Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Need some advice!

• 06-08-2012 9:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭

Hi there, I am currently lookin to update the family motor but the problem is I amn't sure what to go for. Currently I have an 06 Octavia, 1.9 tdi, which I have been very happy with and had no problems.

I am now looking at either an 08/09 Passat or Octavia or an 08 BMW 3 series. Does anybody have any advice or personal experience as to which might be most reliable? Or any other options which might be similar?

Additionally, my milage is pretty low ( less than 10,000 miles per year), so I am not sure if there is any benefit to me having a diesel car.

All advice appreciated!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭The Pontiac

the goon wrote: »
    Additionally, my milage is pretty low ( less than 10,000 miles per year), so I am not sure if there is any benefit to me having a diesel car.

tbh, I'd love to be in your shoes. Amazing value out there for petrol cars (I don't know where to start).

Absolutely no reason for you to buy a diesel IMO. Have you seen the difference in prices? How could it possibly work out cheaper to buy a diesel? We are now obsessed with diesels in this country for some unknown reason.

If you do 25k+ miles a year, then there's a good argument for a diesel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,362 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

My father does similar mileage to you and bought a petrol car, there was no savings to be made for him buying a diesel when doing such little milage despite everyone and their dog buying diesels. You should be able to pick up the likes of a 09 Passat 1.4 tsi for reasonable money these days. 122bhp and well able to move the Passat around and cheaper to buy than the diesel model.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭the goon

Thnaks for the advice guys. One of my main concerns would be to have the same level of power that the Octavia has. It makes life so much easier to put the boot down and feel the instance response. I don't think I could be going back to taking a running start to overtake! Also its very economical.

Any advice in relation to the cars? Or any other models I haven't mentioned which I should look at? Main restraint is it has to be big enough for two kids & buggies. I could go up to about 12 grand at a push ( this takes into account cash + trade in )

Thanks again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

<Ollie> wrote: »
    tbh, I'd love to be in your shoes. Amazing value out there for petrol cars (I don't know where to start).

Absolutely no reason for you to buy a diesel IMO. Have you seen the difference in prices? How could it possibly work out cheaper to buy a diesel? We are now obsessed with diesels in this country for some unknown reason.

If you do 25k+ miles a year, then there's a good argument for a diesel.

I'd be driving diesel if I was at more than 18k miles a year tbh.

As well as that some diesels are just nicer cars than their petrol equivalent. The Ford Mondeo for example, I'd imagine that the 2.0TDCI is a far nicer car overall than the 2.0 petrol in terms of overtaking ability, motorway refinement not to mention being significantly more economical.

Anothe example being the Alfa 159. There is a petrol 1.8 which costs far less to buy than the diesel but it's a sh1t engine and the 1.9 diesel beats in hands down. The 2.2 petrol is a nice engine but horrific tax and fuel economy. What I'm saying is, is that some cars just make sense to go for the diesel, even of it costs more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭cozzie55

Well of the three you mention the 3 series is the smallest boot wise, so while it is the nicest of the three cars to drive and can be lovely in the right spec, it may not fit all the gear for two kids. Unless you look at an estate.

Of the other two cars, I can't really comment much, the passat is the bigger car and may have it in the looks department but I can't comment on engines

For my money i'd be looking at a honda accord. Lovely motor, plenty of poke out of the engine, great spec and not as many on the road as passats and octavias.
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/Honda/Accord/2.0-TYPE/613261902214790/advert?channel=CARS

Others to consider, ford mondeo, toyota avensis, mazda6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

Thnaks for the advice guys. One of my main concerns would be to have the same level of power that the Octavia has. It makes life so much easier to put the boot down and feel the instance response. I don't think I could be going back to taking a running start to overtake! Also its very economical.

Any advice in relation to the cars? Or any other models I haven't mentioned which I should look at? Main restraint is it has to be big enough for two kids & buggies. I could go up to about 12 grand at a push ( this takes into account cash + trade in )

Thanks again.
    Your Octavia has 105bhp, which isn't that much, so the 1.4 TSI Passat would be a match for it. The Passat is a class ahead of the Octavia, so I'd consider the Superb instead of the Octavia. In the Passat and Superb, the 2 litre TDi is the engine to go for in 2009 reg cars, the 1.6 diesel isn't enough. Try the 1.4 petrol, great deals on them.
    You can get a 318i with a 2 litre petrol which is in Tax band C, so cheap to tax, and it has 141bhp, which isn't too bad. 320d's won't be found in mint condition post '08 and at €12k. You'll only get very high milers for that.
    The Accord petrol suggestion is good. Great car, ultra-reliable, comfortable, but it will be a lot thirstier than your Octavia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,226 ✭✭✭Stallingrad

I suspect you would find the 3 series way too small for 2 kids and their stuff, the boot is also tiny compared to your Octavia ;)

As mentioned a 1.4tsi Passat would fit the bill nicely in terms of pace and space, it would also feel like an ungrade as opposed to sidestepping into another Octavia.

With your mileage I see no need to consider diesel.

Hi, the 3 series is an estate (petrol). Just wondering would the passat, have the power at 1.4? Also would it be economical?

I have to say just looking at the Accord there, it looks very impressive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,226 ✭✭✭Stallingrad

Hi, the 3 series is an estate (petrol). Just wondering would the passat, have the power at 1.4? Also would it be economical?

I have to say just looking at the Accord there, it looks very impressive.

If I'm not mistaken the boot in the 3 series Touring is even smaller than the saloon.

Drive the 1.4tsi, you will be surprised, it is a very good engine, smooth and nippy. Expect 7.0l per 100km.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,362 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

The 1.4 litre engine in the Passat is turbo charged and has 122bhp, it is well capable of moving about.

I'd also look at the Mazda 6, plenty of bargins with them:
    http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=12813396835283230

Thanks for all the help lads. I hadn't even considered the Accord or Mazda 6. Given me plenty to think about!

Well after spending hours trawling cars, i seem to have it norrowed down to the Mazda 6 or Accord. Funnily enough, the only Accord I could find in my range is this:

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3705419

In terms of Mazda,

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=6613376891040100

As I havent much of a notion I would be interested in what others think? Would the Mazda be thirsty/economical?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭FrontDoor

I'd like to think 12k would buy you a lot more car than the 2008 Mazda 6 if you look in the right places.

The Octavia is a car that will sell very easily on a private sale. I'd get rid of that first and then go shopping for the petrol car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭cozzie55

Well after spending hours trawling cars, i seem to have it norrowed down to the Mazda 6 or Accord. Funnily enough, the only Accord I could find in my range is this:

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3705419

In terms of Mazda,

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=6613376891040100

As I havent much of a notion I would be interested in what others think? Would the Mazda be thirsty/economical?

On spec alone the accord wins hands down. I've no clue about an auto mazda though, there may be a reason there are only 2 auto ones for sale in the country though

I hadnt even noticed the Mazda was automatic.I like both cars. Just gave it as an example of what seems to be out there within my budget. I quiet like both cars really. The Accord seems very nice spec but how are they to drive?. Would the milage be abit high for the asking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭anthony4335

Hi, just to update on this. I have looked at a few cars which seem very nice. As I don't know much about cars, I need to buy from a garage for the warranty. The problem is , that the garages are offering about a fair bit less than I expected for my own car trading in. So my question is, would I be better off trying to sell my own car privately? We could borrow a family members car for awhile if we needed.

I am realistic as to what I think its value is and the offers I was given from different garages did vary quiet a bit ( one was willing to except it as a trade in at a price which I thought was very reasonable, but by the time I got my act together the car I wanted was gone! )

Once again, all advice greatly appreciated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭sheehan12

merlin car auctions is best place to sell diesel car prices are mad there for diesel almost better than private sale:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭The Pontiac

Hi, just to update on this. I have looked at a few cars which seem very nice. As I don't know much about cars, I need to buy from a garage for the warranty. The problem is , that the garages are offering about a fair bit less than I expected for my own car trading in. So my question is, would I be better off trying to sell my own car privately? We could borrow a family members car for awhile if we needed.

I am realistic as to what I think its value is and the offers I was given from different garages did vary quiet a bit ( one was willing to except it as a trade in at a price which I thought was very reasonable, but by the time I got my act together the car I wanted was gone! )

Once again, all advice greatly appreciated

Always better value to sell a car privately.

Dealers always up the price of the car they're selling, so you think you're getting more for the car your're trading in.

Sell private and you're then a cash buyer, and things are less messy/complicated and more money in your pocket.

You then also have the option of saving even more money if you buy private, but not everyone fancies this (no comeback, warranty etc.)

Hi, just to update on this, I am currently in the process of selling the Octavia privately. I am looking at an 09 Passat 1.4 petrol at the weekend. Unfortunately, I think the car I would like the most, the Accord is out of my price range. Also the 2.2 petrol engine would cost too much tax wise every year.

Additionally, as we have two kids and are constantly carting around others with us, I was looking at something like this Toyota Verso:

http://www.kearys.ie/UsedVehicleDetails.html?carId=37582

Could anyone tell me how this would stack up against the likes of the Opel Zafira?

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭Jazbee

Hi, I have a Avensis Verso 05, 2 litre. It's a great car for space, 7 individual seats which can all be taken out etc. Found at the time we were looking that it was the best one around in our price bracket. We have 3 kids. But its quite heavy on petrol. I do very little mileage.
    Looking to change now to a smaller car with no extra seats (unless we go for 307sw) with a small engine as I generally just drive in urban areas, only once a week on motorway.
    Think long and hard before getting a people carrier for 2 kids just for occasional extra kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

Hi, just to update on this, I am currently in the process of selling the Octavia privately. I am looking at an 09 Passat 1.4 petrol at the weekend. Unfortunately, I think the car I would like the most, the Accord is out of my price range. Also the 2.2 petrol engine would cost too much tax wise every year.

Additionally, as we have two kids and are constantly carting around others with us, I was looking at something like this Toyota Verso:

http://www.kearys.ie/UsedVehicleDetails.html?carId=37582

Could anyone tell me how this would stack up against the likes of the Opel Zafira?

Thanks.
    The 2.2 in the Accord is diesel and costs the same to tax as the petrol Passat, it's all CO2 related since 2008.