Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bike fit service

• 13-08-2012 12:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48

I'm back on the road bike after 15 year break. I've 2500 Km done (mostly in the last year). Really enjoying it.

After about 2 / 2.5 hour , I get a pain in my shoulder. The very widest part of my shoulder. I went into LBS today and they offer a pro bike fit service for €150. Would this be worth while / good service.

I think the bike is setup reasonabily ok, it feels good anyway.

Any opinions ???

Alan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Is up to you but that seems very expensive for something that will probably take less than 10 minutes to do. There are plenty of tutorials on YouTube and else where on setting up a bike, I'd rather try do it myself than pay that price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭MB Lacey

Wheelworx do a bike fit for €90.
    The €90 covers the initial bike fit and you are then able to keep going back to them for a year (for free) until you're completely happy with your stem length/ saddle position etc.

I went to them because I was getting awful pain in my left shoulder.
    They changed my stem length and the pain has now gone.
    Great feeling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭mel.b

CJC999 wrote: »
    Is up to you but that seems very expensive for something that will probably take less than 10 minutes to do. There are plenty of tutorials on YouTube and else where on setting up a bike, I'd rather try do it myself than pay that price.

I'd very very surprised and wary of any bike fit that took 10min. Mine was close to 2.5hours and worth every single cent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,116 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

mel.b wrote: »
    I'd very very surprised and wary of any bike fit that took 10min. Mine was close to 2.5hours and worth every single cent.

mine too. Aidan and Michelle here were very good at doing my bike fit. was probably there for over 2.5 hours and was €100. big changes to my set up and not been out a lot since, but rather spend a few quid on a once off than have to keep visiting a Physio!!!

mel.b wrote: »

Ok, didn't realise that and it just goes to
    Prove how utter ****e the place I bought my bike from are as mine took all of 2 minutes. They simply sdjusted the saddle height, stood back and said 'yeah that looks right'

I have my bike and myself booked in for a fit tomorrow at a different place, wasn't sure how long it will take but judging from the comments above I hope it takes a while and is done correctly. I get a pain in my neck after about 1.5 hours in the saddle so hoping a proper fit will cure that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,116 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Prove how utter ****e the place I bought my bike from are as mine took all of 2 minutes. They simply sdjusted the saddle height, stood back and said 'yeah that looks right'

Same here. Propably the reason why I was getting pains in knees, arms, hands, back......
    I have my bike and myself booked in for a fit tomorrow at a different place, wasn't sure how long it will take but judging from the comments above I hope it takes a while and is done correctly. I get a pain in my neck after about 1.5 hours in the saddle so hoping a proper fit will cure that.

That is a quick backdown from
    There are plenty of tutorials on YouTube and else where on setting up a bike, I'd rather try do it myself than pay that price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭get on your bike

I'm back on the road bike after 15 year break. I've 2500 Km done (mostly in the last year). Really enjoying it.

After about 2 / 2.5 hour , I get a pain in my shoulder. The very widest part of my shoulder. I went into LBS today and they offer a pro bike fit service for €150. Would this be worth while / good service.

I think the bike is setup reasonabily ok, it feels good anyway.

Any opinions ???

Alan

Hi al

stevieob wrote: »

Same here. Propably the reason why I was getting pains in knees, arms, hands, back......

That is a quick backdown from
    There are plenty of tutorials on YouTube and else where on setting up a bike, I'd rather try do it myself than pay that price.

Yeah but Ive been quoted 35euro not 150. I wouldn't pay that price for the service no matter how good it's supposed to be. I've been speaking to a few lads who got their fit done at this place im going to and they say the difference before/after is unreal in terms of comfort and being able to put the power to the pedals on hills etc Apparently he uses spirit levels, tape measures and plumb lines to properly fit the person not like the sham fit I had done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,794 ✭✭✭C3PO

Yeah but Ive been quoted 35euro not 150. I wouldn't pay that price for the service no matter how good it's supposed to be. I've been speaking to a few lads who got their fit done at this place im going to and they say the difference before/after is unreal in terms of comfort and being able to put the power to the pedals on hills etc Apparently he uses spirit levels, tape measures and plumb lines to properly fit the person not like the sham fit I had done.

Sounds very cheap for a proper bike fit! Unless someone is doing it for fun I can't see how it could make sense for anyone to offer a decent service at that price! Most people would expect to pay €100-€200 for a professional fit and for it to take close to two hours to complete!

C3PO wrote: »

Sounds very cheap for a proper bike fit! Unless someone is doing it for fun I can't see how it could make sense for anyone to offer a decent service at that price! Most people would expect to pay €100-€200 and for a professional fit and for it to take close to two hours to complete!

Yeah it's an introductory price in a place that opened a few months back, I'm not sure what the full price will be. Anyway I'll know better how good or bad it was in a few days time when I get out for a few spins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,218 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

C3PO wrote: »
    Sounds very cheap for a proper bike fit! Unless someone is doing it for fun I can't see how it could make sense for anyone to offer a decent service at that price! Most people would expect to pay €100-€200 for a professional fit and for it to take close to two hours to complete!

I've had a very long, very technical bike fit in the past involving detailed video analysis.

I'm not sure the results were any better than an experienced fitter looking at my flexibility, asking a couple of questions and tweaking the saddle position/stem, which would take about half an hour.

In other words I'm not sure taking a "rocket science" approach yields better results unless you have some very difficult-to-diagnose issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,174 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Yeah it's an introductory price in a place that opened a few months back, I'm not sure what the full price will be. Anyway I'll know better how good or bad it was in a few days time when I get out for a few spins.

I have the same problem as the OP. I got a boardman carbon road bike about 5 weeks ago and have logged about 750kms on it. The TT and seat tube length seem right howver after about 60km on the saddle I get an ache in my shoulder. I was thinking the fit isn't 100% right and I may need a shorter stem but would like an expert to suggest the best solution. Do you think I should bring it down to the LBS for a proper fit/set up and if so can anyone recommend one in the North Dublin area. Would anyone know if Richie in Swords does it and if so how much does it cost and how long would it roughly take?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,365 ✭✭✭Lusk Doyle

billyhead wrote: »

I have the same problem as the OP. I got a boardman carbon road bike about 5 weeks ago and have logged about 750kms on it. The TT and seat tube length seem right howver after about 60km on the saddle I get an ache in my shoulder. I was thinking the fit isn't 100% right and I may need a shorter stem but would like an expert to suggest the best solution. Do you think I should bring it down to the LBS for a proper fit/set up and if so can anyone recommend one in the North Dublin area. Would anyone know if Richie in Swords does it and if so how much does it cost and how long would it roughly take?

They do bike fits but I dont know the cost.

Lusk Doyle wrote: »
    They do bike fits but I dont know the cost.

Cheers Lusk Doyle. I will book it in with Richie on Saturday and see what he suggests

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭AIR-AUSSIE

I'd try this first - Competitive Cyclist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 AlanConnolly

Thanks for the input peep's.

FYI,the shop in question is Cork based. The fella said that it's a 2 hr job, with video analysis...

I might save up a few quid, and indulge !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭Max_Charger

FYI,the shop in question is Cork based. The fella said that it's a 2 hr job, with video analysis...

The Edge Sports?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭granda

i'm looking for a bike fit as well and as swords is close enough to me i'll might try richies, but does anyone now how good they are at fitting before i shell out my hard earned euros

The Edge Sports?

Yep, thats the one

Might ask yer man in Speedy Spookes. He does some savage bikes too

Yep, thats the one

Might ask yer man in Speedy Spookes. He does some savage bikes too

I've a bike fit booked in with the edge this week, I'll let ya know how I get on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭bbolger

Did one a few months ago with Leo in IrishFit out in Carrickmines.

€90 for 90 mins.

Includes bike setup, rider position, video analysis, etc... really happy with the results.

I've a bike fit booked in with the edge this week, I'll let ya know how I get on.

Do let us know how ya get on. Spot on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭ck101

Bike fits at Base to Race seem very comprehensive and they use laser etc.

I know they put a lot of time into individual fittings and place a lot of emphasis on this service when selling a new bike. They are also cyclists / tri athletes themselves and very professional.

I haven't done one myself but some colleagues have and say its top class.

Btw I don't have a vested interest but I appreciate retail outlets who raise the bar from a customer service perspective.

ck101 wrote: »
    Bike fits at Base to Race seem very comprehensive and they use laser etc.

I know they put a lot of time into individual fittings and place a lot of emphasis on this service when selling a new bike. They are also cyclists / tri athletes themselves and very professional.

I haven't done one myself but some colleagues have and say its top class.

Btw I don't have a vested interest but I appreciate retail outlets who raise the bar from a customer service perspective.

Are these bike fit assessments only worthwhile if buying a bike from the store i.e would it be worthwhile getting one done if you have a bike already but feel it may need a bit of adjusting i.e saddle height (adjustments), stem change etc to make it more comfortable

I had my bike fit done today. After a lot of measuring and taking levels etc it was discovered that I needed a shorter stem so the 110mm one was replaced with a 90mm stem. That was then flipped over after more cycling and measuring with the bike on a TT. The saddle position was then tweaked and my cleats adjusted slightly.

I went out for a spin this evening and I feel much more comfortable on the bike now. I'll know if my neck pain issue is sorted when I go for a longer spin at the weekend but I increased my time on my 20km loop by 1.5minures over my time last Thursday (down to 43 min) That may be down to fitness increasing though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭granda

I had my bike fit done today. After a lot of measuring and taking levels etc it was discovered that I needed a shorter stem so the 110mm one was replaced with a 90mm stem. That was then flipped over after more cycling and measuring with the bike on a TT. The saddle position was then tweaked and my cleats adjusted slightly.

I went out for a spin this evening and I feel much more comfortable on the bike now. I'll know if my neck pain issue is sorted when I go for a longer spin at the weekend but I increased my time on my 20km loop by 1.5minures over my time last Thursday (down to 43 min) That may be down to fitness increasing though.

where did you get it done if you dont mind me asking

Local place here in Letterkenny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭a148pro

Can anyone else recommend Base 2 Race, they're the nearest to me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭superlav

granda wrote: »
    i'm looking for a bike fit as well and as swords is close enough to me i'll might try richies, but does anyone now how good they are at fitting before i shell out my hard earned euros

There is a guy called Frank who does bike fits in Richies in the evenings.

He's very thorough, and would usually take between 90 mins and 2 hours, using all manner of laser and levels etc. to get your position dialled in. Also looks at cleat position. Think he charges €100

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 goreyhead

hi
    Has anyone had a bike fit done in cycle superstore and is it wort the 70 euro, thinking of getting one done there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Chartsengrafs

a148pro wrote: »

I'm booked in for next Thursday, there's a 3/4 week waiting list. I've heard lots of good things, mostly from here.
    PM next week if you like as a reminder and I'll let you know how I get on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭a148pro

Waiting list = good sign I think. I think they're popular with triathlete's though. I'm just after increasing my cruising distance comfortably rather than speed or aerodynamics or anything like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 623 ✭✭✭J Madone

Got fitted on my tt bike there
    Very happy

Waiting list = good sign I think. I think they're popular with triathlete's though. I'm just after increasing my cruising distance comfortably rather than speed or aerodynamics or anything like that.[/
    If your fitted properly on a bike you will go faster over a longer distance, because having no neck and back pains makes you more comfortable on the bike.
    It's not an aero position sacrificed for comfort it's a blend of everything.
    Glad I got it done there. Dominic is a sound man, well worth the money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Crow92

Is there much benefit in getting a fitting for commuting and touring as opposed to racing?

Crow92 wrote: »
    Is there much benefit in getting a fitting for commuting and touring as opposed to racing?
    Comfort would be a point , plus optimizing your position would make your efforts more efficient

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭Transporting

These guys also provide a very professional bike fitting service,
    http://kinetixproducts.com/shop/index.php?route=information/information&information_id=7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭couerdelion

Yep. Had one done there by Dom a couple of months ago. I've nothing to compare it to but I've no pains on the bike. He set it up pretty conservatively to start with as it's my first TT bike (bars slightly higher than I had them, elbows pads angled out etc) and I can go back anytime if I need to change things. I didn't feel like I was part of a conveyor belt for fits either he took his time and asked me loads of questions. I think he only does one fit a day too so there's no chance of being rushed out as the next appointment has turned up.

Do let us know how ya get on. Spot on.

Right so went for the full bike fit in the Edge Sports in Cork. I was with Jerry who did the fit in just over 2 hours. His knowledge of bikes and the human body is, to say the least, ridiculous. He studied Sports Science and Physical education in UCC and had his own clinic before joining the edge. He was also a member of St.Finbarrs cycle club for 26 years and has been racing as well.

For the fit,he takes you upstairs into his room and puts the bike into a turbo trainer. He sets up the video recorder and ask you to pedal away as you would normally as he observes for a few minutes. He said my bike was set up in almost a perfect TT position, which was not what I wanted at all. So he raised the seat post and moved back the saddle to get my knee angle at 32 degs. I was also suffering sore neck/shoulders so he flipped the stem, adjusted the handlebars and raised the hoods to stop my elbows locking out. He also adjusted my cleats as he noticed my knees were turning out as I pedaled. Once he's happy with the alterations and you hop off the trainer,he'll play back the different video's to show you how your position has changed in, as he said himself, a 'ta-da' moment. My positioning was night and day compared to where it was at the start.

He was an absolute gent and I was very happy with the whole experience. I would highly recommend him to anyone looking for a bike fit. Well worth the money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 reidzer

B2R are great, I have nothing to compare it too...
    But I have no problems with my fit on the bike...

I would recommend them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭AaronB

I was also suffering sore neck/shoulders so he flipped the stem

I friend went to him as well, did a great job. Just out of interest you said he flipped the stem, but which way?
    Does the stem point up or down slightly? As im having the same issue once i start hitting 70km+ and was thinking of flipping my stem as well to see if it helped.

AaronB wrote: »
    I friend went to him as well, did a great job. Just out of interest you said he flipped the stem, but which way?
    Does the stem point up or down slightly? As im having the same issue once i start hitting 70km+ and was thinking of flipping my stem as well to see if it helped.

Stem was pointing down but flipped it to turn up. I thought I'd need a shorter stem but he was happy just turning it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭AaronB

Stem was pointing down but flipped it to turn up. I thought I'd need a shorter stem but he was happy just turning it.

Mine was a 110, changed it 90 made a massive difference, as arms were too straight and i have my stem pointing down and dropped one big ring at the headset.
    My shoulders only get sore on trips 70k+ i will flipped it at the weekend and see how i get on, doing a 100km route next week so will be interesting if i feel any difference.

Oh Rebel tour is only 4 weeks away :) Im from the area so getting lots of practice :D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,766 Mod ✭✭✭✭mossym

for anyone thinking of doing this in the mid west, i got a proper fitting this week in Planet Tri in killaloe, and very happy i did. wasn't a 10 minute job by any means, took time to make sure they knew what i was aiming for in my riding, examined my current riding position, took all the measurements, tested my flexibility, then put all that together to set the bike up right for me. it wasn't a million miles away from where i had it, but i'm happy now knowing it's set up right. can 1)highly recommend the bike fit service as a whole and 2) really recommend planet tri to do it.