Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tips for learning German

Options
  • 15-08-2012 10:28pm
    Registered Users Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭

Hi guys, So I have been learning German for a few months now mainly using the Pimsluer Series and my previous knowledge from studying it in school some years ago. I was just wondering what tips any non native (or native) speakers would have for learning new words, word and sentence order, grammar? One thing I have been doing is sticking post-its on everything in my house with the German translation, the gender and the plural. Anyone got any other tips?

PS Would love to see this forum more active! :)

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 838 ✭✭✭human 19

I worked in a boring hotel porter job in Hamburd and had in my pocketes, little bits of white card with an irregular verb on 1 side , and the 2 variations of the past tense on the back , and would whip them now and again and test myself.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭rp

Things I used to do:
    • When reading a book (in German), ignore words you don't know until they've appeared a few times (and you've started to guess the meaning from the context), and only then look them up in a dictionary: seems to stick better after that, plus you are not spending all your time flicking thru a dictionary - its also makes the book more interesting when you find out the real meaning of the word and the whole plot unravels...
    • Watch moves with the subtitles in English, the mind sort of subliminally links what it hears and sees.