wonder the cars owner get billed/invoiced 650 euro for the Fire Brigade callout??:pac:

paddy147 wrote: »
    I wonder the cars owner get billed/invoiced 650 euro for the Fire Brigade callout??:pac:
    Yes! Unless their insurance covers it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

paddy147 wrote: »

Yes but insurance will cover it. (Unless they don't have any or only have 3rd party!)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,858 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

draffodx wrote: »
    CCBF97A3-B89E-4D5D-9365-AD5857D72BDD-657-0000003F0B09F4E8.jpg

Hill + gravity = car rolling

Anyone spot the hoody??:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 gt4-wrc

I was one of the fire crew and it was starter plus 1st gear

gt4-wrc wrote: »

I guess I'll have to eat my hat so:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

If it hit the garda car and that took fire too it would have been EPIC FAIL!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Stinicker wrote: »
    If I was the Fireman trying to stop the car, on my own, while the others watch/run around a bit, I'd be a bit pi55y at the post-fire discussion.:D "So lads, explain again why none of ye helped me?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Pottler wrote: »
    "So lads, explain again why none of ye helped me?"

The lad with what looks like the big rubber foot off the temporary fencing used on sites said "relax lads, I got this"

Stinicker wrote: »
    If I was the Fireman trying to stop the car, on my own, while the others watch/run around a bit, I'd be a bit pi55y at the post-fire discussion.:D "So lads, explain again why none of ye helped me?"
    Simple he was the only one in breathing apparatus at the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Jesus those firemen went above and beyond....they are defiantly not being paid enough.

Ashbourne's firemen are volunteers as far as I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Whatever about a rolling car, there's no way one man pushing would stop it on the starter in first. I find it hard to believe that anyone would even try.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

Ford build quality :)

mattjack wrote: »

Ashbourne's firemen are volunteers as far as I know.
    There are no volunteer fire stations in this country Im mystified by where people get this idea

OOOh stop! Ye all looked at it and went "well, there's feck all chance of stopping that yoke, appear busy, appear busy!" Except one.:D Who will "appear busy" next time it happens!:D

Pretty much everybody was involved and other crew members where making down from the engine at the time so you are wrong my friend and until you have experienced the heat from a car fire you just won't understand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 722 ✭✭✭urajoke

Face palms face palm face palm !!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Fair dues to the fire crew anyway. Trying to stop a burning car is pretty admirable.

I am slightly bemused by the Garda running to the front of the car, seeing what he was doing and stepping back just as quick.

Pretty much everybody was involved and other crew members where making down from the engine at the time so you are wrong my friend and until you have experienced the heat from a car fire you just won't understand
    I was joking! Literally joking. I know exactly how tough being a fireman is and exactly how harrowing and demanding it is, I was messing. Relax.

picked you up wrong sorry :rolleyes: