Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Men In Shorts & Bars etc.

• 08-08-2012 3:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭

Mentioned this in passing in another thread, but actually feel it might be worthy of a discussion unto itself.
    re: bars,
    The vast majority of places get really agitated about this after a certain time. Ironically they let you in at 8 wearing shorts but if you pop out front for a smoke after 9 they wont let you back in :rolleyes:

What is it with bars and this sort of rule? Bouncers if pressed usually say they're 'not tidy'. I don't personally get it myself as nothing going on behind those doors could exactly be described as 'tidy'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

They let girls in wearing shorts I bet!

I remember a few years ago in my town there was a case where a guy successfully sued a bar for refusing him entry cause he was wearing sandals but they were letting women in wearing sandals!

Dunno what the legal issue is with official dress codes, just know this guy won anyway.

Dress codes are stupid anyway. Unless it's some posh fancy club for rich snobs, who you harming wearing shorts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

In terms of bouncers being inconsistent on dress code, that's probably not particularly surprising.

Also, shorts can be more acceptable to an establishment during quiet periods than when there's a queue. I can sort of understand the mentality of there are 30 people lining up to come in here, and you didn't even bother make yourself presentable?

On that note, it depends on the shorts.

I wouldn't expect to get into nightclub in Quiksilver swimming shorts, but I've often gone to late bars wearing plain chino shorts. Not all shorts are sloppy; I think most doorman appreciate that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

I've never been to a club so busy and fancy that the doorman got to choose the best looking people to go in. I though that was a tv thing. :o

I was thinking if places that have a strict no shorts or you don't get in the door policy because it doesn't look tide. That's silly cause sure you could wear the mangiest pair of long jeans instead!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

If the place gets busy then its an excuse to trim the queue. Same goes for refusing people with runners [along the lines of Converse now, not Nike Airs]. The ROAR disclaimer allows them a lot of leeway. So long as its applied across the board, to both sexes, all religions/colours/ethnicity etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,351 ✭✭✭Littlehorny

Imo a guy wearing shorts and sandles in a pub would be a guy who would give the bouncers the least amount of trouble, knew a guy who was a f***er for starting fights and he would wear steel toe cap boots, jeans and a couple of heavy rings on his hand in case someone "started on him". Yet the likes of him sailed into every pub and club.

you have to remember too that its not just the lads that will/will not give trouble; a lot of owners dictate to the bouncers the type of crowd they want in there. So you might be the nicest lad in the queue but don't fit the description of who they want in there so you'll be turned away for dress/being too drunk etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭hdowney

It can be fairly discriminatory alright. Something it comes down to in some places is that they consider someone who would come to a club in shorts as somewhat scumbaggy (completely stupid and judgemental btw, scumbags come in all shapes, sizes and clothing, as do decent folk). So by stating dresscode they control what type of person behaviourwise they get in their establishments. Idiots should know better. Also the most decent person sober could be the biggest wnker drunk!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

I really think it would depend on the shorts & footwear, tbh. O'Neills GAA shorts with runners/baggy cargo shorts with sandals or flip-flops - probably too casual for most bars in the evening. Tailored/chino shorts with boat shoes or moccasins - more than likely fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,741 ✭✭✭Piliger

Thank goodness for dress codes. We need a lot more of them :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Easy Rod

Reminds me of a time when I got refused from 'Scruffy Murphy's' in Sydney on Paddy's day for wearing shorts (This is at about half ten and it was still ridicoulously hot out!)

I wasn't even that pissed... well relatively speaking considering the type of patrons that were inside the pub!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,197 ✭✭✭elvis jones

I'm a dj and wore shorts to my gig last night........not a word said and this was in a venue in Temple Bar !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

I'm a dj and wore shorts to my gig last night........not a word said and this was in a venue in Temple Bar !

They're hardly going to refuse the dj, in fairness...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,197 ✭✭✭elvis jones

Honey-ec wrote: »
    They're hardly going to refuse the dj, in fairness...

Ya neer known with some goons on the door;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

One of the reasons for refusing men in shorts icould be that they are typically worn during the day, so if a person presents themselves at a bar in shorts, the bouncer has to make a quick judgement call on whether or not the guy has been drinking all day.

As honey-ec has stated above, it would also depend hugely on the type of shorts/shoes the person is wearing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Larianne wrote: »
    One of the reasons for refusing men in shorts icould be that they are typically worn during the day, so if a person presents themselves at a bar in shorts, the bouncer has to make a quick judgement call on whether or not the guy has been drinking all day.

As honey-ec has stated above, it would also depend hugely on the type of shorts/shoes the person is wearing.

I wear shorts much of the time during the day and evening, even in coolish weather, but strangely, I would usually wear jeans going to the pub. Don't know why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭BigDuffman

Speaking as a former Dublin City doorman.

Nowadays dress codes are harder and harder to enforce. It used to be fairly simple "No runners, neat dress".

But as fashion has changed as has the entry requirements. Runners are no longer just white nike air max. Runners can be fashionable, but how does one draw the line?

As other posters have echoed its all about how the item of clothing is worn and the venue. I've had a lad pull off a combo of white runners and chino shorts as it was neat and presentable and most importantly kept in line with the style of the club. 5 mins later I refused some lad who rocked up in a pair of mouldy white runners and a pair of board shorts.

Try explaining why one gets in whilst the other doesn't at 0030 on a saturday without offending someone. So thats why a doorman will fall back to the ROAR approach.

Bouncers are not all goons. Nor do they just let pretty girls into the club. They do what they are told by the club manager and make split second decisions that may not be obvious to the individual in question.

You will often hear some outrage the next morning after someone being refused. For example; typical Friday night, well dressed office workers knock off at 1600 go to the pub and get hammmered. After a good solid 7/8 hours on the batter. A few die hards go on to they night club. Stumble up to the door, by all means their clothes are up to standards (maybe with a few buttons undone and relevant stains), they are well spoken (bar the ignorance and slurred speech). But they are obviously hammered and therefore will not be getting in and proceed to abuse the doorstaff. Fast forward to the next morning and their recollection of the night will be different to the doorstaff that recieved them.

And the bouncers will be nothing but "powertripping w@nkers".

Same scenario applies to shorts. A bunch of lads in T-Shirts with sunglasses and shorts stumble up to the door after being on the gargle since 1400 in the sunshine with a bag of cans. Their dress gives away that they have been out all day. Their demeanour suggests a lot of alcohol consumed.

Vs a bunch of lads who are well dressed in "going out" shorts + runners. Yeah they've had a few cans before heading into the club but have not obviously been hard on it all day.... There are endless examples you could use or give of why one group like x is ok whilst a similar group like Y is not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

cson wrote: »
    If the place gets busy then ....

And some places wonder why they are empty. Its because you 'trimmed' me from the line for a flimsy excuse back in 2009.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭Chris.Buckley

syklops wrote: »
    And some places wonder why they are empty. Its because you 'trimmed' me from the line for a flimsy excuse back in 2009.

Hey it's not me trimming you, I only wish I owned a club!

Fact of the matter is that places get crowds from their deals [Diceys] or because people are sheep [Coppers]. Anywhere that has people queuing for it gives the doorstaff a certain power in deciding who gets in, simple economics really!

BigDuffman wrote: »
    <doorman101>

Top post and very insightful; I do wonder though if you ever changed your mind as regards to a patron? I remember in Limerick stumbling walking up to the door of a club [thank you and your battered pavements Limerick City Council] and being refused for being too drunk. I was as sober as I've ever been going into a place and argued the toss with the bouncer but he wouldn't go back on his original decision to refuse me even though I quite clearly wasn't drunk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭BigDuffman

Top post and very insightful; I do wonder though if you ever changed your mind as regards to a patron? .

Of course bouncers get it wrong. My lowest refusal moment was when I refused a lad who'd had a stroke who was out for his 30th. His mates then had a quiet word in my ear and I felt like a d!ckhead so let them in free on account of making the chap feel bad.

Changing your mind unfortunately does not happen often. Your decision is usually made even before the person opens their mouth. In a busy club where theres a que it would rarely happen, time will be wasted with a debate and the next person in line who may also not be getting in may see the door man go back on a decision and may think that by arguing to the death they too may get in.

Also good doormen tend to go with gut instinct, after a few years you can smell someone who's trouble or going to kick off. If you somehow give off that smell / appearance or are percieved to. Regardless of how well you represent yourself at the door you're not getting in. After being smooth talked, I ignored a gut niggle before and got bottled as a result. Lesson learnt through stitches.

I'm not trying to say that big up security staff or implying that doormen are mystics with a flawless system. Some lads are just ignorant and others are pr!cks, a lot like accountants, receptionists and desk jockeys. But 99% of the time there is a reason, even though it may not seem like it. You are not being shot down for the craic there is a logic behind the refusal even if their estimation of you is wrong they believe they are making the right decision.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

Top post and very insightful; I do wonder though if you ever changed your mind as regards to a patron? I remember in Limerick stumbling walking up to the door of a club [thank you and your battered pavements Limerick City Council] and being refused for being too drunk. I was as sober as I've ever been going into a place and argued the toss with the bouncer but he wouldn't go back on his original decision to refuse me even though I quite clearly wasn't drunk.

let me guess, it was Smyths?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Ladjacket

BigDuffman wrote: »
    Of course bouncers get it wrong. My lowest refusal moment was when I refused a lad who'd had a stroke who was out for his 30th. His mates then had a quiet word in my ear and I felt like a d!ckhead so let them in free on account of making the chap feel bad.

Changing your mind unfortunately does not happen often. Your decision is usually made even before the person opens their mouth. In a busy club where theres a que it would rarely happen, time will be wasted with a debate and the next person in line who may also not be getting in may see the door man go back on a decision and may think that by arguing to the death they too may get in.

Also good doormen tend to go with gut instinct, after a few years you can smell someone who's trouble or going to kick off. If you somehow give off that smell / appearance or are percieved to. Regardless of how well you represent yourself at the door you're not getting in. After being smooth talked, I ignored a gut niggle before and got bottled as a result. Lesson learnt through stitches.

I'm not trying to say that big up security staff or implying that doormen are mystics with a flawless system. Some lads are just ignorant and others are pr!cks, a lot like accountants, receptionists and desk jockeys. But 99% of the time there is a reason, even though it may not seem like it. You are not being shot down for the craic there is a logic behind the refusal even if their estimation of you is wrong they believe they are making the right decision.

Just wondering what the doormen's policy is on people talking to them. Sometimes a doorman gives off quite a look of disdain to the customer, whereas I for example enjoy having a bit of craic if you're standing in a queue. A few places I have been to in Dublin have been 50/50 - the doormen would be super friendly and then others would be pretty sharp - of course I can understand why but maybe if they were chatty at times, there may be less hassle when it comes to refusing entry?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭SHOVELLER

They let girls in wearing shorts I bet!

I remember a few years ago in my town there was a case where a guy successfully sued a bar for refusing him entry cause he was wearing sandals but they were letting women in wearing sandals!

Dunno what the legal issue is with official dress codes, just know this guy won anyway.

Dress codes are stupid anyway. Unless it's some posh fancy club for rich snobs, who you harming wearing shorts?

Whatever about shorts no male should ever wear sandals or flip flops.

Ever!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 203 ✭✭MHalberstram

The only bar where it is acceptable to wear shorts is a wooden beach hut bar selling cocktails.