Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pigeons Wanted

• 09-08-2012 9:07pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭

Anyone willing to swap a few days over the pigeons for me and my mates? we can return with pigeons or ducks, no pigeons hitting tillage here. cheers

WF

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Anyone willing to swap a few days over the pigeons for me and my mates? we can return with pigeons or ducks, no pigeons hitting tillage here. cheers

WF
    Where are you man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭wildfowler94

Where are you man

Longford may travel

Where are you man

Longford may travel
    Pm sent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭beretta firearm

Pm sent

did you get the farmers number for me?

Pm sent

did you get the farmers number for me?
    Mate not been bad or anything but ask any lads on this
    I offered you to come with me shooting pigeons but you then turn round and say give you the farmers phone number so that you could go down without me.
    That's called snakin someone's land after I was offering you to come with me
    Not a hope that I'd give you the number mate and I know your only a kid but you need to learn respect of others offers
    Atb

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

****in chancer :rolleyes:

I know we all chance are arm sometimes but mostly with people we know well and know there wouldn't be a problem but he doesn't know me and I Havint been on this land yet so I'm hardly gonna give away land I Havint been on
    It could be brilliant land
    I'm only young meself( 23) but I learned about respect in hunting from a young age

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

id be very reluctent about even bringing lads out on my permissions that i didnt know, iv brought out a few lads iv met on here and they have brought me out but not before getting to know them by their posts and chattin to them. way too easy to loose what you worked to get and keep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

You had no problem with him comming with you to one of his permissions ? All ya needed to know was there was pigeon .
    Alot to learn kid

TriggerPL wrote: »
    You had no problem with him comming with you to one of his permissions ? All ya needed to know was there was pigeon .
    Alot to learn kid

Right so im going to go all the way down and 20 pigeons in the crop? Think that would be worth it?doder angler your pm wasent even that clear to me u should have mentioned 'could give me a lift'
    Any ways
    and right im a kid now¿?

Yea you are no one sets out to shoot 100 pigeons I'd be happy shooting 20 pigeons it call hunting.

I don't know weather you a kid or not its a slang word I picked up from living around Portlaoise , some people say well lad or bud ! I say well kid ! If ya get me

Alot to learn kid

Right so im going to go all the way down and 20 pigeons in the crop? Think that would be worth it?doder angler your pm wasent even that clear to me u should have mentioned 'could give me a lift'
    Any ways
    and right im a kid now¿?
    Listen kid you have a lot to learn about respect especially when it comes to shooting
    I was asked by a farmer to clear pigeon now ya hardly think that il be going all the way down that distance for 20 poxy pidgys and was nice enough to invite you if you wanted to come down and from the sounds of your voice you don't have a gun licence
    Trust me plenty of lads on this will tell ya about lettin lads on land and havin it snaked off them so that's why I wouldn't give you the number
    Trust me you have a lot to learn about shooting

ok alright. no bother.trigger we could could get 20 on our own permisions so like its a good drive to where the farmer is.im in the gunclub but my freind isint so he was lookin for some shooting and i put it up for him on this.

Can I ask what you will do with all the pigeons ya shoot ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭pheasntstalker

+1 on that ,respect the man trust is earned i as was taught grown up, i wouldnt bring anybody an that includs friends on any of my patchs onless i trusted them,sayin that i jump on an invite for pidgeons only ive no wheels an good lady is in recovery at minute an needs me here,so no shooting for me at the min

ok alright. no bother.trigger we could could get 20 on our own permisions so like its a good drive to where the farmer is.im in the gunclub but my freind isint so he was lookin for some shooting and i put it up for him on this.

Can I ask what you will do with all the pigeons ya shoot ?

Ye no problem my freind freezes them and has 1 every now and then..and the odd 1 he gives to the ferrets as a treat.none go to waste.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭charlie10

i think thats why people dont like inviting people for a shot in case they pull a fast one ! i cant understand why someone doesnt just jump in to a car and ask a tillage farmer .they would 9/10 be delighted .one farmer supplies us with shells and all!i have invited a few lads via pm for pheasant shooting who declined but took up offers of pigeons which i must organise.:eek:.

charlie10 wrote: »
    i think thats why people dont like inviting people for a shot in case they pull a fast one ! i cant understand why someone doesnt just jump in to a car and ask a tillage farmer .they would 9/10 be delighted .one farmer supplies us with shells and all!i have invited a few lads via pm for pheasant shooting who declined but took up offers of pigeons which i must organise.:eek:.

Charlie i am not a bad person or anything doderangler is making me sound bad because he thought i was going to 'snack' his permission. Now im not saying anything anymore.we have permissions but not many pigeons in it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭charlie10

i didnt say u were lad im just saying i cant understand why people post comments looking for shooting ground,just pm someone u think might give u a days shooting and if not tough ****! i dont think ur a bad person

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭snipe02

Charlie i am not a bad person or anything doderangler is making me sound bad because he thought i was going to 'snack' his permission. Now im not saying anything anymore.we have permissions but not many pigeons in it
    listen there is not a man that ever owned a gun or a working dog that hasn' t done the snakey at some stage there are no angels around here id say doesn't mean we are bad people its dont let it bother ya or put you off put it down as a learning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,374 ✭✭✭J.R.

snipe02 wrote: »
    listen there is not a man that ever owned a gun or a working dog that hasn' t done the snakey at some stage there are no angels around here id say doesn't mean we are bad people its dont let it bother ya or put you off put it down as a learning

I think there is a lot to be learned for newcomers to shooting when reading this thread.

I don't think (my own opinion from reading the posts....I don't know any of them personally) Beretta Man intentionally meant to take the land for himself when asking for the number......I think he was just new to the game and innocently 'put his foot in it'.......he's starting out.......learning........and as stated above put it down to a learning curve and learn from the mistake.......we all made silly mistakes starting off...........this forum is a godsend for lads starting off who can bounce ideas, queries etc. off more experienced lads for advice. There was nothing like this when I started out but I was lucky to start hunting with very experienced lads who were willing to show you the ropes and put you on the right track.

I don't blame Dodder Angler for not giving out the number & feeling annoyed....I would have been the exact same .........but I think Beretta Man can now see how his actions were interpreted and can move on, learning from the experience.

Beretta Man - don't let this encounter put you off shooting or the forum.......use it to gain experience.......next time, if unsure pop a question up here and lads will advise you on the correct procedure - best of luck!

charlie10 wrote: »

I'm not making you out to be a bad person but I did point out your inexperience in shooting and this is one
    Look think bout it ok
    I offered ya to come along on land full of pigeon and rabbits going damage to crops
    This is a hunters dream day of shooting
    And then you turn around after me telling you that you could come and ask me for the farmers number and then you use the excuse on this that you wanted to ask the farmers what numbers of pigeons are there even though I told you that the farmers told me hundreds
    The thing your missin here is that you were offered a days shooting and you tried to take advantage of that and that's your inexperience
    Should've been happy to be invited instead of having the cheek to ask for a farmers number
    Just learn from alri kid
    I learned it all from moment I stepped into field with my dad and spent years carrying what he shot till i got my own gun and even then was still learning

Look all I wanted was a days shooting not a new permission. I was not going to 'snack your permission and had no problem bringing you, I even asked you where you lived. Now I've been going shooting with lads that have been shooting since they could hold a gun. So they have thought me everything and I carried their quarry. Nothing more to say on this.and.. doderangler you didn't mention there was hundreds on the phone