Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Word of warning

• 22-08-2012 2:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭

I have had nothing but positive and educational face to face meetings with any of the guys from boards but I guess the story below is a cautionary tale from the UK I spotted on TZ..

A ROLEX watch valued at £13,000 was snatched by a man in Epsom who grabbed it and ran from the owner in the middle of the day.

A local man in his 40s had advertised the Rolex Submariner timepiece on a number of websites including eBay and Gumtree and agreed to meet a potential buyer at a Costa Coffee, in the Odeon Cinema, in Upper High Street at around 1.45pm on Friday August 3.

A man who called himself 'Anthony' contacted the victim and arranged to meet him at the cinema to look at the watch with a view to buying it.

They met inside the coffee shop and when the victim produced the watch, the man grabbed it and ran away.

Linky...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,721 ✭✭✭flutered

the old saying a fool and his soon parts, the seller was very naive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭fishguy

True,

But If you would be that man where would you meet someone with an expensive watch like that? Just curious as I might have done the same...

G.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

Bring a friend and trust your instincts.

Try to meet in a place with CCTV on the way in and out and where access to the street is not immediate (hotel bars can be good for that)

Watch stays on your wrist until you're comfortable with anything else happening. Its up to you as to whether you trust your instincts to let someone else handle it without some security (if he wants to hold the watch maybe he puts money in your hands, you can ask for ID, whatever you are comfortable with).

If it doesn't feel right, walk away, with the watch on your wrist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭fishguy

After 2 coffees I came to the same conclusion. I just tried to put myself into the man`s shoes...]

Bank with the quarantine type doors. But still If I raise the alarm after a man try to take my watch would the staff close the door as there was nothing stolen from them, even than it would be still a deterrent....

G.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

Bank or Garda station lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,658 ✭✭✭old boy

also a few guys that can handle themselves.