Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clamped Illegally

• 13-08-2012 1:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭

I just got clamped by the nice folks at apoca. This is depite having a valid parking permit that I have paid for.

The clamper says that I got clamped because the permit it registered to a different car. This is true seeing as I changed cars in the past few months.

I asked to speak to his boss several times but he just flat out said no.

Is there anything I can do here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

Why did you wait months to change the permit?

Also, /follow thread :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭dubbeat

I didnt realise that if I changed cars I had to update the details of the permit. As far as I was concerned a valid permit is a valid permit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

dubbeat wrote: »
    I didnt realise that if I changed cars I had to update the details of the permit. As far as I was concerned a valid permit is a valid permit.

You obviously had to give your reg number when you got the permit, so it was quite obvious that the permit is based on the car reg. So it is a bit baffling that you didn't realise that you needed to change the details when you got a new car

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

The permit was valid, for your old car. I presume the permit has a reg on it? You don't seem to have much of a comeback here, bar goodwill from the clamping company. And sure we know they're all a great bunch of lads.

MarkR wrote: »
    The permit was valid, for your old car. I presume the permit has a reg on it? You don't seem to have much of a comeback here, bar goodwill from the clamping company. And sure we know they're all a great bunch of lads.

No the permit doesnt have a reg on it. Just a bar code

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

Which when they scan it shows up a reg that isn't yours.

Hence the clamp, they aren't psychic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Theboinkmaster

Is there anything I can do here?

Cut if off or pay the fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭giant_midget

Cut if off or pay the fine.

fixed that for you...:pac:

I think I might let the air out and try and remove it that way to avoid the whole criminal damage business

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

I think I might let the air out and try and remove it that way to avoid the whole criminal damage business

It's an inflatable clamp? Just pop the fecker and forget about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭giant_midget

Well it's your car, so any foreign object attached to it is liable to damage isn't it...

It's an inflatable clamp? Just pop the fecker and forget about it.

No no, I meant the wheel :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

"Clamped Illegally"

Is there any other kind?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

i don't see you have any option but to pay to get it removed. Your error is the reason for the clamping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Max Power1 wrote: »

Is there any other kind?

Yes, there is legal clamping too facilitated by local Bye Laws. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

Antares wrote: »
    Yes, there is legal clamping too facilitated by local Bye Laws. :)
    Thats done by DCC though, the OP indicated that this was a private "firm"

It is an offence to interfere..with a vehicle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

Is it a chain type clamp with a triangle on the front of the wheel? If so deflating the tyre will just leave you with a deflated tyre!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

"Clamped Illegally"

Is there any other kind?
    Thats done by DCC though, the OP indicated that this was a private "firm"

It is an offence to interfere..with a vehicle

Correct and other councils however your statement was quite broad hence my response that yes, Legal clamping does exist.

And yes, it is an offence to interfere with the mechanism of a vehicle.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

Anan1 incoming.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

what will that achieve?
    More than likely the chain is passing through your suspension/wishbone so letting the air out of your tyre will just leave you still clamped, but with a flat tyre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

KamiKazi wrote: »
    Anan1 incoming.
    Not cool, Infraction issued.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭mhigh86

I think we all know how this is going to end........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭él statutorio

Not cool, Infraction issued.

harsh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭nellocono

Cut it off or at least try. Google is you friend if you need some tips. Also post the before and after pics

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭monkeypants

No the permit doesnt have a reg on it. Just a bar code
    So how are you supposed to know what car it's for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

BDJW wrote: »

You obviously had to give your reg number when you got the permit, so it was quite obvious that the permit is based on the car reg. So it is a bit baffling that you didn't realise that you needed to change the details when you got a new car

It's not at all obvious. If it was, this thread wouldn't be here.

And, unless you can show proof otherwise, the permit is NOT issued to a reg. Its issued to a RESIDENT.

OP, put on the searchlight.......time for help to cut it off.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

galwaytt wrote: »

And, unless you can show proof otherwise, the permit is NOT issued to a reg. Its issued to a RESIDENT.

Show me one instance when a permit is for a resident and not a car!

I'm genuinely interested as I've never heard of it

That's why GaryITR keeps getting clamped, if that was the case, he could just put the sticker on the other car when they leave the apartment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭monkeypants

1) Superglue clamp lock.
    2) Call clamping company and pay charge.
    3) Make clamping company cut off their own clamp.

Do not advocate criminal acts. Infraction issued. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,209 ✭✭✭T-Maxx

Pay the fine (aka school fees for people having bad luck when it comes to thinking).

Move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

T-Maxx wrote: »
    Pay the fine (aka school fees for people having bad luck when it comes to thinking).

Move on.

Yeah but that's no fun though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Tallon wrote: »

Ive stayed in places where each house got X amount of permits to dole out. If it was a while since the OP got the permit is reasonable enough to asume he forgot the permit was car-specific, especially if it wasnt printed on the thing

Would gluing the lock be considered criminal damage? You're not really damaging anything

You are damaging the lock. Which is not your property.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

The lock isn't damaged, the glue is just preventing it from working. If you could remove the glue, difficult as that might be, the lock would work fine

A bit like the clamp on the car, funnily enough

I think the Gardaí and the courts might have very different views.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,129 ✭✭✭kirving

I think that's a pretty perfect analogy. Super glue can be easily removed if you have the correct chemicals/equipment, as can the lock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

galwaytt wrote: »

I'm genuinely interested as I've never heard of it

That's why GaryITR keeps getting clamped, if that was the case, he could just put the sticker on the other car when they leave the apartment
    Completely wrong about my case there. My permit was issued to me and not my car. I chose to leave it on the civic because my coilovers cost more than the car is worth and I don't want some untrained clown wrapping a chain around them and other parts that cost me a fortune. My van keeps getting clamped even though a permit has been in the post since march :rolleyes:

So yours has no reg? What's to stop you copying them? Are they watermarked?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

So yours has no reg? What's to stop you copying them? Are they watermarked?
    Hologram and I shouldn't have to copy it. I have been promised by ncps that I won't be clamped again though so we'll see. Consaw is at the ready though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,532 ✭✭✭Unregistered.

Question. Has anyone reported an instance of illegal clamping to the Gardai?* If so, what was the outcome?

*Obviously the Gardai have more important things to do, not suggesting the OP calls them.

Question. Has anyone reported an instance of illegal clamping to the Gardai?* If so, what was the outcome?

*Obviously the Gardai have more important things to do, not suggesting the OP calls them.
    That would be a civil matter, Sir!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭mandrake04

Just something I have always wondered about cutting clamps, if someone cut a clamp and deposed of it (ie bury it or throw it in a river) then how can they prove you damaged or interfered with the clamp.

As an example if I cut a clamp off and got rid of it and the clamping firm lobbed up asking about the clamp and I played dumb and said 'what clamp' how could they prove I damaged anything? I would be asking for Photographic or video evidence or a sworn statement that I had actually damaged anything.

It is possible that in the real world

a) Someone walking past my car would say 'there's a nice looking clamp, I'll have that as it might come handy some day'

b) They clamped a ringer (a car that matches your description and has false plates)

How would a clamping company prove that I did anything?

I am not as condoning cutting off clamps but just wondering how would they actually prove that I actually did something unlawful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,532 ✭✭✭Unregistered.

That would be a civil matter, Sir!
    Sweet! How much do the locks they use cost? Might start carrying a bolt cutters and a few locks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭robertpatterson

Surprised noones mentioned homer yet!
    http://www.simpsonspark.com/framegrabs/4f22/frame236.jpg
    Only joking not advocating any illegal action:D