Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What should be Dublins semi/final line up?

• 07-08-2012 5:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭

for the semi final and the possible final should they use the same line up they did for last years all ireland

or what line up would you like to see for the the semi and possible finale:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,166 ✭✭✭Stereomaniac

Use some new boys!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭Blackjack

Oh, blood at least 5 of the minors. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭Dublinproud

1. Cluxton
    2. O'Sullivan
    3. O'Carroll
    4. McMahon
    5. McCarthy
    6. Brennan
    7. Nolan
    8. Macauley
    9. Bastic
    10. Flynn
    11. A. Brogan
    12. Cullen
    13. Connolly
    14. Kilkenny
    15. B. Brogan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭Dublinfan

1. Cluxton
    2. O'Sullivan
    3. O'Carroll
    4. McMahon
    5. McCarthy
    6. Brennan
    7. Nolan
    8. Macauley
    9. Bastic
    10. Flynn
    11. A. Brogan
    12. Cullen
    13. Connolly
    14. Kilkenny
    15. B. Brogan

ah you cant leave McManamon out though one of our top players

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,990 ✭✭✭Trampas

Dublinfan wrote: »

I think mcmanamon offers more as a sub when the opposition is tired.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 769 ✭✭✭Diego Maradona

Gilroy obviously doesn't think so after dropping him against Laois.

exactly though he made a difference when he came on and has great pace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

1. Cluxton
    2. O'Sullivan
    3. O'Carroll
    4. McMahon
    5. McCarthy
    6. Brennan
    7. Nolan
    8. Macauley
    9. Bastic
    10. Flynn
    11. A. Brogan
    12. Cullen
    13. Connolly
    14. Kilkenny
    15. B. Brogan

I'd have Mikey Fitz ahead of McMahon (better man marker imo) but i agree on everything else. Fennell and McManamon to make an impact.

And i'd add, we should play with 3 inside forwards. No Connolly or Kilkenny dropping deep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

for the semi final and the possible final should they use the same line up they did for last years all ireland

or what line up would you like to see for the the semi and possible finale:)

What do you think yourself? Threads are usually locked when people dont contribute to a thread they started.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭TheCoolWay

No Sam for Dublin anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 467 ✭✭Alaska1

TheCoolWay wrote: »
    No Sam for Dublin anyway

Same was said last year also and look what happened ? :D

Any other nugget of wisdom fo us ?

Admittedly didn't play well v Laois, but hey still in an All - Ireland Semi Final.

Still commenting on Dublin I see, any chance of a reaction to the Kildare game or are you going to keep up th snide comments on Dublin coming ? :rolleyes:

Kev Mc is much better as an impace sub and lads, Kilkenny won't be starting, mark my words, will get game time though.

Alaska1 wrote: »
    Still commenting on Dublin I see, any chance of a reaction to the Kildare game or are you going to keep up th snide comments on Dublin coming ? :rolleyes:

Kev Mc is much better as an impace sub and lads, Kilkenny won't be starting, mark my words, will get game time though.

Whats snide about stating the obvious?:confused:

Just on McManamon, i heard he hasn't been going too well in training. Could be bull**** but you never know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Fennell will start this game I think, it seems to have been the plan to get him into condition so that he is a starting player.

I can see the same midfield as the last day, i.e. a three man midfield including Bastic, Macauley and Fennell. Barry Cahill could take on Fennells 2011 role, as to a small degree he was a starting option as the third midfielder last year even though he only moved out for periods, unlike Macauley who does very little no.14 work.

I would start Brennan, but I'd have my finger on the button if he is targeted for sending off/speed, but I think that Brennan is smart enough to change his game a little and improve it so that he offers the best of himself, O'Sullivan is a good man for covering back anyway.

I think that performance on the training field is going to dictate the starting forwards, but it would contain McManamon as a sub, A and B Brogan,
    Cullen, Flynn and Connelly.

So that would leave one place open for O'Gara, Kilkenney, Quinn and the rest.

corny wrote: »
    Whats snide about stating the obvious?:confused:

Just on McManamon, i heard he hasn't been going too well in training. Could be bull**** but you never know.

I think the point being, 'Diego Maradona' is always quick on threads regarding Dublin, but when his owncounty Kildare are thumped not a peep out of him. I wonder why.

Anyway, your second bit there regarding Kev Mc in training isn't true. Going just fine in training.

Stoner wrote: »
    Fennell will start this game I think, it seems to have been the plan to get him into condition so that he is a starting player.

I can see the same midfield as the last day, i.e. a three man midfield including Bastic, Macauley and Fennell. Barry Cahill could take on Fennells 2011 role, as to a small degree he was a starting option as the third midfielder last year even though he only moved out for periods, unlike Macauley who does very little no.14 work.

I would start Brennan, but I'd have my finger on the button if he is targeted for sending off/speed, but I think that Brennan is smart enough to change his game a little and improve it so that he offers the best of himself, O'Sullivan is a good man for covering back anyway.

I think that performance on the training field is going to dictate the starting forwards, but it would contain McManamon as a sub, A and B Brogan,
    Cullen, Flynn and Connelly.

So that would leave one place open for O'Gara, Kilkenney, Quinn and the rest.

would love too see McManamon in the starting line up but don't know how likely that is, so alan brogan back to training fit again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

would love too see McManamon in the starting line up but don't know how likely that is, so alan brogan back to training fit again?
    no idea and I'd say the official line will be spin anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

McMinnamon is better used as a sub later on in the game. He carries a bit of weight and it better brought on in the later stages so he can run at the opposing team when they tire a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 918 ✭✭✭RoscommonTom

Up the Dubs for this one, can't say i like the dirty jackeens very much but youre still better than Mayo fellas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭LostBoy101

If the players in the starting 15 selected by Gilroy can lift the foot on the gas then we will be in for defending our Sam this year.

I doubt Dublin would beat either Cork or Donegal to keep their Sam this year. No matter how much has Gilroy puts into them. Even Mayo will be a big ask.

Alaska1 wrote: »
    I think the point being, 'Diego Maradona' is always quick on threads regarding Dublin, but when his owncounty Kildare are thumped not a peep out of him. I wonder why.

Anyway, your second bit there regarding Kev Mc in training isn't true. Going just fine in training.

Quick to point out the obvious on this occasion though.:rolleyes:

I did preface what i said with 'could be bull****' but just out of curiosity how do you know how he's going in training?

He knows because he is Kevin McManamon.

Or maybe he's big Gilroy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

corny wrote: »
    I'd have Mikey Fitz ahead of McMahon (better man marker imo) but i agree on everything else. Fennell and McManamon to make an impact.

And i'd add, we should play with 3 inside forwards. No Connolly or Kilkenny dropping deep.

In fairness to Philly, most teams that play a 2 man inside forward line require Philly then to play the floating defender role. His primary job is to cover space between the other full backs which is a lot more exacting than man to man marking. Attackers that slip thru the net then become his focus, it may appear that a 5 yard gap between him and an attacker is the result of poor marking, (it is) but the blame isn't necessarily so on his doorstep. Fair play to the lad for gettin himself back into the team after the horrible injury - he might have his off days but he's a real 110%'er

I'd broadly agree with the rest of the team myself, I think Dublin lose something defensively when Ger isn't playing. I'd like to think that Gilroy will throw on-form players and not reputations into the forward line for Mayo - I wasn't that impressed with Kilkenny v Laois, in fairness he played too far out field and was surprised PG didn't bump him into the full forwards when Bernard was taken off. I'd also like to think that Paddy Andrews for a good while now one of the best forwards in Dublin has a bit more to offer the 1st team setup than a glancing 5-10 min.

It's guys like Andrews/Kilkenny that we need to give an impetus to the team (in the same manner as McMenamon last year). Ta