Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Climate control or Air conditioning?

• 11-08-2012 7:48pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭

Just reading some more treads here today about AC and CC :D

Here's a pic of the 'heater' in my car:

b4548eeb.jpg?t=1344713640

I think it is CC because it does not keep me cool in heat, I have to drop the windows to keep cool or I'd end up sweating like a pig :o

Is this a Climate control or AC setup like ye were talking about in the other tread? :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

That's climate control

Your aircon may be broken though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

How old is the car, when was the gas levels in the aircon last checked?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 761 ✭✭✭Agent_47

CC is the better system, yours may need to be re-gassed.

Looks to be at least 5 years old

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,594 ✭✭✭tossy

Thats also dual zone - in that pic you have the passenger side set to coolest and drivers side at 16,to get best results make sure you set drivers side to 'lo' and press the 'middle vent' button directly to the left of the 16 degree display to set the air flow to come out of the dash vents,also make sure the econ button is not lit up as this de activates air conditioning.

I wouldve though 16 would be pretty low, mine doesn't even go down to 16

Looks to be an A4 or A6,have to say i found the CC in my old A4 pretty poor not a patch on the one in the Bora previous car or the S3 current car.

'Lo' was freezing and anything over that was roasting lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭Hay_man

Thanks for the replys :) I really knew flip all about these :o

To be honest with you I never even knew there was gas levels in the car :o

So my car has aircon though ? :confused:
    colm_mcm wrote: »
    Looks to be at least 5 years old

haha your nearly on the ball, it's actually 8 years old :eek:

If i get the

tossy wrote: »
    Looks to be an A4 or A6,have to say i found the CC in my old A4 pretty poor not a patch on the one in the Bora previous car or the S3 current car.

'Lo' was freezing and anything over that was roasting lol

Yes it's a B6 A4 (Not skangered BTW :D:pac:)

Hay man when you are in the car start it up and press the econ button so that it lights up and then press it again to turn it off,when you turn it off do you feel/hear the engine labour a little more? If so then this means your air com pump is engaging fine,try that and you can at least rule out the pump as a probable fault.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

Hay_man wrote: »
    Thanks for the replys :) I really knew flip all about these :o

To be honest with you I never even knew there was gas levels in the car :o

So my car has aircon though ? :confused:

haha your nearly on the ball, it's actually 8 years old :eek:

If i get the

Air con and climate control are two different things. Basic A/C works to cool the air by removing the humidity from it. If you set the A/C to a certain temperature, the A/C blows at that temperature regardless of the temperature inside the car(i.e, will feel colder on a cold day then on a hot day)

Climate control is an electronic system which monitors the temperature inside the car and uses the A/C to maintain the temperature you have set regardless of the inside/outside temperature.

Your Audi has a climate control system but if you have it on 'LO' and its not blowing very cold then, as the lads have said, its likely that your A/C gas pressure has dropped or you have a leak in your A/C system.

tossy wrote: »
    Hay man when you are in the car start it up and press the econ button so that it lights up and then press it again to turn it off,when you turn it off do you feel/hear the engine labour a little more? If so then this means your air com pump is engaging fine,try that and you can at least rule out the pump as a probable fault.

Thanks I've tried this, yes when I turn econ off the I hear a noise and something is happening anyway :D cant really say the engine labours though the rev needle is not effected anyway

Looks like the car is low on gas so :)

So if I get the car 'gassed' and I then set it to 'lo' it will then freeze me out of it ?

Hay_man wrote: »
    Thanks I've tried this, yes when I turn econ off the I hear a noise and something is happening anyway :D cant really say the engine labours though the rev needle is not effected anyway

Looks like the car is low on gas so :)

So if I get the car 'gassed' and I then set it to 'lo' it will then freeze me out of it ?

:P It should be pretty cold alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

sometimes the gas may be so low that it will not fire up the condenser either so if someones' doesnt fire up it doesnt mean its fecked

:P It should be pretty cold alright.

Fridge or freezer ? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

Just so you know I have the same car and its pretty crap air con, I all ways wondered if it had AC just like you but looks like I need a regas too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

Got my system regassed last weekend and the difference is pretty big. On the hot humid days when I get into the car after it sitting in the sun I bang it onto 'LO' to get the inside temp down. Then after a few mins I set it to '18' on 'Auto' and its great.
    If you hit the 'Auto' button and the 'ECON' light stays on then the system needs to be regassed.
    Got mine done in Fast Fit for €40.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

OP, try pressing the 'Auto' button for both driver and passenger. The system will then automatically try and find the temperature requested (and maintain it once it reaches the temperature) regardless of how hor or cold it is outside.

That's the beauty of climate control, it's a 'set and forget' system. If the climate control system is working properly, you should very rarely need to change the temperature from 19 or 20 degrees. Only on exceptionally hot or cold days should you need to lower or raise the temperature to make the cabin comfortable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

Just a update,

I have the same car and system as the OP. it has never had a regas in the 9 years it has lived. I went to Kwick fit and got a AC regas it cost me £49 they just hook it up to a computer connect the pipes and I sit in the room for 20 minutes and it even has a print out of what it did.

It says it recovered 495g
    Recovered oil 11ml

no leak detected

It put back in 500g
    oil back in 21ml

So looks like the system didn't lose much gas BUT what a difference the regas as made. It really is awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Popoutman

afatbollix wrote: »
    Just so you know I have the same car and its pretty crap air con, I all ways wondered if it had AC just like you but looks like I need a regas too.

I regassed mine with the Halfords regas kit for the first time in 6 years over the winter, and I found the aircon to be very very good until the gas went too low. I have a vag-com so I had a good idea that there were no other issues with the climate control system.

Note that I drive with the aircon on all of the time, as it helps to demist much quicker than not having it on e.g .when I sit into the car and it raining outside. Little or no difference to the fuel economy in winter anyway as far as I've seen in 6 years of ownership.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I wouldve though 16 would be pretty low, mine doesn't even go down to 16

Peasant! :pac:

(was gonna use the 'cool' emoticon but it wouldn't be suitable! :D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

I never use the Auto function of the climate control on a warm day as it increases the fan speed too much, trying to reduce the temperature of the cabin. I simply set it at its coldest on a low speed.

Works fine in the colder months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

My Audi goes on auto all year round at about 19 deg. And I rarely touch it. If all is well, fan speed should drop down to almost non existent pretty quick once temp is reached.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

mickdw wrote: »
    My Audi goes on auto all year round at about 19 deg. And I rarely touch it. If all is well, fan speed should drop down to almost non existent pretty quick once temp is reached.

+1, if I'm driving a car with climate control I'll put it on Auto and leave it do its thing. With all the vents open I very rarely have reason to change from 19 or 20 degrees, I go for 19 during the summer and 20 during the winter, and both make the car perfectly comfortable. The only adjustments I ever have to make are turning on the air recirculation (on a really hot day - recirculated air cools the car down quicker when the a/c is turned on and good climate control systems will automatically turn on recirculated air briefly on very hot days) or to turn on and off the air conditioning as required. Climate control is a fantastic feature if you know how to use it properly, although even basic a/c makes a huge difference!

It never fails to amaze me when on a really hot day you will see people setting the climate control down so say 16 degrees and then as the car starts to cool down they'll start turning it up to 19 or 20:D - climate control is set up to get to the desired temperature in the quickest possible way, so turning it down to 16 and then going back to 19 will not get the car to 19 any quicker than setting it for 19 in the first place! In fact, because of the change in temperature, it might even start to blow hot air because you changed the desired temperature!

You see the opposite in the winter, I've tried to explain this to people before that turning it to 25 degrees and then once you feel the heat coming going down to 20 or 21 is a total waste of time but some people still don't get it:rolleyes:!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Whilst I understand what you're saying, I find it more pleasant to maintain the lowest temperature at a lowish fan speed on a hot day, than a room temperature setting on Auto mode. It keeps me nicely chilled and keeps the leather that bit cooler too (I think!).

I also hate the noise of loud fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭savagecabbages

And don't forget you can control the temperature in both zones from the drivers side if you press and hold AUTO for a few seconds to slave the passenger side onto the drivers.

Personally dual zone climate control is a needless gimmick... CC itself is essential, but not dual zone!

And don't forget you can control the temperature in both zones from the drivers side if you press and hold AUTO for a few seconds to slave the passenger side onto the drivers.

Personally dual zone climate control is a needless gimmick... CC itself is essential, but not dual zone!

You must not have a girlfriend/wife....they are always substantially colder or hotter then you are on any given day:P:P

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

"Manual" a/c works fine for me tbh. I've also had dual zone c.c. cars incidentally.