Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can fans do anything to help professional cycling?

• 28-08-2012 2:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭

I'm just wondering, in light of recent events such as Contador/Landis/Lance etc. if the fans can do something to help.

If anyone is interested this is the transcript from Paul Kimmage and Floyd Landis interview. It is stunning and well wort an hour of any cycling fans time.

http://velocitynation.com/content/interviews/2011/landiskimmage

It makes you sad what it's like. What do you think we can do to help?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭Tonyandthewhale

Is there anything to be said for saying mass?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭mcgratheoin

Is there anything to be said for saying mass?

Ask Fr. Crosby - He gives good mass...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭happytramp

Ask Fr. Crosby - He gives good mass...

He really knows how to work the alter. And his chalice work.....effortless.

I'm just wondering, in light of recent events such as Contador/Landis/Lance etc. if the fans can do something to help.

I asked the same question on Cyclingnews and got no response. There's no way that any other governing sports body would get away with what the UCI have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 519 ✭✭✭fixie fox

I was thinking about the same thing myself just last night.

For example, Contador back in the Tour of Spain is sickening. But what can 'we' do about it?

Well, who is sponsoring and paying his wages? Would it be worthwhile putting pressure on sponsors through the social media etc? After all, consumers have power.

How would this work in practice? I looked up his team and it is 'Team Saxo Bank-Tinkoff Bank'. That doesn't help a lot as I don't bank with any of them.

However, their website shows a lot of other sponsors - e.g. Specialized.

Cycleways are the Specialized dealers in Ireland. Should we go in and say we don't like to support sponsors of dopers? Or, if it's a toss-up on a bike, tell them we are not buying Specialized because they sponsors proven dopers.

It could have some influence if it cought on world wide. I've fired off an e-mail message to a few of these sponsors - the list is here

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

At this stage I think there needs to be some house cleaning in the sports governing body, the UCI. Questions need to be asked as to how this happened on its watch.

Cycling Ireland is affiliated to the UCI. Many of us here are Cycling Ireland members and hold UCI licences.

Perhaps one course of action is to approach Cycling Ireland and find out what role the national associations play in electing the UCI executive and holding to account.

And once we know that, then petitioning Cycling Ireland to lobby for top level change in the sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

fixie fox wrote: »
    I was thinking about the same thing myself just last night.

For example, Contador back in the Tour of Spain is sickening. But what can 'we' do about it?

Well, who is sponsoring and paying his wages? Would it be worthwhile putting pressure on sponsors through the social media etc? After all, consumers have power.

How would this work in practice? I looked up his team and it is 'Team Saxo Bank-Tinkoff Bank'. That doesn't help a lot as I don't bank with any of them.

However, their website shows a lot of other sponsors - e.g. Specialized.

Cycleways are the Specialized dealers in Ireland. Should we go in and say we don't like to support sponsors of dopers? Or, if it's a toss-up on a bike, tell them we are not buying Specialized because they sponsors proven dopers.

It could have some influence if it cought on world wide. I've fired off an e-mail message to a few of these sponsors - the list is here

Well I've always avoided Trek for the simple reason that Pharmstrong rode one, but for every one of me, there will be 5 people queueing up to buy one for exactly that same reason. :confused:

just 2 days after all this hullabaloo finally came out and his titles were stripped etc, you'd imagine that there wouldn't be a single soul wearing a yellow bracelet or livestrong kit on the Sean Kelly. Not so, they were out in abundance.

Likewise Nike are still sponsoring him, despite dropping Tiger Woods for playing away. Mind boggles really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭el tel

Cycling Ireland is affiliated to the UCI. Many of us here are Cycling Ireland members and hold UCI licences.

It makes me uneasy seeing that wee UCI logo on the CI membership card. It's hard to stomach that I might in someway be funding or perpetuating the existence of this shower of dastardly bellenders.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,456 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

I'm going to call a strike amongst all members of Swords CC - I think we should refuse to ride in the Club League for the rest of the year - hopefully that will get the powers that be at the UCI to sit up and take notice:D

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,456 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

kenmc wrote: »
    Likewise Nike are still sponsoring him, despite dropping Tiger Woods for playing away. Mind boggles really.
    I'm sure major organisations like Nike will be reviewing the situation. However these things can take time - they would not want to pull the plug overnight only to find out they are contractually committed to paying compensation. There will be due process to follow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,668 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

Beasty wrote: »
    I'm going to call a strike amongst all members of Swords CC - I think we should refuse to ride in the Club League for the rest of the year - hopefully that will get the powers that be at the UCI to sit up and take notice:D

yeh that should do it

although as much as i wouldnt buy trek or nike (cycling gear) for its relationship with armstrong, i cant see what we could do about the uci who seem to part of the problem not the solution

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,104 ✭✭✭morana

At this stage I think there needs to be some house cleaning in the sports governing body, the UCI. Questions need to be asked as to how this happened on its watch.

Perhaps one course of action is to approach Cycling Ireland and find out what role the national associations play in electing the UCI executive and holding to account.

And once we know that, then petitioning Cycling Ireland to lobby for top level change in the sport.

Agm in november. Get a motion together and turn up and get it passed and something will be done!

I think this is the easiest route.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

The only effective contribution from fans would, I fear, be terminally damaging to the sport.

If all cycling fans, as spectators at a major event, remained utterly silent as anybody who they even remotely suspected, in their heart-of-hearts, of being a drug cheat crossed the finish line, and who refused to buy team kit etc. from any team who they they likewise suspected, there would be a sudden terminal implosion of pro cycling as we know it. Taking the doping cancer with it.

Not viable. Mass may be the best option...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭mistermatthew

Yeah it seems impossible to influence it other than boycott. If we stopped buying juerseys and bikes of tour teams then it would change. I can't see it ever happening though. I know I still watch the Vuelta every day and will do. And I still cheer Contador when i see him dance on the pedals.
    Am I part of the problem too?

It seems the only thing that is gonna help is if jail sentences begin to be handed out to corrupt members of the governing bodies and the coaches who influence these young men. Like has happened in athletics.

And as for the UCI. It is in my opinion the most corrupt sporting organisation in the world. How they get away with I never know. If we look at football and fifa the scrutiny they undergo for any indiscretion is what is needed in cycling. I wonder if this happens in non english speaking european countries media where cycling is more popular.

As for us fans. I think the general opinion is right and boycott is the only option. But I know I as one don't have the determination to do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭wotdef

This really is getting soooo boringg. Before you all start trying to change a world sporting body try looking at the ones we have here first. There is one in particular that makes a point of promoting the consumption of alcohol and gets a massive government funding to produce, what? A bunch of eek it's that run around a field doing their best to damage the opposition. Not to mention the fact that after all the training they will NEVER represent their country. Keep riding your bikes and spend more time enjoying it. The pros are doing their best in very hard circumstances. They are under pressure from sponsors and so called fans who get all high and mighty when they cross a line that most people could never even imagine is like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,104 ✭✭✭morana

wotdef wrote: »
    This really is getting soooo boringg. Before you all start trying to change a world sporting body try looking at the ones we have here first. There is one in particular that makes a point of promoting the consumption of alcohol and gets a massive government funding to produce, what? A bunch of eek it's that run around a field doing their best to damage the opposition. Not to mention the fact that after all the training they will NEVER represent their country. Keep riding your bikes and spend more time enjoying it. The pros are doing their best in very hard circumstances. They are under pressure from sponsors and so called fans who get all high and mighty when they cross a line that most people could never even imagine is like.

come on! we dont really care about GAA or FAI or Cumann na Cage Fighters!
    I dont think it will need the riders here to get the UCI into a tight spot.. if the allegations are true it seems they have done that all on their own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

wotdef wrote: »
    looking at the ones we have here first. There is one in particular that makes a point of promoting the consumption of alcohol and gets a massive government funding to produce, what? A bunch of eek it's that run around a field doing their best to damage the opposition. Not to mention the fact that after all the training they will NEVER represent their country.
    This is the cycling forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭12 sprocket

lads give some credit as well. Cycling has tried to lead the way in Anti doping during the last years with the biological passport, more fines and suspensions when riders are caught and just making it not worthwhile to get involved in doping.

There is evidence before our eyes on TV at the end of the Tour stages now that the fight against doping is successful, when we see riders in extreme states of exhaustion. Also the pattern of racing is similar to it was a good few years ago when the riders had to have some stages where they rode quite easy.

However the battle against doping and all forms of cheating in all sports will be a never ending one as there will always be some people who want shortcuts.

Other sports are now implementing the same biological passport system as cycling!

Yeah it seems impossible to influence it other than boycott. If we stopped buying juerseys and bikes of tour teams then it would change. I can't see it ever happening though. I know I still watch the Vuelta every day and will do. And I still cheer Contador when i see him dance on the pedals.

It seems the only thing that is gonna help is if jail sentences begin to be handed out to corrupt members of the governing bodies and the coaches who influence these young men. Like has happened in athletics.

And as for the UCI. It is in my opinion the most corrupt sporting organisation in the world. How they get away with I never know. If we look at football and fifa the scrutiny they undergo for any indiscretion is what is needed in cycling. I wonder if this happens in non english speaking european countries media where cycling is more popular.

As for us fans. I think the general opinion is right and boycott is the only option. But I know I as one don't have the determination to do it.
    I hear ya. Armstrong winning the tdf 7 times is an amazing achievement. Contador cresting a hill and leaving the closest waaaay behind is a thrill to see. Whether dope was involved or not. Where it is, its sickening. Yet also perversely its somehow utterly inspiring. When we're watching, we don't see EPO. We see blood sweat and tears. And realise that even with the worlds greatest doctors, chemists and training behind us, we'd still probably be on the bus...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

endacl wrote: »

I hear ya. Armstrong winning the tdf 7 times is an amazing achievement. Contador cresting a hill and leaving the closest waaaay behind is a thrill to see. Whether dope was involved or not. Where it is, its sickening. Yet also perversely its somehow utterly inspiring. When we're watching, we don't see EPO. We see blood sweat and tears. And realise that even with the worlds greatest doctors, chemists and training behind us, we'd still probably be on the bus...

If it wasn't for the drugs there would still be one guy out front going over that hill alone, but he wouldn't be so doped up his brain shuts down.

hardCopy wrote: »
    If it wasn't for the drugs there would still be one guy out front going over that hill alone, but he wouldn't be so doped up his brain shuts down.
    Just to be clear, by the way, I'm entirely anti. don't actually watch it much these days. But there's still the young fella in me who idolized Roche et al in '87. It saddens me (without casting aspersion on the aforementioned) that the two cyclists of that generation I have most respect for are Kimmage and Van Hooydonck. Because they refused to take part in the mess, and backed out with more modest, yet more honest achievements. It saddens me also that the grand tours might well have finished with the same order on the final gc, but maybe a few minutes longer overall. Over thousands of kms. What's the point....?

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭rp

417411_10151009462826875_527681250_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭thebouldwhacker

Well in the campervan I asked the simple question........

Anyone else think it out of place that such an advert is displayed in 410?

http://www.epoboost.com/Cycling.html? gclid=CJ7u0aTEirICFcpA4QodC0wA_Q

And it got no replies. I wonder how much of the world jumping up and down is more about catching the man than working towards a solution.....

Well in the campervan I asked the simple question........

Anyone else think it out of place that such an advert is displayed in 410?

http://www.epoboost.com/Cycling.html? gclid=CJ7u0aTEirICFcpA4QodC0wA_Q

And it got no replies. I wonder how much of the world jumping up and down is more about catching the man than working towards a solution.....
    We have no control over the ads that appear on Boards (well actually, as a subscriber I do have as they are switched off for me). If you do feel one is inappropriate for the site you could email hello@boards.ie or put something up in the Feedback forum. There was a thread there a while back but that was mainly focussed on ads featuring certain "escort" services

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,668 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

you do know epo boost isnt epo - just a vitamin supplement with echinacea and antioxidants ?

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭thebouldwhacker

Yea, that's what lance said too.

Only joking, I did not know that, curious they would use the name though. It does show that epo isn't seen a such a bad thing to say that a marketing dept somewhere thinks that it is a positive image for their product.

Also just for the record I have no complaint in the advert being used. If I have a legal product I should have the right to advertise where ever I want.
    I just find it ironic and am amused by the whole commentary, drugs are bad, we'll name or product after it and advertise it on websites which are anti doping....

What's the big deal? My doctor told me EPO was basically the same as orange juice.

happytramp wrote: »
    What's the big deal? My doctor told me EPO was basically the same as orange juice.
    So how much did he charge you for those bottles of "orange juice" then?;)