Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Little children with "pellet guns".

• 23-08-2012 12:19pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭

So I have been airsofting since the summer this year but I have done at least two years research and interest in Airsoft before anything. I like to think I am really responsible regards the law and airsoft and gun safety etc. So this kid on my road seen me in my camo a few times in the mornings and asked me what the hell I was at.
    I told him a a little later all about airsoft as he was extremely interested. He ran into his mother straight away and was all "Ma, can I go to Airsoft this weekend?". I explained to his mother what it was(literally everything) but that he was to be at least 12 to play on most sites whereas he is about 9. I told the mother all about safety and how it's against the law to brandish a RIF in public. So she said she would probably bring him to paintball or something because Airsoft sounds a bit expensive and he is still too young. I told them to do their research before doing anything and went off.

Fast forward 10-12 days later I hear the distinctive sound of a springer out the front. i look out the window and see the most cringing thing to witness as an Airsofter and a person with some common sense - a group of 9 year olds all huddled around the kid with two spring rifles.(probably cost €50 for the both of them). None of them are wearing eye protection, the kid is shooting the others and last but not least, No Parents to be seen. He is running down the road shooting his friends on bikes and etc etc. It's literally uncomfortable for me to hear/see this. After ALL I explained to them. They ignore everything I say about anything and go ahead and put their safety and OUR sport on the line. If anything ****ing happens to these kids and some news story is passed around I will absolutely go beserk.

Have you guys seen parents let their children do this? When I was a bit younger I had to keep my spring gun out the back with safety glasses on. It's just that there is no excuse for these people to be this ignorant. They got info from me. Any thoughts? or am I just a crazy twat that should mind his own business???

----I edited a line out because it caused nuisance to the thread----

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭NakedDex

I would really like to put a .3g BB through his head.(If you know what I mean).

Nice, level-headed response there. I can't see anyone taking that out of context at all...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭BankshotDrew

NakedDex wrote: »
    Nice, level-headed response there. I can't see anyone taking that out of context at all...

I'm not sure what that means? Can you word it differently? School hasn't begun yet so I'm always slow.

<run>
    sarcasmfilter.exe
    <sarcfil> Enter Text
    <txt>
    </txt>
    <sarcfil> Filtered Text:
    <txt>
    What a ridiculously stupid comment to post on a public message board about replica firearms, in a thread about their apparent misuse. If anyone reads that from beyond the immediate airsoft community, be they a parent researching the hobby for their children, or a journalist looking for information, I highly doubt they'll read that in the joking light you apparently seem happy to post it as.
    </txt>
    </sarcfil>
    <end>

A simple PM stating the post is irrelevant in your opinion would have sufficed.
    I'll take the post down if others feel this way but I had to get it off my chest, it's been bothering me and I stand by my opinion.

So do something about it. Don't rant online. Go to the child's parents and explain the dangers and firearms legislation. Typing it out here isn't going to do squat about it.

I also never said the post was irrelevant in my opinion, I said mentioning your desire to "put a .3g BB through his head" is something that should never have been posted. Until that point, you were going fine.

So do something about it. Don't rant online. Go to the child's parents and explain the dangers and firearms legislation. Typing it out here isn't going to do squat about it.
    I am sixteen years old, and they are the type of parents that won't do squat about their children. If I were older I'd give it to them, but alas, I am sixteen. Not much I can do I'm afraid

W
    I also said the post was irrelevant in my opinion, I said mentioning your desire to "put a .3g BB through his head" is something that should never have been posted. Until that point, you were going fine.
    I understand what you mean but when I was typing I was really pissed about it. My apologies.

Just to reassure anyone reading, I would never actually shoot the child. :)

Your age doesn't change law. They may not make them wear eye protection, but they're legally obliged, as their guardians, to ensure the children do not wield them on the street.

If you feel that strongly about it, tell them. After that, you've done your duty and can rant about it with incandescent fervour for all I care. Don't complain about something you might be able to change without making an effort to change it.

Your age doesn't change law. They may not make them wear eye protection, but they're legally obliged, as their guardians, to ensure the children do not wield them on the street.

If you feel that strongly about it, tell them. After that, you've done your duty and can rant about it with incandescent fervour for all I care. Don't complain about something you might be able to change without making an effort to change it.
    I'm going to make an effort but I don't see them trying to change or look after their child properly tbh. **** like this has been happening left right and centre and absolutely fudge all has been done. Gong off more than fifteen years living near these people.

Nothing has been done because everyone moans about it, usually online, rather than actually doing something about it. It's a perpetuating cycle of excuses and whining.

A lot of people come to this household to complain about the three kids' antisocial behaviour. They say sorry and that's about it. I know what will happen. I seen what happens. Nothing happens

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,399 ✭✭✭Kashkai

Drew,
    While I agree with your sentiments, I'd suggest that you go back and change your OP and delete the line about the .3 bb. With that part gone, no one can take exception to your comments, which most reasonable people would agree with.

I'm a lot older than you but like to think I'm a responsible adult/parent. My kids don't even know I have two air soft guns which are kept locked away out of sight and out of reach. Unfortunately there are a lot of not so responsible parents who either would:
    A) let their kids fool around with something as dangerous as an aeg or
    b) actually let their kids have their own gun.

Now you said it was a springer and therefore not a full blown aeg or gas powered pistol. However I'm sure it could still do damage to an eye if aimed at someone. Ask your parents to have a word with the parents of that kid, perhaps politely pointing out that they are leaving themselves open to being sued if their little darling injures someone else. Maybe you could try and teach that kid proper safety procedures (eye protection, aim away from people/animals, careful of richochets, only shoot at coke cans in their back garden etc etc). If all that fails, a call to your local Garda station might be in order. A visit from the Gardai might make these people wake up and act responsibly.

Drew,
    While I agree with your sentiments, I'd suggest that you go back and change your OP and delete the line about the .3 bb. With that part gone, no one can take exception to your comments, which most reasonable people would agree with. I edited it out, Thanks

I'm a lot older than you but like to think I'm a responsible adult/parent. My kids don't even know I have two air soft guns which are kept locked away out of sight and out of reach. Well done Dave, that's exactly how every parent should go about doing things. My parents know very well I am a responsible person so they have no problems with me. Unfortunately there are a lot of not so responsible parents who either would:
    A) let their kids fool around with something as dangerous as an aeg or
    b) actually let their kids have their own gun.

Now you said it was a springer and therefore not a full blown aeg or gas powered pistol. However I'm sure it could still do damage to an eye if aimed at someone.I have no idea where they got the gun, so it is possible they got it at some unlicensed store where they import the cheap guns from an unknown factory and these "springers" sometimes exceed the 1J limit! So I am taking this seriously. Ask your parents to have a word with the parents of that kid, perhaps politely pointing out that they are leaving themselves open to being sued if their little darling injures someone else. Maybe you could try and teach that kid proper safety procedures (eye protection, aim away from people/animals, careful of richochets, only shoot at coke cans in their back garden etc etc). If all that fails, a call to your local Garda station might be in order. A visit from the Gardai might make these people wake up and act responsibly. Thanks for the reply Dave. Any input is taken in and considered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,011 ✭✭✭sliabh

[Ignoring all the crap about the 0.3g bb]

If you don't feel you can say something to the parents, then you should approach the Guards. These kids are breaking the law, and endangering public safety (as well as threatening our sport).

The boys in blue will probably swing by and have a chat with them, and may even confiscate the guns if they feel the people involved are being nobs.

sliabh wrote: »
    [Ignoring all the crap about the 0.3g bb]

If you don't feel you can say something to the parents, then you should approach the Guards. These kids are breaking the law, and endangering public safety (as well as threatening our sport).

The boys in blue will probably swing by and have a chat with them, and may even confiscate the guns if they feel the people involved are being nobs.

I think that's the most convenient option. But I'll hold off until they start running around and shooting each other. They'll probably start having "wars" soon enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭r0n0c

If you decide to hang around until they start having "wars" it'll be probably be too late as an accident will have already happened. Go to the station NOW and nip the problem in the bud.

I think that's the most convenient option. But I'll hold off until they start running around and shooting each other. They'll probably start having "wars" soon enough.
    From what you say the situation right now involves kids shooting each other (without protection, or insurance) in public, so it already has gone too far.

This needs to be addressed now, before someone gets hurt, or some other member of the public gets distressed by what is going on and contacts a TD/Joe Duffy looking for all this to be banned.

r0n0c wrote: »
    If you decide to hang around until they start having "wars" it'll be probably be too late as an accident will have already happened. Go to the station NOW and nip the problem in the bud.

But they aren't doing anything? i don't think they are even home. What will happen then? what can the Gardai if they aren't here? Or even if the gun is in the house and he is just playing action figures or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭jayod30

I've had similar scenarios with neighbours kids askin me what I'm doin when I'm loading my car with my gear while in my bdu's. Best advice I can give is what I do, tell them nothin and run them from the car with their tail between their legs. The less info them and their parents know about my aeg's the better. I just think that any child under the age of 16 with an airsoft gun, unless strictly supervised by parent or guardian can be a serious accident waiting to happen, something I'd rather not have on my conscience.

They aren't home at the moment and by the other post I meant when they bring the gun out again. I am concerned for their health and safety and for the reputation of the sport itself. This is why I posted here, I was unsure. Any further action is to be made later, as nothing is happening now. I do hope this will be resolved for everyone's sake.

But they aren't doing anything? i don't think they are even home. What will happen then? what can the Gardai if they aren't here? Or even if the gun is in the house and he is just playing action figures or something?

I am open to correction here from a lawyer, but brandishing an airsoft gun in public is an offence. So the law may already have been broken. And if a complaint is made by a member of the public the guards will act. They don't have to see it happening right it front of them to do something.

As I said they will probably call to the door and have a chat with the parents of the kids involved. Regardless of how irresponsible they are, Gardai turning up at the door to explain there is a problem will be taken seriously by the vast majority of people. If the parents don't curb their children's behaviour after that, well then great and terrible will be the wrath of the law if they have to come back a second time.

I am open to correction here from a lawyer, but brandishing an airsoft gun in public is an offence. So the law may already have been broken. And if a complaint is made by a member of the public the guards will act. They don't have to see it happening right it front of them to do something.

As I said they will probably call to the door and have a chat with the parents of the kids involved. Regardless of how irresponsible they are, Gardai turning up at the door to explain there is a problem will be taken seriously by the vast majority of people. If the parents don't curb their children's behaviour after that, well then great and terrible will be the wrath of the law if they have to come back a second time.

I'd still have to wait until they get home though. Three kids doing various things can get busy. I see their Jeep pull-up to the garden, I will take action.

Call the Guards and then that becomes their problem. They probably won't send a car out straight away anyhow, but will ask a regular patrol to stop off when they are going by.

Sounds Good. Thanks again. And Thanks to everyone who contributed in this thread.

Hey Guys. Just wanted you all to know that I had a talk with his Father instead of straight up calling the Gardaí as I thought that would be more respectful. He got it from a known retailer so it's under the joule. I talked to him about the risks involved with leaving the kids run around with an RIF and that it's illegal. He seemed understanding enough when he said he will talk to his son about it again. I said the onus is on him to make sure that his child is safe with the gun under adult supervision and all that. I'll let you guys know if he starts again, but for now it's gone quiet. Thanks for all the advice as always.
    See you on the field,

Drew

Keep an eye on the situation if you can but no one expects you to be the local community watch person. Placing this matter in the hands of the boys in blue would be the best option.

For my part, I wrap my guns inside a coat or a jumper when moving them from the house to the car as I'm paranoid that some passer by would see me with my pistol in my hand and call the cops. Can't understand anyone letting their kid run up and down the road brandishing a RIF like Jack Bauer:confused: Kids need to be taught how dangerous these things can be. Skirmishing and getting hit is one way:D

Dave, when you can. Invest in a Gun Bag, saves a life. And they don't make you look sketchy with your chunky jacket! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭LAPUA

Keep an eye on the situation if you can but no one expects you to be the local community watch person. Placing this matter in the hands of the boys in blue would be the best option.

For my part, I wrap my guns inside a coat or a jumper when moving them from the house to the car as I'm paranoid that some passer by would see me with my pistol in my hand and call the cops. Can't understand anyone letting their kid run up and down the road brandishing a RIF like Jack Bauer:confused: Kids need to be taught how dangerous these things can be. Skirmishing and getting hit is one way:D

I may be wrong here, but I think if you place a RIF into anything that isn't a proper designed gun bag or case, it's classed as attempting to conceal a weapon or something, and is infact illegal. Might be wrong, though.

LAPUA wrote: »
    I may be wrong here, but I think if you place a RIF into anything that isn't a proper designed gun bag or case, it's classed as attempting to conceal a weapon or something, and is infact illegal. Might be wrong, though.

It's probably not illegal, might not be an ideal way of transport but should be okay. Once it's away from the public eye it's grand. But again, a gun bag is ideal and hassle-free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,824 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

There's no legal definition of what a 'gun bag' is.

Once it's out of sight and you're not acting the bollocks with it you'll be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭FionnK86

Driving to a party one night, some members of the travelling community came around in their brand new Volkswagen Golf armed with pellet guns and black cats and started tearing round the estate hitting cars:mad:

No point in calling the guards, but the driver looked around twelve, whats the world coming to:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭r0n0c

FionnK86 wrote: »
    Driving to a party one night, some members of the travelling community came around in their brand new Volkswagen Golf armed with pellet guns and black cats and started tearing round the estate hitting cars:mad:

No point in calling the guards, but the driver looked around twelve, whats the world coming to:eek:
    Why was there no point calling the Guards? Description of the car,the reg and a complaint of speeding and an underage driver, it would have been dealt with, fast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

First time I saw a airsoft gun I thought "my god that's so cool" my mate thought the same and immediately got one. I am I my thirties ;). Kids will go apesh1t for airsoft devices so the best thing is not to show them devices or go around in you bdu. A lot of sites abroad won't allow you to turn up in your camo you have to change there, and honestly it's not a bad idea.

I beehoves us all if the sport is to survive to do everything we can to conceal our gear & like fight club not speak about it to people that unlikely to be responsible. To make a long story short don't talk to kids about airsoft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭lux-et-veritas

Hey Guys. Just wanted you all to know that I had a talk with his Father instead of straight up calling the Gardaí as I thought that would be more respectful. He got it from a known retailer so it's under the joule. I talked to him about the risks involved with leaving the kids run around with an RIF and that it's illegal. He seemed understanding enough when he said he will talk to his son about it again. I said the onus is on him to make sure that his child is safe with the gun under adult supervision and all that. I'll let you guys know if he starts again, but for now it's gone quiet. Thanks for all the advice as always.
    See you on the field,

Drew

got to say give this man a coconut for not just ignoring the problem like, well to be perfectly frank, most people would. i also have to say that you where lucky withe the parents of the kid. about a year ago i was driving home from work when i spotted a young un with what looked like an m9 held in his hand walking with a bunch of mates up the road (a busy main road), i pulled over and said to the laddy that he should get it out of sight and take it home ASAP. his response: f**k off. so i asked where he lived, he told me and i went round to see his dad, saying that its against the law and all that. i even ended the speech with "look mate i just don't want your young un ending up in serious trouble" his response: what business is it of yours? f**k off you f***ing c**t, you go near my kid again an ill f***ing kill you. this wasn't a family of travellers this was a well known local builder who i had talked to before....my response: fine then i will call the guard. and i left his yard with an ear full of verbal abuse an threats.....

First time I saw a airsoft gun I thought "my god that's so cool" my mate thought the same and immediately got one. I am I my thirties ;). Kids will go apesh1t for airsoft devices so the best thing is not to show them devices or go around in you bdu. A lot of sites abroad won't allow you to turn up in your camo you have to change there, and honestly it's not a bad idea.

I beehoves us all if the sport is to survive to do everything we can to conceal our gear & like fight club not speak about it to people that unlikely to be responsible. To make a long story short don't talk to kids about airsoft.

Lesson learned. I look too intimidating to spoken to in my BDUs anyways. :D

got to say give this man a coconut for not just ignoring the problem like, well to be perfectly frank, most people would. i also have to say that you where lucky withe the parents of the kid. about a year ago i was driving home from work when i spotted a young un with what looked like an m9 held in his hand walking with a bunch of mates up the road (a busy main road), i pulled over and said to the laddy that he should get it out of sight and take it home ASAP. his response: f**k off. so i asked where he lived, he told me and i went round to see his dad, saying that its against the law and all that. i even ended the speech with "look mate i just don't want your young un ending up in serious trouble" his response: what business is it of yours? f**k off you f***ing c**t, you go near my kid again an ill f***ing kill you. this wasn't a family of travellers this was a well known local builder who i had talked to before....my response: fine then i will call the guard. and i left his yard with an ear full of verbal abuse an threats.....

I was pretty sure it would end that way, but it didn't and I'm glad.
    Also, where's the promised coconut? :p

im feeling generous so here have 2...:D

Coconuts_02.jpg

im feeling generous so here have 2...:D

Coconuts_02.jpg

They look just so ripe and juicy........

yep nothing quite like a pair of big hairy er coconuts...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭LAPUA

A lot of sites abroad won't allow you to turn up in your camo you have to change there, and honestly it's not a bad idea.

What site is this? Having played five recently in and around Dublin, this has never happened to me. And tbh, that's overkill. If wearing camo makes a child want to go out shooting an airsoft device in public, then they were domed from birth imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭TommyKnocker

A lot of sites abroad won't allow you to turn up in your camo you have to change there, and honestly it's not a bad idea.
    What site is this? Having played five recently in and around Dublin, this has never happened to me. And tbh, that's overkill. If wearing camo makes a child want to go out shooting an airsoft device in public, then they were domed from birth imo.

I am assuming the word Abroad in Javon Loose Pizzeria's posts means sites outside of Ireland ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

Abroad, as in not in Dublin.....

The latest edition of UK airsoft magazine has a article on airsoft in belgium and it talk about this. You not allowed to arrive at the site in your BDU. Wearing camo will not make a child go our and by a airsoft device, but it will make them come over to you and ask whats going on with the fancy dress as explained above.

Its just another way to keep a low profile and keep the local chiselers from syping on your gear and getting all excited about shooting each-other in the eyes. I think you will agree we all look badass in our gear ;) kid will want to copy this, and some will get their irresponsible parents (who will know little of the dangers) to get them devices. Its easy to say its the parents problem, but if one child to looses an eye, and politicians will come down on airsoft devices like a ton of bricks, and then its my problem. If leaving the camo in a bag will help, then I will do. Just be glad we don have to have brightly coloured gun like some places or orange flashhiders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Leftyflip

Key word there was abroad :P

Interesting this being here. I came home to visit the parent's to see that my 8 year old nephew had been gifted a 1:1 Uzi replica. The barrel was broken & there was no magazine, but I warned him off having it outside the house. Next time I'm home I want to get some red paint to the muzzle and then I'll be content.

These guns shouldn't be given to minors but it's like everything else, if a kid wants something, he'll find a way to get it,e.g., cigarettes, alcohol etc. Some parents will get their little darlings anything they want just to shut them up.

My own nephews are 11 and 14 respectively and there is a world of difference between their attitudes to their aegs. The older guy wears proper eye and face protection at all times whereas the younger lad doesn't. I have pointed this out to his parents but got no where, so I understand Drew's predicament. There's only so much you can do when trying to break through someone's ignorance.

I learned first hand last week how vital eye and face protection is at my first skirmish. I got a direct hit on my glasses which stunned me for a couple of seconds as it was fairly close range. The other guy was screaming "take your hits". I was too busy being thankful that I still had an eye:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,363 ✭✭✭gerrowadat

Nope, once it's covered up it's grand. Obviously if you wrap it in a black sack so it's clearly still an assault rifle you might get a second look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

gerrowadat wrote: »
    Nope, once it's covered up it's grand. Obviously if you wrap it in a black sack so it's clearly still an assault rifle you might get a second look.

I've actually seen this happen in Limerick.
    A biker with Helmet in hand walks in off the street to get his airsoft gun
    repaired while I'm browsing in the store and he has the bare AEG wrapped tightly in a black plastic bag (bin liner) obvious as FUK. The bloke had no bloody cop on.

~B