Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Beef Technology Adoption Programme - payment

• 29-08-2012 9:41am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭

Anyone know when this payment is supposed to come through?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

just do it wrote: »
    Anyone know when this payment is supposed to come through?

You won't get it until you have at least all of your meetings attended and your advisor signs off that you have completed your measures. We are on our 4th meeting this week. how many have your group done?

I can't see the money coming for it this side of christmas anyway!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,328 ✭✭✭tanko

I did my fourth meeting last night. One of the conditions of the scheme is that you must have your swcs details correct for this year. I'm sure they'll use this to put off payments as long as they can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

4th meeting yesterday and there is an approved event in Ennis mart tonight. I didn't know about the SWCS having to be in order.

I was really fishing to see had any official indication been giving as to when payment will come through. From an administrative point of view I imagine it will be next March at the earliest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭jfh

4th meeting yesterday and there is an approved event in Ennis mart tonight. I didn't know about the SWCS having to be in order.

I was really fishing to see had any official indication been giving as to when payment will come through. From an administrative point of view I imagine it will be next March at the earliest.

we had 4 meetings also, the fee is over 350 euros (cant recall) for the advisor. this is a once off?
    anyone going to that event tonight in ennis?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

What time is the approved event tonight and is it on in the mart? was trying to ring the planner there and he wouldnt answer the phone. Supposed to have our fourth meeting tomorrow but I am supposed to collect my sister at the airport the same time, the meeting tonight would suit better!!

7:30

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,777 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

AFAIK the dairy lads got theirs around jan-feb for the previous year. What sort of options are ppl doing? I am doing the profit monitor anyway, but not sure about the 5 star stock bull one, only one of my bulls would qualify with 5 stars for maternal.

Thanks for the reminder on Ennis tonight, might head over.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭J DEERE

Adviser told us it would be January at the earliest

It appears justin hasnt changed jerseys just yet going by the meeting in ennis tonight, I thought he would be the speaker for abp :p He made some good points in fairness to him though and he is a very good speaker. A good event overall I think and of all the people there what was the odds of sitting down beside 2 fellow boardies and neither of them knowing it...small world!! It was nice to meet ye just do it and blue 5000.

that's some coincidence alright, never got going myself, pity they dont put notes up online..

So myself, just do it and redzer were at Ennis last night. I wonder what sort of job is lined up for Justin at ABP? It looks like the days of the big 480 kg cw bull are over.

Anyways we managed to weigh a certain well known journalist, fully clothed with boots on, does anybody who wasn't there want to guess the weight?:D:D:D

blue5000 wrote: »
    So myself, just do it and redzer were at Ennis last night. I wonder what sort of job is lined up for Justin at ABP? It looks like the days of the big 480 kg cw bull are over.

Anyways we managed to weigh a certain well known journalist, fully clothed with boots on, does anybody who wasn't there want to guess the weight?:D:D:D
    92kg :)

92kg :)

Blue had it converted to stone's before I even got a glance at the scales :D

So redz, was I between ye? I didn't realise blue was there. I'd to jump ship after the teagasc advisor talking about dealing with winter feed shortage. What had justin to say for himself?

Ya he was on your left. He did a bit on replacement heifers and what he would look for in them and was talking about presenting your weanlings well for sale. Nothing mind boggling that you wouldnt have really heard before but he has a good way of getting his point across. A few lads at the discussion group today said the speakers for dawn and abp got a right roasting from the farmers in the other ring afterwards.

Well blue, good to have met you. And I'm glad I introduced you to the boards.ie expert on limestone farming ;).

I just don't see the point in taking that antagonistic approach with the factory lads. I learned a lot from them and felt they were open and honest about what they want and don't want. In fact what their customers (i.e. our final customers) want and don't want. Also good to hear the grades they felt the different animals were. As blue said, the high end european markets want light bulls less than 16mo with a fat score of 2+. I bet the lads that came for an argument didn't pick that up and will keep doing the same auld thing and expect to get paid top dollar!

Well blue, good to have met you. And I'm glad I introduced you to the boards.ie expert on limestone farming ;).

I just don't see the point in taking that antagonistic approach with the factory lads. I learned a lot from them and felt they were open and honest about what they want and don't want. In fact what their customers (i.e. our final customers) want and don't want. Also good to hear the grades they felt the different animals were. As blue said, the high end european markets want light bulls less than 16mo with a fat score of 2+. I bet the lads that came for an argument didn't pick that up and will keep doing the same auld thing and expect to get paid top dollar!

We have a couple of finishers in our discussion and they were saying yesterday their was no real incentive for them to finish younger be it steers or bulls. They were still coming out better with extra weight according to themselves than killing younger. The factory lads had their own incentive for being there too.

The big thing cost wise with killing a bull at 16 vs 20-23 months is that the older bull gets a second summer at grass to put on a lot of weight cheaply (70 cent a day compared to 3 euro a day on meal).

To kill bulls at 16 months they won't get out to grass the second summer. That's for spring born cattle, autumn born would be different, but then it costs more to feed a cow with a calf at foot indoors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Dont be daft

blue5000 wrote: »
    The big thing cost wise with killing a bull at 16 vs 20-23 months is that the older bull gets a second summer at grass to put on a lot of weight cheaply (70 cent a day compared to 3 euro a day on meal).

To kill bulls at 16 months they won't get out to grass the second summer. That's for spring born cattle, autumn born would be different, but then it costs more to feed a cow with a calf at foot indoors.

Exactly. If the factories want youger cattle let them put their money were their mouths are and offer a decent incentive.

As it stands they want to have their cake and eat it. Let farmers take the extra cost involved while the f*ck off with premium they gain in the market. Absolutely win-win for them.

The merits of 16mth beef on a grass based system dont stack up and this is even more applicable this year with concentrates the way they are.