Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Crusaders AC - Tuesday track sessions for a newbie

• 14-08-2012 10:12am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭

I dont know if any one from Crusaders AC frequents the forum but I sent an email to Crusaders AC during the week but got no reply. Is it ok to come down to the Tuesday track session to see what the club is like before I join?

What is the format generally for a Tuesday night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

absolutely it is.

The format is a group warm-up from approx. 6.30-6.45 and then an interval session for approx. 40 minutes before a warm down. There are about 5 groups of runners, each at differing levels so you should find a group you're comfortable in (although not too comfortable). Ask for Michael when you get there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭ollietrex

Perfect thanks, see you later :D

ollietrex wrote: »
    Perfect thanks, see you later :D

I wish! The training times don't suit me, too early in the evening, so I do mine in the mornings before work...6.30 pm is much more civilized than 6.00 am, but needs must :D

Well, how did you get on ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭ollietrex

Hey, thanks for the post earlier, I was hoping some one was going to say I could not go or something as I have been putting it off for a good while.

Was great in the end, spoke to Michael and he talked me though everything, just about managed the session which is exactly what I needed :)

Roll on the next session :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

ollietrex wrote: »
    Hey, thanks for the post earlier, I was hoping some one was going to say I could not go or something as I have been putting it off for a good while.

Was great in the end, spoke to Michael and he talked me though everything, just about managed the session which is exactly what I needed :)

Roll on the next session :)

Fair play for getting out there its great to see hopefully there will be more to follow your example

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭PaulieYifter

Were you signed up as a race marshal for the Grant Thornton run in September? Ha!

Seriously - only joined the club myself a couple of weeks ago and really enjoy the Tues track sessions (although last night we were running intervals in the park).

There was a huge crowd there last night - Olympics + nice evening must be the inspiration.

No doubt we'll run into each other some evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,693 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

+1 - welcome :)

But I also miss the Tuesday and Thursday sessions because of work, even with my work about a mile away from track! Last Tuesday the marathon training group were doing a brilliant looking Pyramid session on the track. I had changed into my gear at the office and all, and was dragged into a meeting JUST before heading out the door, at 6.30 - lookin' slick in my glow in the dark Dublin Night Run top :eek:

Im therefore more of a Saturday and Sunday morning Crusaders member, but that is why clubs are great, always someone on something like your schedule to group with :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭RoyMcC

Are the Cru junior track group getting a look in with you great brutes these evenings? When I was last involved at Irishtown towards the end of '09 space was at a distinct premium for the various Tues/Thurs groups :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 920 ✭✭✭RandyMann

RoyMcC wrote: »
    Are the Cru junior track group getting a look in with you great brutes these evenings? When I was last involved at Irishtown towards the end of '09 space was at a distinct premium for the various Tues/Thurs groups :)

Ah they do as my two daughters do those nights with me. But yes it is fairly full on a Tuesday but the juniors have the track to themsleves on Thursday along with the sprinters(which is nicesmile.gif)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

What do you do at the track sessions; and what sort of times do people post?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 920 ✭✭✭RandyMann

Tombo2001 wrote: »
    What do you do at the track sessions; and what sort of times do people post?

Middle distance group do interval sessions(but there are many different sessions) eg. 10 * 400s with 40 sec recovery
    Anything from an 8 minute 3k up to a 15 minute 3k for a beginner in a 3k time trial I have seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭Marthastew

We joined as a family a few weeks ago and we're really enjoying it.
    I was loving the Tuesday and Thursday sessions but am unfortunately on a short break at the moment because of a calf strain:mad:
    My sons are busy with rugby and GAA during the school year so they are really enjoying the junior sessions and they've had a chance to try out using blocks, sprinting, long-jump, high-jump, hammer throw, shot-putt....
    Mr Stew is also enjoying the weekday evening sessions when he can make it and everybody is extremely friendly.
    I'm looking forward to progressing over the winter after my marathon training; training usually tends to fall off a little then so it will be good to have a focus.

Were you signed up as a race marshal for the Grant Thornton run in September? Ha!

Seriously - only joined the club myself a couple of weeks ago and really enjoy the Tues track sessions (although last night we were running intervals in the park).

There was a huge crowd there last night - Olympics + nice evening must be the inspiration.

No doubt we'll run into each other some evening.

How did your race go at the weekend? Did you do us proud with a PB:)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭PaulieYifter

Marthastew wrote: »
    How did your race go at the weekend? Did you do us proud with a PB:)?

Annagassan 10k Mini Report

Proud I'm not so sure but yes a PB of 40:39 :) and a top 20 finish (20/256)

Felt a bit deflated cause
    1) I didn't go sub 40 :mad:
    2) A lad from work beat me by 14 seconds :o

Well organised race though - accurate measurement, plenty of marshals, 2 water stops and lads on bikes with water - didn't hang around after but plenty of tea, cake and sandwiches provided, chip mats at start and finish and even a mat before the finish for the man on the mic. to call out your name as you cross the line.
    Fast enough course with a downhill start but given the large parts right along the coast it may be difficult to get a day where the wind isn't a factor.
    Windy and all as Saturday was there a day like today would have been impossible!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭Marthastew

Annagassan 10k Mini Report

Proud I'm not so sure but yes a PB of 40:39 :) and a top 20 finish (20/256)

Felt a bit deflated cause
    1) I didn't go sub 40 :mad:
    2) A lad from work beat me by 14 seconds :o

Well organised race though - accurate measurement, plenty of marshals, 2 water stops and lads on bikes with water - didn't hang around after but plenty of tea, cake and sandwiches provided, chip mats at start and finish and even a mat before the finish for the man on the mic. to call out your name as you cross the line.
    Fast enough course with a downhill start but given the large parts right along the coast it may be difficult to get a day where the wind isn't a factor.
    Windy and all as Saturday was there a day like today would have been impossible!

Congrats on the PB and a fabulous result. I'm sure you're disappointed you didn't go sub 40, on the plus side, neither did the guy from work:D