Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can I get address from reg. no.?

• 17-08-2012 10:20am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,340 ✭✭✭Please Kill Me

My missus just had an incident with a dangerous driver and she rang me in tears. She's pregnant and alone in the car and some lunatic banged the car with his fist and roared abuse at her....all because she beeped at him for being in the wrong lane AFTER he pulled out on top of her with no indication! Irish drivers eh?? :rolleyes:

She gave me the reg and rather than drive around Enfield hoping to come across the guy (which is unlikely) is there any way I can get his address from his reg? Will Cartell work? I want to see how tough this guy thinks he is and teach him some manners. She was on to the Gardai and of course they won't do anything. :mad:

Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭Big Lar

Doubt your gonna get any help on that one here, contact the Guards again and report the incident.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

He does sound like a tough guy alright.

That said, if i thought i was in a defenceless state (alone, pregnant etc) whether i thought i was wrong or right i don't think i'd provoke anything by beeping.

I doubt you can legitimately get the reg from anywhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,340 ✭✭✭Please Kill Me

Fair enough lads, just thought I'd ask anyway. Cheers. Guess I'll just have to drive around for a bit and hope I come across him. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,064 ✭✭✭Gurgle

I want to see how tough this guy thinks he is and teach him some manners.
    I appreciate the instinct to protect your pregnant Missus, but I don't really think this is the best course of action.

Report him to trafficwatch:
    http://www.garda.ie/Controller.aspx?Page=111

Acting like that, he was probably drunk. Make sure you mention it.

Gurgle wrote: »
    I appreciate the instinct to protect your pregnant Missus, but I don't really think this is the best course of action.

Report him to trafficwatch:
    http://www.garda.ie/Controller.aspx?Page=111

Acting like that, he was probably drunk. Make sure you mention it.

Cheers Gurgle. Yeah I'm a little bit peeved to say the least. I f**king hate bullies!! :mad: She's just been onto them again and wants them to do more than just "give a caution", so it'll be interesting what they come back with, if anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭McCrack

Apply in writing to a motor tax office enclosing a fee for €6.00 and ask for the registered owner name/address.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,441 ✭✭✭jhegarty

McCrack wrote: »
    Apply in writing to a motor tax office enclosing a fee for €6.00 and ask for the registered owner name/address.

I don't think going "see how tough this guy thinks he is" is a valid reason under that process.

jhegarty wrote: »
    I don't think going "see how tough this guy thinks he is" is a valid reason under that process.

PMSL!! Probably not.

Just got onto an old school buddy who's a cop and he's gonna get me the info when he's on duty tonight.

Sorted. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭sheehan12

if i was you see could find the car and drive in front on him slam on brakes and sue the fu*ker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

PMSL!! Probably not.

Just got onto an old school buddy who's a cop and he's gonna get me the info when he's on duty tonight.

Shenanigans. This did not happen.

Cop then becomes an accessory to assault before the fact.

Shenanigans. This did not happen.

Cop then becomes an accessory to assault before the fact.

It did actually!

Cop only becomes an accessory if he's found out. :rolleyes:

PMSL!! Probably not.

What are you going to do if "tough guy" is the read deal and batters you when you confront him?

That's not going to help your wife.

What are you going to do if "tough guy" is the read deal and batters you when you confront him?

That's not going to help your wife.

Very good point and very valid, however I can handle myself. ;)
    IF however he IS the real deal, which I doubt as bullies are all mouth - there's more than one way to skin a cat as they say. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

PMSL!! Probably not.

If this is true then your buddy is not fit to be a Garda.
    Very good point and very valid, however I can handle myself. ;)
    IF however he IS the real deal, which I doubt as bullies are all mouth - there's more than one way to skin a cat as they say. :cool:
    You need to stop putting your own ego ahead of the interests of your wife and future child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Right...