Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fast Car for 3-4 grand?

• 15-08-2012 11:46am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4

Hi All,

Hate starting one of these threads again but not sure what to get its driven me mad!!

Im just turning 25 and my insurance is now fairly cheap want something cheap to run and fast / fun to drive ( have a 1.5 almera now )

Heres waht I ve been looking at so far

Civic / Integra Type R - Still cant get insured on one with any company

Altezzas - Nice to look at but expensive tax / eats petrol

Mazda RX-8 - Rotary engine expensive to maintain enough said

Starlets / Levins - Cheap tax but hard to find a nice one alot of scrapheaps out there

Any ideas????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

legnum/Galant VR4,
    Twin turbo, 4 wheel drive and 276 bhp.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o7MR7o3X5ms&feature=relmfu

There are a few in Ireland that come up for sale from time to time.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 963 ✭✭✭NinjaK

try 123.ie with a civic type r

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

If you're worried about tax or running costs or maintenance costs then any kind of performance car isn't for you.

I was going to suggest a Honda of some description but that's out.

An Evo 5 would be picked up for that money, or an Impreza/Legacy.

If you're after something a little more subtle, look German. A golf GTI .mk4 can be had for very small money. Your budget would buy a nice 02/03 1.8t and leave you with money over for some nice mods too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,594 ✭✭✭tossy

You'd stretch as a far as an early S3 for the money now,if you are patient.Different league to the mk4 golf although comes with slightly higher running costs.

Would an S3 be bought for that money? Couldn't be got when I was looking back in Feb, anything that was for sale at that money was dog rough

There are 1 or 2 at 3,900e now that would appear not that bad on the face of it,but that's only going by the Ads of course,the certainly don't seem as rough as some of the examples i viewed and drove when buying my own and i think both are owned by enthusiasts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,620 ✭✭✭Graham_B18C

I got rid of an Integra two days ago that I had from when I was 22 and I could insure it, I was paying 640 this year TPFT with Quinn (I'm 25 now)

If you already have a policy with them, they'll change it to the new car. 123 wouldn't quote me on any Type R though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭freestyla

If you're worried about tax or running costs or maintenance costs then any kind of performance car isn't for you.

Your budget would buy a nice 02/03 1.8t and leave you with money over for some nice mods too.

something with well maintained 1.8T is maybe the fastest you can get with the budget.

If you still wanted to take in concern lower running costs, maybe need to go for a bit slower

One guy was looking these few weeks ago, with 4.5k budget:
    - Mini 04-05
    - Bmw 3 or 5 series with 2.0 engine, 01-02
    - Alfa romeo 147 1.6
    - Audi A3/A4 with 1.8t
    Then he found and bought a mint Toyota Rav4 04 with 2.4 160hp for just under 4k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭Limbo123

Corolla t-sport?
    1.8t
    189 bhp

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 538 ✭✭✭little big planet 2

ford sierra mint con 4,800 380bhp
    http://photos2.donedeal.ie/Full-12850343.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

No love for Nissan?
    You'll get an S13/14 for that money or a Z32 300ZX if you fancy something different.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

Limbo123 wrote: »
    Corolla t-sport?
    1.8t
    189 bhp

minus the "T" :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Viper_JB

You should have a look at a few Toyota MR2 Turbo's, for that money you'd get a great one - reliable car and pretty good on petrol depending on how you drive....as long as you don't need more then two seats....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

well depends if your gonna mod it or not op and to what extent...

supra's are pretty low in pirce atm as are soarers and such, high tax and petrol costs but you can't fault their performance.

if not wrx/evo might be a decent idea, maybe a silvia as listed above.

A decent .tt supra is upwards of 8k and you'd need to go to the UK for one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

A decent .tt supra is upwards of 8k and you'd need to go to the UK for one.

not for a late 80's model... more to the point, it won't be super fast, but it'll hold with most anything with minimal mods.. providing you do most of the work yourself to keep costs down, heck remove all the interior bits and pieces and get a membership with the AA... every kilo counts ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

does it have to be fairly new ?

How bout looking at a good Peugeot 205 Gti or 106 Gti or a R5 Gt Turbo ? Super little cars - far superior to a lot of the ones you mentioned - If you bought a half decent one of either and kept it in good nick you should make your money back no problem when your done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Gerry_G87

Hi Lads,

Cheers for all the suggestions , It would have to be fairly new and under 2 litre

Supras and that would be out of the question , was thinking more like a levin or altezza but the altezzas are very bad on the juice

Gerry_G87 wrote: »
    Hi Lads,

Cheers for all the suggestions , It would have to be fairly new and under 2 litre

Supras and that would be out of the question , was thinking more like a levin or altezza but the altezzas are very bad on the juice

So buy a Silvia, problem solved.
    2l, turbo, faster are better looking than a 'tezza. It's perfect. :)

CianRyan wrote: »
    So buy a Silvia, problem solved.
    2l, turbo, faster are better looking than a 'tezza. It's perfect. :)

Dude a silvia isn't the solution to everything!! And if he thinks a tezza will be thirsty he won enjoy fueling a silvia either.

Levins aren't that quick so I'd rule one out. Something German seems to fit the bill here...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 538 ✭✭✭little big planet 2

get a t red d red i golf and remap it to 180 bhp it have will tonnes of torque wont be heavy on juice wont need servicing as often as the other suggestions and its the torque that you notice when driving on the streets not power

Dude a silvia isn't the solution to everything!! And if he thinks a tezza will be thirsty he won enjoy fueling a silvia either.

Levins aren't that quick so I'd rule one out. Something German seems to fit the bill here...

It's more just me wanting one and projecting that onto everyone else. :p
    An Altezza and a Silvia with a sr20det are actually fairly similar economy wise.
    get a t red d red i golf and remap it to 180 bhp it have will tonnes of torque wont be heavy on juice wont need servicing as often as the other suggestions and its the torque that you notice when driving on the streets not power

:(

wont be heavy on juice wont need servicing as often as ....

....Won't be fast either :D

tossy wrote: »
    ....Won't be fast either :D

5000rpm redline. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭hi_im_fil

Loads of torque but in a narrow power band... Grand for normal driving but if you want a genuinely quick car a tdi is not the answer ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭freestyla

Almost in the budget bracket:
    2004 Alfa Romeo GT 3.2 V6 NEW NCT, Tyres, T/belt, W/pump, Battery €4,750

7070511.001.1M.jpg

+ four seats and big boot for a sport car
    + 240 absolutely beautiful horses with characteristic, sound and looks
    - was going to suggest 156 GTA because of the rear doors (if needed), a bit stronger engine and it also has stiffer rear end but it's 5500eur

or a bit slower but bigger and more luxurious:
    2003 Alfa Romeo 166 ALFA 3.0 V6 4DR A €3,750

no-image-large.gif&width=400&height=300

+ Mileage 64,500 M / 103,803 KM

Now these beauties do eat petrol a lot in URBAN -elsewhere they grand. Combined 19mpg.

Want 29mpg and 165 horses? cheaper price and tax too..
    2003 Alfa Romeo 156 2.0 JTS VELOCE 04DR €2,500

no-image-large.gif&width=400&height=300

- rear seats don't fold down.
    + very nice to drive!

Test 2 liter 156 you'll love her.
    Test V6 one she will change you into better man - you'll figure out the way to afford driving it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭Mully_2011

1.7 Puma
    2nd gen 1.8 speed mx5
    2.0 20VT Fiat coupe (ugly bastard of the car though)
    N\A 2nd gen RX7
    2.0 GTi6 306
    Peugeot 205 GTi
    MK2 Golf GTi 16V (dont bother with a mk3 or 2.0 mk4 there ****)
    Corrado
    MKIV Golf era GTi cars 1.8 20VT (Leon Cupra VRS skoda etc)
    Unmolested uk spec dohc vtec civic
    Clio 172
    2nd and 3rd gen mr2
    Rough AE86 Twincam
    Celicas
    Nissan 200sx/180sx/silvia
    2.0 GT twin turbo mk3 Supra (hard got not that fast)
    2nd gen lancia Delta (LHD only)
    E30 318is
    Early 02 Mini Coopers
    MGF

lots of cars out there for the money.Think outside the box and have a look at the uk market aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,691 ✭✭✭david

Do you need 4/5 seats?

If not you should test drive an MX-5. Not fast in a straight line by any measure but they are seriously fun on the twistys.

If it's practical you're looking for I'd check out a Golf GTI or Audi S3 if you find a clean one under budget. The insurance isn't too bad. A MK4 would be relatively cheap on tax (1.8) and has decent power. I drive a MK5 and it does 6.5-7.2 l/100km (40-44MPG) on everyday driving, non-motorway mostly R roads. About 10 l/100km from spirited driving (28MPG). I couldn't imagine a MK4 being much worse on fuel. Parts for both Audi & VW are relatively cheap, no more than any other VAG.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

buy this - fast as you'll ever need it to be ( particularly round the twisties ) and will certainly leave a lot of what's been suggested here for dead. Also if you keep it right you'll get what you paid for it back plus more if you are lucky

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/3850838

other wise and MX5 is a lot of fun. lots about and lots of simple mods to make it straight line fast.

I would hate to see a Glanza try keep up with either on a proper road btw !

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 963 ✭✭✭NinjaK

RobAMerc wrote: »
    buy this - fast as you'll ever need it to be ( particularly round the twisties ) and will certainly leave a lot of what's been suggested here for dead. Also if you keep it right you'll get what you paid for it back plus more if you are lucky

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/3850838

other wise and MX5 is a lot of fun. lots about and lots of simple mods to make it straight line fast.

I would hate to see a Glanza try keep up with either on a proper road btw !

im sure its fun to drive but it looks like crap imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,620 ✭✭✭Graham_B18C

NinjaK wrote: »

The 205 may not be the prettiest car, but it oozes cool IMO

That's motoring blasphemy dude! the 205 GTI is a petrol head icon.

It's "the best" hot hatch that can be bought according to a lot of reviewers. That's all subjective though.
    It's got really sorted handling but it'd be a bit under powered.
    A fun car yes, a fast car no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

0 - 60 in just under 7 seconds. A new Golf GTi aint must faster than that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

I think OP want to have a cake and a cock and use them both at the same time.

Cheap, newish, cheap running costs, fast. Low tax. You can't have everything.
    If we are talking running costs wise then I would rule out all subarus, evos, s-bodies. Pretty much anything with turbo. If you are looking for performance car prepare to pay for it.
    Levins... Nope... No offence to anyone. Altezzas? Lovely cruisers and donut bakers. Not fast and you will struggle to find clean one on budget.

2 options that I see OP could go for:

Mx5, which an amazing drivers car. It has enough power for its body. It's a twincam in sheeps clothing. My mx5 is still a lot more fun to drive then my old 400hp skyline and my current wrx. With 4k, you could buy a nice mk1 for 2k and spend 2k on Some tasty mods.

Honda. Some sir or type-r. You could get a very clean one for that money.

--Kaiser-- wrote: »
    0 - 60 in just under 7 seconds. A new Golf GTi aint must faster than that

If you can find me a stock Levin to do that time then fair play.

Those factory figures are a bit optimistic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

If you can find me a stock Levin to do that time then fair play.

Those factory figures are a bit optimistic.

Mine does (stock as well) :cool:
    Most Levins in this country are balls of scrap though