Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How much work to do in 5th year?

• 16-08-2012 8:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭

How much did you do, how much should you have done, how much do you wish you had done, and lastly how well did it stand to you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭HowAreWe

I did absolutely nothing in 5th year and I regret it so much. Start as early as possible, when your teachers say it they mean it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 568 ✭✭✭Dapics

I did nothing.. I mean nothing.
    I would say focus on maths and any other subject which involves practical work and not mere memorization.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 684 ✭✭✭haro124

The best piece of advice I ls to never fall behind! Study for those class tests that may seem pointless but you'll be glad you did ! If you have to do projects get them over and done with this year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭dcam

Do your homework every night and listen really well in class you'd be surprised how much goes in that way. Do a bit of study too obviously especially for subjects with long courses such as biology, geography etc. and start revising in plenty of time for Christmas/Summer tests. For languages try and learn some new vocab every week and get as much grammar as you can nailed this year it'll really stand to you. Don't burn yourself out though 2-3 hours on a weeknight and a few hours at the weekends should be enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭MWick94

I did a reasonable amount of work in 5th Year, I paid attention in class, did all of my homework and studied for 2 nights before class tests. I spent about 3 weeks before the Christmas tests studying one subject a night, increasing it to two subjects per night the week before and did the same for my summer exams. I ended up with mainly A's and one or two B's in both sets of exams, so I was pretty happy.

The best thing to do in 5th year is to stay on top of homework, pay attention in class and don't stress out over studying. An hour or two each night of study from October/November onwards is plenty, in my experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭123 LC

I didn't go overboard in 5th year, but I always did my homework well. I studied well for class tests too, studying for these will stand to you when you have to revise topics for the leaving, basically if I didn't study for class tests i would have been trying to learn whole new topics right before the leaving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 D.J. Shore

Just do all your homework and really concentrate on what you're doing and make sure you get your head around it! Work on Honours Maths and I used 5th year to work on my grammar and oral for the languages :) 5th year was the best year so far! Had loads of craic in between all the class tests! So don't study non stop... Be enthusiastic and ask lots of questions!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 923 ✭✭✭biohaiid

I dont feel like I did much.
    I did my homework, learned a bit as I went along and studied for all (well, MOST) of our class tests etc ..
    I did this again in 6th year but I suppose I took it a bit more seriously.
    I REALLY started studying the week before my mocks.
    I got almost everything I needed to covered, and ended up with 510 which I was very happy with. :)
    I 'm not gonna advise you to take it easy and leave it all til' 6th year, but then again don't over stress yourself.
    Some of the most effective study I did foor the LC was cramming, but don't leave everything til' last minute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭annettesayz

I always did my homework, rarely studied..
    Unless had a class test I did a bit.. but no one does a whole lot, no major need to panic!
    All will come clear in 6th :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭Nicole.

Hey, I studied a lot in Fifth Year, I mean to the extent that I had my "6th year freak out", at Christmas that year. My advise is to study as much as you can, but have fun too. I hardly ever missed social events due to a need for studying but that's because I did my work every night. If you want to have a good social life, do your homework and study mostly during the week.

I never did a study time table I actually looked at my social calendar and made sure I studied around that. Not a lot of people will agree with me but I felt that my social interactions helped me get through the year, within reason of course. Your mood effects how effectively you study, so the happier you are the better. Seperate your personal and school life so you can study well. If you're in a really bad mood do written work, it's easier to do well.

If you have any projects to do in Fifth Year do them extremely well, they'll stop you freaking out closer to the LC and also bring you up grades. I can't stress how important the Irish oral is for your grades, watch Irish programmes and take class discussions in Irish seriously. I got Cs and Ds in class tests and came out with a B1 in Higher level Irish due to the Irish oral result (I think anyway, I have no way of knowing though)

I went to school study from 4-6pm and got my study done then as I live in a big family and noise really interferes with my study. I took a break until 7/7.30pm and studied until 9pm or 10pm. This obviously didn't happen every day but most days I did it.

Sleeping enough is important and don't take too many "lazy days" off. I didn't miss much school and it paid off in the end; I got 500 points.

I only regret is taking things too seriously, I wish I relaxed a little more. I was always so stressed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭NSNO

Just do the homework your teachers give you and do it well.

Then assess around January to see if you're struggling in anything, if so then consider doing some extra study in those subjects to make sure you keep up. If not then carry on as before.

Don't get too stressed, go hang out with your friends, go to parties, indulge your hobbies, play sports.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

Honestly I didn't do much at all. I was out every weekend getting drunk and having a great social life (eventhough I regret most of that but that's for other reasons) . I still did every bit of homework and did it well and always did my study for exams. If we were to count points from christmas and summer exams in 5th year I got like 530 in both. Don't take 5th year too serious. Sure don't just slack completely and say era I'll do it in 6th year...take good note of everything you do in 5th year and make sure you understand it. You most likely won't return to that stuff until after the mocks. Focus on maths, english, irish and any other languages. Start thinking wisely about what course you'll want and clearly set out what points you want in 5th year. Just do your homework, get the stuff into your head and understand it. Take your exams seriously but not really seriously. I've seen so many people in my year who did nothing for those exams because they thought it didn't matter but you know what I got 510 the other day while some of them who're capable of the same or if not more got mid 300's. Relax though 5th year is supposed to ease you into 6th year so take it handy but be smart too...all the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭ShaneScouse

I done feck all in 5th year, and as a result was defo the best craic and most enjoyable year in school i can rem, looking back now I wish I could repeat it for the funs :)

You have plenty of time to do work in 6th year, I didnt start till after halloween in 6th year when u start to realise the leaving is actually coming, and scored grand. Youll be fine dont fret so much about it just make sure u dont flake on everything ofc and just enjoy it.

Such a cliche but the last years of school and college are defo your best years, something 100 people said to me and they sounded like boring gits and something Ive only come to realise myself since leaving college few years ago. Dont be a lazy bum, but make sure you dont stress over things that in the long term really mean nothing and enjoy urself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭Spattersonox

Did nothing in 5th year, only at exam time! Then in 6th year I started well after easter and took quite a few too many breaks but at the time I couldn't bring myself to do much more. it all fell into place though - I got quite a few points and I wouldn't go back and repeat.