Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Crush widths

• 21-08-2012 2:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭

just wonder what the normal width of crush race is? extending my own one outwards to get at both sides of animal.Fitting a new head gate .But my old one is up against wall and ranges from 28 to 34 inches in places.i have a lenght of 10 inch h iron around for the front as need it strong for mostly sucklers and young bulls .:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

The length of my lad .... 26" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭jay gatsby

Muckit wrote: »

Ha Ha Ha.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

32" clear will take nearly any suckler. 10" h iron isway too ignorant in my opinion for posts. 6x3 is more than ample.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

pakalasa wrote: »

4. Dimensions
    [FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman]Crush length [/FONT][/FONT]
    [FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman]1.4m with a skulling gate [/FONT][/FONT]
    [FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman]Crush length [/FONT][/FONT]
    [FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman]1.8m with a plain gate [/FONT][/FONT]
    [FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman]Race length [/FONT][/FONT]
    [FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman]3.6m minimum [/FONT][/FONT]
    [FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman]Recommended >5.4m
    [/FONT]
    [/FONT][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman]Note:
    [/FONT]
    [/FONT][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman][/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman]9m will hold 5/6 animals
    [/FONT]
    [/FONT][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman][/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman]Long races holding 12 or more adult cattle are not recommended.
    [/FONT]
    [/FONT][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman]Width [/FONT][/FONT]
    [FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman]650mm – 700mm standard [/FONT][/FONT]
    [FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman]Variations are permitted to suit type of animal:
    [/FONT]
    [/FONT][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman]Calf 500mm
    [/FONT]
    [/FONT][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman][/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman]Dairy 650mm – 700m
    [/FONT]
    [/FONT][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman][/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman]Beef 750mm
    [/FONT]
    [/FONT][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman]Height [/FONT][/FONT]
    [FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman]1.4m above floor level [/FONT][/FONT]

This is from the Dept spec linked above. 650mm = 25.6in, 700mm =27.5in, 750mm = 29.5in.

This is an important dimension that I didn't pay enough heed to when my crush was being set. The builder told me he was doing it to Dept spec so I just went with him. It was Dept spec alright but for dairy cows i.e. 26-27in. It's against a wall and that is just too narrow. While I'd a track machine in I put a chain over the top of the supports and widened the top by ~2in. Still not wide enough for the more barrel shaped cows.

Yours will have rails either side? This gives a bit more space but I reckon 30in is the minimum you want. You definitely don't want to go for anymore than 32in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

just do it wrote: »

4. Dimensions
    [FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman]1.4m with a skulling gate [/FONT][/FONT]
    [FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman]1.8m with a plain gate [/FONT][/FONT]
    [FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman]Race length [/FONT][/FONT]
    [FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman]3.6m minimum [/FONT][/FONT]
    [FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman]Recommended >5.4m [/FONT]

[/FONT][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman]Note: [/FONT]

[/FONT][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman][/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman]9m will hold 5/6 animals [/FONT]

[/FONT][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman][/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman]Long races holding 12 or more adult cattle are not recommended. [/FONT]

[/FONT][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman]Width [/FONT][/FONT]
    [FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman]650mm – 700mm standard [/FONT][/FONT]
    [FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman]Variations are permitted to suit type of animal: [/FONT]
    [FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman]• [/FONT]
    [/FONT][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman]Calf 500mm [/FONT]

[/FONT][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman][/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman]Dairy 650mm – 700m [/FONT]

[/FONT][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman][/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman]Beef 750mm [/FONT]

[/FONT][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman]Height [/FONT][/FONT]
    [FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman]1.4m above floor level [/FONT][/FONT]

This is from the Dept spec linked above. 650mm = 25.6in, 700mm =27.5in, 750mm = 29.5in.

This is an important dimension that I didn't pay enough heed to when my crush was being set. The builder told me he was doing it to Dept spec so I just went with him. It was Dept spec alright but for dairy cows i.e. 26-27in. It's against a wall and that is just too narrow. While I'd a track machine in I put a chain over the top of the supports and widened the top by ~2in. Still not wide enough for the more barrel shaped cows.

Yours will have rails either side? This gives a bit more space but I reckon 30in is the minimum you want. You definitely don't want to go for anymore than 32in.

i do sculling/squeezing for farmers in my area and nothing worse IMO than a wide crush...passing each other out, getting jammed,they try to turn and generally too much room, next thing a strong weanling is facing the wrong way or down and the whole lot have to come out.. also if they tight they are less inclined to attempt the jump out of it:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭jerdee

thank lads for replies i tried that link before i posted in dept website but it wasn't working then .

thanks muckit i passed on your measurements to my lonely neighbor he will make contact with you.......:eek:

chippy sorry that's the smallest size h iron i have left around next up is 14 x12 but i want to use them up also last one bent a lot and sick of pushing it back in place with tractor.

i think 30 will be big enough.my biggest problem is getting my stubborn cows up the last 3 feet into headlock they go so far and then stop .they are so cute they won t even reach out for nuts .i made up an anti backing bar and find it good .Thinking of sheeting off some of the race with plastic board or some thing to increase movement.any ideas????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

I really like the look of the crushes on this site. Nice and simple too.
    http://www.iae.co.uk/agricultural/fixedcattle/default.htm

I found the that the cows don't like the feel of the anti-backing bar on their legs and tend to move forward away from it. I think if you could hold an animal tempory in front of the head gate, then the next animal would move forward better to follow the one in front. I've never seen it in a design though.

Old cows are cute hoors ........ Wen I had sheep you could lock One in front of dipping tank and she would draw the rest but I havn t seen cattle ones

I've a semi automatic head gate and I think it only teaches cattle to pull their head back out of it. I'd bite the bullet and go for a fully automatic gate. There was a thread on here a good while back about them.

Bodacious wrote: »
    i do sculling/squeezing for farmers in my area and nothing worse IMO than a wide crush...passing each other out, getting jammed,they try to turn and generally too much room, next thing a strong weanling is facing the wrong way or down and the whole lot have to come out.. also if they tight they are less inclined to attempt the jump out of it:)
    I feel your pain. There is also nothing worse than seeing your in-calf cows struggling to get down the crush. Ideally we'd all have 2 crushes :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

i do sculling/squeezing for farmers in my area and nothing worse IMO than a wide crush...

I'd agree. Like flutes... an extra inch makes an awful difference :p

In calf cows are the only thing that might have trouble getting up a 26" wide crush. And then you shouldn't really be putting them up a crush in an ideal situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Ah Jaysus, that's just greed:D

Anyway does anyone know the width of the standard semi auto headgate?
    Our main crush in in the slatted shed, at the back of it in the 2 mid sections. Both outer sections can be used to hold stock too behind the gates although it's a shade wide, but it's a great place to catch a cow heavy incalf that wont fit up the crush. We often catch one in the gate backwards, (The cow on the outside of the crush with her head in the gate), indeed even calved a few this way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

Most of the gates are adjustable from 28-34" i think. we put in one at 28" and ended up with a good few of the cows getting stuck, it was a bloody mightmare so we moved out to 32" and no bother so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭Askim

Could you make it 32" then put a 9"x2" 18' plank on hooks, at belly height, this would leave it smaller & easy to remove when your heavies are coming up, don't know just thinking out loud.

A

well lads got the holes dug out and new gate picked up

on one side i am going to weld in bars

otherside i have been looking for something like a double hinged gate .

bottom to suckle calves
    top to make it easier to clip and wash

has anybody seen these only one i see like it are cattle boxes.

pics would be handy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭nhg

Putting up a new crush with fully automatic gate, looking for advise on best type of Head Scoop to get - need crush to be a one man operation at times.

Old crush being replaced, rotten at base, manual gate and too short, thankfully location works well with holding yard, bars on both sides with one side being done so that it can be dismantled easily if needed with step to one side.

Measurements for crush were appreciated.

(Dry stock - from weanling bullocks to finished).

All advice greatly appreciated as new to farming.

nhg wrote: »
    Putting up a new crush with fully automatic gate, looking for advise on best type of Head Scoop to get - need crush to be a one man operation at times.

Old crush being replaced, rotten at base, manual gate and too short, thankfully location works well with holding yard, bars on both sides with one side being done so that it can be dismantled easily if needed with step to one side.

I think the head scoop is a waste of money. I used a €2 timber fencing post the one and only time I needed to dose and it worked fine.

What fully automated gate are you looking at? What ever type of gate you go for make sure that you don't have to reverse them out of it to open it.

just do it wrote: »
    I think the head scoop is a waste of money. I used a €2 timber fencing post the one and only time I needed to dose and it worked fine.

i would like to see that setup!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

nhg wrote: »

have one of these
    find it handy for dosing awkward animals or have used it very effectively for dehorning strong cattle..also a few of my cows got soar eyes last winter presumably from silage, if very handy when trying to tube their eyes.
    its easy to fit to the side bars of crush also
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jPd555Ec88Q

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

have one of these
    find it handy for dosing awkward animals or have used it very effectively for dehorning strong cattle..also a few of my cows got soar eyes last winter presumably from silage, if very handy when trying to tube their eyes.
    its easy to fit to the side bars of crush also
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jPd555Ec88Q
    How much did that set you back, vander?

Thanks for the feedback so far, now looking for some more:D.

Which Fully Automatic Gate would you recommend?

We will get a compatable head scoop and an anti-backing bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭cow man

In calf cows are the only thing that might have trouble getting up a 26" wide crush. And then you shouldn't really be putting them up a crush in an ideal situation.

I agree but our herd test is usually in February, I always fear there's going to be abortions after the way some cows struggle to get up the crush thank god we have been lucky so far

• Closed Accounts Posts: 315 ✭✭Black Smoke

i do sculling/squeezing for farmers in my area and nothing worse IMO than a wide crush...

You should see my AI man squeezing sideways up along the crush-:) . Best cow I have is rattling around inside in it!!

If any of ye heading to the ploughing, Connaught Agri supposed to have a new fully automatic gate from the states at the show, worked on rollers (i think - oh speaking to them on the phone about 2 weeks ago) instead of springs, we're going on Thursday to have a look, I would love to hear ye're opinions on it

Thanks guys

Bought the crush gate, head scoop & anti-backing bar today, now to get it all put up.

What length would the crush need to be to fit 5 finished bullocks in it?

Crush gate unfortunately didn't work out from Connaught Agri, they had problems making it, so lost alot of time waiting on it, bought a nugent universal with compatable head scoop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭johnpawl

Just welding up a set-up like this at the moment. Gates for the sides of the crush.
    What height would ye recommend making the crush?
    What height off the ground for the first bar and what space in between?
    Any help appreciated before I've them welded up and can't go changing dimensions.
    http://www.odonovaneng.ie/wp-content/uploads/2010/04/Crush-Equipment-for-website.JPG