Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

LGMA threatens to turn off street lighting at night.

• 21-08-2012 10:56pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,858 ✭✭✭✭

Will this really happen,or is it another lot of silly threats from Phil Hogan and the LGMA and the farce of a HHC management fiasco.

Where would you stand legaly,if you were involved in a crash,and the councils had turned off the street lighting at night because Mr Hogan and the LGMA had forced them to do so because of the funding cuts......(Phil Hogans way of worming his way out of it and passing the buck on to someone else)

Could Phil Hogan and the LGMA actually cause more harm with this very dangerous carry on with regards road safety and also any claims against the state??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Is it motorway lighting or street lighting they're on about?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,858 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

colm_mcm wrote: »

From what I could gather on RTE News and also on Vincent Brown......street lighting.

What a load of muck.

Would they not change to LEDs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

paddy147 wrote: »
    Where would you stand legaly,if you were involved in a crash,and the councils had turned off the street lighting at night

Council are under no legal duty to provide street lighting to motorists. If they were then all roads would have street lighting.

Street lighting is proven to reduce crime as well as increase road safety obviously. I would imagine the bill for street lights would not be that high and a much less onerous cut could be made somewhere else. You could probably cut 50c from the dole to prevent the lights being turned off. (Not saying dole should be cut before we have an outbreak of people on the dole-VS-People not on the dole.)

What a load of muck.

Would they not change to LEDs?

Maybe thats what next years property tax will be for.:rolleyes:

Or maybe paying back the german bondholders,while they let this country go to absolutye shyte and blame the Irish people for it too.....(it wasnt our fault,but then it is our fault).

Anyway,turning off street lighting is a serious danger to everyones road safety.

Phil Hogan is playing with fire here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Merch

I think its pretty bloody stupid, and that there are unlikely to be any savings really, Im suprised there is a cost associated with it in some ways at all, as the load on the electrical grid at night is low but they still have to maintain power to the entire grid.
    The demand placed by lights might cost more to turn off in electrical terms by having equipment (generators) on standby that are now not operating than the savings made by the potential reduced electrical usage, or that turning off lights simply wont make an appreciable reduction in consumption so that generators are still required to be.
    I wonder did they make an enquiry off eirgrid of any possible benefits or disadvantages

I wonder what the RSA have to say on this matter of street lighting possibly being turned off,due to the 100 euro HHC and the total fiasco of it.?

And Gay Byrne too,wonder will he comment on the matter?

Wonder will either of them publicly comment on this matter??

Because this is a road safety matter aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

tbh....not having any streetlights in my locale, I can't say I'll notice.....and Bully Hogan's threat is just that: a facetious, attention-seeking attempt to frighten people. He might just succeed......in that some people will be frightened into having accidents.....

I do hope the CoCo's and Phil keep their public liability insurance up to date...........they might just need it........

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭mb1725

Public lighting is one of the itemised charges on a commercial rates bill, I'll need a refund if he switches them off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

We don't have motorway lights...only at junctions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Will this really happen,or is it another lot of silly threats from Phil Hogan and the LGMA and the farce of a HHC management fiasco.

Where would you stand legaly,if you were involved in a crash,and the councils had turned off the street lighting at night because Mr Hogan and the LGMA had forced them to do so because of the funding cuts......(Phil Hogans way of worming his way out of it and passing the buck on to someone else)

Could Phil Hogan and the LGMA actually cause more harm with this very dangerous carry on with regards road safety and also any claims against the state??
    It's just another stupid threat from Phil Hogan ...he hasn't the balls to do anything.
    How he is still in the position he's in is beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭David09

Merch wrote: »
    I think its pretty bloody stupid, and that there are unlikely to be any savings really, Im suprised there is a cost associated with it in some ways at all, as the load on the electrical grid at night is low but they still have to maintain power to the entire grid.
    The demand placed by lights might cost more to turn off in electrical terms by having equipment (generators) on standby that are now not operating than the savings made by the potential reduced electrical usage, or that turning off lights simply wont make an appreciable reduction in consumption so that generators are still required to be.
    I wonder did they make an enquiry off eirgrid of any possible benefits or disadvantages

From a point of view of engineering and energy distribution, you're spot on.

Phil Hogan signed his own political death warrant ages ago. Bring on the next election.

Hogzy wrote: »
    Council are under no legal duty to provide street lighting to motorists. If they were then all roads would have street lighting.

Street lighting is proven to reduce crime as well as increase road safety obviously. I would imagine the bill for street lights would not be that high and a much less onerous cut could be made somewhere else. You could probably cut 50c from the dole to prevent the lights being turned off. (Not saying dole should be cut before we have an outbreak of people on the dole-VS-People not on the dole.)

Putting a 0.01 percent transaction fee on all transactions that go through the IFSC would yield over 200 million euro a year, and every year too.

0.01 of a percent.....you wouldnt even see or notice that.

The mayor of Roscommon said on Vincent Brown that hitting the normal joe soap person who cannot afford the 100 euro is not right or fair.There should be a wavier system put in place.

Her also said that he did not agree with councils being forced to turn off street lights either,but it may have to come to that,because of the savage cutbacks being imposed by FG/Labour and especially by Phil Hogan..

Phil Hogan is now playing with road safety here,and also putting peoples lives at risk here with this one.

Is this a step too far now???????

If the councils are genuinely budgeting properly and not blowing their resources on stupid stuff then maybe it's justifiable financially.

Some of the waste that they get up to near me would make you wonder who does their accounts though,

If the councils are genuinely budgeting properly and not blowing their resources on stupid stuff then maybe it's justifiable financially.

Some of the waste that they get up to near me would make you wonder who does their accounts though,

Dublin City Council manager gets a 193k salary,and that after a small cutback to his salary.

I think thats the same as,or maybe a bit more than Enda Kennys salary.

Could you just imagine the public uproar and backlash against Phil Hogan and the LGMA,if (god forbid) a child or a family was killed on a road,where they had turned off the street lights,because of the LGMA.

Phil Hogan is responsible for all this,and he is really playing with fire here and going one step too far now on this one.

Carlow County Council are now saying that are have no funds to fix the roads in the county.

Whats next amd whos next then to come out with something to do with the roads and road safety?????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

Putting a 0.01 percent transaction fee on all transactions that go through the IFSC would yield over 200 million euro a year, and every year too.

0.01 of a percent.....you wouldnt even see or notice that.

Your numbers are off. I'll guarantee you right now that 2 Trillion Euro does not pass through the IFSC yearly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,930 ✭✭✭GavMan

would it be possible to run these off stored solar+thermo energy?

Your numbers are off. I'll guarantee you right now that 2 Trillion Euro does not pass through the IFSC yearly.

Who said anything about 2 trillion??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Merch

Dublin City Council manager gets a 193k salary,and that after a small cutback to his salary.

I think thats the same as,or maybe a bit more than Enda Kennys salary.

Could you just imagine the public uproar and backlash against Phil Hogan and the LGMA,if (god forbid) a child or a family was killed on a road,where they had turned off the street lights,because of the LGMA.

Phil Hogan is responsible for all this,and he is really playing with fire here and going one step too far now on this one.

Its not the salary to them, they still took probably double the percentage cut that everyone else has taken, despite the starting figure, thats how THEY probably see it,
    I vaguely recall that being mentioned by clowen or enda when they tried to justify they had taken some of the pain too.

As for the public uproar, I think we mostly dont hear about accidents and they could easily keep it relatively locally reported and who'd know,
    and
    worse still, people are difficult to shrug from the apathy, especially when they are burdened with debt and personal worries.

GavMan wrote: »
    would it be possible to run these off stored solar+thermo energy?

This is Ireland,we have FG and Labour,so its cut cut cut and tax tax tax.....and thats all it will be.

Enda Kenny and Phil Hogan seems to be on a mission to run the country and domestic economy into the ground and putting the publics safety at risk (possibly turning off street lights),while they swan off on fancy holidays and pay their "advisors" huge salaries and give them 3k salary increases too.

I wonder whwn a senior county council official or a FG party member will stand up to Enda Kenny,Phil Hogan and the LGMA and say that enough is enough and to stop all the threats and taking things out on the public.

When will one of them grow a spine and set of balls and stand up to them???

Phil Hogan cannot produce propper real figures,as he nor the LGMA dont know how many houses are in Ireland...yet hes very well able to tell us "exactly" how many people have paid the 100 euro HHC charge......(By the way 60% "registared to pay"..doesnt mean that 60% HAVE PAID).

So how can he cut the county council budgets by exact and specific amounts?????

Phil Hogan got caught out from day 1 of this fiasco,and now hes passing the buck on to the CCs and worming his way out of it with lies and threats.

And Big Phil and the LGMA threatening to turn off street lights is not going to wash with the public either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

I wonder whwn a senior county council official or a FG party member will stand up to Enda Kenny,Phil Hogan and the LGMA and say that enough is enough and to stop all the threats and taking things out on the public.

....does the like of this (Labour..) politician, part of the governing party, give you any solace as to the likelihood of them 'growing a pair' or doing anything to improve anything, other than lining their own nest.... ?

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

Who said anything about 2 trillion??

You did. 200 million is 0.01% of 2 Trillion.

Its just a long "2 fingered salute" to the people of Ireland with FG and Labour at this stage.

The 10,000 new silk ties that they are buying in with tax payers money for the beginning of 2013 might be usefull afterall..along with some of those big old trees right outside Leinster House.

You did. 200 million is 0.01% of 2 Trillion.

Have a read of the post again.

Its a proposed transaction fee of 0.01% on each transaction..that would give an amount of 200 million euro each year to the state.

200 million euro isnt 2 trillion euro...is it??

Its a transaction fee of 0.01% on each transaction..that would give an amount of 200 million euro each year to the state.

200 million euro isnt 2 trillion euro...is it??

Jaysus man, you're not awful good with the aul numbers.

You're saying that 0.01% of all transactions is €200m. That implies that €200m is one tenthousandth of the total sum of transactions.

Thus, we multiply 200 million by ten thousand to get the total value of transactions.

200 million * 10,000 = 2 Trillion.

There is no bloody way that €2tn passes through the IFSC yearly, unless the I stands for India rather than Ireland.

Jaysus man, you're not awful good with the aul numbers.

You're saying that 0.01% of all transactions is €200m. That implies that €200m is one tenthousandth of the total sum of transactions.

Thus, we multiply 200 million by ten thousand to get the total value of transactions.

200 million * 10,000 = 2 Trillion.

There is no bloody way that €2tn passes through the IFSC yearly, unless the I stands for India rather than Ireland.

How would you know yourself though??

Not argueing with you,just asking how you know for certain.

A few politicians and economists on the VB show have said this in the past,so all I was doing was saying it here.:)

Why cant Phil Hogan and the LGMA look at something like that,rather than threating the public with cutting off street lights and not making roads safe to walk/drive on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,644 ✭✭✭SerialComplaint

galwaytt wrote: »
    ....does the like of this (Labour..) politician, part of the governing party,

She's not Labour - she's FG.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,125 ✭✭✭kirving

I don't really care about the DCC Manager havine a high salary, responsibility comes with that.

What's ridiculous is that some accountant with zero cop on or electrical engineering background, thinks that they'll save money overnight with this.

If there are a extra 5 deaths per year on the roads because of less lighting, and potential savings would be wiped out, and thats beside the human cost.

Oh, and what does Phil Hogan know about turning off steam turbines at night?! They take hours just to heat up and cool down in a very controlled procedure. They're running anyway, so spend a few quid on fuel and keep the lights on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

This is Ireland,we have FG and Labour,so its cut cut cut and tax tax tax.....and thats all it will be.

Enda Kenny and Phil Hogan seems to be on a mission to run the country and domestic economy into the ground and putting the publics safety at risk (possibly turning off street lights),while they swan off on fancy holidays and pay their "advisors" huge salaries and give them 3k salary increases too.
    Take it to politics forum, or rants and raves or something.
    Maybe we could have a "bring back bertie, everything was flying while he was in charge" forum? :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

I've always said, we're not in a recession until you see father,mother,and child on a scooter or something, like you would in any of the other "PIGS" countries... We're a mile away from that because apparently we're all "entitled" to a big ugly house in an ugly field, a shiny new passat and a jetski.

langdang wrote: »
    Take it to politics forum, or rants and raves or something.
    Maybe we could have a "bring back bertie, everything was flying while he was in charge" forum? :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

I've always said, we're not in a recession until you see father,mother,and child on a scooter or something, like you would in any of the other "PIGS" countries... We're a mile away from that because apparently we're all "entitled" to a big ugly house in an ugly field, a shiny new passat and a jetski.

Your choice of words and terms are just lovely.:(

Its actually very relevent when you hear Phil Hogan and the LGMA threatening to turn off street lights and put peoples lives in danger with this carry on.

Do these people not think that they should lead by example,with regards to actually saving money and not wasting it???

We are in a recession and alot of people do not have any real money (so to speak of) to live off of,at the end of each month.

The Credit Union report and survey clearly shows this.

Yet the goverment decide to ignore it and now decide to hit a new low by threatening to turn off street lights and put peoples lives on the road at risk...padestrians,and motorists of all types

Its a case of "pass the buck" here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭blastman

Scaremongering garbage by Hogan and the LGMA. And as for that publicity-seeking ar$ehole that's head of the LGMA...good God, nobody deserves this lot!!

Yet the goverment decide to ignore it and now decide to hit a new low by threatening to turn off street lights and put peoples lives on the road at risk...padestrians,and motorists of all types

Boohoo. Drive at an appropriate speed. Pedestrians - use a torch and hi-vis.
    Complete "won't someone think of the children" scaremongering by the opposition to this. (not that it will come to it, twas a bad bluff)

I'd be far more concerned by the cuts to the Garda budget.

Boohoo. Drive at an appropriate speed. Pedestrians - use a torch and hi-vis.
    Complete "won't someone think of the children" scaremongering by the opposition to this. (not that it will come to it, twas a bad bluff)

I'd be far more concerned by the cuts to the Garda budget.

Maybe you could try to quote the entire post and put into into context too.

You have a lovely view of things and a lovely way with words,you really do.

Maybe you could try to quote the entire post and put into into context too.

You have a lovely view of things and a lovely way with words,you really do.

Meh, quoting the motoring related part, in the context of the motors forum.
    As previously suggested, , if you want the rest debated - take it to the politics forum, or the rants and raves forum.
    I don't think there is a "won't somebody please think of the childers" forum, or a "bring bertie back he was brillunt" forum, by the way.

selective quoting to suit ones self then...yep a great way to talk about things in the ful and entire context.

selective reading to suit one's self... yep a great way to convince yourself you are in the correct forum...

Go way and scaremonger somewhere else!

selective reading to suit one's self... yep a great way to convince yourself you are in the correct forum...

Go way and scaremonger somewhere else!

Do you read tne newspapers or look at News on TV at all??

Im not scaremongering at all,Im merely saying here what Phil Hogan and the LGMA have threatened to do with regards roads,ligting and public safety too.
    Ive no liking for Phil Hogan or the LGMA either,i detest them both tbh.I dont think Hogan should be allowed to be a front bench minister with his carry on.

Now I have read every part of what you have posted and Im quoting your ENTIRE posts too.

Shame you cant see fit to do the same.

If the lights are turned off,then I rekon there could be a fair few cases taken for injury and damage to people and their cars.

I wonder could a member of the public sue the goverment or county council for wreckless endangerment or neglect,if it was proved that deliberate lack of street lights caused the accident/injury or had a part to play in the accident/injury??

It's someone else's fault. I'm special, I have no need to take personal responsibility - I'm ENTITLED!!!

errah yeah, the same way I could claim for all the times I stumbled walking home a dark country lane. Or that time I was driving too fast with no lights on, to save petrol, and there was a powercut so the streetlights went out and I demolished the orphanage.*

*Actually there was no orphanage, and as it was a dark country lane I was using my lights and driving at an appropriate speed. And nothing exciting happened at all. I have lots of stories like that. Maybe I should start driving like a gimp, make things more exciting.