Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

lidl night vision monocular

• 28-08-2012 8:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭

hi just wondering if lidl are doing these anymore as when i was in sweden lately it would of been perfect for identifying the boar as you cant shoot them with a light
    the range was at most 40 meters from the high towers
    but tricky in low light to identify what your shooting at as in male or female size etc

also anyone have an idea of the model number or price range of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,635 ✭✭✭TylerIE

Ye they are actually back next Monday at a much lower price!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭daithi55

TylerIE wrote: »

holy crap they are is this the same thing as before can anyone confirm

http://www.lidl.ie/cps/rde/xchg/SID-613684E1-58717654/lidl_ri_ie/hs.xsl/index_24047.htm

they were 130 last time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭Vizzy

daithi, I think that they are the same ones.
    I tracked down an old thread and the previous ones were "Bresser" 5X zoom and had a ccd chip.The same as these.

Will definitely get a pair.

Are you back yet and will you be able to get a pair,if not PM me and I'll get an extra pair for you(I'm in Tipp too so I can't be too far from you)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,635 ✭✭✭TylerIE

daithi55 wrote: »
    TylerIE wrote: »

holy crap they are is this the same thing as before can anyone confirm

http://www.lidl.ie/cps/rde/xchg/SID-613684E1-58717654/lidl_ri_ie/hs.xsl/index_24047.htm

they were 130 last time

I think it's slightly different - I only found your thread when looking for specs.

They are different (better zoom but narrower field of view) from a 2007 version that was e100.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭rowa

Are they any cop though ? I had a nv monocular years ago and it was dreck, useless.

rowa wrote: »
    Are they any cop though ? I had a nv monocular years ago and it was dreck, useless.

well if ya bring it home and your not satisfied with the product does it entitle you to a refund if its doesnt perform like advertised

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭rowa

daithi55 wrote: »
    well if ya bring it home and your not satisfied with the product does it entitle you to a refund if its doesnt perform like advertised

No i meant 1st gen night vision in general , have they improved them recently or is there a way to improve performance that doesn't cost the earth.

rowa wrote: »
    No i meant 1st gen night vision in general , have they improved them recently or is there a way to improve performance that doesn't cost the earth.

i havent a clue thats why im asking here

Vizzy wrote: »
    daithi, I think that they are the same ones.
    I tracked down an old thread and the previous ones were "Bresser" 5X zoom and had a ccd chip.The same as these.

Will definitely get a pair.

Are you back yet and will you be able to get a pair,if not PM me and I'll get an extra pair for you(I'm in Tipp too so I can't be too far from you)

ya mate im back cheers thanks for asking all the same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 kylemore56

I.ve just looked up lidl NI and they are pricing these at £129.99 :eek:
    so i,m wondering if one of the two prices are wrong?

kylemore56 wrote: »
    I.ve just looked up lidl NI and they are pricing these at £129.99 :eek:
    so i,m wondering if one of the two prices are wrong?

the irish one is mate keep it quiet :D

actually mods delete this thread incase lidl spot it lol

I know it was the irish lidl for i followed the link;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭juice1304

I bought one of the last ones slightly different to that one. I think it's grand out to 150m it is only a gen 1 you can't expect much from them. i'm looking at getting a gen III soon mad money but you only live once.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭andrew dickenson

may pick up a pair myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭anthonyos

does anyone know if its a wrong price ??sounds to good to be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

Priced now @€;129 which I'd say was the correct price to start with and was marked up wrong.

Told you so!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

clivej wrote: »
    Priced now @€;129 which I'd say was the correct price to start with and was marked up wrong.

Yeah Im gutted, I had a reminder set on my phone to go in on Monday morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 490 ✭✭wexfordman

clivej wrote: »

Yeah Im gutted, I had a reminder set on my phone to go in on Monday morning.

Did anyone actually get them for 29?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

wexfordman wrote: »
    Did anyone actually get them for 29?

I doubt it, they are only to go on sale on Monday. I am going to run in and check 'just in case' - but not expecting to get them so cheap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭cookimonster

Worse still, new catalogue price is €139.99 now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭mightyabhabelle

ok now the price is settled.. did anyone buy these and are they any good for the money. In terms of comparsion and maybe a few bucks extra what else would you recommend..

thanks M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭alderdeer

Just wondering did anyone get one and how they are working. Can ya make out what animal your looking at say 60-70 Mtr away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

I have one and for what you pay for them they're not too bad, think of something between the old camcorder nightvision and a proper good first generation job. On a mild night you'll get about 80 to 120 yards with a relatively good image.

On a cold frosty night on the other hand you may just as well be looking through a jack roll tube. But than again, for €140 you're not going to get the same quality as a military grade Gen I weapon sight.

I have one and for what you pay for them they're not too bad, think of something between the old camcorder nightvision and a proper good first generation job. On a mild night you'll get about 80 to 120 yards with a relatively good image.

On a cold frosty night on the other hand you may just as well be looking through a jack roll tube. But than again, for €140 you're not going to get the same quality as a military grade Gen I weapon sight.

Thanks Stevie I know I could of just bought one myself and found out but I'd have to kinda go outa my way to gat to a lidl store. I'll hopefully pick one up tomorrow if their still available and have something to post about later in the week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,110 ✭✭✭Thirdfox

I got one today from Lidl Stillorgan - last one in the office they told me.

For the price it's decent enough.

I had mistakenly thought it was a gen1 light intensifier - it's actually a ccd sensitive sensor that amplifies the surrounding light/ir light.

Bummer it. Rang earlier and they told me they've been taken off the shelves to be released at a later date

• Closed Accounts Posts: 506 ✭✭✭moby30

Lads I have one if anyone wants it. Im in Dublin. Its the newer one with the white screen. I have the older one with the green screen and thought I lost it so bought the new one last year. I used it once and put it away because I thought it was **** really. One thing to bear in mind is that theres a lot of fiddeling around to get it focused and your left half blinded when you take your eyes away from it. It would be worth looking to get one of the older ones if you could. I could easily scan a very large area, focus quickly, and easily identify anything with them.
    No offer refused:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 506 ✭✭✭moby30

GONE.