Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Feedback please - Astra OPC

• 27-08-2012 7:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭

Looking for some advice on the these cars please. I have test driven the one linked below and am happy it is mechanically fine. (Comes with a 6month warranty either way.) I was looking at Focus ST and Golf Gti but I much prefer the OPC after driving all three.

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Opel/Astra/OPC-2.0I/813240345022450/advert?channel=CARS

I am reasonably happy with the price being asked as am trading in the Lexus. I have requested new tyres within the price and they have agreed to fit "AMG" tyres to it... :rolleyes: I will be checking the actual make tomorrow. The current tyres are "Sunny" which = absolute sh*t. Only reason I'm demanding tyres are that they are 235/35R19 so a decent brand would be 200quid/corner which I can't afford at the moment, on top of the asking price. Don't fancy running such a powerful car with crap tyres.

Questions - is there anything else I should look out for with the OPC? They're not a car I know a huge amount about. I am aware of the torque steer issue and I am ok with this. Anything else I should look out for/query?

Thanks all, appreciate all info as always!

IZ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

An OPC on Sunny's?! :eek:

That would make me question how well it was looked after by the previous owner, who in their right mind would put those tyres (all round?) on the Torque steer king.

Scary!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭IrishZeus

dar83 wrote: »
    An OPC on Sunny's?! :eek:

That would make me question how well it was looked after by the previous owner, who in their right mind would put those tyres (all round?) on the Torque steer king.

Scary!

Agreed but I'm not sure if the previous owner put them on or if the garage did. The guy there tried to convince me that they are decent tyres. Walked away at that stage and told him to call me if they changed their mind. Half hour later I was promised the "AMG" tyres. I'm assuming they'll be decent but will have to wait till tomorrow to see!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,907 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Kumho do a tyre in that size I think. They are excellent tyres and are in the mid-range pricewise. I paid €145 each for a set of 215/45/18 on the MPS. They are extremely grippy in the dry and they behave the same in the wet.

With regard to issues and what to look out for, have you tried owners clubs? Have a chat to Ardennes, he'd be able to point you in the right direction.

Kumho do a tyre in that size I think. They are excellent tyres and are in the mid-range pricewise. I paid €145 each for a set of 215/45/18 on the MPS. They are extremely grippy in the dry and they behave the same in the wet.

With regard to issues and what to look out for, have you tried owners clubs? Have a chat to Ardennes, he'd be able to point you in the right direction.

Any idea where I could source them...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Ask opcEd on blitzandgriffin website, he knows all about opc Astras and has a minty burg himself. Or else, just pop a general opc reliability related question into google for astraownersclub/network response. My Astra Sri has been fine mechanically. Bit dodgy electrically but mostly due to me dicking around with things! If you do get it, pop a Remus exhaust on it if you can save for one! Unbelievable sound from it.

I'd definitely ask ed first though

Linky http://griffinandblitz.forumer.com/index.php

IrishZeus wrote: »
    Any idea where I could source them...?

http://www.camskill.co.uk/m55b0s24p63908/Kumho_Tyres_Car_Kumho_KU39_Ecsta_Le_Sport_Kumho_KU_39_-_235_35R19_91Y_XL_TL_

Those are the model I have - Ecsta SPT.

If you source these from Camskill, be aware that you may have trouble finding somewhere to fit them.

You may well be able to buy them from your local tyre shop for around the same price too so check them out first.

Well Zeusy boy, any update for us on this OPC??? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

Jaysus Sunnies on an OPC, i thought my Accelera's were bad :p

Also get one in a dark colour as that blue colour doesn't suit it :(

Arden blue doesn't suit it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭gollywog

Arden blue doesn't suit it?

That would actually be my first choice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

gollywog wrote: »

Same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cojomo2

OP, check out the gearbox, as they are rubbish. They share the same unit as the corsa Opc and if you google it you will see that many need attention after as soon as 20k miles or even less.

When driving, give it some gas, then take you're foot off and listen pout for a wheezing type of noise, you may barely notice it. Keep a ear out for a kind of wine when you change into 5th..this first gear to get noisy, then 6th followed by the rest over time.

Yours may not have any issues but just to be aware. A new set of bearings is what is usually needed of you have the problems I mentioned above,, will cost about 800 -1200 euro depending where you get it done.

Also, Check the rad for any leaks and make sure aircon is working.

I've walked away from the car I linked above. Garage were trying to pull the wool over my eyes with some stuff so I don't trust them as far as I can throw them. The guy there "knows his stuff about tyres" and was willing to replace the Sunnys with part-worn "AMG tyres" that he had stored out in the rain!! :eek:

I have put an offer on another one though and will know today if its accepted. All going well I shall collect this Saturday or if not, Monday :D

It is black not blue but the car itself is in great shape which is more important to me. Getting a half decent price on the Lexus too - the values for large engines have plummeted!!

I'd like to round off by saying, Damn you all to hell for organising motors meets. I go to one and end up buying a new car!!!!!!! :D

Same! I was questioning jimbob :)

Oh ya i knew that, was just basically agreeing with you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

I actually think that Blue on the OPC is the nicest colour.

Even nicer than the White Burg edition if you ask me. :)

Oh ya i knew that, was just basically agreeing with you :)

Sorry to break it to you golly, but they don't come in pink...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cojomo2

dar83 wrote: »
    I actually think that Blue on the OPC is the nicest colour.

Even nicer than the White Burg edition if you ask me. :)

Agree, blue nicest..but that white one with the tacky tyre mark decal running up the bonnet is a disaster!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭Garvan

Hi

21,000 miles per year is quite alot even with the motorways we have

Maybe not so bad if there's proof of a full service history and receipts for other work done/preventative maintenance etc....

But the sh1te tyres wouldn't really inspire confidence that this is a well cared for car. Don't forget...it's a performance car and likely to have been driven hard for most of its 86,000 miles/139,000 klms

Personally, I also prefer something with lower miles

Well wear with the potential purchase tho!!

G

Garvan wrote: »
    Hi

21,000 miles per year is quite alot even with the motorways we have

Maybe not so bad if there's proof of a full service history and receipts for other work done/preventative maintenance etc....

But the sh1te tyres wouldn't really inspire confidence that this is a well cared for car. Don't forget...it's a performance car and likely to have been driven hard for most of its 86,000 miles/139,000 klms

Personally, I also prefer something with lower miles

Well wear with the potential purchase tho!!

G

Cheers for that. 86k on a 07 car though would essentially be 5.5years, which is 15k a year. I agree though, I will look for one with lower mileage.

And the tyres along with the identical body dents either side were a complete no no for me!

Sorry to break it to you golly, but they don't come in pink...

Cheap shot man!

Thats what you get for buying a pink car. No one to blame but yourself. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

There was an blue OPC in scooby meet and I really loved it in person. Looks fantastic.
    I agree with lads in blue. It looks the best in that color.

I have seen a couple in the blue colour and personally i prefer the red/white/black ones.

Too many chrome/silver bits and bobs on the outside of the OPC which takes from the presence a hot hatch should have.

But if you feel you have found the fight car fair play to ya and looking forward to seeing it at a meet in the future

Welcome to team Hothatch

Boom! Picked her up this evening :D more pics to follow!

7931067912_453196f77e_b.jpg

Nice and in the best colour imo.

Not a fan of baby blue myself regardless of what others think :p

Boom! Picked her up this evening :D more pics to follow!

7931067912_453196f77e_b.jpg

good job m8!

lads, i think we got OPC now too!

well we need all be in next meet so!

Focus ST
    Astra OPC
    impreza WRX
    Golf GTI
    alfa? Nah... better stay at home, i dont have a rope on me!

Jimbob 83 wrote: »
    Nice and in the best colour imo.

Not a fan of baby blue myself regardless of what others think :p

Don't tell anyone I said this but... the others are all crazy! :eek:

good job m8!

lads, i think we got OPC now too!

Focus ST
    Astra OPC
    impreza WRX
    Golf GTI
    alfa? Nah... better stay at home, i dont have a rope on me!

We need a Focus RS for me to drool over now too, only the list price kept me from doing it, feck being poor anyways :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,749 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Focus ST
    Astra OPC
    impreza WRX
    Golf GTI
    alfa VAG ? Nah... better stay at home, i dont have a rope on me!

..fyp :)

....it's ok, I'll bring the rope - my TT goes nowhere without one !! :p

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

Well wear Zeus, she looks fantastic!

There's a meet on the 29th if you're interested:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056743533

God I'd love a spin off that OPC :( I'll be in Dublin in 2weeks Zeus if you're available...:o

If your batcave is in Dublin...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,157 ✭✭✭Compton

That would match the black corsa OPC I got 2 weeks ago nicely :L

viewFullPhoto.jsp?cid=13024261&ad=3646317&s3=true

http://www.donedeal.ie/donedeal/classifieds/viewFullPhoto.jsp?cid=13024261&ad=3646317&s3=true

What's it like Compton?

Ah I love it, miles better than the fiesta that I had. The seats are what I love about it surprisingly :) Would have gotten an Astra OPC but couldn't get insured on it

Compton wrote: »
    Ah I love it, miles better than the fiesta that I had. The seats are what I love about it surprisingly :) Would have gotten an Astra OPC but couldn't get insured on it

IIRC, the seats in the corsa are much more aggressive looking than those in the astra!

Yeah they are class. But the Astra is bigger, faster and has pretty much the same fuel consumption ! Although I do think the corsa looks better

A corsa opc is where I'll be at too. So easy to get insured on one!:eek: still a bit too expensive for me to buy yet

Yeah they are class. But the Astra is bigger, faster and has pretty much the same fuel consumption ! Although I do think the corsa looks better

i like corsa too. astra on corsa were on my list. I still blame boards.ie for not giving it a chance due to "TORGUESTEER MUZERFUZKER!!!!"

Yes, I paid more than I wanted to for mine but its a low mileage (46k kms) with full service history so not too bad

God I'd love a spin off that OPC :( I'll be in Dublin in 2weeks Zeus if you're available...:o

If your batcave is in Dublin...

Anytime - just PM before coming up and I'll see if I'm about!

So close, everything up until your last sentence was spot on! :p Seriously though, that Corsa looks lovely aswell. Well wear :)

Lovely car man! :)
    Lots of hot hatches on boards now but someone may get the megane 225 (if thats what its called lol!)

Lovely car man! :)
    Lots of hot hatches on boards now but someone may get the megane 225 (if thats what its called lol!)

DO you mean the Megane RS??

Im not sure whats its called but the fast renault hat with the really fat arse!!! :p
    ya that one man...

Anytime - just PM before coming up and I'll see if I'm about!

So close, everything up until your last sentence was spot on! :p Seriously though, that Corsa looks lovely aswell. Well wear :)

I'll be up 19th sept for a concert :D

What're you going to?

On another note, are you aware that you're on boards more now while you're on holidays, than you were when you were home? :P

Macklemore!

I get a few minutes a day on hols, gotta make an impact!:D