Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Spreading urea

• 22-08-2012 11:25am
    Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Is anyone using urea on grass at present?

I know it's definitely wet enough:D:D:D but is it too warm? I'm thinking of using a half bag to the acre to keep grass growing into the autumn.

Also would it be better to give a few paddocks about 60 units so that it's almost like a silage bulk, then graze these at end of sept so that other fields stretch the rotation to about 40 days, any thoughts?

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭flatout11

blue5000 wrote: »
    then graze these at end of sept so that other fields stretch the rotation to about 40 days, any thoughts?

will you be fit to graze them with the way the weather is coming.....

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

flatout11 wrote: »
    will you be fit to graze them with the way the weather is coming.....

I'm optimistic;)

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

just after spreading 80 acres now,have not spread any fert for 50 days or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Is it just nitrogen or is it all fertiliser that has to be spread by 1 September?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

Muckit wrote: »
    Is it just nitrogen or is it all fertiliser that has to be spread by 1 September?
    isnt it the 15 september?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭flatout11

whelan1 wrote: »
    isnt it the 15 september?
    had the 15th in my head too.... must check

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭GERMAN ROCKS

i think its the 15th too. id say it should be ok. the lads on the back of last weeks farmers journal are spreading it. im spreading pasture sward now but only speading 0.75 bag to the acre as im coming up to my limit and want to keep going with fert until the date.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭restive

How long after spreading urea will I be able to graze with cattle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

restive wrote: »
    How long after spreading urea will I be able to graze with cattle?

Around four seconds give or take a few seconds.

What is a safe amount to spread per acre?

restive wrote: »
    What is a safe amount to spread per acre?

I wouldn't see much point in more than a bag per acre at this stage of the year but whatever yer having yerself really. If you would normally go with sixty units now then work away. Why is there so much mystique around urea? You'd think it was radioactive the way some lads go on about it.

Well it's got 46 units of Nitrogen for starters.

I am currently fattening 8 cattle on 8 acres of grass & meal. You think it would be ok to put one bag of urea to the acre without any adverse effect to my eight bullocks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭6480

i spread urea all the time , never stuck for grass , even do the silage ground with it , timing of spreading is cruical , it needs rain to wash it in to get it working it works out far cheaper than straight can , i also lime the ground here every 3-4 years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

6480 wrote: »
    i spread urea all the time , never stuck for grass , even do the silage ground with it , timing of spreading is cruical , it needs rain to wash it in to get it working it works out far cheaper than straight can , i also lime the ground here every 3-4 years

My father wont use it. Says it is to acidic

Tell him a bag of can uses a bag of ground lime per acre ie if you spread 270 units on an acre over the year you've used a half tonne of lime. All fertiliser is acidic. We rarely use can here.

Ive tried my best at that. I may go to the coop in spring and make the "mistake" of getting urea instead of can :D

Your oul boy is a tough yoke gg. For a man who really pushed himself and drove on and considering the leeway he gives you on a lot of stuff he can be seriously close minded on other things.

Unbelievable aint it. Ah I get around him he gives out but quickly forgets about it when he sees something else ive done different :D
    I think he sees the purchase price instead of the units of N he's getting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭ellewood

There's prob .25c per kg of a difference in can and area sherry its all n

Have spread urea here most of year when not going with a compound and found no difference

imo it dosent even need rain just a heavy dew will do. biggest problem i see with urea is the lag between spreading and it working

spread both can and urea 3 weeks ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Charliebull

ellewood wrote: »
    There's prob .25c per kg of a difference in can and area sherry its all n

Have spread urea here most of year when not going with a compound and found no difference

imo it dosent even need rain just a heavy dew will do. biggest problem i see with urea is the lag between spreading and it working

spread both can and urea 3 weeks ago

what is the timeframe between spreading and working for both, hit a lot of the grazing paddocks with CAN last week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,101 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

considering the time delay between spreading and activation with Urea would it not be a bit of a waste this time of year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Seriously? Nobody's thought to post 'blast it with...' yet?!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭ellewood

what is the timeframe between spreading and working for both, hit a lot of the grazing paddocks with CAN last week

Yea most here got CAN 3 weeks ago and has deffo drivin on grass after dry spell and Im grazing after it now and its prob growing more grass now than in June..

Urea im spreading now is so I can graze in November and December:D:D

Or maybe ill bale it xmas week ill see:rolleyes: