Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How active are your Gun Clubs?

• 27-08-2012 11:32am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭

Hey folks,

Our gun club is pretty small, 40'ish members with about 10 active. Trying to get anything organised can be very difficult.

Just wondering how many are in your clubs and how many lads are willing to turn up and help with projects and vermin drives etc?

We did our vermin count on Friday and our total is in the picture below (2 teams of 3-4 guys). We got a competition going within the club, 2 years ago we got zero so while there is very little in the pic, believe it or not, this is a vast improvement for us :D
    tailsfcopy.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 358 ✭✭johnfaul

Well done nice to see a few lads working together,:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 280 ✭✭Mike87

I feel your pain. Our club is about the same kinda size. Maybe a tad smaller. Well done on all those fox tails, how many is there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Invincible

Vegeta wrote: »
    Hey folks,

Our gun club is pretty small, 40'ish members with about 10 active. Trying to get anything organised can be very difficult.

Just wondering how many are in your clubs and how many lads are willing to turn up and help with projects and vermin drives etc?

We did our vermin count on Friday and our total is in the picture below (2 teams of 3-4 guys). We got a competition going within the club, 2 years ago we got zero so while there is very little in the pic, believe it or not, this is a vast improvement for us :D
    tailsfcopy.jpg

Not too much vermin wings in photo, ye need to get a few larsen traps going, still effective at this time of year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Mike87 wrote: »
    I feel your pain. Our club is about the same kinda size. Maybe a tad smaller. Well done on all those fox tails, how many is there?

There's only about 70. Which is poor, I'm under no illusion on that, but hopefully there will be more the year after and the year after that.

On the wings and larsen traps, we have terrible time with traps being stolen, vandalized and call birds being released. Spent all summer long trying to get it going again and every time myself and the old man put one out someone does something to it. Am down 2 larsen traps and a mink trap in the last 12 months. Upwards and onwards I suppose. Complaining won't fix it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 widgeon78

In our club every member has to earn 40 points before he can shoot the point system works like this A is for 3 fox Beats total 15 points B is for a working day at the pen total 10 points C is to feed the pheasants for one week total 10 points and then we have to make up 5 points yourself by doing vermin control be it fox magpie or greycrow mink whichever and I have to say this system works a treat it got a lot of the lazy lads up off there arse its simple if you don't make the 40 points you don't shoot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭Clinty

Our club has fifty members and only really ten active members when the birds are goin out you might get fifteen at most I think most clubs are like this and the lads that you don't see all year are the first out on the first of November. I've no time for them yet they'll be the first to give out in some way or another

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

widgeon78 wrote: »
    In our club every member has to earn 40 points before he can shoot the point system works like this A is for 3 fox Beats total 15 points B is for a working day at the pen total 10 points C is to feed the pheasants for one week total 10 points and then we have to make up 5 points yourself by doing vermin control be it fox magpie or greycrow mink whichever and I have to say this system works a treat it got a lot of the lazy lads up off there arse its simple if you don't make the 40 points you don't shoot

Thats a great idea, points before you can shoot I like it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 280 ✭✭Mike87

There's only about 70. Which is poor, I'm under no illusion on that, but hopefully there will be more the year after and the year after that..

Well its not going to break any records but you have 70 less foxes to worry about in the area. I mean just think of the amount of rabbits/birds etc those foxes would be eating every week. I reckon your doing OK, besides- the year isnt over just yet. You have another 4 months to get hammering at them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

I have been chatting to quite a few people on this and the numbers of 10-20 active members keep popping up. Use an attendance book and you will see who your active members are. Fact is it can be very cyclical, we have a lot of members over 55 they aren't active but where in their 30's and 40's so be mindful of that. Our club has about 15-20 whom are involved at various things. There are always two or three that do nothing, but turn up at meetings and gripe about things and drag up shilte 20 years old.....its the privalege of being in a club..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭staghunter

we have 20 members and only three lads do anything to help club.but the rest would be out the first of november and like that all they do is give out about not enough birds.it is next to near impossible to do anything constructive in a club like this,but at the same time if we didnt have them in the club we wouldnt have a club the membership comes in handy for the few birds we do buy.and i say im the only guy in the club that does any vermin control and cant be at it all the time or herself would run me.

Mike87 wrote: »

There's only about 70. Which is poor, I'm under no illusion on that, but hopefully there will be more the year after and the year after that.

On the wings and larsen traps, we have terrible time with traps being stolen, vandalized and call birds being released. Spent all summer long trying to get it going again and every time myself and the old man put one out someone does something to it. Am down 2 larsen traps and a mink trap in the last 12 months. Upwards and onwards I suppose. Complaining won't fix it.

Even in rural areas, we have to be discreet as to where we site the traps, had a call bird released earlier this year by a country boy who should have more foocan cop on. One of the lads I know in another club had a trap on his own land, someone released a pair of greycrows and a mag out of it,he's erecting a trailcam and prosocuting if they trespass again,signs to go up after video evidence ;). As for anyone stealing larsen traps off fellow hunters - scum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭charlie10

we have about 40 members and u have the same fellas out the first day and never seen again you always know them cause they have the fat setter or springer that never got out during the off season. we also have these two lads that shoot vermin only, no phesants and somehow seem tocome up with 170-180 tails a season and get 5 euro a piece :mad:one of them got caught shooting a phesant with a rifle in a neighbouring club and nearly got his arse handed to him. its an income for this lad and i heard he gets tails of lads in other clubs who do no count .:mad:i tried to get him removed from the club but the seceratary has no backbone:mad:

charlie10 wrote: »
    we have about 40 members and u have the same fellas out the first day and never seen again you always know them cause they have the fat setter or springer that never got out during the off season. we also have these two lads that shoot vermin only, no phesants and somehow seem tocome up with 170-180 tails a season and get 5 euro a piece :mad:one of them got caught shooting a phesant with a rifle in a neighbouring club and nearly got his arse handed to him. its an income for this lad and i heard he gets tails of lads in other clubs who do no count .:mad:i tried to get him removed from the club but the seceratary has no backbone:mad:

170-180 tails a season and get 5 euro a piece :confused:
    Is your club giving €5 for each tail produced?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭howya mike

This is a problem???????? Makes no sense. Let them shoot vermin all year round as that hugely benefits any club and if they don't shoot pheasants all the better for you. The only problem is if your club is stupid enough to give him 5 euro a tail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭.17hmr

there is about 40 to 50 lads about ten who walk the walk and 40 who talk the talk if you get what am saying:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭pheasntstalker

:(alas i do what i can as far as vermin is concrned,im not in a gunclub at the minute,not by choice but i will join one maybe for nxt year,but il be finding out about each club to see if they do actively do vermin control,etc i,d be delighted to put the work in ( ive alot of freetime unfortunatly) with an active club,and to hell with the 1st day wasters in any club ,if you dont put in the effert and work u shouldnt b in the club full stop:mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭terminator2

most clubs are very hard to get into , go figure :D:D:D

howya mike wrote: »
    This is a problem???????? Makes no sense. Let them shoot vermin all year round as that hugely benefits any club and if they don't shoot pheasants all the better for you. The only problem is if your club is stupid enough to give him 5 euro a tail.

thats the thing he is not shooting them thats what i said initially he prob shoots 70 i never see him out , its the money being forked out is my issue and there is two of them at it. so double thhat figure:mad:

he doesnt help release ther birds or **** all

Invincible wrote: »
    170-180 tails a season and get 5 euro a piece :confused:
    Is your club giving €5 for each tail produced?

yes 5 euro for each tail a cheque is given at the agm and tails are dropped to secretarys house during the year, and the amount of tagged birds being shot isnt massive so id wonder.the treasurer kicked up a stink over money being payed out and i can see why

howya mike wrote: »

thats the thing he is not shooting them thats what i said initially he prob shoots 70 i never see him out , its the money being forked out is my issue and there is two of them at it. so double thhat figure:mad:

he doesnt help release ther birds or **** all

The club is more at fault there Charlie not the member. Most clubs would be happy if they had a member shooting 70 foxes a year. Think how many wild birds he has saved. It could be of more benefit than you raising birds. Your club should change the rules immediately if he is getting money tails he did not get himself.

yes 5 euro for each tail a cheque is given at the agm and tails are dropped to secretarys house during the year, and the amount of tagged birds being shot isnt massive so id wonder.the treasurer kicked up a stink over money being payed out and i can see why

Were you not better giving him a bullet or value of a box for every 20 he would return, for every tail he produced, putting a bounty of €5 on a fox tail will encourage messing between lads in another club passing on tails.
    On a similar line,we used to give 100 cartridges some years back for Nov 1st competitions, we decided that it was better to give bags of dogfood instead,sure the dog deserves something!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

paying for tails is crazy ! if ye wanted to do something have it the the most points during the year from any member would get there membership paid for , something like that ! there in it for the money not the club

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

our gunclub has 40 members , about 12 active we raise duck pheasent and partridge for our dog trails that we hold 4 times a season along with running a working test on our grounds and at the game fair in borris this year. we also help out at the retrevier championship every year .

we do our own vermin control and are not part of the nargc .

TriggerPL wrote: »
    paying for tails is crazy ! if ye wanted to do something have it the the most points during the year from any member would get there membership paid for , something like that ! there in it for the money not the club

thats exactly it trigger

Charlie,

Cork Federation pay €3 per tail for foxes for the first 50(Ithink maybe its a 100) and €1 after that. This means your club is subbing the rest, its your money the club is paying this fellah and its not giving anyone else a chance. Thats fine, but really ye should be running a vermin competition and getting everyone else in the club involved.

No one person in the club should be pocketing that much money, its a disgraceful carry on, ye could be putting that money to way better use.

why should you pay lads in your own club for for shooting foxes , a bit dumb dont you think , maybe one prize for the winner , presented on the 1st of november , a couple of boxes of shells maybe as a prize , your treasurer is right and i woudnt blame him

Charlie,

Cork Federation pay €3 per tail for foxes for the first 50(Ithink maybe its a 100) and €1 after that. This means your club is subbing the rest, its your money the club is paying this fellah and its not giving anyone else a chance. Thats fine, but really ye should be running a vermin competition and getting everyone else in the club involved.

No one person in the club should be pocketing that much money, its a disgraceful carry on, ye could be putting that money to way better use.

i know but for some reason they wont listen,id say somthing of he was shooting them or doing something for the club or sport but shooting phesants with a rifle is a bit of a discrace,any suggestions on what can be done to stop this carry on .AGM is over and i missed it due to work but i feel strongly about it:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭declan1980

I'm in 2 clubs. My local club is small, with only 18 full members. I'd say about 4 people in the club do any vermin control. The other club I'm in has about 70 members, but only about 15 would be actively controlling vermin. My local club don't do fox drives or anything like that, but some of the guys in the other club are outside members in my club, and we do fox drives on my local ground.
    Last year we organised a big fox drive and looked for lads from both clubs to attend as we would be crossing over both areas. Out of nearly 90 members between both clubs only 18 showed up on the day, only 4 of those were from my local club including myself.
    Just shows how much of a shīt they give.

i know but for some reason they wont listen,id say somthing of he was shooting them or doing something for the club or sport but shooting phesants with a rifle is a bit of a discrace,any suggestions on what can be done to stop this carry on .AGM is over and i missed it due to work but i feel strongly about it:confused:

Keep questioning every single motive for how they are running the clubfor example, 'why is he the only one that gets a bounty for foxes?', 'why is he getting a bounty of €5?', 'when the fed premium is €3 for the first 50 where is the rest of the money coming from?', 'will you give me €5 per tail if I shoot foxes', keep asking niggling questions why?, why?, why?, why? until the end they run out of answers and you get to the bottom of it. Keep sowing seeds of dissent at every chance you get, someone is on the make here but you can't publicly say this.

Then at the next AGM take over the club yourself, get the chairman out. Ally yourself with the treasurer and see if you can get support from your mates, don't make it public what you intend to do and at the next AGM pull the carpet from under the boys on the top table.

every one gets 5 euro per tail but 170 is a joke, its our clubs money,when funds run dry he will be gone onto the next club

hit them with the , "Coupe de Grace" , at the next AGM , they are probably cutting the tails off roadkill and selling them to you , who is the fool

every one gets 5 euro per tail but 170 is a joke, its our clubs money,when funds run dry he will be gone onto the next club

Look, if he puts the effort in he is entitled to it, even if he is cutting the tails off roadkill.

Maybe ye should just look at re-organising how the vermin shoot is done. From your first post I thought he was the only one getting a bounty on fox tails.

i dont think anyone should get a bounty , are you a gun club member or a bounty hunter , this lad should make his mind up

True, the right way to go about vermin is probably a competition with 1st, 2nd and 3rd prize using the money generated from the bounties from the federations and some extra cash from club funds.

If its a big enough issue for the club then surely you can get the committee to call an EGM and knock it on the head straight away. If they are not interested then you are just pissing against the wind. I'm in two clubs down here myself and every year there's a problem with not enough money in the club and we don't pay anyone anything for vermin