Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Need help with tan on Launchpad

• 25-08-2012 9:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭

Any girls know how to put on fake tan that are going to Launchpad, I need tan for the fancy dress and I don't have a clue what I'm doing. :p

Anyone know what tan to get? I wan't to be kinda dark orange. I'm milk white now and I only need to do my hands, feet, ankles, head and neck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,810 ✭✭✭Seren_

What's the theme this year?? Put the tan on with a pair of gloves or use a spray, your hands will turn orange otherwise! I don't wear tan so I can't be of more help sorry :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

I don't know if there is a theme. It just said fancy dress so I'm going as an Arab/terrorist. I'll need my hands done anyway. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭chomps_x

GarIT wrote: »
    Any girls know how to put on fake tan that are going to Launchpad, I need tan for the fancy dress and I don't have a clue what I'm doing. :p

Anyone know what tan to get? I wan't to be kinda dark orange. I'm milk white now and I only need to do my hands, feet, ankles, head and neck.

Haha if you're near my apartment I'll give you a hand because I'll more than likely have to do my own :p My names Kelly Dowling btw :)

If you're near a penneys go in there and get the st.moriz tan :) It's only like 4 euro and last for feckin agessss! Not that you'd be using it again :p

Thanks, I've gotten advice from a few girls so I think I'll manage, I'll probably end up a terrible colour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 912 ✭✭✭Norrdeth

Ugh, fake tan is disgusting...

Norrdeth wrote: »

Especially when some parts arent tanned, but Bin Laden wasn't white so what can I do :L

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Thwip!

i have a theory that anyone who likes ladies with fake tan has a "not so" secret fetish for oompa loompas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,810 ✭✭✭Seren_

Fake tan is only really noticable when done badly (e.g. too much, bits not done). I guarantee some of the women (or men) yous have liked wear it the whole time but you've never noticed! :P

@GarIT - any tan can make you look like that if you put on loads. The St. Moritz one they do in Penneys that chomps_x mentioned is probably the best 'cause it's cheap!! Look for one labelled "Dark".

Seren_ wrote: »
    Fake tan is only really noticable when done badly (e.g. too much, bits not done). I guarantee some of the women (or men) yous have liked wear it the whole time but you've never noticed! :P

@GarIT - any tan can make you look like that if you put on loads. The St. Moritz one they do in Penneys that chomps_x mentioned is probably the best 'cause it's cheap!! Look for one labelled "Dark".
    oh i shall beggeth to differ :P

A few mates said to get Sally Hansen dark, I'll see what I can get. I just hope nobody gets offended.

Knowing my luck I'll end up beside the only Arab on HEAR.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭DB21

It's horrific when it's overdone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭aaabbbb

You could have just got yourself a spray tan :pac: though thats a bit pricey for the purposes you want it for :p

Since youre a guy though and mens skin is genrally naturally thicker than girls, it may take more tan to get you really dark than it would for a girl. I noticed this when some of the guys at home decided to dress up a Jersy shore , almost whole bottle on each of them and they all still only looked slightly orange :L

• Closed Accounts Posts: 912 ✭✭✭Norrdeth

So what about after HEAR? How long will this 'Terrorist' look last for?
    I'm only slightly offended then again I'm not an Arab!

This might be of help!
    http://uk.answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20110520082103AAB3frO

Exactly what I was thinking.
    The disco is at last night. You have a presentation of prizes the next day so you'll probably look the same the next day.
    Tbh though you're trying to make new friends starting college I wouldn't be impressed by someone dressing up like an Arabic person as a joke, they're the type of people I'd likely avoid.
    What's the theme of the disco?

aaabbbb wrote: »
    You could have just got yourself a spray tan :pac: though thats a bit pricey for the purposes you want it for :p

Since youre a guy though and mens skin is genrally naturally thicker than girls, it may take more tan to get you really dark than it would for a girl. I noticed this when some of the guys at home decided to dress up a Jersy shore , almost whole bottle on each of them and they all still only looked slightly orange :L

I'll just lash it on it will be grand :P

This might be of help!
    http://uk.answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20110520082103AAB3frO

Apparently it should mostly wash off easy enough, I dono if there telling the truth tho :P

You could just leave a suspicious package lying around....if you want to go for the terrorist look without doing the whole tanning thing

*awaits news of GarIT's arrest

Apparently it should mostly wash off easy enough, I dono if there telling the truth tho :P

You may need to do a fair bit of scrubbing tbh ! :pac: Also don't let yourself get caught in the rain if you're using the san moritz one ,as it has a tendency to make you look like you have a mad skin disease when rained on ! I've honestly no idea why , since its supposed to be of the build up variety !

I got a rimmel one off a mate, it says washes off so I'll take a chance.

Oh yeah that one goes green sometimes but you should be grand :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,037 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

I take it looking like an IRA member isn't in vogue any more...:(

What does an IRA member look like?

http://www.topsecretwriters.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/01/irasoldier.jpg
    [COLOR="SeaGreen"]
    [COLOR="Lime"]Something along the lines of that^^^^[/COLOR][/COLOR]

That's only in combat, there just normal people outside of that.

Yeah I know , I just thought you meant in combat :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,168 ✭✭✭Ms. Koi

Oh yeah that one goes green sometimes but you should be grand :p

I don't get your reasoning for doing tan at all but here's a few tips!!
    Rimmel will go green if you mix it with a chemically moisturiser so be careful if you have any on. I doubt you have a tanning mitt so put on an old (clean!!!) pair of socks on your hand, both on the same hand and rub the tan in with that. Protects the palms of your hands.
    If you are putting it on your face, slick some Vaseline on your facial hair (eyebrows, hairline etc) so the tan doesn't stain your hair, especially if you have light hair!
    You could have gone down the route of body paints which are fairly cheap and you would get a better colour that will wash off instantly in the shower.

Think that should be enough!

+1 For the body paint, tan can be a bit*h to get off , even if it says it will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 Dr. Nguyen Van Falk

well im guessing so are arab terrorists, oh except for the weird fake tan fetish they all have

+1 For the body paint, tan can be a bit*h to get off , even if it says it will.

I'm still brown now :L I ended up doin it myself