Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does No-one Look In Their Mirror Any More?

• 06-08-2012 7:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭

Just driving round Cork, minding my own business. I'm at the traffic lights. The lights change and I move off. I look round, indicate to move over to the RH lane, and move over, having first made sure it was safe to do so. So, I'm already in the lane.

Who should decide to move over in front of me, but a lady driving a 307? She passed so close to me, I was forced to brake hard as well as blow the horn. Caught up with her at the lights and saw her adjusting her mirror as well as yakking away on her phone! :eek: So it was obvious she never saw me.

Would you believe this is the third time this has happened to me this week? Twice now, in the same area too!! In all cases I've been dangerously cut up by people chatting on their phones and clearly not paying attention to the road.

What the hell is wrong with people? What phone call is so important, it cannot wait until you can either pull over or get to your destination???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

The're usually jugling a fag and a can of red bull at the same time, the mirror if for checking hair/makeup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Caught up with her at the lights and saw her adjusting her mirror as well as yakking away on her phone! :eek: So it was obvious she never saw me.
    As far as I know, you're allowed to ring the Gardai when driving, so let them know of the silly cow. The bint won't cop on otherwise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

Coming home on the M50 this eve I was happily tipping away on the inside lane when I saw a new-ish Passat just blindly moving form inside lane to middle lane while a van was hockeying up the middle lane and had to jam on the brakes and just narrowly missed ploughing straight into them.Would have been carnage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

the_syco wrote: »
    As far as I know, you're allowed to ring the Gardai when driving, so let them know of the silly cow. The bint won't cop on otherwise.

Yeah, I did take a mental note of the number but decided not to call the Gards (even though they're just around the corner) as I have no doubt they won't be interested. They'll be FAR more interested in the fact I apparently don't have tax even though I'm waiting for the disc!!

I should also add that when we turned the next corner, she was straddling two lanes, blocking my path to get into the LH lane. Again, I had to blow the horn to make her move. And yes, she was STILL on the blower!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭ljpg

in the past 6 months i've noticed more and more people driving with a phone stuck to there ear,just seems to be the norm now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭MrFrisp

As bad as it is,,at least with talking on the phone,,you glance at the road every so often..

It's the plonkers that are textin while driving...

Now they are the dangerous ones.

I do a lot of driving locally every day,,and what I see just doesn't amaze Me anymore. From people with the phones down by thier lap,,thinking if the phone can't be seen,,nobody will know what they are doing...To people that have their hands on top of the steering while with the phone in their hands,so they won't have to keep looking down.

Best one I saw yet was a truck driver who was textin on one phone,,while chatting away on another one...All while driving.

It's the new scourge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭coolbeans

One of the reasons i drive so little now is other drivers. It's just such a complete mess of wilful ignorance, general ignorance, carelessness and utter incompetence. I cycle far more now due to the lack of stress when compared to driving but even then it's hard to escape the idiots on phones, running reds in cars at speed, pulling out without looking etc. Motorways? What you see on these would be funny if it weren't so dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭ljpg

MrFrisp wrote: »
    As bad as it is,,at least with talking on the phone,,you glance at the road every so often..

It's the plonkers that are textin while driving...

Now they are the dangerous ones.

I do a lot of driving locally every day,,and what I see just doesn't amaze Me anymore. From people with the phones down by thier lap,,thinking if the phone can't be seen,,nobody will know what they are doing...To people that have their hands on top of the steering while with the phone in their hands,so they won't have to keep looking down.

Best one I saw yet was a truck driver who was textin on one phone,,while chatting away on another one...All while driving.

It's the new scourge.

no joke i seen a garda driving while textin one day,he was in a marked car with his buddys goin thru ratoath co meath,was a couple of years ago and i had'nt a camera phone at the time,if i seen it now i'd make sure it was on the front page of the sunday world!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

Grrr don't get me started on people and not using their indicators :mad::mad::mad:

This weekend was meant to be a big one for the guards with speed checks etc over the bank holiday weekend, I drove from Wicklow to Cork yesterday and did not see a signal checkpoint or any other form of garda presence!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭StudentDad

What drives me nuts are the drivers who drive like they're a rubber band - 50mph to 40mph to 60mph - all the while randomly hitting the brakes. God help you if you try to overtake - next thing you know you're in the outside lane and you're in a race!

I've been driving around Mayo/Galway the past few weeks - I swear the drivers I've come across would put anyone off driving in Ireland.

SD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Haha spotted a beaut on the M7 a few weeks ago, no use of their indicators and mirrors apparently! They were eating an apple while reading a book/documents perched on the steering wheel!

Should have really called the shades!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭McCrack

kingtut wrote: »
    Grrr don't get me started on people and not using their indicators :mad::mad::mad:

This weekend was meant to be a big one for the guards with speed checks etc over the bank holiday weekend, I drove from Wicklow to Cork yesterday and did not see a signal checkpoint or any other form of garda presence!

Just because you didn't see any Gardai doesn't mean they weren't out and about. You often wont see speed-checks for example, they are done covertly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Dartz

Mine don't work.

I get a letterbox through the rear windscreen..... and the wing ones have massive feckin blindspots.

Which I can't actually see if I turn my head because the door pillar is there.