Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FINALLY PLAYING A LINKS

• 20-08-2012 5:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭

As title says im finally going to play a true links.
    Heading to play Kileens and Mahony's tomorrow,neither of which ive played so looking forward to playing them.

The big excitement is on the wed where il be teeing it up at Waterville:D.
    So have i chose well for first true links and what exactly is in store for me.If any of you say wind and rain il cry ha,for the love of god pray weather holds up for me lads.

Really hope i enjoy links style golf as much of most of ye on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭chalkie 501

pinseeker wrote: »
    As title says im finally going to play a true links.
    Heading to play Kileens and Mahony's tomorrow,neither of which ive played so looking forward to playing them.

The big excitement is on the wed where il be teeing it up at Waterville:D.
    So have i chose well for first true links and what exactly is in store for me.If any of you say wind and rain il cry ha,for the love of god pray weather holds up for me lads.

Really hope i enjoy links style golf as much of most of ye on here.

Dont know what the forecast is like for wednesday but its glorious down here today,
    as regards to Waterville,you sure are starting at the top, could be opening a can of worms here but i reckon they have the best greens in the country.....
    Killeen is in good enough shape at the moment but the greens on mahonys are pretty awful.
    enjoy it anyway dude,waterville is an awesome course:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭L.O.F.T

Waterville:D.

You could not have picked a better course. 17 & 18 are incredible and I hope you get a great weather day. Its the turf and the strike that do it for me along with the wind and my tip is never comment on the shot until the balls stops rolling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭pinseeker

I like that LOFT,never comment on shot still it stops rolling.Sums up my image of links golf.

Cheers chalkie,uve me worried now about the greens in mahony's:confused:.Is it nice track?I expect more of kileens but mahony's i would expect to be decent enough.

Regards starting at the top,i might as well make my first links special eh.Keep that sun down your way for me so ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Corkblowin

Jealous jealous jealous!!! Waterville is a great course & IMO the fairest of all the famous links - nothing tricked up or hidden - good shots rewarded, mediocre shots in a spot of bother & bad ones.....good luck :)

& LOFT is dead right - don't comment on a moving ball!

Enjoy!

Corkblowin wrote: »
    Jealous jealous jealous!!!

Oh excitement is building:D

Im only bringing 1 ball Corkblowin as heard these links courses are piece of pi*s haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭big_drive

How'd you get on?

Couple under I suppose as usual :)

big_drive wrote: »
    How'd you get on?

Couple under I suppose as usual :)

Great few days Bigdrive.Shot 4 under in Mahonys,greens poor which was a pity.It was decent track.Played killeens off the back and shot 74 which was good since ive been driving the ball for ages like a complete novice:(.Really nice track and played long with handy wind on the day

Now for Waterville.All i can say is what a place,like a little piece of heaven.Id play it all day every day ha.Played from the back at 7400 yards and it seemed we were into the wind for all but a few holes.When your faced with par4s of 430,440 and 475 yards into 2-3 club wind you feel like crying ha.

At no point did i feel beat up over the wind,it was just to enjoyable with the scenery and best of all the sun was out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭Quahog217

Great few days Bigdrive.Shot 4 under in Mahonys,greens poor which was a pity.It was decent track.Played killeens off the back and shot 74 which was good since ive been driving the ball for ages like a complete novice:(.Really nice track and played long with handy wind on the day

Now for Waterville.All i can say is what a place,like a little piece of heaven.Id play it all day every day ha.Played from the back at 7400 yards and it seemed we were into the wind for all but a few holes.When your faced with par4s of 430,440 and 475 yards into 2-3 club wind you feel like crying ha.

At no point did i feel beat up over the wind,it was just to enjoyable with the scenery and best of all the sun was out.

Some great golf played by the sounds of it mate. Im dead jealous, i never get to play many nice courses like this.

Do you mind me asking what your handicap is?

Quahog217 wrote: »
    Some great golf played by the sounds of it mate. Im dead jealous, i never get to play many nice courses like this.

Do you mind me asking what your handicap is?

+1 currently Quahog,i havent played huge variety of courses myself but so glad i can tick Waterville off the list.Im still going thru the holes in my head today ha.Really cant see where i can play now that would top it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭Johnny_Fontane

I presume you shot four under net???

Whats your handicap?

Playing Killeen on Wednesday (in Killarney), hopefully the weather might be ok....

I presume you shot four under net???

Whats your handicap?

Playing Killeen on Wednesday (in Killarney), hopefully the weather might be ok....

4 under gross johnnyf,sorry should have said.Hope you get nice weather there,its a super track.Its pretty wet like everywhere but you will enjoy it for sure.

+1 currently Quahog,i havent played huge variety of courses myself but so glad i can tick Waterville off the list.Im still going thru the holes in my head today ha.Really cant see where i can play now that would top it.

Thats an impressive handicap man, well done. Im off 8 myself kinda struggling a bit lately, driving and little wedge, lob shots are killing me.

Do you mind me asking if you have gotten much coaching to get to +1?
    Im sure lotsnof practice is the main thing.

Thats an impressive handicap man, well done. Im off 8 myself kinda struggling a bit lately, driving and little wedge, lob shots are killing me.

Do you mind me asking if you have gotten much coaching to get to +1?
    Im sure lotsnof practice is the main thing.

Only had my first little session with pro few weeks ago Quahog,was just to see what exactly someones impression of my swing was.I havent been to a range or chipping green in about a year but i do try and play alot of practice rounds.

Don't get me started on driving,it was my biggest asset when first started but since i got my new driver well over a year ago its breaking my heart.Gotta find the right shaft,its gotta be the shaft and not me:D

Getting to +1 without a lesson. Bubba Watson is the only guy I've heard do that. Fair play to you pinseeker that's seriously impressive.

Poor Bubba putting me in same sentance:)

Just wondering have you played in any of the big amatuer events like the south of Ireland c/ship to see how you'd get on?

Just wondering have you played in any of the big amatuer events like the south of Ireland c/ship to see how you'd get on?[/QUOTE

I haven't bigdrive, not sure how they get the time with all the days they take up.Its something il have to consider next year.Ive kinda found myself where i am way ahead of time + look at all these names that prob low since teens + all seasoned in these tournaments.

My scores on some of the courses i see scratch cup wins would have me even winning quiet a few but its different pressure no doubt.My driver killing me all year + tonight confused me more.Not in long after shooting 3 under for 9 using friends driver with 55gram
    high torque made for shaft + killed it.Should be all wrong for me.Has me all confused ha

I'd be very interested to see how you'd get on with the big boys :)

Have you ever been fitted for clubs?

Let me at them ha, il be like your man mentioned in one of the threads who rocks up throws ball on the deck + nails driver down the middle, middle of the trees more like.

Ya been fitted but couldn't get me hitting driver any better so didn't even try, foolishly went + got new toy off the shelf not long after.Paying for that error ever since.
    Titleist demo came to old club few months back + ended up changing shaft as really just wanted rid of shaft I had, when I look back that was poor fitting.Rushed and questionable stats.

I'd like to see what scores you'll do when the driver gets sorted!! What's your best gross score for 18 holes?

The scores for some reason have still been ok but a working driver will sure make things easier

Had few 6 unders but 5 is lowest in comp.Still its not at level where the big boys doing it.One day perhaps

Where are you a member pinseeker? Some real good shooting considering your not happy with your driving.

I find it incredibly hard to believe that someone who plays off +1 played a links course for the first time last week.

Unless you're like from Belgium or something and just arrived here.

Sorry, but I cant believe you pinseeker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Mr. Larson

I find it incredibly hard to believe that someone who plays off +1 played a links course for the first time last week.

It's true, I think I snooped through some scores on How-did-i-do before following a post and nothing to suggest any of it is BS. I think someone should run an article on this fella, it's been an incredible drop in handicap from 16 a couple of years ago to +1. Phenomenal.

Right that's enough sunshine blown up your arse, Pinseeker. Post the score you had on Waterville so we can all feel better about ourselves :)

I can guarantee he's off +1

Never met the man but saw the scores he shot last year in open singles at my home course. Impressive stuff. As for never playing a links I don't know but the h/cap is certainly correct.
    It's quite possible not to have played a links, we don't have any in cork apart from old head which isn't really that accessible.

Thats ok Johnnyf.Perhaps im just making it all up:)

fair enough! I just cannot fathom how someone who plays in the top 0.001% of golfers in Ireland hasnt played a single links.

I'm rubbish at golf and have played probably 20 of them!

Fair dues to you pinseeker, but you can understand my line of questioning I am sure!

It's quite possible not to have played a links, we don't have any in cork apart from old head which isn't really that accessible.

Point well made bigdrive,cost is also issue for top links along with free time.

fair enough! I just cannot fathom how someone who plays in the top 0.001% of golfers in Ireland hasnt played a single links.

I'm rubbish at golf and have played probably 20 of them!

Fair dues to you pinseeker, but you can understand my line of questioning I am sure!

Yes Johnnyf i certainly can and can see what your line of thought is but it is what it is.
    Whats the next links i should have on my list

Yes Johnnyf i certainly can and can see what your line of thought is but it is what it is.
    Whats the next links i should have on my list

The course record in the European Club is 67, shot by Mr. Tiger Woods (apparently). No bother to ya.

I'd go for Tralee next pinseeker. It's the best course I've played. I've not played Waterville or Ballybunion yet though

Mr. Larson wrote: »
    The course record in the European Club is 67, shot by Mr. Tiger Woods (apparently). No bother to ya.

Heard that was serious track Mr Larson,79 was round in waterville.

I'd go for Tralee next pinseeker. It's the best course I've played. I've not played Waterville or Ballybunion yet though

That and European and enniscrone are on my list.Not sure when it may happen but mad to play links again

Heard that was serious track Mr Larson,79 was round in waterville.

They do Open Singles there for €60 but it's off the Whites. Still a decent test, in my opinion. Looking over your shoulder at the blue tees from the white tees would make you shudder. You could contact them asking if you could play off the Blues, might be no harm. If you tell Ruddy you're off +1 he will probably want his course to teach you a lesson and might oblige :)

Mr. Larson wrote: »
    They do Open Singles there for €60 but it's off the Whites. Still a decent test, in my opinion. Looking over your shoulder at the blue tees from the white tees would make you shudder. You could contact them asking if you could play off the Blues, might be no harm. If you tell Ruddy you're off +1 he will probably want his course to teach you a lesson and might oblige :)

HAHA perhaps the whites may be fine so:).I found that if you didnt play off blues in waterville you missed some serious tee boxes and better views.Tee box on 16 was class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭L.O.F.T

I've followed your posts Pinseeker and I have found them great reading, humble and never coming across as a person with anything to prove. It's a pity Johnny_Fontane does not believe but he is entitled to do so. What is noticeable from your posts is the lack of confidence ( and I could be way out) and I would like to see you come back with a report on how you got on in some of the big scratch cups. The ability is there but is the belief?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,512 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

L.O.F.T wrote: »
    I've followed your posts Pinseeker and I have found them great reading, humble and never coming across as a person with anything to prove. It's a pity Johnny_Fontane does not believe but he is entitled to do so. What is noticeable from your posts is the lack of confidence ( and I could be way out) and I would like to see you come back with a report on how you got on in some of the big scratch cups. The ability is there but is the belief?

Ok this is turning into a Pinseeker love in... :)

I have to say, I did a quick check of previous posts as I couldn't (didn't want to) believe that someone could drop so low in such as short period of time.
    That's just a poor reflection on me tbh, and I'd echo LOFTs nice words.

I wanted to tell you to F Off when you were complaining about your driving...whilst playing off +1 but I couldn't.
    Very humble indeed, and an inspiration!

You should play links a bit more often, then you'd probably find your true handicap, which I'd guess is about 6 or 7 :D
    Anyone can get to +1 just playing parkland.... :P

L.O.F.T wrote: »

Hi LOFT,here comes a big essay ha.
    First off and dont kill me but havent played in any scratch cups yet.From reading posts i see guys like yourself and others travel and play in as many as poss,its there sport and where they want to be tested.From young age in clubs its all about dreaming of playing senior scratch and getting on senior cup teams.

You know my story and how ive kinda found myself where i am quickly.Ive done all the pressure and proving in other sports and golf was something i just fell in love with and happy to be just playing.

Like you said i do like to think ive good attitude as many low guys have bit of a sterotype.Put me out with two 28 handicaps and id be a pig in sh&t to be just playing.Id never judge as its hard game for all of us.
    If i shoot 3 under and guy off 18 shoots 16 over then as far as im concerned he has done exactly what ive done on the day.

Its fair to say that confidence is not there regards how i see other low guys.I played with +2 guy in my club and even tho its only a shot diff and i know once driver right il get there, im still aware that his standing is way diff as he plays all the majors and does well.Its hard to explain LOFT, i had impression all these lads flush everything and never miss a beat,Then i look at scores in events and think i need to get that thought out of my head.

I think distance is also huge in golf and feel im only low for that reason alone ha.I see players and think jesus if i put him where im playing from he would be off completely diff handicap.Its a big reason why i need to play bigger comps as courses longer,im not as good with low irons as on a normal say length course im not hitting those clubs.My thinking is which friends kill me for is hitting wedges all day and few 9s and 8 s isnt really a sign of good golf.

I could go on but thats some of my thoughts.Im playing scratch cup late next month so looking forward to that i think haha.

A plus 1 home club golfer = Pinseeker:)

OH also thanks for kind words LOFT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,567 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

What about club teams? Have you played Senior Cup, Barton Shield?

fullstop wrote: »
    What about club teams? Have you played Senior Cup, Barton Shield?

Club didn't enter Barton shield,played senior cup this year Fullstop.Was all square at turn but in truth if id driven ball well id have been 3-4 up MAYBE.You have no idea how bad i drove it,i knew going in i was in trouble with it but with the added nerves and just being so quick over everything due to the nerves it all came to a head.

Had never played matchplay so it was real throwing in at deep end stuff.Ended up losing on 16.Opponent said after match how quick i played and so on,But when some drives didnt make 150 yards:eek: it fed right thru my game.

Glad i played and guess the more i play the more experienced and relaxed il feel.Majority of guys in it are well seasoned and prob just get on with it and play own game and so on,but hey they all had to go thru what i did to get to the stage of being comfortable.

I learned a lot from it fullstop.Main thing was don't play sh&te:)

Whats your home course pinseeker if you dont mind me asking

Don't mind you asking Quahog but now ive bared my golfing mental state i fear you or another boardie might know a member and tell them my fragile state and never to play me again haha :D

Pinseeker did you play the castlemartyr scratch cup last weekend?