Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[Video] If your car catches fire, don't forget the handbreak!

• 29-08-2012 9:24pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭

Balls of steel!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,953 ✭✭✭Bigus

What harm was it going to do if left to go ?

Hand brake mech would have let go with that heat anyway. Which is prob what happened .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭Iwannahurl

Balls of steel!

Or asbestos...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭King Ludvig

You can see a bunch of trees at the end just in front of where the car stops which would have caught fire too I'd say if that firefighter hadn't slowed it down on it's roll. I can only imagine the heat coming from it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

The firefighter who tried to stop it was probably both brave and foolish. The car obviously need to be stopped, it could have done some serious damage or injury to somebody. But then again, if that car was to go explode while he was so close his face might have been burnt badly.

Just goes to show that every call you attend will never be the same, and something wild will always be thrown at you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭kub

Please do not get me wrong here, especially considering that I owe my life to members of Cork City Fire Service....but what was that fire fighter thinking? Surely his actions were questionable.
    I can of course only imagine that an action like that would be necessary if a group of children were in the cars path or if there was an explosive substance etc.
    So what do you Fire lads think?

Unless of course the local patrol car was in its path, I can see the urgency then, knowing that if that went up, then no replacement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭SJPK

Surely the other fireman/men/women that were suited up could've given him a hand trying to stop it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,395 ✭✭✭5500

SJPK wrote: »
    Surely the other fireman/men/women that were suited up could've given him a hand trying to stop it?

He seemed to be the only one wearing BA which may be why he jumped in but at one stage he was being pushed by the car with his boots dug in, thankfully he didn't slip and the car go over him.

For the amount of times "scene safe" has been bashed into my brain, did he brake the rule so to speak?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

I'm not a FF but I would have not gone near it. I may have thrown something under the wheel though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭cdsb46

ahhh i was wondering what had happened in the village yesterday....thanks for the vid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

5500 wrote: »
    For the amount of times "scene safe" has been bashed into my brain, did he brake the rule so to speak?

Ask management. What's the bet that he get's in the **** over it?

I have to say, fair play to him. Can't see properly from the video, but the car looks close to the Garda car, so it's possible he thought they were going to collide, no? (also if this happened, surely the insurance company of the car on fire would be responsible for fixing up the Garda car?).

At the very last second of the clip, there's an explosion at the front of the car, which could have been very nasty if it happened 20 seconds earlier when our Fire Officer in question was trying to stop it.

It's possible also that he just wasn't thinking right? Got out of the truck and ran to the car and seen the other guy trying to stop it, so just naturally took over from him (as the other guy wasn't in proper gear to be in such a situation).

I must say though, that's some serious display of strength. He does slow it down a fair bit, and even when he's getting pushed along by the car and sliding down the road he stays in position and doesn't get thrown back or stumble at all. I'd say he'll feel it in the morning!

Hat's off.