Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you carry your licence in the field?

• 13-08-2012 11:53am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭

Just curious to know do people carry their licences with them when out for a days shooting or just out for a shot or two.

I myself keep a photo copy cut out of both sides stuck together in my wallet, I wouldn't bring the real ones out in fear of losing them.

I have used the photo-copy to buy ammo in shops too with no problems

Do you carry your licence when out in the field hunting 93 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    59% 55 votes
    photocopy
    40% 38 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

They live in my wallet which is always in my pocket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭slippy wicket

I have my gun licences laminated and carry in my wallet along with photocopys of my coillte stalking permits and deer licence.
    Haven't been asked for them yet but better to be prepared.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭cookimonster

Kept in a water proof pouch around my neck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 Blackstairs Mountain Man

Keep them at home where they cannoot be lost.

Carry my licence to kill at all times though!:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭patdahat

if im looking for new permission ill have it on me otherwise it's in the car that way it's never to far to get it if needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭juice1304

They are always in my wallet so i never forget them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

i have the photo-copies left in my wallet, which is normally left in the jeep since there's no shops in the fields where we go,so I guess thats not too far if I needed em. Can't imagine meeting someone asking for a licence in the field anyway, would be more so on the road.

Would there be any issue getting a new licence printed if you did lose it? Id imagine the licence would be no good to someone to buy ammo cos a lot of RFD's will ask strangers for photo id to be sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

Iv never been asked for ID from any dealer in the country and i always buy a box of ammo when i go to a new one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭franknrol

unfortunatly yes, in my wallet.. which i lost 2 nights ago out lampin. so any body know how to get a replacement/ duplicate? and how much it costs? rang the local station: " hello the this station is currently unmanned....." same as yesterday. rang the station in town, no one had any idea:rolleyes:

if they won't or don't know how in your local station ring the fpu and i'm sure they will sort you out. 016661911

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭pheasntstalker

have mine on me at all times in the wallet, never know when your goina be asked for them such as 1nov last season at 6.30 in the morning walkin out my front door dog scampering round me feet,me in camo gear gun broken/unloaded of course! and who only rolls up by me only local armed response lads, :eek::D, mornin,' mornin lads, where are u goin? just down the back fields says i, rite, that a o/u says gard,(its a sxs):rolleyes: i hold the gun up,jaysus thats an auld one says he, aye i said t'is,what are u heading for? pheasent says i, rite so have a good one says he, drives down turns round at end of the terrece and with a cheery wave go,s on there merry way, i headed walkin as fields are 2min walk away, at the bottom exit of the esate leadin on to new ring rd, they pull up roll the window dwn and finally ask me ,have u a licence for that gun??:confused::confused: i showed them the licnce an on they went,only in ireland:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 335 ✭✭Constab2

In a wallet in the car with deer & foreshore licence,also insurance cards gun club membership card etc.If anyone is going to confront(question) you its always in my experience at your mode of transport parked at the entrance to the lands you are hunting.Cannot lose em from the car.

Iv never been asked for ID from any dealer in the country and i always buy a box of ammo when i go to a new one

I have :p must be something suspicious about me :P

have mine on me at all times in the wallet, never know when your goina be asked for them such as 1nov last season at 6.30 in the morning walkin out my front door dog scampering round me feet,me in camo gear gun broken/unloaded of course! and who only rolls up by me only local armed response lads, :eek::D, mornin,' mornin lads, where are u goin? just down the back fields says i, rite, that a o/u says gard,(its a sxs):rolleyes: i hold the gun up,jaysus thats an auld one says he, aye i said t'is,what are u heading for? pheasent says i, rite so have a good one says he, drives down turns round at end of the terrece and with a cheery wave go,s on there merry way, i headed walkin as fields are 2min walk away, at the bottom exit of the esate leadin on to new ring rd, they pull up roll the window dwn and finally ask me ,have u a licence for that gun??:confused::confused: i showed them the licnce an on they went,only in ireland:rolleyes:

Typical :rolleyes:
    We were stopped one night just after I got picked up not even a half mile from home and we'd 3 guns in the jeep. The guard came up to the window, asked the driver for ID. He shone the light in the back, asked who owned the guns. Said I owned 2 and the driver one. Asked what we were at and we said heading lamping foxes. " Mind the old people" and off he walks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

garv123 wrote: »
    Typical :rolleyes:
    We were stopped one night just after I got picked up not even a half mile from home and we'd 3 guns in the jeep. The guard came up to the window, asked the driver for ID. He shone the light in the back, asked who owned the guns. Said I owned 2 and the driver one. Asked what we were at and we said heading lamping foxes. " Mind the old people" and off he walks

The above anecdotes gives me a boost of confidence about dealing with the Gardai, isn't that a sign of at least there are some guards with common sense, these lads must have been reared around hunting and shooting and don't look at a lad going for a shot as a criminal. I would have wrote a letter to the Super singing their praises. Could have been out of the car ERU and an almighty steaming pile of Sh%T hitting the fan as you often read in the English magazines.

In a way we are very, very lucky in our dealings with the Gardai sometimes there are hiccups but all in all it aint too bad.

By the way the NARGC have a wee handy wallet for the licenses.

we were a bit stumped to what the "mind the old people" was meant to mean.
    He was a local guard from the next village but he wouldn't know me. He's actually the FO in the station there where I had to go but I never met him, only spoke on the phone. He didnt know who we were but before he stopped us he followed us down the backroad to the main road, id say he was after giving in the plates to check who owned it, cos he asked for id, not a drivers licence.

Rural guards are usually much easier to deal with than the lads in towns since back a few years when they were growing up every farmer had a gun in the house.

In the past I have had dealings with the Gardai when out shooting and in the main it was positive. Did you get anything conversation, However a Garda has told me that more people will ring the station if they see someone out shooting, whether its done out of innocence or people actually think criminal elements would walk about with sxs and o/u he told me that the 1st of November and 1st September calls are made to the barracks every year reporting gun shots and men out with guns.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 392 ✭✭rabbit assassin

I used to leave mine in the wallet in the jeep in case I lost it in the field until some lunatic smashed the windows in and scraped "I kill animals for fun" on the side ! They stole my wallet that had €70 and a lot of personal belongings along with 5 of my licenses. My main concern was that the licenses would get into the wrong hands and be used for criminal activity, didnt give a fiddlers about the jeep because it belonged to the estate. Wallet was in the glovebox too along with a sat-nav. Sat-nav wasn't touched. I think they are actually a joke, why did we have to submit photographs with our renewals and applications if they're just going to be in a filing cabinet. Would make so much more sense to have your picture on the license.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 566 ✭✭✭Tikkat3

I always carry mine when I am out with the guns as I discovered not all Garda are as educated on the firearms policies, as others.

Bought a gun some years ago, letter came to tell me my license was in the station, it came from the FO, pre three year license.

I duly went to the station all excited and handed in the letter to a garda who told me that I had to produce the firearm for inspection before he could hand me the license. I polity explained that I couldnt collect it from the dealer until I had the license.......................his response was 'thats what a catch 22 is.............seriously.

I took out my mobile, rang the FO (guy was not wondering how i had his mobile and obviously hadnt figured out he was a friend of mine. FO told me sit in my car and he would radio in. Five minutes later I get a call to go back in for my license. Guy at the counter was now sheepishly with his back to me and the young guy who served me got my license and said ' we forget a lot of what we learn in templemore sir' I said ' not a bother'

Got a call of apology from the FO that night.

After that I thought what if I met the same garda while transporting a firearm and since then, I never go any where with the guns without the license.

Sorry for the ramble! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,156 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Just scanned both sides of mine and keep them on my phone,along with DLC, hunting insurance,letter of permission,club ID, under an encrypted data programme.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

I was threatened, made a fool of and made feel like a criminal by some young power tripping retard a while ago i was also told i was lucky i was'nt stopped by the eru or i would have had a bullet in my neck. I did'nt even have a gun with me just some cartridges. It's funny though because he was told by the other garda he had no right to talk to me like that as i was a licence holder, but would'nt listen to her and continued on.
    Such a thoughtful lad, said he would be seeing me around which is fine as i have a camera in the door for the next round of abuse and threats. I'm surprised the lad makes it past the mirror in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭shooter88

I keep mine in the shoulder pocket of my camo just for handyness and yes I did forget and gave it a wash the hologram Isin as shiny anymore..only time I don't carry it is if I'm out the fields at back of the house for a quick wander

juice1304 wrote: »
    I was threatened, made a fool of and made feel like a criminal by some young power tripping retard a while ago i was also told i was lucky i was'nt stopped by the eru or i would have had a bullet in my neck. I did'nt even have a gun with me just some cartridges. It's funny though because he was told by the other garda he had no right to talk to me like that as i was a licence holder, but would'nt listen to her and continued on.
    Such a thoughtful lad, said he would be seeing me around which is fine as i have a camera in the door for the next round of abuse and threats. I'm surprised the lad makes it past the mirror in the morning.

In fairness these boyos are a minority, Thank God

• Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭Shoot2kill

They are at home in the safe at all times. If anyone wants to see them they can follow me there. I've enough **** to carry around when out shooting besides worrying about loosing them too.

II think they are actually a joke, why did we have to submit photographs with our renewals and applications if they're just going to be in a filing cabinet. Would make so much more sense to have your picture on the license.

BAD thinking and planning again.. Put a pic on the current liscense and what does it look like to the unknowing with the nice big AGS symbol in the back?? A Warrent card!!:rolleyes:[Not that an offical Garda Warrent card looks anything like a FAC,but how many peopleout there who have never seen either would know the difference??] So what did they do with all our pictures??Or are doing with them???:confused:

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,014 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    BAD thinking and planning again.. Put a pic on the current liscense and what does it look like to the unknowing with the nice big AGS symbol in the back?? A Warrent card!!:rolleyes:[Not that an offical Garda Warrent card looks anything like a FAC,but how many peopleout there who have never seen either would know the difference??] So what did they do with all our pictures??Or are doing with them???:confused:

I know someone that dropped their licence paying in a chipper and the lad said 'Are you a guard?':pac:

So what did they do with all our pictures??Or are doing with them???:confused:

Your super has it in a frame on his bedside locker grizz:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭theirishguy

always have mine in my wallet, but i leave them in the car where they are safe. I'd lose my shoes if they wasn't tied to me feet :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭podge.243
    Paul Murphy

I keep mine in the van i wont lose them there if i kept them on me out in the field they would be gone :rolleyes:

Your super has it in a frame on his bedside locker grizz:p

Aww [Grizz fluttering his eye lashes here]
    More like on his dart board in the office for stress relif.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭Stevegeraghty

Mine live in my wallet,although if i ever lost them or if my wallet was stolen someone wouldn't have to look very far to know where to go to steel some guns:mad:
    I hate the fact that my address is on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

Always.when i leave for the field i make sure i have, a knife, my phone, cigarette lighter, licenses, club/insurance cards and me button whistle for luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Deerspotter

It is true people lose their wallets or they get stolen! Your gun licence has your name and address on it. So if your wallet is robbed (by a criminal) you are telling the criminal where he can go to get a gun.
    I'd say you should carry the licence only when you have the gun with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 Knucklebreaker

A license like the Garda ID would be sweet- hard plastic-photo- date of birth-
    Id stick gun details and amount of ammo instead of date of birth, Only cost a 10er as well.
    With modern technology and that I would have thought one smart card could hold the info for all licenses.

Sometimes you wonder.

Stopped on way home from lamping one night, he just asked did ya get any? Never even questioned the licence. Sound Gard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

Some gaurds are alright.had 1 stop me and a mate for a random breathilizer.2 shotguns in the sleeves in the back.wanted to know could he get a look because he wanted to compare them to 1s he seen on youtube!asked for licences and we showed.spent 20 mins talking then.bang on.made the mistake of going thru an eru checkpoint.needless to say we 'got some check up'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭daithi55

keep them in the car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭doyle61

I keep mine in a folder in the jeep. I have the lisance, copy of my permission letters and my NARGC card aswell all nice and snug and safe from getting ringing wet which happens at least once a year while out in the field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Always in a zipped water-proof pocket when out and about.

A license like the Garda ID would be sweet-

Not really,no doubt some ejit would use it to try somthing stupid like trying to get into a night club or bar after hours...That design is too open to abuse..Thats the reason I think that the photo idea went by the wayside,and rightly too IMVHO.
    Simplest thing would be a piece of plastic with your name and PULSE number on the outside with a Smart chip embedded in it that has been RFID proofed,if possible.The chip has all the info inc your pic and whatever else pertinent firearms info.There are only two types of readers a firearms dealers ofr a Garda station reader.
    Could have been done back in the Tiger era,but of course never let good ideas be utilised when it comes to an Irish Govt and gun owners.:rolleyes:

There was talk years ago that they would link on a computer system your license to your purchasing of ammunition. The whole idea was to ensure only people who had a need for a gun had a gun an one way to check that was based on your purchasing of ammunition. Fell by the wayside, the license we have do the job, don't need much more than that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭pheasntstalker

i,d have to agree with grizz and the smart thingamabob!!:confused:...:o.. chip card, thingy,sorry im not a tecci sort of lad:o:D id rather a gard askin for me licence and scan the card chip,with all me details scanned in when licence was granted than current licence as stated already if u did lose or if wallet/purse ,manbag,was robbed an someone got hold of it,they would know where u live and hey presto come home and your guns gone and hse burglered:eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭Stevegeraghty

Not really,no doubt some ejit would use it to try somthing stupid like trying to get into a night club or bar after hours...That design is too open to abuse..Thats the reason I think that the photo idea went by the wayside,and rightly too IMVHO.
    Simplest thing would be a piece of plastic with your name and PULSE number on the outside with a Smart chip embedded in it that has been RFID proofed,if possible.The chip has all the info inc your pic and whatever else pertinent firearms info.There are only two types of readers a firearms dealers ofr a Garda station reader.
    Could have been done back in the Tiger era,but of course never let good ideas be utilised when it comes to an Irish Govt and gun owners.:rolleyes:

I think he might mean like the Garda age card

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭Cavan duck buster

i always seem to lose things often so i just take a picture of it on my phone (front & back) and then showed it to the gaurds,
    1 night i get my friend drive my car, then crashing and blocking a lane and having to get a friend to come up in a teliportor to pull us out, and knowingly once it was pulled out of the lane the gaurds arived, bit we were on a privet road and also they were off duty. they asked for my licence, insurance ect. told them i crashed it and they looked into the boot and saw my .22 semi and they nearly lost it, but once i showed them a pic of my gun licence and comparing it to my driving licence i was free to go.

i always seem to lose things often so i just take a picture of it on my phone (front & back) and then showed it to the gaurds,
    1 night i get my friend drive my car, then crashing and blocking a lane and having to get a friend to come up in a teliportor to pull us out, and knowingly once it was pulled out of the lane the gaurds arived, bit we were on a privet road and also they were off duty. they asked for my licence, insurance ect. told them i crashed it and they looked into the boot and saw my .22 semi and they nearly lost it, but once i showed them a pic of my gun licence and comparing it to my driving licence i was free to go.

Can off duty guards even do that :confused: Are they not everyday civilians once they clock out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,014 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Gardai are never off duty as such, they keep their powers even when not in uniform.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭anthonyos

i didn't realize things were so wild up in cavan it sounds like an action film you just described :D

Can off duty guards even do that :confused: Are they not everyday civilians once they clock out?

ya they are just every day people once off shift but i think they like to roll play a lot, not saying all guards are like this but there are defenitly some that do this, sad thing was they never asked if i was all right :(

anthonyos wrote: »
    i didn't realize things were so wild up in cavan it sounds like an action film you just described :D

nothing is ever wild here in cavan