Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda "stationed" in Topaz petrol station at night?

• 24-08-2012 11:58am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 203 ✭✭

Just wondering about a claim being made in a thread over on the Limerick forum. A poster is claiming that a Garda is stationed in the Topaz station in Thomondgate at night and that he is there, in full Garda uniform, every night and not merely dropping in whilst on patrol.

Sounds unlikely to me, but if true I would like to know how this is allowed given that the petrol station themselves have not hired their own security.

Would value your opinion on this.

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

They do be in Topaz in Cork aswell, reckon its used as a base for patrols to meet up.Shop do be locked but they are inside customers use the hatch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 203 ✭✭MHalberstram

Yeah I have seen them in there myself during their breaks having food and coffee.

What this guy is suggesting however is that a Garda is providing nighttime security for the petrol station, as in working there as their security guard, except he is in Garda uniform and effectively on duty.

Surely that can't be right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Well im going to put this out there and say. Stop listening to rumours, its ridiculous.

IF and only IF there is a guard inside he is there to get a coffee and drop in for a chat and what not. This was a regular occurence when my friend managed 2 of the Spar stores in the not so affluent area of the liberties in dublin. He knew the lads by name and got on well so theyd pop by for a coffee and a chat.

listermint wrote: »
    Well im going to put this out there and say. Stop listening to rumours, its ridiculous.

IF and only IF there is a guard inside he is there to get a coffee and drop in for a chat and what not. This was a regular occurence when my friend managed 2 of the Spar stores in the not so affluent area of the liberties in dublin. He knew the lads by name and got on well so theyd pop by for a coffee and a chat.

Yes, this is exactly what I thought. The thread is "New businesses opening" in the Limerick forum by the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,411 ✭✭✭✭flazio

S/He may be based there just as it's the best central position for the area s/he's patrolling. So when a call comes in on the radio about an incident the dispatcher knows where the car is and can dispatch the guard to the scene.

This too shall pass.

flazio wrote: »
    S/He may be based there just as it's the best central position for the area s/he's patrolling. So when a call comes in on the radio about an incident the dispatcher knows where the car is and can dispatch the guard to the scene.

It is 500yards from Mayorstone Garda Station so that seems unlikely no? Also surely patrolling means just that, patrolling, and not waiting for stuff to happen before reacting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

I highly doubt that this is true, yes the topaz mentioned would be in one of the rougher areas of limerick but the gardai are already stretched to capacity in limerick, and everywhere else it seems, take a look at an article posted in this forum which was written for the Sunday mirror by a former limerick Garda who left the force because of this. For this reason I highly doubt that there is a Garda posted in any 1 spot in limerick every night anywhere other thn roxboro and Henry st. Garda stations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭POGAN

Gardai have fuel contract with topaz they could be waiting up for something or having a break, they would not act as private security

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,522 ✭✭✭martyc5674

Your slightly stretching what I said in the other thread...
    Your saying "stationed"
    Below is my quote.
    I said there's is usually a cop in there... And I'm right... There usually is a cop in there at night.
    He's on his beat and he seems to have to spend a fair whack of his time in there unfortunately.
    martyc5674 wrote: »
    Not sure this is actually good for Limerick.

Care to elaborate? A new family business, a newly renovated business front on one of the busiest roads in the city can only be a positive thing providing it is run correctly. From what I have heard they intend to do just that.

Enough pubs bookies off licences in that area already...and it's predominantly dole money that goes over the counters.
    And I have issue with that.

Hope he does well and runs it well but he'll find it hard keep certain clients out.
    Look at the Topaz across the road...go in there at ten o clock any night and the staff are literally in fear of the 20 odd 6 to 10 year olds that run amuck in there.
    It will be their parents in the bar across the road!!
    The last few months there's usually a cop in there just so these "people" don't act up.... What a waste of resources.
    As I said best of luck to the man...I admire anyone opening a business in these times and I hope he turns it around.
    I'd much rather see something else in there though.
    Marty.

Your saying "stationed"
    Below is my quote.
    I said there's is usually a cop in there... And I'm right... There usually is a cop in there at night.
    He's on his beat and he seems to have to spend a fair whack of his time in there unfortunately.

And you said "unofficially stationed" in the same thread. So thanks for clarifying that he is neither officially or unofficially stationed there, but rather usually in there on his beat.

Your saying "stationed"
    Below is my quote.

And you said "unofficially stationed" in the same thread. So thanks for clarifying that he is neither officially or unofficially stationed there, but rather usually in there on his beat.

If you had read what I wrote first time you would have saved yourself starting this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭source

Your saying "stationed"
    Below is my quote.

If you had read what I wrote first time you would have saved yourself starting this thread.

In fairness, you let on that he is in there every night, purely to stop anti social behavior:
    The last few months there's usually a cop in there just so these "people" don't act up.... What a waste of resources.

You let on that it was there members sole job, instead of 'dropping in while on the beat'.

Look up stationed in the dictionary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

Doughnuts?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

Your saying "stationed"
    Below is my quote.

Just how long do YOU spend there Garda-watching?

Seems a strange hobby but then I never got why people watch planes landing at the airport either.

(I also usually run out of conversation after ten minutes when chit chatting with people)

About 2 minutes most evenings I pop in there... Was just there actually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

It is 500yards from Mayorstone Garda Station so that seems unlikely no? Also surely patrolling means just that, patrolling, and not waiting for stuff to happen before reacting?

You need a new measuring tape.
    Where they are located they are best placed to deal with the crime that usually eminates from kileely

You need a new measuring tape.
    Where they are located they are best placed to deal with the crime that usually eminates from kileely
    Ok fair point. How about walking distance then? Mayorstone is as far from some parts of Kileely as that Topaz station.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

Ok fair point. How about walking distance then? Mayorstone is as far from some parts of Kileely as that Topaz station.

But not the important parts.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 468 ✭✭J K

aujopimur wrote: »
    Doughnuts?.

Is this Topaz in New York?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Jesus christ are our guards not allowed eat now???

I done a set run to the UK 3 times a weeks a few years ago and always stopped at the same service station every night. I always met the same cops or Heddlu in my case and normally had a chat and a bit of craic with them.

You see there are geniuses out there who go to the same shop every day at the same time and see the same guard in there. Automatically they think - "They are always here, never do any work rabble rabble." Not realising that the guard is just there for the same reason they are.

Cretins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭Terrontress

You see there are geniuses out there who go to the same shop every day at the same time and see the same guard in there. Automatically they think - "They are always here, never do any work rabble rabble." Not realising that the guard is just there for the same reason they are.

Cretins.

I bet you the guard is thinking "that guy with the glass eye and limp is round here every night. I wonder what he's up to".

Casing the place :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

Gardai normally start off their shift with a trip to the local garage.

1. Coffee / Food
    2. Tyre pressures
    3. Fuel

and the odd car wash.

Nothing amazing about any of the above really.

If they dont eat they die.
    If they dont check their tyre pressures... they may die later on in the shift.
    If they dont get fuel they wont get anywhere really.

Oh....And they like to keep their cars nice and clean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 839 ✭✭✭False Prophet

Many business(mcdonalds,coffee shops,pubs) give freebies to the gardai (free buns/coffees etc). They are less likely to have robberies/troubles and the garda will repond faster if they know the joint.

I have had the opposite experience, they insisted on paying for everything in a place I used to work.

the garda will repond faster if they know the joint.

Sorry but take exception to that statement, a serious call gets a serious response when and where possible. The fact that a free coffee was offered at some point wont effect that.

The free coffee comes from the plain and simple logic that free coffee means that the Gardai will physically enter the premises while availing of the coffee and voila, criminals will not fancy robbing it as quickly.

Your making it more personal than it is.

About 2 minutes most evenings I pop in there... Was just there actually.

So what your actually saying is that a random Garda is in that place for 2 minutes a day in the evening. Well ring GSOC immediately, launch a public inquiry!

FFS talk about a non runner of a moan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 Com1186

When i was stationed in the DMR we used to go to a statoil (not syaing where). the manager told us that after 12 at night, the sandwiches and pastries could not be sold and would be thrown out. so we could have them if we wanted to. coffee was free also. one night a man at the hatch asked the manager why he allowed the gardai into the shop, he smiled and said "because i wont be held up if a garda is in the shop, and they wont chance it if a garda on the beat or in a car could land at any minute."

be getting expired produce and free coffee that statoil never got robbed or had bother for the 6 years i was there!

Eru wrote: »
    Sorry but take exception to that statement, a serious call gets a serious response when and where possible. The fact that a free coffee was offered at some point wont effect that.

The free coffee comes from the plain and simple logic that free coffee means that the Gardai will physically enter the premises while availing of the coffee and voila, criminals will not fancy robbing it as quickly.

Your making it more personal than it is.
    Of course a serious call gets a serious response. But not all calls are serious and its common knowledge make sense that you get a faster reponse/action if you had given eg a sufficient xmas hamper. Businesses are there to make money and they wouldnt be giving large expensive hampers unless they had to.
    Im not attacking the garda,the perks work both ways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

Of course a serious call gets a serious response. But not all calls are serious and its common knowledge that you get a faster reponse/action if you had given eg a sufficient xmas hamper. Businesses are there to make money and they wouldnt be giving large expensive hampers unless they had to.

is it really.. news to me

Com1186 wrote: »
    When i was stationed in the DMR we used to go to a statoil (not syaing where). the manager told us that after 12 at night, the sandwiches and pastries could not be sold and would be thrown out. so we could have them if we wanted to. coffee was free also. one night a man at the hatch asked the manager why he allowed the gardai into the shop, he smiled and said "because i wont be held up if a garda is in the shop, and they wont chance it if a garda on the beat or in a car could land at any minute."

be getting expired produce and free coffee that statoil never got robbed or had bother for the 6 years i was there!
    exactly there was a petrol station that gave freebies to the garda and they had no bother either. Only problem was the garda came from all over and was costing the business to much. So the owner stops the freebies and the garda stop coming. Within a few weeks the owner has to start the freebies again as had too many incidents(robberies/trouble makers):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭source

Have to say, in the 4 years I was in the job, we got two slabs of beer from a bar outside our district, for each unit.

Not to get a fast response time, but because we always drank there on nights out.

Apart from that, I never saw anything coming in to the station at Christmas, apart from some nice old biddies who would drop in a box of sweets to the counter with a smile and a happy Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭Terrontress

source wrote: »
    Have to say, in the 4 years I was in the job, we got two slabs of beer from a bar outside our district, for each unit.

Not to get a fast response time, but because we always drank there on nights out.

Apart from that, I never saw anything coming in to the station at Christmas, apart from some nice old biddies who would drop in a box of sweets to the counter with a smile and a happy Christmas.

I once worked in an AIB branch in South Dublin and a crate of bottles of Jameson used to go up to the Garda station at Christmas. Individual bottles would go to a few more service providers and people round the neighbourhood.

Of course a serious call gets a serious response. But not all calls are serious and its common knowledge make sense that you get a faster reponse/action if you had given eg a sufficient xmas hamper. Businesses are there to make money and they wouldnt be giving large expensive hampers unless they had to.

Gardai are not a business or profit making company and therefore we don't give our business / service to the saleman that offered the best overall or personal incentive. We do not get taken on business lunches to arrange new contracts, etc.

I find it insulting that your suggesting Gardai would go slower just because a company didn't give free stuff in the past and I can assure you that such a thing has never happened in my presence.

So I will explain again, free coffee means Gardai in the premises = less chance of premises being targeted. Not free stuff = better Garda attitude when called.

The only thing a business can do or not do that will slow a Garda response down is constantly call in bull**** petty complaints therefore resulting in a cried wolf attitude towards that business.
    Within a few weeks the owner has to start the freebies again as had too many incidents(robberies/trouble makers):)

Because Gardai were no longer stopping by while on patrol so became a target but not because the gouger believed that the Gardai would not respond to the panic alarm out of spite.

Are you suggesting the premises was robbed and Gardai failed or were slow to respond out of spite because that's the way it reads to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

Our secretary Used to frequently come into work every few months with a new gold chain/locket/jewellery. Her " husband" was a gaurd & she used to boast of how he'd drop into a jewellery shop on his beat & be " given" the pieces he admired for her. I was shocked to be casually informed of this & queried it & she just tossed off the response that " he" said they were fine with that cos if the gaurds were seen dropping into the shop they wouldn't be shoplifterd/robbed.

Shocked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭ChickenZombie

Anyone heard the rumour that there's a Garda stationed on the moon, living off green cheese... could this be true ??? A mate told me...
    Also heard that the sub-aqua garda team must now dive in full uniform... Shocked !!!

BTW can anyone lend me 50. I'll give it back Tuesday, honest...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

Hyperboloe dosnt change the fact that there ARE people out there who exploit their uniform : and they're not all as pure as the driven snow either.