Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wrong Degree

• 15-08-2012 10:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭

In September I will be entering into my final year of my Arts degree in English and History, after a year abroad on Erasmus and plan on trying to become a secondary school teacher after.

When I made the decision to do this course at college I had convinced myself it was the right course for me despite not being a great reader. I know how stupid it now sounds to have done a degree in English and History and not really like reading.
    I was convinced I would learn to love reading by doing a course where I would have to read a lot. I did really like doing English at leaving cert. but it was mainly the analysis of the material after it was read and writing essays and not the act of reading that I enjoyed. In first year I got on really well so felt justified in my decision to do the course and carried on into second year.

From second year things went down hill. I got on OK with grades, nothing spectacular but decent. But I started to realise how different I was to some of the people on my course. I began to really envy people would loved the course, who loved reading and who loved history and were much more knowledgeable than me and it came easier to them because they loved it. I knew I was lacking in that passion and enthusiasm and the love for both subjects. I feel really intimidated by those that are better than me because I knew they made the right decision as regards to college and future careers and I had not. But it was easy to glide through the course seen as Arts is so large. It is frankly embarrassing and pathetic the gaps in my knowledge, particularly historical knowledge, and the long list of books that I have not read, books that a final year student of English should have read by now. It makes me cringe with embarrassment. And I know I can force myself to sit down and read all those books and learn all that information but that would be just it, I would be forcing myself to do it. If I read I can end up enjoying it but it is not a passion, it is not a love and I do not derive all that much pleasure from it. People who do an English and History course I feel should love it and I don't and it is a hard thing to finally admit to yourself after wasting so many years and so much money doing a course in it, a lot of it my parents' money which makes me feel so guilty.

Last year I went on Erasmus, one of the things that does actually make me glad I did Arts. But I know part of the reason I went was to avoid final year. Now I will be heading into final year. It had gone back and forth in my mind while abroad about dropping out but have decided to finish the course as it seems to make the most sense after doing 3 years of it. And also because I don't know what else I would do either and I want to move back to were I go to college instead of living at home.

When I made the decision to do this degree graduating and actually having to get a job at the end of it seemed like a really long way away and because I was doing English and History it seemed natural to try and become a teacher. But I think I would most likely be a really bad teacher. I am not great for public speaking and would hardly be able to portray a love for either subject to pupils. Plus the fact that I would be scared of making mistakes in front of the class due to the gaps in my knowledge, particularly in History.

Having said that I don't know what else to try and do. The only thing that I think I could like is beauty therapy but I don't even know how much I'd like that either really. And I also know that a teacher is a better job in terms of pay, holidays etc. than a beautician, even if a person should not become a teacher for those reasons. And while it maybe snobby I would feel like I did really waste 4 years of college if all I was to become by the end of it was a beautician tbh. I did think I trying to become a national school teacher as I am good with children and would not have as a problem speaking in front of them but would need to learn Irish and am not sure how to go about this.

I feel totally lost and sometimes it depresses me so much so I push it to the back of my mind and try not to deal with it but it is harder to not think about now that I have only a year of college left and am none the wiser on the job I will try to have after. I wish I was one of those people that just knew the career for them, that just knew their passion and love. Failing that I wish I had picked a more sensible degree that would get me a good, well paying job at the end of it that I could be at least adequate at. I feel like I really failed at this. I can not afford to go to college again and I would be afraid of being crap at a new degree even if I could try and do another one.

Sorry this is a lot longer than I had expected. I hope someone can give me some practical advice on what I should do next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,830 ✭✭✭✭Taltos

Hi OP - felt obliged to reply.

I think you need to step back a bit and look at some of your preconceptions.
    Coming from a family of teachers (3 generations) can I just let you know that yes you might have the summer off but pay is not all that wonderful, it takes a long time to build it up and with recent changes in pension etc it is not all roses there either. Also depending on what type of teaching you get into your summer months may be spent preparing for the next school year or searching for a part time job to help supplement your income.

In terms of choosing Beauty Therapy - not sure why you refer to it in the way that you did as almost like you should be ashamed of it. I am not going to comment on what I think of your view here, but if that is what you want to do and it inspires you go for it. Who knows if you are good enough, have the drive and vision you could end up being your own boss or owning a chain of salons - not easy, but always a possibility.

So for me a few things.
    1. Get rid of your preconceptions - including your "snobby" view on other careers.
    2. Take some time to think about what it is you really want.
    3. Talk to someone in your college - look if you would prefer to be a national school teacher it is never too late to learn Irish - not easy but doable with alot of hard work. Similarly if you want to change your course or sit in on a few classes in 2ndry school someone in your college may be able to help arrange that. Right now it could just be fear of the unknown is driving you.
    4. Don't just settle - find something you enjoy doing and something you can see yourself doing for the next 20 or 30 years...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

It would be so nice to know what you want to be when you grow up, Im nearly 40, almost finished my second degree in one discipline and just started my third degree in another, already educated to masters level in my original area of interest - and I still dont know!!!

First of all - finish the degree. Forget about the fact that you may not want to do anything with english and history for the rest of your life, thats irrelevant!! Youve already put in years of time, so finish it off, then thats something completed and an Arts degree will be a door opener for careers or further education later.

And stop worrying about the whole rest of your life right now! You are young, you have ages to figure out what you want to do. There is no such thing as a snobbery when it comes to paying jobs, and btw - you wont become a beautician without doing beauty therapy in college for a few years anyway.

Why dont you consider travelling for a year or two after you graduate and think about what you want to do while youre at it? Theres feck all jobs here for graduates anyway at the moment and you talk about erasmus fondly so it would suit you - maybe you could teach english as a foreign language and see does teaching suit you at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭yer man!

Jesus OP I'm in almost the exact same position as yourself, when I was filling out the CAO form when I was 17 I didn't really know what I wanted to do so I just went for science, seemed to have loads of possibilities, going into final year now and thinking I made a big mistake, no passion for the subject, I have to force myself to do, I don't feel compelled to do it nor do I get any stimulation from it. I'm now making the decision to go back to college after this degree and do engineering, something I know I would like.

Like yourself I thought "ah sure this course will be grand", it wasn't until I got a placement relevant to my course and saw what the type of job I can get with my degree I decided, no way do I want to do this.

You got some good advice above, finish the degree, then take a step back and have a look at what you really want. Don't worry about wasting time deciding.... I know loads of people who took years out after their degree and then decided to go back to do a course they loved and now they love their jobs. Have a look at everything your college can offer you and maybe book an appointment with the career development department in the college, they see this stuff all the time, it's very common for a student to feel this going into final year, shít just got a bit more real, end of college used always seem really far away, it isn't.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 529 ✭✭✭clio_16v

I'm almost 30 and don't know what I want to do with my life. I've been in a similar situation with Arts in the past. I wanted to be a teacher but never felt the passion and failed. It's a massive regret of mine that I just gave up.

My advice would be to finish the degree, 1 more year of not being 100% about what you're doing and you'll have a degree. Having a degree is a great thing, even if your grade is average and it's not necessarily what you want. Also, the beauty of an Arts degree is that there is so many Postgrads / Masters / HDips that you can do. There's a world of opportunities out there. My friend did an Arts degree in History and Maths, with a view to becoming a teacher. Then went on to do a Postgrad in IT and Finance and is on his way to being an accountant...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 690 ✭✭✭puffishoes

For the majority of jobs the degree you did is irrelevant.

In more cases than not the degree is to prove you can actually start something, stick with it for a number of years and finish it. for the most part the subject matter doesn't really matter.

Finish it out and review when your done. anything you will require for the vast majority of jobs you acquired by the junior cert that you can read, remember and repeat.

Relax and enjoy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭Degringola

I agree entirely with Puffishoes. An Arts degree is a record of proven ability. It does not just narrow down into teaching.

It will open a lot of doors for you. Advertising, PR, careers in the cultural/heritage/tourist sector just to name a couple off the top of my head. You could do law. A friend of mine who has the same degree as you is at the top of her profession as a Purchasing Manager in an FDI.

There's loads of avenues you can pursue. Finish your degree and get the best results you can. You may not see it now, but it will open doors for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Wow. Had to reply to this. I am exactly in the same position.
    I'm 21, I repeated my LC. I got offered Arts(not first choice). I was excited at the prospect of finally getting to University. However, once fresher's week ended, it all of sudden was a very isolating place in arts. I became overwhelmed, fell behind and stress got the better of me! I am highly stressed now, I failed first year.
    My parents, the university and I, need an answer as to what the hell I'm gonna do now!?!
    I have no idea as now fee's are in the middle of it all too...

-Repeat first year arts with fee's
    -Go to work full time for a year
    -Repeat the LC again and apply next year to my first choice

No idea what to do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 984 ✭✭✭ViveLaVie

In September I will be entering into my final year of my Arts degree in English and History, after a year abroad on Erasmus and plan on trying to become a secondary school teacher after.

When I made the decision to do this course at college I had convinced myself it was the right course for me despite not being a great reader. I know how stupid it now sounds to have done a degree in English and History and not really like reading.
    I was convinced I would learn to love reading by doing a course where I would have to read a lot. I did really like doing English at leaving cert. but it was mainly the analysis of the material after it was read and writing essays and not the act of reading that I enjoyed. In first year I got on really well so felt justified in my decision to do the course and carried on into second year.

From second year things went down hill. I got on OK with grades, nothing spectacular but decent. But I started to realise how different I was to some of the people on my course. I began to really envy people would loved the course, who loved reading and who loved history and were much more knowledgeable than me and it came easier to them because they loved it. I knew I was lacking in that passion and enthusiasm and the love for both subjects. I feel really intimidated by those that are better than me because I knew they made the right decision as regards to college and future careers and I had not. But it was easy to glide through the course seen as Arts is so large. It is frankly embarrassing and pathetic the gaps in my knowledge, particularly historical knowledge, and the long list of books that I have not read, books that a final year student of English should have read by now. It makes me cringe with embarrassment. And I know I can force myself to sit down and read all those books and learn all that information but that would be just it, I would be forcing myself to do it. If I read I can end up enjoying it but it is not a passion, it is not a love and I do not derive all that much pleasure from it. People who do an English and History course I feel should love it and I don't and it is a hard thing to finally admit to yourself after wasting so many years and so much money doing a course in it, a lot of it my parents' money which makes me feel so guilty.

Last year I went on Erasmus, one of the things that does actually make me glad I did Arts. But I know part of the reason I went was to avoid final year. Now I will be heading into final year. It had gone back and forth in my mind while abroad about dropping out but have decided to finish the course as it seems to make the most sense after doing 3 years of it. And also because I don't know what else I would do either and I want to move back to were I go to college instead of living at home.

When I made the decision to do this degree graduating and actually having to get a job at the end of it seemed like a really long way away and because I was doing English and History it seemed natural to try and become a teacher. But I think I would most likely be a really bad teacher. I am not great for public speaking and would hardly be able to portray a love for either subject to pupils. Plus the fact that I would be scared of making mistakes in front of the class due to the gaps in my knowledge, particularly in History.

Having said that I don't know what else to try and do. The only thing that I think I could like is beauty therapy but I don't even know how much I'd like that either really. And I also know that a teacher is a better job in terms of pay, holidays etc. than a beautician, even if a person should not become a teacher for those reasons. And while it maybe snobby I would feel like I did really waste 4 years of college if all I was to become by the end of it was a beautician tbh. I did think I trying to become a national school teacher as I am good with children and would not have as a problem speaking in front of them but would need to learn Irish and am not sure how to go about this.

I feel totally lost and sometimes it depresses me so much so I push it to the back of my mind and try not to deal with it but it is harder to not think about now that I have only a year of college left and am none the wiser on the job I will try to have after. I wish I was one of those people that just knew the career for them, that just knew their passion and love. Failing that I wish I had picked a more sensible degree that would get me a good, well paying job at the end of it that I could be at least adequate at. I feel like I really failed at this. I can not afford to go to college again and I would be afraid of being crap at a new degree even if I could try and do another one.

Sorry this is a lot longer than I had expected. I hope someone can give me some practical advice on what I should do next.

OP, I have a degree in English and I can assure you that the majority of people studying English at third level are not consumed with passion for the subject. Most are coasting through. You said you enjoy the analysis of material and writing essays - that's the hardest part. The reading is tough but it is your ability to analyse and criticise that material that is crucial to doing well in the subject. I certainly didn't like reading all of the books I was supposed to read and I would consider myself pretty passionate about the subject. In my experience it is only really dedicated and gifted students that are obsessed completely with their choice of discipline. I think you are comparing yourself to rather unusual students in this respect.

You said you did really well in first year and decent enough in second year. Well done. What's bad about that? Perhaps you are disappointed in your grades in second year and it is now manifesting as a disinterest in the course in general? This happened to me. When I worked hard and did well I was extremely motivated and ambitious. When I got lazy and fobbed off my work I grew disinterested in the subject in general.

Teaching is a calling. People mistakenly assume that the only 'proper' career open to Arts graduates is teaching. This means we end up with disinterested teachers further down the line. There are numerous careers that can be accessed through an Arts degree. Several other jobs will require an employee with the critical thinking skills that Arts fosters. Think outside the box and don't be pigeon-holed into a job you'll hate because it's expected of you.

Even if you do complete the degree and never use your subject knowledge again it is not a waste. You can apply the skills you learned to any job. There is a value to learning beyond employability.

Best of luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 984 ✭✭✭ViveLaVie

Wow. Had to reply to this. I am exactly in the same position.
    I'm 21, I repeated my LC. I got offered Arts(not first choice). I was excited at the prospect of finally getting to University. However, once fresher's week ended, it all of sudden was a very isolating place in arts. I became overwhelmed, fell behind and stress got the better of me! I am highly stressed now, I failed first year.
    My parents, the university and I, need an answer as to what the hell I'm gonna do now!?!
    I have no idea as now fee's are in the middle of it all too...

-Repeat first year arts with fee's
    -Go to work full time for a year
    -Repeat the LC again and apply next year to my first choice

No idea what to do

Maybe take the year out. Defer your course for now. You could try to get a job and save up for the fees and/or do a PLC course or something that might help you get into the course you really want? It's not the end of the world, though it seems like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,368 ✭✭✭The_Morrigan

OP, please do not jack in the course you have already started. That would be a waste of 3 years.

You may think that everyone around you is flying through the course but you don't know that for sure - everyone has different levels of success and failure when it comes to education. We all have strengths and weaknesses and you have to sit yourself down and figure out what you want to do and what will make you happy, it may not even be something you wish to do right now. It doesn't matter if you wish to be a scientist or a bin collector - it is your life and you must make yourself happy by the choices you make.

I have two siblings and between the three of us we have had varying degrees of success/failure with college and life. At no point were any of us flying through our courses, we all struggled.

My brother did an Arts degree and struggled at every point. He did English & Music and it was the music element that made him go to college daily. He is one of the most well read, intelligent people I know (after our father) and he struggled for the whole course and got very stressed out about it. But he kept at it and got a 2.1, he went on to do a post grad in St Pats and is now a struggling primary school teacher down the country - he does love it, and teaching comes naturally to him so he strived to achieve that. He has to teach grinds and in a local drama school to supplement his income, but he is doing something he loves and he worked very hard for it.

My other brother, also struggled with college and dropped out of one course and re-registered into another (which cost him a fortune). He eventually dropped out of the second course as neither made him happy. He spent a few years working in a hotel doing crappy jobs till he figured out what he wanted to do with his life.

I'm nearly 32 years of age and at 19 I dropped out of college and spent years working in an industry just coasting along, taking the wages and having absolutely no real interest in it. I always regretting not going to college and completing a degree - I felt completely uneducated.
    However, at 28 I returned to college part time and started a legal studies diploma. I'm now about to do my final year in a law degree and after successful completion of that I hope to get professional qualifications in compliance. A very far cry from the multi media degree I attempted at 18 and failed miserably at! I'm not a top marks student, I struggle with some elements of the course and I've been known to have complete and utter meltdowns when it comes to learning things off and keeping on top of my reading. For me, the law degree is a stepping stone to compliance as I don't want to be a solr or BL, and that 'lightbulb' moment to go into compliance only hit me a few weeks ago, as I was heading into my final year of law.

OP, I feel for you, I've spent the last 10 years not knowing what I wanted to be when I grew up, and at times you have to do things you don't like to get to a point where you are happy. I would say though, that a completed degree opens up the world of further education as you can opt for a post graduate degree in another discipline (which typically are shorter). There is also nothing wrong with taking some time out to review your life after you finish your degree. Travel, experience other jobs etc - something may click with you and make you want to pursue that as a career.

Best of Luck.