Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Olympic Troll Zoo - (See Mod Post #23)

• 07-08-2012 9:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭

thirtyfoot wrote: »
    I know, I know you are right. Sure we are awful elitist. You see those lads playing GAA and there are no airs and graces about them. Someone was telling me there as fit as the professionals in the Olympics, even the amateurs like the boxers. Don't know why most of us bother. Do you need a lift home?

Some lads train non stop but can only run the times of an average 15 year old, yet they still think they're in the same game as Farah. :D Laughable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

CoachDudie wrote: »
    The marathon runners ran below their best in conditions they should have been used to and favoured. A season's best is the minimum an athlete should be doing, it's an Olympic year, if you're not running your best time for the year at the Olympics then serious questions should be asked.
    My count is still 3/10 performed to standard.
    The boxers have won another medal while the T&F team have barely anyone that got out of their heats. Yet there's people defending their performance.

The athletes didn't get byes though and there are more medals in Boxing giving out than in athletics :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,300 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

The marathon runners ran below their best in conditions they should have been used to and favoured. A season's best is the minimum an athlete should be doing, it's an Olympic year, if you're not running your best time for the year at the Olympics then serious questions should be asked.
    The boxers have won another medal while the T&F team have barely anyone that got out of their heats. Yet there's people defending their performance.

You stated previously on the forum that GAA players could win national titles with a few months training. Perhaps we should round up a few of the Kerry team now they are out of the championship and prepare them for the Euro Cross Country at the end of the year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

Some lads train non stop but can only run the times of an average 15 year old, yet they still think they're in the same game as Farah. :D Laughable.

I know, you are right again, we really need to cop on. It's getting late now, will I call you a taxi, some random midweek magazine program about the World GAA Cup must be on and you'll miss it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Of course it's a fair way, you can take into account other factors but if youre not close to a PB then you haven't performed to your best.

That's because you keep changing your standard :rolleyes:

5 had PBs or close to it, one ran to form, and two were injured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭CoachDudie

ecoli wrote: »
    The athletes did get byes though and there are more medals in Boxing giving out than in athletics :D

Maybe if we get someone like Britton down with the boxing coaches they could teach her how to throw a sneaky dig into the ribs of a Kenian and run away for gold.

You stated previously on the forum that GAA players could win national titles with a few months training. Perhaps we should round up a few of the Kerry team now they are out of the championship and prepare them for the Euro Cross Country at the end of the year.

In fairness to Aunt Dudie, he may have a point. There was a study done between Mayo and Kerry footballers a while back. They were able to rip out 200s of 27/28. A few months training and those men in their 20s could win a girls U15 200 titles. That doesn't surprise me as those lads train like professionals.

Lookin through my posts are ya? I hope you've learnt from my pearls of wisdom.
    I'd say Darren O'Sullivan would give the Hesh a good race.

I know, you are right again, we really need to cop on. It's getting late now, will I call you a taxi, some random midweek magazine program about the World GAA Cup must be on and you'll miss it?

What are you on about? What's a GAA cup?

RayCun wrote: »
    That's because you keep changing your standard :rolleyes:

5 had PBs or close to it, one ran to form, and two were injured.

No, 2 had PB's, the rest were well off it. They should make the qualifying tougher to make I think, maybe reduce the time scale and give athletes fittness tests leading up to the Olympics. If you fail the test you don't go.

Maybe if we get someone like Britton down with the boxing coaches they could teach her how to throw a sneaky dig into the ribs of a Kenian and run away for gold.
    Why didn't someone think of this previously? With your insightful knowledge you should look for a high performance role in Irish sport.

In fairness to Aunt Dudie, he may have a point. There was a study done between Mayo and Kerry footballers a while back. They were able to rip out 200s of 27/28. A few months training and those men in their 20s could win a girls U15 200 titles. That doesn't surprise me as those lads train like professionals.

:D Sure players that age are stuck in their ways, no chance of improving their speed, get a group of 16/17 year old GAA players however. The Jamaicans wouldn't know what hit them.

Why didn't someone think of this previously? With your insightful knowledge you should look for a high performance role in Irish sport.

I'm not just here for me looks.

Lookin through my posts are ya? I hope you've learnt from my pearls of wisdom.
    I'd say Darren O'Sullivan would give the Hesh a good race.
    It's Darran. I'd say your right. He would put manners on that fraud Hesh.
    With his speed he must have destroyed Donegal on Sunday. Would Mark McHugh give Bolt a run for his money?

It's Darran. I'd say your right. He would put manners on that fraud Hesh.
    With his speed he must have destroyed Donegal on Sunday. Would Mark McHugh give Bolt a run for his money?

Lets not get carried away, young McHugh wouldn't beat Bolt but he would have kept Gatlin out of the medals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

No, 2 had PB's, the rest were well off it. They should make the qualifying tougher to make I think, maybe reduce the time scale and give athletes fittness tests leading up to the Olympics. If you fail the test you don't go.

I'd say the OCI would love you.

"You have one week in June or July of the Olympic year to match the time required to make the previous year's world championships finals in each event. Then you have to report to a special training camp where you are fitness tested every day until your qualifying competition."

Yeah, that should sort out the sports of Athletics and Swimming.

Very true, very true. These Olympic sports should start following the influence of GAA and when losing throw a few sly digs, maybe when official aren't looking and if the officials are looking our neighbours could come running on and give the official a sly dig and knock him to the ground.

Mod: Ladies and Gentleman The AR forum is like the zoo in terms of our rules. Please don't feed the trolls

Back on topic or I will be closing the thread
    In fairness we won't get the opportunity for another four years.

Hear, hear. This is turning out to be Super Tuesday for AR forum. It's not often we have the relations around.

Pherekydes wrote: »
    I'd say the OCI would love you.

"You have one week in June or July of the Olympic year to match the time required to make the previous year's world championships finals in each event. Then you have to report to a special training camp where you are fitness tested every day until your qualifying competition."

Yeah, that should sort out the sports of Athletics and Swimming.

You have to have the standard in August the year before at the earliest. If you can't prove your fittness in a one off test prior to the games then you stay at home.
    These are real quality ideas, they're just popping from my head. Didn't have to do much thinking, yes really.

Very true, very true. These Olympic sports should start following the influence of GAA and when losing throw a few sly digs, maybe when official aren't looking and if the officials are looking our neighbours could come running on and give the official a sly dig and knock him to the ground.

Bolt wouldn't be looking so cocky if there was a little getting to know you session down the tunnel.

There wont be any need in 4 years. Surely some of my suggestions would have made it to the AAI and everything will be sorted by then.

Mod: A Compromise from my previous post rather than derail the thread further.

The rules -

This is a place to offload the quad annual lurkers who found there voice

However if people decide this thread is not enough attention for their trolling and decide they wanna be heard in other thread they will face hefty bans from the forum

You have been warned

There wont be any need in 4 years. Surely some of my suggestions would have made it to the AAI and everything will be sorted by then.

Well Ankrom has proven to be a waste of space so you could do his job. You sound like the kind of person who would get along famously with Patsy.

Mod: Coach Dudie Banned for one week for inappropriate comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭Burgman

Mod: Coach Dudie Banned for one week for inappropriate comments

Ah don't be mean to him. The games won't be back for four years. Why not re-instate him if he submits a doctor's note?

Burgman wrote: »
    Ah don't be mean to him. The games won't be back for four years. Why not re-instate him if he submits a doctor's note?

Only if he promises this time to actually try

Did you not think he was very trying?

The effort level was there in the early rounds of the last thread but in the seemed to be making no trolling effort here so was pulled for the integrity of the thread.

If he produces the doctors note though I suppose I can forgive:D