Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Voluntarily Breathalised?

• 24-08-2012 9:12am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭

Can I drop into a Garda station and ask to be breathalised?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

fletch wrote: »

Why??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭fletch

Suppose I had a drink or two, then waited a couple of hours but was worried that I might still be over the limit? Could I drop into a Garda station to check before setting out?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,878 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Suppose I had a drink or two, then waited a couple of hours but was worried that I might still be over the limit? Could I drop into a Garda station to check before setting out?

Not sure, but I wouldn't drive down to the station to check! :D

Something tells me that I wouldn't be entertained but surely it would be the more responsible thing to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

You can buy them over the counter these days, how accurate they are is up for debate though.

http://www.irishbreathalyzershop.ie/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭Indricotherium

Probably depends on who's on the desk when you walk in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

I'd imagine they would tell you the obvious thing, if you've had any drinks....you don't drive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭M cebee

doubt it -they're not providing a service
    they're enforcing the law

bazz26 wrote: »
    You can buy them over the counter these days, how accurate they are is up for debate though.

http://www.irishbreathalyzershop.ie/
    Yeh I was aware that these existed but as you say I have heard that they mightn't be the most accurate. I would just like to know for sure before setting out that if I am pulled over and breathalised that I would pass.
    Before anyone starts...I am not in the habit of drinking and driving, tbh I hardly ever drink (maybe 2-4 pints a month)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

I don't think there is any chance they would entertain it.

Apart from wasting police time, what would be the situation if you passed in the station, but failed a subsequent breath test at a checkpoint?

This could easily happen, as it takes time for the alcohol level to reachnit's level in the body.

This is why they make you wait 20 minutes in the station before testing you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

Dropping into a garda station for a voluntarily breath test if never gonna happen. In a small town you could 10 to 15 people coming in more or less at the same time, a city station could have a couple of hundred ppl coming. It is too much and there is far more important things to be doing in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Sure why not ask for a lift home while your at it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭nicol

There was coverage in the media a couple of years ago where festival goers at Electric Picnic were asking the guards on duty to breathalyze them on there way out on the morning after it finished to ensure they weren't over the limit. AFIAR the guards were obliging. Might not get the same response at your local station though!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

Some guard in good form might do it especially if she/he likes you but generally speaking I don't think they would even want to do it.
    Imagine they would open themselves up to all sorts of possible legal trouble.
    Plus these things aren't cheap. Why should the taxpayer fund ones drink and drive problems?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭coolisin

I have done this last year while leaving oxegen and they were obliging i was under the limit to drive after a heavy night, more just to check i was ok to drive, cant see them not doing it.

What is the worst thing that could happen they say no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Boskowski wrote: »
    Some guard in good form might do it especially if she/he likes you but generally speaking I don't think they would even want to do it.
    Imagine they would open themselves up to all sorts of possible legal trouble.

What sort of legal trouble? If the OP is breathalysed and passes, then subsequently fails a breath test it's still the OPs fault for driving over the limit. It would be the same as if the OP was driving down a road and gets breathalysed and passes, they meet another checkpoint 30 minutes later and fail. The 1st Garda won't get into trouble for letting them go after they passed.

Boskowski wrote: »
    Plus these things aren't cheap. Why should the taxpayer fund ones drink and drive problems?

The plastic tube costs a couple of cents at most.

The only problem with the idea is the logistics if people start dropping into stations to be breathalysed if it becomes know that the Gardaí do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,240 ✭✭✭Oral Surgeon

Yeh I was aware that these existed but as you say I have heard that they mightn't be the most accurate. I would just like to know for sure before setting out that if I am pulled over and breathalised that I would pass.
    Before anyone starts...I am not in the habit of drinking and driving, tbh I hardly ever drink (maybe 2-4 pints a month)

If you only have 2-4 pints a month then why not plan those pints for a day that you don't have to drive.... Why would you be bothering the police....

Perhaps the OP didn't need to drive and so had a few beers, now for some reason they do and they are trying to be responsible.

Ah if only life was so simple

Del2005 wrote: »
    Perhaps the OP didn't need to drive and so had a few beers, now for some reason they do and they are trying to be responsible.

That makes no sense. alcohol, now wants to drive but wants to be responsible about it...!

Ah if only life was so simple

It is

It is
    Grand....as I already explained I am not looking to be condemned, I am wondering whether my request would be fulfilled by the Gardai.
    As it happens, I am going for 2 pints after work with colleagues, then I will be going on a long spin >3hrs, my OH will be doing the driving, I was just curious that if after a few hours they got tired and I wanted to take over, I could do so responsibly....so spare me the lecture thanks. I am totally against drink/drug driving. God I hate boards sometimes [end rant] ha

Grand....as I already explained I am not looking to be condemned, I am wondering whether my request would be fulfilled by the Gardai.
    As it happens, I am going for 2 pints after work with colleagues, then I will be going on a long spin >3hrs, my OH will be doing the driving, I was just curious that if after a few hours they got tired and I wanted to take over, I could do so responsibly....so spare me the lecture thanks. I am totally against drink/drug driving. God I hate boards sometimes [end rant] ha

Pints are usually over 2 units, it takes the body an hour to process a unit. 2 pints means you can't drive for about 4 hours after the last one. Not worth the risk for the journey, just pull over and let the OH have a nap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

8 hours bottle to throttle so No OP. I don't believe you'd be fit to drive tonight.

They do sell non alcoholic drinks in bars too...

Del2005 wrote: »
    Pints are usually over 2 units, it takes the body an hour to process a unit. 2 pints means you can't drive for about 4 hours after the last one. Not worth the risk for the journey, just pull over and let the OH have a nap.
    MugMugs wrote: »
    8 hours bottle to throttle so No OP. I don't believe you'd be fit to drive tonight.
    Cheers, thanks for the helpful replies
    They do sell non alcoholic drinks in bars too...
    Sheesh...just move on if you have nothing helpful to contribute

Ok drink and drive, is that helpful?? Thats obviously the answer you wanted to hear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭M cebee

i know a lad that tried this
    he got refused-the local sargeant craftily followed him back to the car
    and done him for drink driving

Thanks to all (well nearly all)....will be leaving the driving to the OH so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,589 ✭✭✭Reg'stoy

Thanks to all (well nearly all)....will be leaving the driving to the OH so

Can I ask a question of you OP, you claim to be against drink driving. So had you got a breath test which say showed a level of 49mg rather than 51mg, would you have driven? If it had shown a level of say 25mg which is above the new driver/learner/taxi driver level would you also have still driven.

What level were you hoping to blow, being slightly below the legal limit does not magically make you a safer driver.

Reg'stoy wrote: »
    Can I ask a question of you OP, you claim to be against drink driving. So had you got a breath test which say showed a level of 49mg rather than 51mg, would you have driven? If it had shown a level of say 25mg which is above the new driver/learner/taxi driver level would you also have still driven.
    Tbh if the Garda had said I was safe to drive and I felt 100%, I might have driven...if he/she had said I was over the limit (whatever that value may have been, I have no idea what mgs are in a pint etc), I wouldn't have driven.