Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's your best memory, shot or days hunting?

• 10-08-2012 11:33am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭

Mine would be at 9 and shot my first pheasant with my dad
    The pointer went in and flushed two cocks on my side I missed the one closest to me and went for second one and took him out at bout 50 yards away ( dunno how i managed) and my dad got the other one
    Best shot would've been last week at 127 yards with a .22 Bruno hit a rabbit unfortunately by time we got there he had managed to crawl into hole( should've brought the ferrets) but he was defo hit
    And other night two foxes with shotgun side by side
    Also last year can't remember the exact amount but well over 50 rabbits with the ferrets in a days hunt with nets
    What's yours and keep it civil lads pain in me flute with arguments on this
    Atb Aaron

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

Ive been out walking around with 4 or years with people shooting pheasants, I never had my own gun for it all and never fired a shot, I just loved been out watching the dogs work etc.. so last season I finally got my own shotgun and licence came on the 2nd so I was out on the third without ever firing the shotgun before..
    We were walking around a beat field and a bird got up over a river and one of the lads fired a double and missed, another lad fired one shot and missed and then me, the furthest away fired my first shot of the gun and the bird folded mid air at the furthest distance i ever hit bird at with the shotgun since..
    Was delighted with my first shot :D
    Think you'll always remember you're first successful shots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 506 ✭✭✭moby30

I havent done much pigeon shooting in the last two years but back in 08 and 09 myself and a friend were shooting huge numbers of them and on one day got over 500. It was brilliant but what was more amazing was when we eventually ran out of cartridges I for the first time ever experienced anything like the pigeons that out of nowhere started coming in as we were out in the middle of the field picking up. We literally had to take cover as they were coming in so fast and from every direction totally oblivious to us standing right in the middle of them. Even if we had cartridges left I dont think it would have entered our head to try and shoot as it was so surreal. After about 5 minutes it stopped as quickly as it started and just to top it off as a day we wouldnt forget a helicopter went over us so low we could see the people waving at us so being polite we gave them a big wave back and it crashed in newtown about two mins later. I dont think anyone was killed but I often wondered what they thought of us two idiots waving at them with big smiles while they were probably waving at us for help:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

You didn't do the hunters wave( with the guns) did you? Lol
    Id love a good days shooting pidgy like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

Good thread.

My fondest hunting memories are often the things that happen whiles out hunting.
    Namely friends falling into drains & the likes! :D

One thing that sticks out is years ago on one of first outings I was out with a buddy. He roared "cock" "cock" so I turned into the sun & saw the cock & bang through trees bird down. Did a little dance & walked over to collect my quarry. The cock turned out to be a hen & after a series of Fs at each other the slagging started & continued for years. In my defense it was a melanistic hen, had a long ish tail & I could only see the siluet with the sun. :o Either way I learned my lesson & have never repeated it.
    Anyway 2 years ago I hear bang other side of the ditch. Turns out same fella shot at a "fox" that must of been stalking a hen coz he missed the fox & shot a hen!! Ya FCKN right!! A barrage of Fs commenced & then slagging! 2 hens in an amount of years but a memory that we often laugh at! Having the current upper hand had been sweet though!

The first bird the pointer retrieved in the last day of his 1st season was great also as he never looked back. 4 years on.

I could go on for ages with stories as we all could but living in the present im here at the moment cooking a few Rashers with the pointer by my side. He hurt his leg last week & has been resting up all week so is getting away with been in today. He's turning his nose to pieces of bread & waitin on a rasher. Hearing the impatient tapping of his tail on the tiles & the look of suspense on his face can only make you smile! Simple things make you happy. What a hobby! :)

511dc74b.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 506 ✭✭✭moby30

looks like hes goin to start talking like this lad:D:D:D
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nGeKSiCQkPw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭FISMA

A few seasons ago I was hunting in an area that is normally so swampy, I usually get stuck in hip waders.

This time, however, I managed to lie down on soft dry bog like vegetation, have a nap, and get a bit of a sun-burn.

Never saw a deer, but had the best snooze of my life.

It's not a hobby epointer
    It's a way of LIFE
    Atb

• Closed Accounts Posts: 392 ✭✭rabbit assassin

Best memory has to be either busting a cock pheasant at 60 yards he got up wild like a springing teal (pot shot).... or else another memorable shot I had when out with 2 lads, I shot a beautiful cock about 70 or so yards. He was killed stone dead with a load of Remingtion 34g 6 ! The thing is we were in a small field of only about 3 acres.. ever since then I have been able to say to the lads that were there with me I shot a pheasant that was down the far side of the field :D

Best shot has to be 2 foxes being ahem....romantic :rolleyes:. They were rudely interrupted by a .22-250 ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

It's not a hobby epointer
    It's a way of LIFE
    Atb

Hobby/way of life/interest/calling/pass time. Call it what you will but I agree.
    Lets not separate rabbits :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭snipe02

out last year hunting a strip of kale and a cock got up i fired and hit him and the lad with me fired at the same time and he also hit him thought we had nothing to do only walk over and pick him up . strolled over and no bird sent the dogs on and they were trying to pull back towards the car but i thought the cock had gone the other way gave an hour and a half looking, done every ditch in the place even split up and went in two seperate circles looking no joy so i went back to the car and put the dog and gun in and waited for my buddy to see if he had em was waiting at the road by a wall at the edge of the field at the car could see him coming with no bird i lowered my head with disgust and would ya believe it here was the cock tucked in against the wall behind a load of brambles had to rub me eyes , anyway got the dog out threw her over the wall and she burst in and the cock came out up the road into the village and the dogs after em traffic stopped and all she brought him back with no tail but we were just delighted to get him was sure he was gone goes to show should have trusted the dogs in the first place ill never forget the feeling when i looked down and the bird was there looking up at me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭Mr.Woodcock

My best memory has to be my first season, I had only picked up the gun on the 31st of October, so for the first month, I was still weary of shooting at game, but come December I had a bit of luck, I got a free pointer, fully trained! So I took her out by myself and in the first field she put up a snipe, and bang, my first bird, the next day I dislocated my knee in a match and was out for the season, or so I thought, managed to get out again on the last day of the season, was in a field with a bit of stubble and all of a sudden the pointer took down a strip of stubble, she went on point and was literally on point in the shape of a c, her nose was nearly at her arse, I came down to her and looked at the stubble, and thought no way is there anything there, next minute a cock pheasant flew right into me, If I hadn't of been holdin the gun, I could of caught it! Anyway by the time I turned to follow the bird it was almost 50 yards away, so I shot in hope and the bird dropped, the dog then looked at me for a seconad and went on her merry way to retrive, I still to this day believe the dog was congradulating me! All do it was a short season it's still my favourite!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

First week i got my first rifle i was out zeroin with my oul lad, it was about 15 mins till it was dark so we decided to walk into the next field and have a look for a rabbit. Just over the fence and the oul lad is smackin me on the back an pointing at a fox runnin up the hill in the field next to us. I dropped to the ground and me da let out a bark and the fox slowed down enough for me to get a shot and i saw him drop and slide into the long grass. The smile on my face when i saw my first fox on the ground with a clean kill from about 170 yards or so, must have about 10 pics of it lol!

This winter gone i was lampin with a mate and we were following a fox that was not payin any attention to us or any call, turns out he was after the ride and we soon spotted 2 sets of eyes about 350 yards out in a cut rape field. I could just make the outline in The scope and aimed about 6 inches above the back and sent a 40gr vmax down range to hear that beautiful thump back and see the other run off. My longest shot yet :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭kermitpwee

Bought a trained springer for my uncle. My uncle had his doubts and i was starting to doubt myself after the first two days out not one bird put up. 3rd day out the springer gets on a scent flushes a huge cock out of a bush, great find. The cock gets up flys over the ditch, I was on higher ground. I hit him at 40 yards he goes down like a sack of spuds! Up he gets and legs it down the field. I tell the dog to get out, off he goes to the ditch down a drain that was 30-35 feet down and 50 yards wide, swims like a champ, I tell him to get back, he picks up the scent where the bird hit the ground. I pip him on the whistle and cast him right. The pheasant is maybe 250 yards away running down the middle of the field. The dog takes off like a bat out of hell, never seen a springer so fast. The dog is gone for maybe 5 minutes, it felt like an hour. Next thing my uncle shouts 'Jesus Christ he has the F*****'! The dog appears up the ditch with him and sits down infront of my uncle. Tears running down my uncles face he tells me that ' I knew he was a good dog the minute I saw him'!

Never forget that day, the dog and my uncle have since been inseparable and he has turned out a great game finder. The wife will not go on holiday without the dog. Wished I had bought him for myself!

With all this talking I am really excited about this season, cant wait!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭anthonyos

For me it has to when my brother used to drop me off on his way to work at about 7.30AM with my ferrets dog flask sambos and a pouch of tobacco in pursuit of rabbits it would be still dark out with frost on the ground i was in my teens the ald lad thought i was mad but i was living the dream good old days:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,808 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

My best memories come from my youth when I use to go on fox drives with the local club. Great craic was had for dogmen and shooters alike:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

I remember the first time I was ever out shooting I was fairly young and I spotted a fox in the distance and pointed him out. I was told get down low on the ground on a bit of a ditch that was all fallen down dividing the fields and he started calling. The fox came running and did not stop. I was watching him getting closer and closer and when he got so close I was beginning to panic and get nervous looking at this yoke running straight for us. He got to within 5 yards of us before he was shot. Never felt such relief in my life ha. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭ROSSKI

Myself and three mates out after foxes one night with our new lightforce light passing by a house with a big Alsatian and jack Russell - I was in the back of the car and let Down the window and grabbed me mates arse (who was doing the lamping from the front ) and done by best Alsatian attack impression - he thought the dog had him and starting beating the new lamp of the side of the car until it was in two halves - it took me half an hour to stop laughing :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭wildfowler94

96 ducks on Lough Ree one Sunday late December 09, shot 8 species of duck that day!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

was out with a mate about 8 years ago , shooting duck there was a fog down and a part of the sky was open and the ducks kept flying into it 9 duck were shot in total but the part that stoot out for me was we got all but 1 duck and as we were leaving the feild the dog ran over to a drinker and started jumping up into it , suddenly here he was coming with the last duck , mad alive . it must of seen the water and made a dive for it for safety. needless to say i was very proud of the dog that night !:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Too many to mention without boring the pants off everyone.:p

However the two most recent were year before last in Hungary shooting a double double of four cock phesants in four seconds.That was with a semi,this year I'm going to try with the pump action if the situation arises.:)

And last year taking my first Irish red deer on the hoof,and almost a week later taking the second at the same spot,and a season of SFA then until the close.:pac:

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Aerofs

anthonyos wrote: »
    For me it has to when my brother used to drop me off on his way to work at about 7.30AM with my ferrets dog flask sambos and a pouch of tobacco in pursuit of rabbits it would be still dark out with frost on the ground i was in my teens the ald lad thought i was mad but i was living the dream good old days:D

I hope your still going out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 200 ✭✭Octopus

Hunting along a ditch one day heading to a cross ditch (t junction). Two other lads appeared at the bottom of the field and headed up the ditch at the end of the one i was on. Now it's a huge field and they could have gone around the other way. Anyway my dog starts hunting and the two lads notice me moving out the field and taking the gun from under my arm.
    Next thing they reach the ditch I'm on and instead of going straight they turn and start heading up the ditch i'm on, towards me. I know these lads and i know they're hungry hooers but this is unreal, and dangerous.
    As they get close all dogs barrell into the ditch and the cock bursts out, the two lads can't fire quick enough both trying to out draw me and each other. Bang, bang, bang, bang and the cock is still flying.
    I was still in disbelief as to what was going on but realising they had missed I put the gun up and dropped the bird at 50 yards.
    One of the lads says to me 'do ya need a hand picking it up'
    No says I, do ya need a hand shooting any more birds?
    They just turned and walked off. Sick.

I've told many a lad in the club that story and everyone loves to hear someone getting one over on those two lads.

One i posted before in a different thread.
    Octopus wrote: »
    Was out at dawn calling foxes many years ago when I was still fairly inexperienced, spotted a vixen sitting out on a hillside well across a field, I settled into a hole in the briars along a large deep ditch, put the shotgun across my lap and started to call. I was calling for ages and the vixen just sat there, she seemed to be very interested in my calls but wouldn't budge. Next thing 3 half grown fox cubs burst out of the ditch literall 1 yard away.
    Everyone jumped! I leapt into the air, the cubs sprung all over the place then scattered back into the ditch.
    I don't know which was louder, my heart thumping or the sound of the cubs belting back through the briars.

The vixen just trotted back off along the ditch :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭German pointer

Way too many times spring to mind for me but a few of them are,

One time was about 25 years ago when I took a rabbit at about 120 yards using my dads shoulder to rest the savage .22 on while I stood behinde him for the shot. Drilled him (the rabbit) straight through the back of the head.

Another time was when my Dad was teaching me how to use my breath to line up the shot with the .22, I was only about 8 or 9 at the time and the lessons he thought me that day are as clear in my mind now as they were the day he thought them to me. Sadly he passed away this morning before he could come out and teach my kids the way of the countryside or for for a days hunting with them, as they are now only just old enough to start coming out. But every time I shoot a deer or a rabbit I know and remember who thought me how to shoot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭session savage

My best memory so far...

I was out with the father in law (who is a big time shooter all his life) had the .223 with me, and we were out for a ramble. Down in the corner of a field just over 100yds away was a rabbit standing upright with just his head looking out over the grass. I put the Tikka to my shoulder and as I was trying to steady myself he said "your at nothing trying for a shot off the shoulder at that distance". I squeezed off a round and heard that lovely thump sound. We walked up to where the rabbit was and there he was with a little hole right between his eyes and the back of his head gone. Took everything to contain myself. on another couple of fields and shot another rabbit (prone this time) at 265yds.
    Well chuffed with myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭session savage

FISMA wrote: »
    A few seasons ago I was hunting in an area that is normally so swampy, I usually get stuck in hip waders.

This time, however, I managed to lie down on soft dry bog like vegetation, have a nap, and get a bit of a sun-burn.

Never saw a deer, but had the best snooze of my life.

Ha ha I know that feeling. Last year when my son was only 6 months old I went out for a few bunnies on a grand warm day. I lay down prone in a ditch at the top of a hill I use for long shots and thought I would wait to see if a bunny showed himself in the field below. (I was too tired from feeding the baby to be off stalking along ditches) anyway I got into position and rested my cheek on the stock and scoped out the low field.... woke up 2 1/2 hours later with 8 missed calls. The missus went mental ha ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 457 ✭✭Browning2010

The one that sticks out in my mind is shooting my first fox.

I had a single shot Hmr and was out checking larsen traps when I heard two magpies going mental a field away from were I was, so I mad my way over and there was fox strolling along the ditch, well my heart was fckin pumping managed to work me way into a shooting position and took a standing shot at about 40 yards as the fox walked from left to right and thump down he went.

I was absolutely delighted I was shaking and my heart was racing for about an hour after it, I rang my aul lad and I was in tears(of joy) telling him what happened:o

On the other side of the coin, the saddest thing I ever experinced out in the field and something I'll never forget was the day after I came home from the Cla game fair in 2010, I had my new jacket and trousers on me that I'd bought at the show, a new dummy for the dog and a new whistle aswell.

I was all geared up and headed off down the filed with the pointer I was giving him a few retrievs of the dummy, I was throwing it over a ditch and he was bringing it back to me no bother having a great time we were, then I said fck it we'll head down to the river but before I went I said ah sure I'll give him one more retrieve over the ditch, this was the last time I seen him alive.

In he went into the ditch and he started fumbling around like he was after getting something in mouth I taught he'd got a cat in the ditch or maybe a pheasant or something but after a min or two I knew something wasnt right so I went around to him which meant I had to climb up a ditch which took me a bit of time even tho I was racing over to him, still not sure what was wrong with him. I got to were he was in the ditch and there he was tongue hanging out stone dead with a snare around his neck. I eventually got the snare off him, rang me aul lad in tears(not so joyfully this time) and told him.

I lay there beside him for about 15 mins balling me eyes out, he was my first gun dog, hadn't the greatest nose on him but otherwise a gem of a dog.

I'll never forget that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭pheasntstalker

best memery was about a year or so ago when i brought jessy my first ever springer out for the first season ever ,hit the first field ah the stomach in knots:o the nerves, how will she do, headed down a double ditch in and out she darted my father in law whispered she,s on out she poped and flused him out the other side where my father in law folded him up neatly mid air:D:D:D i may not have taken the shot but i was walkin on air for the rest of the day,did get 2 later on and gettin that first retrive off her ,i was so proud all that hard work paid off:D:D and looking forward to the nxt one shortly:D:D;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 Blackstairs Mountain Man

For me shooting is all about dog work and the hunt. I look back far more fondly on days out where the dogs worked well and done some stand out work other than days where the game bag came home bulging. Never forget my springer dog who unfortunately died in his prime. He dived into a frozen pond one morning to retrieve a teal. The poor dogs hair was frozen solid all over when he came back but he had a heart bigger than most which is more important than any amount of training in my book.

I also shot a right and left pheasant over this dog as well when he was only a pup in his first season which was a nice memory. One thing I will say to lads with dogs is to cherish the time you have with them because trust me their life is not a long one and you will miss them when they are gone especially a good one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Hunting Dogs def;- Decades of a hunters life divided between laughter and tears.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

amen grizz:) so true sometimes we forget only for the hard work of our dogs,we wouldnt have so mny memories and storys to tell:):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,287 ✭✭✭Chiparus

I joined a local GC and being the newbie i was getting plenty of advice about how to do this and that.

One bird went down in a wooded area on the other side of a river , then another

No one could get their dogs to go over. I came down to the riverbank with the dog and sent him straight across the the other bank and into the wood. 10 seconds later the dog appears with the bird , swims across and drops the bird at my feet.

Send him straight back and he repeats the feat on the second bird , again bird back to my feet.

I was seriously chuffed.

There is no better feeling than after waiting for the longest time for a retrieve from heavy cover or from a running bird than when you hear that rustle in the ditch and then here he / she comes with the bird in mouth proud as punch.

My father had all sorts of terriers for foxing and rabbiting when he was growing up. He's had setters, springers and pointers since, all great hunting dogs but no real interest in rabbits.
    I bought a terrier cross early last year and my father was in love with it, back to his youth and all that.
    Brought her out last november at 1 year old and she's flying, mad for rabbits she flushed a few but it was when she caught her first rabbit herself in a heavy clump of briars that he smiled the most. Beaming from ear to ear, 'she'll never look back now' he says.
    I was happier for my father than i was for the dog that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭daithi55

every day i go hunting i love it
    its not all about getting something.... saying that 13 years ago when i started it was
    i love been out in the rough either shooting phesants duck etc and seeing the dogs work... taking it all in
    or been out on an early morning... stalking a deer light ground frost and the wildlife of the country waking up and coming to life
    how many people in the country have never seen this would amaze you

but one memory i do have was last season the second of january... me and a shooting mate were out on the lash new years night and started talking about going for a shot while we were still on holidays... so anyway i was telling him that the next day was a great day for a shot in a certain location as the hounds was in our area on new years day and it gives this particular area a good going over as the cover is very thick but always has foxes
    when they do this its very good to shoot the next day as they drive the phesants out of the thick cover where ya cant get into to hunt...

so anyway the next evening comes before either of us are in any state to walk a few miles and operate a shotgun safely lol...
    we head down with his setter and meet a blast of birds missed a few sitters and got a few we shouldnt of... so anyway its almost dark as were about 300 metres from the car when all of a sudden his dog sets stone dead locks u in a u shape she is set for ages and not a budge when eventually she bursts into a small clump of cover about ten yards from the ditch as big as your normal dinner table she does 3 or 4 laps of it snorting and barking trying to get the bird to rise and feck would it... it just wouldnt move eventually this handy cock gets up at almost dark crowning his heart out... flying off thank god he did as we wouldnt of known it was a cock other wise up we threw the guns fired four shots and i dropped him with my second... sparks flying out the end of the barrel it would remind ya of shooting duck was a good evening and we crowned it off with a few more pints

wether he was roosting on the ground or just very hungry we dont no but there was a thick ditch he could of roosted in beside him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭terminator2

out with my first springer , river in full spate , dog flushes six mallard , i shoot a left and right dog retrieves first duck and a very difficult long retrieve on drake , just then a man appears with his pointer and gun , and proceeds to congradulate me on my dog handling skills , to which i replied , ill be f****ed if i was going to swim across that river........and walked off with my prize . Shooting would be crap without your best friend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭cookimonster

One time was about 25 years ago when I took a rabbit at about 120 yards using my dads shoulder to rest the savage .22 on while I stood behinde him for the shot. Drilled him (the rabbit) straight through the back of the head.

Another time was when my Dad was teaching me how to use my breath to line up the shot with the .22, I was only about 8 or 9 at the time and the lessons he thought me that day are as clear in my mind now as they were the day he thought them to me. Sadly he passed away this morning before he could come out and teach my kids the way of the countryside or for for a days hunting with them, as they are now only just old enough to start coming out. But every time I shoot a deer or a rabbit I know and remember who thought me how to shoot.

Sorry to hear about your Dad, your tale is similar to my own, my mentor and shooting buddy was also my Dad and he too taught me to shoot on a savage .22. My best moments are my first rabbit, first pigeon, first pheasant etc. But like you todays and tomorrows shots will always keep him in my thoughts:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭daithi55

sorry to hear about the passing of your dad ... but it sounds like he has taught you well and you will have no trouble passing on what your dad taught you along with that little bit extra you have picked up over the years to your kids
    my son is now 3 and my dad has recently had a stroke and reading what you have said reminds me that he might not be here i a few years to show these skills saying tha my dad is fine but ya never no its all a part of getting older..

anyway hopes all well with the rest of your family

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Sadly he passed away this morning before he could come out and teach my kids the way of the countryside or for for a days hunting with them, as they are now only just old enough to start coming out. But every time I shoot a deer or a rabbit I know and remember who thought me how to shoot.

Sorry for your loss German Pointer.

One of my favourite shots, the one that stands out in my mind anyway, was with the shotgun. Was down on the shore, pleasant day weather wise, and my old semi-auto had jammed. Walked up to the brother who had a multi-tool or knife to try and free the cartridge without the bolt slamming on a finger. We were both crouched over the gun trying to sort it. Just as the brother manages to clear the gun and hand it back to me freshly loaded, a duck comes bombing in straight at us. My hands have just settled on the synthetic stock, shoulder, swing, use the fiber optic tru glo sight to give some lead and boom. Duck folds in on itself from a lethal hit and splashes to a halt on the water.

It was not a particularly long shot, only about 40 yards and not a particularly memorable specimen of the breed either. The shot just felt so perfect, balanced and timed that I always think of it now when out shooting and would love every shot to feel the same and with the same result.

Other stand out memories are stalking the shore rising 6 duck from the shoreline. Using our semi autos myself and the brother shot 6 from 6.

Another would be the brother shooting a snipe and after picking him up the snipe flies out of his hand, only for the brother to shoot it a second time. A more permanent outcome the second time though.

Great thread, we could go on all day in here :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭raymo19

Had the best 7 minutes of my hunting life in V late December 2011. 3 Lads out shooting Woddy. We were up a steep hill with a large thick ditch. My buddies were working one side of the ditch and I was on the other. I heard the wing beats and Woddy flew out well ahead of us nearly out of range. I had a crack and he hit the ground like a stone. Then a nice cock pheasant rose up through the trees behind us. I stiffened him before he got to the top of the treeline. A simple enough woddy then appeared across the ditch and I hit him also. I was quite chuffed with my exploits but as we worked further up the ditch a woody screeched out behind us. I could't fire as i wasnt sure where the lads were so as he cleared the ditch and made for the open field I let fly. His wings opened wide and he drifted to the ground. I wasnt sure if i hit him but knew that we would be back that direction as we finished the ditch and could look for him in the heavy rushy field. Anwway when we came back down we sent the dogs into the area i thought he was.The dogs found nothing. I followed them through the area and to my complete amazement there was the woody stone dead with his wings wide open and the dogs running over and back and not one oif them noticed him. That was a cracking 7 minutes 3 woody and a Cock pheasant. I certainly wont forget it. One for the grandchildren.

Thanks lads
    Raymo

Great stories lads knew this was a good idea for a thread some stories I'm sure we can all relate to especially when it comes to old dogs that died I know I have with pointer I had. Always remember them

Here's one I forgot to put up
    Was out ferretin with a mate of mine and my Harris hawk tryin to get her first kill on rabbit
    Was out in Lucan ferretin a small field beside a graveyard and it was a slow day with 2 rabbits killed by ferret and none were Boltin and ones that bolted were chased by my hawk but they made cover to quick do decided to head home on way to car seen a rabbit go underground so we stopped an in went ferrets I stood up on top of the ditch with my hawk on my arm then heard that blessed sound of thumping and two rabbits bolted and my hawk shot off the fist chased both of them towards graveyard and one rabbit made grouand ur then the other looked like it was going for ground and turned into open field with my hawk about 20 yards away she didn't look like she was gonna get it then a gust of wind hit her and she picked up speed and rose up over the rabbit about 16 feet and folded her wings and planted the bunny into the ground she had it by the head so death was instant
    Was amazing and one for the books
    Atb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

I must say that the best hunting (1st November) I had was 2010, My springer and I along with a friend of mine had great hunting on a miserable wet 1st November. We hunted birds for miles and finished wrecked in the pub with 7 birds between us.

Second to that was 20th December 2011, I hunted a wild cock for 3 solid hours he booked me and the dog every time, great news he is still there and as wild as ever. I saw him in a field the other day and when I pipped the dog whistle he dropped his head and skulked off. I dont think I will ever shoot him he gives me great hunts the back end of the season.

:Dah c,s ,i know the feelin,the lands i shoot near the estate im living in there is an auld cock the very same,years ago when my father inlaw moved into the estate ,bein a shooting man befriended the 2 farmers that still own the land and got permission but both had told him it had bein nay on years since they seen/heard a cock pheasnt let alone a hen about so the f,inlaw decided to bring a few spare birds vie his local gc and stock the land ,that was over 10yrs ago,an this cock that leads us on a merry dance for hours on end every year sits across the wall of the hospital grounds across from my hse an crows his heart out taunting me til mid oct has some spurs on im ,an so the same hunt go,s on each season,if i do evenualy get him ,he will be proudly an honourably mounted on my mantlepiece,an remembered fondly for those great hunts every year:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

:Dah c,s ,i know the feelin,the lands i shoot near the estate im living in there is an auld cock the very same,years ago when my father inlaw moved into the estate ,bein a shooting man befriended the 2 farmers that still own the land and got permission but both had told him it had bein nay on years since they seen/heard a cock pheasnt let alone a hen about so the f,inlaw decided to bring a few spare birds vie his local gc and stock the land ,that was over 10yrs ago,an this cock that leads us on a merry dance for hours on end every year sits across the wall of the hospital grounds across from my hse an crows his heart out taunting me til mid oct has some spurs on im ,an so the same hunt go,s on each season,if i do evenualy get him ,he will be proudly an honourably mounted on my mantlepiece,an remembered fondly for those great hunts every year:D:D

I don't know about the mantle piece If I brought a pheasant home for the mantle piece I would nearly say it would be stuffed up my derry air

Great stories lads
    There is one or two animals out there that I have seen around for years and chased them but never got them
    There's a fox up on my permission that's been there for years and I'd say he been shot at for years I got one chance with him but he spotted me and I couldn't get close enough with the shotgun but don't think I'd shoot him now he's like part of the foundation up there now lol

ok i take it the missus wouldnt be best pleased:eek:in that case my friend that is what the mancave is for:D:D;) i hope to construct my mancave soon:D;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭raymo19

When I was lamping I remember one fox on the side of the mountain at home. He was always in a field that the local sheep farmer put out lambs. He had the farmer tormrented. When I first caught sight of him in the middle of this field right next to the farmers house he ran off. This went on for 6 months lamp on and he scarpered. Somebody had already had a crack at him and missed. I tried everything onfoot etc but as soom as light went on gone and never looked back. Then one night to my amazement I was lamping solo with light on top of rifle. I said to myself i would drive to the house take out rifle amd place ontop of car and then turn on light. To my amazement he was in the middle of the field and scarpered twards the ditch i nearly took the rifle down but decided to follow him in the scope. He stopped and looked back the rest was history. I didnt bother picking him up as I knew the farmer would delight in that. Great feeling when you smack one of those smarter ones.
    Raymo

Mate of mine rang me minute ago so I had to put it up
    He was huntin his male Harris today and his bird went for a pigeon and chased it over a field and when he got to the other side his bird had attacked a lads rotating decoy and they were in stitches although one lad nearly shot his bird till he realised it was a hawk
    Another good funny story

Lads keep em coming

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭dev110

My best memory would have to be the first fox I shot.

I was up at the crack of dawn on a winters Sunday morning.
    Headed off with the shotgun in the search of some foxes.

After half an hour of walking I spotted 2 foxes about 300 yards ahead of me. After the slowest crawl in history I made it to within 60 yards of them.
    I couldn't get any closer to them so tried to make a squeal noise with my lips. At this stage my heart was racing. After 5 mins of trying to sound like a dying rabbit one fox finally took notice and started to move closer. He came within 20 yards and then I decided to give him a BB to the head. He dropped on the spot.

I jumped up straight away and completely forgot about the other fox who at this stage was legging it in the opposite direction.
    I headed home straight away with a smile from ear to ear.